Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

OK but could be better...

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The location is nice, a very close walk to town.
Cons: Proper maintenance of the rooms. A better prepared reception manager (or a better administrative system showing whether rooms have been paid or not).
When I arrived the "lady in charge" (SeƱora Irma) wanted to charge me again for my room, even though Expedia had already collected payment. She required me to prove that I had already paid for the room; and even after I showed her Expedia's e-mail confirmation where it clearly stated that the rooms were paid for, she wanted me to produce a bank account statement ("or something") to prove it. Anyway, she was polite but her wanting me to prove that I had already paid for the rooms - instead of her calling Expedia to verify - really irritated me. The hotel is ok - nicer than the hotel we fled from - but it could improve by properly maintaining the rooms. When we arrived we noticed that the coffee maker still had coffee in the pot from the previous guests. Also, the air conditioner is shabby, though better that the one at our other hotel, which did not have one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hector Escamilla

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laurie from Seattle, WA

Beautiful accommodations on the beach!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The location on the beach and friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Holbox is the perfect destination to decompress and escape the stresses of life.
My husband and I booked a week at Xaloc to relax and unwind, which is exactly what we got. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, the location is amazing, and the accommodations were modest and clean. We will be back for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chuck from Vancouver

A Paradise, "the Mexican Bali"

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Rooms not meant for 3 or 4 adults max two adults and two SMALL children.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tiffany from Pa

Xaloc

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: Bungalow Concept.
Cons: Beds Were Awful. Lighting Was Very Dark Inside The Bungalows.
Location: Isla Holbox Was Great. Not Much To Do.but Then That Was Perfect. Walk The Beach. Meditate And EnjoytThe Quiet.
The Bed Was AwfulBut The Bungalo Was A Great Concept. The Hotel Was Beside A Very Busy Road That Led To The Beach So I Recommend Earplugs. Also Don't Count On WiFi. Breakfast Starts Too Late If Youbare Catching The Whale Shark Boats. Overall It Was Pleasant And Affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CJ from Portland, OR

Friendly place. Few tourists. Close to town.

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Close to town. Very clean beaches. Calm waters. Clean accommodations.
Cons: Pillows and beds were uncomfortable.
Location: Whale shark tour is for those who can tolerate rough seas! Lots of shells on beach. Very clean beaches.
Once there we upgraded to the palapas overlooking the ocean. The standard rooms were on the far side away from the sea. Walking distance to town. Golf cart taxis were always handy. Saw flamingos on ferry at Chiquila, on Passion Island and on whale shark tour. Hard mattresses; lumpy pillows. Pool was dirty when we arrived.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by harjeniq from usa

close to beach

Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed stay. Private bungalow. Walking distance to town. Quiet and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Frank & Ronda

Very Nice Small On-Beach Resort

Posted Mar 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I liked the low-key area, the comfortable and clean rooms, the view from the few beach/pool-side rooms, the pleasant & accommodating staff, and the entire "vibe." Like most places, Xaloc will not be perfection so sometimes a bit of patience is needed. Staff at all levels from room cleaners to food servers to the manager were competent, cheerful, and helpful. The manager was exceptionally helpful in all arrangements. The restaurant is a bit dismal on ambiance but the chef was actually very good. We would not hesitate to go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John Bob from Houston, TX, USA

Relaxing and private

Posted Nov 18, 2012
Pros: beautiful setting
Cons: poor quality linens
Beautiful setting and outdoor areas clean and well cared for. The pools need to have filters run more frequently and chemicals adjusted. The water in the pools looks dirty. The linens on the bed are of poor quality but clean and changed every two days. Pillows were like lumps of cotton stuffed in a sack. Staff is very friendly and helpful. For the price, it is hard to beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Antonio from Houston, TX, USA

Superb value for your money

Posted Oct 12, 2012
Staff is very friendly and the facilities are in great shape...much better than we expected for the price. Service at this hotel (and anywhere on the island) is a little slow but they really try their best to treat you like royalty. We highly reccomend their romantic dinner for two on the beach.