Ratings based on 1,411 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Nice but huge hotel complex. Beautiful beach and pool. Rooms were clean but could be renovated. The food at the buffet restaurant was over cooked. Alcohol was intensively advertised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel en buena ubicacion de playa y para descanso

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Hotel en buena ubicacion de playa y para descanso de la familia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Reviews that matter ...

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Location: 2.5hr walking - 20 min cab ride for 20$ from Play del carmen, 45 minutes from airport, very good.
Nice hotel. Your are in Mexico, you are paying less then 5 star hotel price and you get what you pay for. Room we stayed in was remodeled, but was nice and standard, clean everything worked. Couple of spots showed up after the heavy rain in the bathroom ceiling, but I'm sure it will be picked up by attentive Blue Bay team. One of the pools was under construction, but another large pool was enough to accommodate everyone. Beach is not the best, but much better then at many other hotels ( as I walked from Blue Bay to Play del Carmen passing many hotels along the way Blue Bay beach was one of the best kept and cleanest) Food was very good, I m confused about some of the comments about bad food and service. 6 a la carte and we were able to attend each one of them and were impressed with selection, quality and service. Of course it might be not as good as a 5 star restaurant at home but at all inclusive level this was great. Many families and kids, but we found plenty of couples and more quiet spots both by the beach and pools.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach, room very clean.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
we go for are 30 anniversary ,we lovit. Nice beach,good food.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Disappointing overall

Posted Dec 9, 2014
The WIFI was so slow as to be unusable for anything beyond email. The hotel tried to sell me a faster connection. When I told them their free WIFI was one of the reasons I booked their property, he said they advertised free WIFI not how fast it would be. When I told him that something free that doesn't work is worthless, he was totally non-responsive other than to say I could pay for what I should have been getting for free. I found it impossible to ever get a reservation in the restaurants of my choice, so I found myself eating in the same restaurants for dinner and the food was incredibly mediocre. Breakfast and lunch at the pool was acceptable, but dinners, unless you wanted to pay for better food, was lousy. The room was certainly acceptable, but the halls were so loud that anyone going to there room at night made it very difficult to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rapallo (GE- Italy)

Ottima struttura sul mare

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: La pulizia delle camere e degli spazi comuni, la gentilezza del personale.
Cons: Rumorosità
Location: La posizione dell'hotel favorisce molte escursioni (Playa del carmen, Tulum, ecc..)
Vacanza in famiglia, con bambina di 15 mesi. Necessitavamo di un posto che rendesse confortevole la permanenza al mare e l'eventuale possibilità di visitare luoghi e/o attrazioni e abbiamo trovato proprio quanto cercavamo. Ottima esperienza. Se si cerca, tuttavia, un posto particolarmente silenzioso, bisogna concordare la sistemazione della camera con la reception (noi eravamo al piano terra e la macchina del ghiaccio - anche di notte - e le radio trasmittenti degli addetti erano veramente rumorose.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

WORST VACATION OF MY LIFE!

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The rooms were clean and organized.
Cons: The staff, food, bathrooms around the hotel, transportation, shows, etc.
We visited Mexico looking for a wedding hotel for my sisters wedding next year. We decided to stay in the Blue Bay Gran Esmeralda since it was one of the hotels we were considering. As we entered the lobby it was hot, muggy and the receptionist was rude and treated us as if we were doing him a favor by being there. The rest of the staff was rude, unaccommodating, disrespectful and angry. It almost seemed as if they were upset we were on vacation. The food and drinks were absolutely terrible. The shows at night were horrendous, disorganized and just plain annoying to watch. I have never been one to write reviews but I just had to share this in the hopes I can help someone not waste their money on such a terrible place. Every guest we spoke to felt the same way we did about the staff and food. If you are looking to save a couple of bucks and stay here, DON’T do it!! It will end up being the worst vacation you have ever taken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Monterrey NL

Excelente resort

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Desde que llegamos el personal muy atento la comida esta muy buena, las bebidas en los bares también sábanas excelentes en si todo este excelente lo único q le podría pero es el clima del cuarto enfriada pero no lo suficiente, no dormía incómodo pero si pudiera enfilar más estaría genial
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Unprofessional and uncaring front desk personnel.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The food was good and the grounds were lovely and well maintained.
Cons: Professionalism at the front desk.
Upon our arrival the 1st question was do you speak Spanish, once I responded no he rushed through our check-in and was very short with answers to our questions. During our second night we had the ceiling fan turned on in our room and the blade broke off and flew across the room and hit the wall. We immediately called the front desk to report the incident and we were told someone would come up immediately. We waited for an hour then called again and needless to say no one showed nor did they call to check and make sure we hadn't been injured. We reported it again in the morning and when we checked out 3 days later at the front desk. Even face to face the clerk did not apologize or even acknowledge the comment. Other than the front desk the staff couldn't have been nicer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

Nice hotel, on the beach and lovely swimming pools

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Hotel is generally nice, clean and well maintained, food not bad and facilities and location really good. Lively nightlife but suitable for all.