Ratings based on 1,755 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canyon Lake

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The room layout was very nice with the small separate kitchenette...
Cons: The toilet was too far back and the counter behind it was in the way....
Location: The location was just right for my needs... I didn't care about local activities..
In my room I could not get either television to work using the remotes for each... When I went to the front desk, there was nobody there...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Large room, beautiful pool area

Posted Jul 13, 2017
My family's favorite hotel from our trip our west.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Cheap hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
I booked this room for a 10 day stay because the pictures were nice and the price was good. I walked in thinking I'd see this up to date hotel and instead I got very outdated 70's style looking hotel. The staff were always very friendly and nice but after 6 days staying in our room- mind you it's me and my 12 year old son- I find a open condom wrapper under our bed. Thank god the condom wasn't there too. So cleanliness could definitely use some work. Pool was nice but smelled strong from all the chemicals. I wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Comforting Retro Stay

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, and the complimentary breakfast.
Cons: The bathroom facilities are somewhat outdated.
Location: Some shopping centers nearby with good restaurants. Daiso, In & Out Burger, Dollar Tree, Pizza Hut, Vons, etc.
The area of downtown Long Beach was absolutely packed this past weekend, and after reading mixed reviews about the Super 8, me and my significant other were hesitant to book a room. However, it wasn't long after our arrival that our opinions quickly shifted. First of all, our greeter in the front desk was humorous and real nice. He didn't hesitate to consent a 3hr early check-in which allowed us to get comfortable before heading out to the Long Beach Convention Center. Our room was very large considering the price, and although everything about the Super 8 screams of the 1070's, it actually adds to the charm of it all. The room was extremely clean and came with everything you may need (coffee maker, mini fridge, a sitting area, flatscreen TV, closet, etc). And even though we didn't visit the pool, the recreational area outside looked great, and the night was nice and quiet. One of the biggest positives was definitely the complimentary breakfast. I have never seen such a large variety of breakfast options in a hotel: cereal, bagels, oatmeal, a freakin' waffle maker, coffee, juice, butter, jam, etc. It was a pleasant surprise that saved us a couple dollars that morning. If there was one negative about the trip, I'd have to say the toilet is fairly old. It was clean, but...'not comforting' in the sense that it doesn't work very well. Other than that, the Super 8 provided positive memories to our epic weekend vacation. A huge thank you to its staff, and its welcoming vibe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from troy ny

Great location and value

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bed was uncomfortable
Location: Near seal beach and Huntington Beach
Great place to sleep if you will be out and about most of the time. Close to beaches shopping and dining
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Comfortable and clean

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Staff was friendly and very nice. Room was clean. I would stay there again. 10 minutes drive to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

First time to California

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Cons: Could use some updating
Nice hotel good location close to shopping and restaurants . Felt safe at this hotel. Good parking and good breakfast with quite a few choices. Room was quite large and had a microwave and a small refrig. Beds were a little hard but ok. Would stay here again if I was returning to the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Older hotel with spacious room

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: The free breakfast was decent. The cook it yourself waffles were crisp and good.
Cons: Overall the hotel needs updating, but at under $100 per night, it was do-able
Location: Near Cal State Long Beach, and Long Beach attractions...only minutes from the airport and the college...Tourist attractions is 15 to 20 minutes away.
The Super 8 hotel is an older hotel in need of an upgrade. The double King Bed unit were spacious but under the lobby area, so it was noisy until 10PM and noisy early in the morning. It was also next to the motel's service laundry room. The bed was actually nice and firm. The appointments were old and outdated, but all in all still comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Not what I expected

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Pros: The staff was nice. The hotel itself is very outdated, even the color scheme and the furniture and bedding. The breakfast was good.
Cons: Updating all bedding, furniture, paint and being honest to say that is at least a 20 minute drive to the beach.
Location: The hotel is close to an out door mall type place and many places to eat and coffee shops. Those were all within walking distance.
Prior to our stay at this hotel, I called and explained that we were taking a boat cruise to Mexico and asked if their hotel was close to the ship port. They said yes. I didn't not realize that a 20 minute Uber ride meant close to them. I was very disappointed once we checked in. The room was a great size, just outdated. The pictures on the website are very deceiving. In real life the hotel is not as clean as the picture show. I guess I expected much more because of the website pictures and because the person said they were close to the beach. It is not close to the beach. Not walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Posted May 8, 2017
old facility. rooms are outdated and dark. hotel staff was not friendly and welcoming.