Ratings based on 460 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

DONT STAY HERE!

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: EVERYTHING! For one, clean the rooms and wash the sheets. Better yet, hire more than one person to do it all
Location: Location was strategic but much better options around
My parents stayed here while we were visiting family. It was cheap so it seemed like a good idea but once we got there the place was a disaster! The young lady at the check in desk was nice so thats one good thing. The room smelt like there was a dead animal in there. It was stuffy as well so they turned the AC on and left. When they got back that night they found a HUGE BROWN STAIN in the bed and since it was late, they covered it and slept. After their shower in the morning the room flooded with water and they used all their towels to stop the water. They went to the front desk and the person said that they were not the only ones to complain about housekeeping. She promised to get the sheets fixed, add towels, and have someone check out the shower. They got home at 2 am that night and the house keeper covered the stain with a sheet instead of removing the dirty sheet. No towels and water was still everywhere. They packed up and went to the front desk asking for another room and they were out. Half of them were out of service! Keep in mind, my dad is handicapped and it is 4 am in a city they dont know well. The lady on the front desk told them that many customers have complained and that only one lady works at housekeeping! She promised them a full refund , which we havent received btw, and told them good luck finding a place to stay. DONT STAY HERE!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Hotel experience was terrible.

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: NOTHING!!!!
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: Was frustrated with hotel....upsetting...did not venture out...
We asked the front desk clerk to change our room. Room was for smoking; air conditioner did not work. It was hot. Explained to clerk husband allergic to smoke. She refused to change rooms although many, many ions were vacant. Told us we had to contact Expedia because room booked through Expedia. Contacted Expedia who contacted hotel. Room was changed. Bathroom was filthy. Slime was in tub and sinks dirty. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. They deserve a rating of 1 and that's being generous!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank You for taking the time to write the review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are taking care of the issues and the concerns you wrote about in your review. We hope that you come and see us again in the future and see the improvements we have made. Thank You, Management Team
2 out of 5
by Angela from Jesup, Georgia

Decent Room

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
The room was decent, but I saw a few insects in the bathroom when I got ready to take a shower. The hotel is in a great spot because my boyfriend and I were able to walk to Applebees instead of driving. Overall the room was clean, but I don't like bugs so I probably wouldn't stay again. The rooms are in need of an upgrade as everything seems dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank You for taking the time to write the review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are taking care of the issues and the concerns you wrote about in your review. We hope that you come and see us again in the future and see the improvements we have made. Thank You, Management Team
2 out of 5
by Misty from Loganville

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
We were in town for my son's 4H event. I booked through Hotels.com, when we checked in we were informed that the pool was closed for maintenance. When I asked about this they said it should have been on the site when I booked. I have 4 children, I would have picked another hotel had I known. I rented a roll away for the room and all that was available were sheets, no extra blankets. The second night we were there the room next door to us decided to have a party until 4am..we called the front desk and went next door with NO luck at all. We decided to check out on Sunday bc we were beyond disgusted with the situation. Giovani was helpful at the front desk and did offer a discount for our trouble. I am not saying it is like this all the time but we did not have a very good first impression.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank You for taking the time to write the review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are taking care of the issues and the concerns you wrote about in your review. We hope that you come and see us again in the future and see the improvements we have made. Thank You, Management Team
1 out of 5
by Alan from Canton, GA

DON'T GO!

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
If there is no where else to stay in Savannah, sleep in your car! The room was filthy, soap scum on the faucets from another decade, looked like someone had changed the oil on the carpet. The breakfast didn't even have the stale packaged muffins. I will never stay there again but it could be a great place in the right hands. Indoor pool and hot tub which were closed. My suite was huge but just hadn't been cleaned in forever and they charge a fifty dollar incidental deposit upfront which is supposed to be refunded on your departure. HORRIBLE!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank You for taking the time to write the review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are taking care of the issues and the concerns you wrote about in your review. We hope that you come and see us again in the future and see the improvements we have made. Thank You, Management Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A crappy place with smelly beds and cockroaches

Posted May 25, 2016
Smelly beds, cockroaches, drunk people. Noisy rooms and you could hear people snoring in the next room. A bus stop is cleaner than this place. Old window curtains, tiles in the bathroom. A/c didn't work properly. I was tricked to book this hotel by the pictures in expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank You for taking the time to write the review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are taking care of the issues and the concerns you wrote about in your review. We hope that you come and see us again in the future and see the improvements we have made. Thank You, Management Team
1 out of 5
by Jason from Lexington NC

wouldn't stay again if the room was free!

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
The dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in. First room was gross, they gave us a new room and it wasnt much better. First time the toilet was flushed the water overflowed and flooded the bathroom, called for help and was told to come get a plunger and towels to clean up the water. It wouldn't be worth staying if the room was free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank You for taking the time to write the review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are taking care of the issues and the concerns you wrote about in your review. We hope that you come and see us again in the future and see the improvements we have made. Thank You, Management Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Susan from Florida

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
NO Smoking Room smells like a bonfire.Mattress on fold out ripped to shreds, filthy.The shower dripped water from leaks from shower on 2nd floor. OUTLETS in room don’t hold a plug.The carpets are stained.The keys hardly work&when they do turn "green" you have to kick the door like a Samurai warrior to open! The phones have "msg lights" that blinked perpetually despite 3 phone calls to front desk to turn off! The walls so thin I hear the man above me using the bathroom! Pool/hot tub look ok.BUT signs that you cannot use them! A sign on the business center door says"sorry - computer doesn't work".There's a bar that is open till 3am and both nights we heard drunks leaving and yelling at each other. No security?TV remote doesn't work&you have to hold the "on button" IN entire time to use hairdryer. 1st nite we had to ask for linens and this was B4 we opened that filth of a fold out bed . Front desk said "we’ll bring them to you". NOT. 2 hours later at 12:10 AM I waited in line where there was 1 STAFF member trying to check in a bus load of retired-age folks who's "reservations were messed up". There were 2 other guests waiting in line who needed linens AND they also had same room problems as me! "Manager on duty"NOT THERE? I tried to find a REDEEMING thing about this room&the only thing I could think of was a fleeing Syrian refugee might want to stay?Did get a"new mattress"for that fold out bed on the 2nd nite. The entire area was booked.No room at any other “Inn”.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank You for taking the time to write the review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We have taking care of the issues and the concerns you wrote about in your review. We hope that you come and see us again in the future and see the improvements we have made. Thank You, Management Team
1 out of 5
by Wesley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels