Ratings based on 1,260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Friendly Staff, Clean Room, Lots of activities!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Staff, food, view, clean beach, non-smoking areas
Cons: Reminding guests of smoking/non-smoking areas. The water in the pool was uncomfortably hot on days where the sun was out all day.
Location: The resort has excursions that are INCREDIBLE!. There is a little shopping center in Playacar that is fun to explore for souvenirs.
Not only is the resort gated with security, but it is within Playacar which is a "gated community". We felt very safe traveling to the resort, within the resort, and at the shops within Playacar. The staff at the hotel are multilingual so there was never a communication issue. There are multiple pools which allows you to choose your environment (adult only, kids only, mixed bag, etc.). There are a variety of activities held on the resort such as beach volleyball, zumba, and darts tournaments! On the beach you are able to kayak or paddleboard or lounge in the shaded chairs. The beach is GORGEOUS! They clean the sand daily (both seaweed/plants that wash up and trash that people discard on the beach). We were definitely never hungry! The all-day buffet has a variety of options (obviously some are better than others). The food at the buffet was nothing incredibly impressive, but was definitely good and had enough options that you weren't eating the same thing every day. There are multiple bars throughout the resort where you can get coffee, juice, cocktails, and beer. Bar and restaurant staff were very friendly!! You get to choose "a la carte" restaurants. This is based on the number of nights you stay (NOT based on if you book through the resort or Expedia as other reviewers have said). We chose the mexican and italian restaurants. Both were delicious and more food than you could possible eat. The shows are entertaining and you have a great view of the shows from Miramare.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kristine, Thank you for the fantastic review! It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay during your recent visit to the Riviera Maya. We truly appreciate it when our guests take the time to inform us about their experience at the Viva Wyndham Maya and we are thrilled to see that yours met with all of your expectations. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your gracious review. Kind regards, General Manager Viva Wyndham Maya
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OKC

Extremely unorganized

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The front desk is the most unorganized I have ever seen. They keep the reservations printed and sitting on the desktop. Very unprofessional.
Cons: Us a computer for reservations. Have a bar line for children's drinks and one (or more) for adults drinks. At least one for adults only after 8 PM.
Location: It cost us (5 people) a 300 peso's cab ride to 5th street area. and 300 back. There is limited shopping close and a Starbucks for decent coffee.
We booked 3 rooms several months in advance and there were only two available at check-in. As compensation they gave us $150 US credit in the gift shop. I didn't pay with credit from my business. I feel they should have simply reimbursed my credit card but "it is their policy". The mere fact the they have a "policy" for that tells me it happens often. The people checking in before us had booked adjoining rooms but they didn't get that either. The second day we got a third room but it was not near the other two. The food was decent. It was the worse we have had at an all inclusive, but the others were great. The bar was over crowded must of the time. They have three bars but the only adult-only one closed at 8 PM and was not close to the beach. It is at the street side of the resort (West side). The other 2 bars were over ran with children wanting fruity dinks. Not that they shouldn't enjoy them too, Just give them their own fruit drink bar or even line at the bar. I can't think of anything positive enough to recommend this resort to a friend. There are too many others there to have to deal with incompetence and unorganization. Book a different one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Todd, Please accept a sincere apology for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your recent stay in the Mayan Riviera. We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your vacation. Your comments will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations. It is our priority to satisfy all of our clients and we can assure you that we work every day with great efforts to optimize our services. We remain at your disposal. Best regards, General Manager Viva Wyndham Maya
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Horrible Stay

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Food, Service, Room, Staff Rude
Cons: Custermer service, food
Location: Is really close to Playa del Carmen
I have been several times to Playa del Carmen never had tried this Resort worst mistake ever. When I got there they didn;t help us get luggage out from the car. When I was check in the person in the window told me that she was close to wait to see who was going to be in the window. Then they were helping me never greet me she just keep complaining about another employee to some other staff there while checking me in REALLY RUDE by the way then no one again help us with our luggage. Rooms are really simple food the same everyday no veriaty at all they have an open bar with food that is left from the day nastyyyyyy!!!! I can go on on I will not recomend this hotel for the price you will get better service for me is the first and last time I will stay in any of there resorts
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We appreciate the fact that you have shared your thoughts on Expedia. We strive to create the best possible experience for our guests so it is disappointing to learn that the accommodations and services did not meet with your expectations. We encourage our guests to share their concerns during their stay so that we may address them immediately and create the experience they come to expect of the Viva Wyndham Resorts. We remain at your entire disposal. Kind regards, General Manager Viva Wyndham Maya
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice hotel on the beach!

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Very nice & friendly staff, clean room with a great air conditioner, good food at the buffet, excellent food at the restaurants, very nice beautiful beach! You can walk down the beach to the 5th Avenue shops. The only bad thing I can say is the wifi is terrible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rainier Oregon

i would stay again in a minute

Posted Jun 28, 2016
The hotel facilities beach and staff were excellent. The food was just so-so but I can always find something I would like. There was plenty a room and you can always find a lawn chair on the beach or by the pool which ever you like. The night we shows were excellent and a great time for the family to come together to relax in the evenings. My family has taken two trips to this resort in the last three years and I'm sure they will be a third.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

This was our second visit to this resort.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Overall just fine but was disappointed that they took out the swim up bar. The front desk is unfriendly but once you get past them everybody is very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room close to the beach

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: nice to see the enhancements, added patio area up front, renovated pool, new evening shows.
Cons: how about adding a list of the evening shows in the rear bar area. Added ceiling fans in the upstairs eating area.
Location: Great location, like the security. Took advantage to lease a bicycle and ride into the Plaza. With in walking distance. Our second time visiting.
Nice to wake up, open window shade and able to view the beach shore and white sand. Food & Service was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love the vicinity & how close it is to beach.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
The person I check in with was not friendly at all. Didn't tell me anything. His coworker checking in another family telling them where everything was & amenities. Ours just took our passport scan them gave us our key and that's it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Resort muy bueno, todo en uno, digno de Playa car

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: todo
Cons: la conexión a internet
Location: el sector es exclusivo, tranquilo, bien ejecutado
Recepción, registro, limpieza, variedad de comidas, licores, playa, zona de recreación muy bueno
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Estado. de México

Hotel muy agradable, cómodo a orilla de la playa.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: El trato del personal y su cercanía a la playa y ésta por supuesto..
Location: El lugar es maravilloso y tiene actividades para todos los gustos y edades.
Excelente trato de todo el personal, regresaré para la próxima ocasión