Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Milwaukss

Nice views/warm waters

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: softer beds and have the entire staff be trained by Carlos. I really found it hard to tip anyone else.
Location: fun bars, great restaurants, nice shopping, I loved driving around the Island in my golf cart.
some of the staff was good and some not so good. Carlos was great, always smiling and wanting my family to have a great stay. He was head and shoulders above everyone else. I normally don't fill these things out, but service is everything. I want you to correct this because I will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel. Unfriendly staff

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Staffs attitude.
Location: Walk to shopping and restaurants.
Did the all-inclusive plan. Food was ok. Not a big variety. Drinks were good. Room was small but clean. Beach was gorgeous. Not a lot of activities offered. No shows. Entertainment staff not very entertaining. Staff was helpful but unfriendly and not outgoing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The beach view on both sides & the location to downtown.
Cons: cleanliness, customer service
Location: location is great!
We originally stayed at this very hotel 9 years ago and enjoyed ourselves. The private beach (although really small area size) is a fantastic view. The hotel bed was as hard as plywood. Needless to say, we didn't sleep very well. The room was a nice size but not very clean. There was rust in the bathroom around the sink, toilet & tub and ants around the bathroom sink. The service was also not that great. The customer service was really lacking. I almost felt bad every time I had to ask for something (and I had the all-inclusive package)! It should have been self service! There is only one bar combined restaurant on the resort and the same menu for lunch and dinner. If you don't want any food that is authentic cuisine, then this is your place. Can you believe that the nachos had that ball park processed cheese?!?!? I make better at home! If you like the private beach then this place would suffice but don't get the all-inclusive. The restaurants on the island are so much better!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surrounded by beach and construction

Posted Mar 21, 2014
It's kind of hard to complain when your every view is of crystal-clear water 360° around the hotel, but the continuous early morning construction and lack of the all-inclusive resort feeling was disappointing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saskatchewan

Would not Return

Posted Mar 17, 2014
The location is great, great snorkelling. But that is it. Customer service is poor, you get one bottle of water in your room and don't receive anymore. We were all inclusive but even without it we wouldn't return. Breakfast was fine and lunch but the suppers terrible, we ate in town most evenings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robyn from Wisconsin

Location and quiet.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Location - beach.
Cons: Needs more updating and upkeep. Expect a 2-3 star experience and you will be thrilled. We don't mind and the location makes it worth it.
Location: Snorkeling, Isla Contoy day trip, Scuba Discovery, biking the island.
We love the location and the villas suit our needs. We were pleased to find that updates were taking place. Hope the villas are next. It has always been a very quiet place without a lot to do. It's what we want. This time they had added music on the beach which we didn't like at all. The expanded activities were great though - kayaks, bikes, bingo, water aerobics, pinatas for the kids, karaoke. The never used to allow drunk spring-breakers but this time there was group of teenage boys "chaperoned" by one father. They were terrible! I was very disappointed the hotel allowed them to stay. They did calm down some after complaints to the management by several guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hyrum from Montana

Best location on Isla

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Beautiful beach, nice staff, good breakfasts. Wonderful snorkel lagoon right outside the front door. We will come back just to enjoy the beach.
Cons: Update the facilities. This could be a great facility and a wonderful place to stay.
Location: Snorkel, Swim, Beach, Scuba, Fish relax
We were there for a week during remodeling of the pool area. The staff tried hard but the constant rap, rap rap of the hammers was maddening. It would have need nice to know the pool would be closed and the noise would be loud. We would have come another time.
4 out of 5
by steve from ohio

nice beach and location

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: beach & location
Cons: complete resort need updated.
Location: swimming and snorkeling is great. town has lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.
toilet wouldn't flush all 3 days .last day woke up to 1/2 in. water through out unit.
1 out of 5
by Jacob from NJ

Only nice thing about this place is the location

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: everything! this should not be open to public in this condition.
Do not stay in this hotel! The condition of the rooms is below any standard. The rooms are not clean. Large AC unit is sitting inside of the room with duct taped pipe to the wall. Furniture are like from garage sale! Bigger surprise was the food. Served in a school cafeteria style metal trays with few choices. No menu option as well. We have cancelled out stay after first night and moved on to a different location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visit! But don't stay at the resort.

Posted Feb 27, 2014
The location is stunning. The resort (called Avalon) is on its own tiny little island. The ocean on one side and perfectly clear shallow water all around the other side. A wooden bridge takes you across the 100 meter span between the resort and the rest of Isla Mujeres. A 5 minute walk away is down town which is a strip full of shops and unique restaurants. Rent a golf cart for about $50 (US/CAN) and drive to the other end of the island to see Garafon park. There is lots to see and do here but I wouldn't recommend staying at this particular resort. They have no shuttle service from the airport to the resort. You will have to purchase your ferry ticket to get to the island (about $21 for 2 people round trip). Though the resort is about a 15 minute walk from the ferry terminal, unless you know where you're going it's best to hire a cab ($4-$5). The food is terrible at the resort, we found our selves eating in town quite a bit, which is just fine if you are a foodie like we are. Also the service from the restaurant staff is really bad. You will wait for a long while before being served and often are forgotten. You will have to pay for your bottled water regardless of purchasing the "all inclusive" package. Many of the staff care little about customer satisfaction and little or no interest in making your stay any easier. The rooms are plain, bare and with hard beds. In short, I HIGHLY recommend the island! But don't waste your money on this resort! Don't do it!