Ratings based on 791 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prince Edward Island, Canada

Third stay

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location, fridge in the room and ambiance
Cons: Better beds. They are short
Location: We loved walking up to Roosters in the morning for their muffins and cinnamon rolls. Close to stores and restaurants as well.
This is our third stay at this hotel and it has everything we need. You cannot beat the location as it's directly on the best beach on the Island. We loved the deck and the renovations to the bathrooms in the Tower section. They could use some new beds but we slept okay. We love the homey feeling of this hotel and it has so much character. The free breakfast isn't really worth mentioning as it is pretty blah with bad coffee, orange juice crystals and toast but the fridge in the room is wonderful and we did most of our own breakfasts and lunch right on our deck. Never used the pool with the gorgeous beach. We will stay there again when we return to Isla
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice no frills beach hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Beach access, free drinking water, room fridge.
Cons: When it rained, there were puddles in the hallways. The floors are tile so they became pretty dangerous when wet. I almost fell several times.
Location: Right on Playa Norte. There is a paddle board rental place near the Mia that had good rates and flexible times.
For what I paid, it was a great hotel. It is right on the beach and the section of beach right in front of the hotel seemed to be less crowded than other parts of the beach. The pool was nothing fancy, but it was nice to take a swim after we left the beach for the day. You can walk from the pool/courtyard straight out to the beach. The room had a refrigerator, and the hotel has several water coolers with drinking water which made it easy to grab a drink without leaving my beach chair for long. I suggest bringing an insulated water bottle to keep your drink cold on the beach. There are chairs and umbrellas that you can rent (60 pesos for each item). It would have been nice for it to be included since we stayed at the hotel. The hotel provides beach towels and a breakfast of toast and coffee. We only had the breakfast one day and opted for more delicious options from nearby restaurants other days. All of the tower rooms have a balcony that looks into the courtyard area. You can't see the ocean, but it is a pleasant view of the plants. The one big issue I had was with wet floors in the hallway after it rained. There was a puddle for 2 days on the tile floor that I almost fell in several times. I was afraid to walk down the hall those days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muskego WI

perfect location.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Loved the hotel. Best location on the beach. Not overly crowded as other spots on Norte. Had to rent chairs for $8/day-2 lounge chairs and umbrella. Room adequate. Clean. We had great view of ocean. Grounds well kept, pool nice to relax in at night. Will always be our hotel of choice when visiting the island. Only negative was a mix up with our golf cart rental, ended up paying more then We thought it would be. Rent from else where, better prices.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Pretty and great location but lots of mosquitoes

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Our room was ground floor cabanas and all cabanas are by the pool where no breeze and lots of mosquitoes. Staff were nice, room was clean, location is great. Wouldn't recommend for families with infants. The crib we got was flimsy and baby had to cosleep with us. Perhaps they should spray for bugs more often. Our experience with castle rooms was better. Decent hotel for Mexico don't expect luxury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible value for a fantastic location.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable beds, good AC, good food in the restaurant, good coffee.
Location: Fantastic location on the most beautiful part of north beach.
Magnificent water and beautiful beach. Great palapa bar and really good food in the restaurant. Excellent fish tacos! We had 3 rooms in the tower building and everyone agreed the beds were very comfortable and the AC was great. No plush towels or other extras. Simple and clean. Same dodgy plumbing and weak water pressure as everywhere else, so if that's a problem for you, you won't be happy. But, if you want a little piece of paradise at a bargain rate, this is the place. We would definitely go back. So good we almost didn't want to do this review saying how good it was and just keep it to ourselves.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new orleans

Quaint, quiet, very nice. As expected from reviews

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Staff does not seem happy. But well kept and clean. Rooms could use a little sprucing up but I loved the place. It's very quiet and close to the beach. Definitely not high end but a good value. I would stay there again. Part of a vanishing breed. Disclaimer: I HATE RITZY HIGH RISE HOTELS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poster

Great Location

Posted Apr 6, 2017
This hotel was everything we wanted for our time on the island for quite a reasonable price. The staff does a wonderful job of keeping things clean, the gardens are well tended, the pool is gorgeous, and you never feel the slightest bit unsafe. The 2 minute walk from your beach towel to the refrigerator in your room is a real bonus. Since other reviewers touched on this, I'll offer my 2 cents. Wifi is slow, and in one area of the hotel, so if that bothers you then you will be disappointed. However, if that is disappointing to you, perhaps a Caribbean beach isn't where you need to be spending your vacation. I found the "library" area next to the pool to be a very nice atmosphere, and an opportunity to perhaps abandon your phone and actually talk to another human. Crazy, I know... I didn't bother with the breakfast, because this place is a 2 minute walk from amazing places to eat. Once again, why would you be on an exotic island and expect hotel breakfast every day? Considering the fact that all the other lodging options on that beach are 3x more expensive, I didn't feel particularly shorted by my food options in the morning. The staff is very helpful with their golf cart rentals, and checking in and out was a breeze. I will be looking to stay at this hotel again next year, beyond a shadow of a doubt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon Saskatchewan

Posted Mar 26, 2017
I had an issue with bumpy itchy sores on my feet and lower legs. I don't have a solid answer as to what it was or where it came from. I don't attribute this to the hotel, I was the only one that had this condition in our group. Possible sand flies? Otherwise real nice stay at Maria del Mar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E Canada

Good location to the beach.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
When we arrived the check in went very well, the staff where very nice. There was beach towels available to use to take to the beach. The pool was clean and well looked after. We had a little problem with the hot water but as soon as we let them know they fixed it right away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa.

Perfect location may need a little maintenance.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
We enjoyed the location, the grounds, and the staff. The only thing that could possibly be a drawback for some is the beds are not great but you can always nap on the beach and our lighting was non-existent or poor. We stayed in room 47 and had the best patio with rocking chairs, table, ceiling fan, water cooler, and clothes line. We loved the staff at the hotel and at Buhos. The overall best experience was sitting one the beach and having Chino and Salvador checking in with us and bringing us our orders. Don't forget to budget for chair and umbrella rental and tip the staff well they deserve it!