Ratings based on 1,487 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Fabulous hotel we can't wait to go back.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: I loved that this hotel was spread out and felt like you were in the jungle. We upgraded to beach view and loved having our morning coffee.
Cons: The only dislike was the staff wanting us to be members, were on Holiday and didn't want to be hounded.
Location: Snorkeling,jet skiing,sailing
My husband and I enjoyed ourselves. The food and staff were fabulous. The beach was amazing and relaxing at the pool. This hotel if great for every age. Looking forward to returning in December.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
I arrived at the hotel to find mold in my room. I figure that would be the worst of it all. But no the hotel management has decided to strong arm me into paying for damages that where never caused by me or my kids. On our first night at the hotel my kids where playing with some sort of toy chess set and train in front of the black and white bar. An entertainment manager ran up to me and my friend stating that the kids broke a chess set. He refused to tell us his name or shown us his name tag. I Kate found out his name was. Entertainment manager he layer went on to calling security on us scaring my kids into crying and forced us into our room. The following day when I tried to file a complaint with the management of the hotel in was told I need to pay for damages or leave the hotel. Public relations assistant manager refused to show me the pictures of the damages he claimed to have and refused to show me and evidence of such damages. He told me that I have no right in his country to make any demands for evidence and I must pay or leave. To me this is a mafia style racket. And I would normally just leave but we had a party of 11 people at this dump of a hotel. Layer on that same day multiple guest of the hotel approached us and stated that they have witnessed the events that happened the night before and that fact was that the damages have been caused by some one else days before we have arrived. I knew that our kids did not cause the damage
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, MB

Nice hotel close to the ocean

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: It was close to the pool and beach area. Beds and rooms were cleaned daily.
Location: It is close to Playa Del Carmen where we went shopping. Also went to Xplor Park which was amazing.
Nice clean comfy rooms. The staff were always super friendly and helpful with everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom alaska

Great staff, amazing food, nice pools,

Posted Feb 26, 2015
We had an excellent experience, can't wait to go back. Beautiful landscape, staff is great, food is awesome, pool area wonderful, beach is not the best
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, good good

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Room always clean but no insulation so you hear all the traffic outside of rooms and hotel staff call every day to see if room ok or in need of anything; think they watch and call when u get back to room. Clean, friendly staff and American food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a bad deal overall

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The facilities were maintained, attractive, and clean. We enjoyed the free use of the catamaran on the beach.
Cons: The food was mediocre at best. Service staff were very personable but surprisingly the concierge and front desk staff were not.
Location: We really enjoyed the excursions away from the resort. We went in to the town of Playa del Carmen for a diving trip and to the ruins in Tulum.
My boyfriend and I stayed for four nights mid February. Overall we enjoyed our vacation. The weather was beautiful. It was our first time visiting an all inclusive resort. Drinks were average, mostly we drank beer (XX) which was good. Our biggest complaint was that the "four star" a la carte restaurants could only be booked the same day which meant you either had to venture to the lobby early each morning to make dinner reservations or settle for whatever was left by midday. Every day we were given only one or two dinner options only to find the restaurant half empty while dining. This was a consistent theme that we found irritating. To add insult to injury, the food was far from four star quality. The buffet food was no better than food you would find at any all you can eat - not terrible but not impressive either. If you are on a budget and this resort is the best choice for you then I'd say go ahead. The food and customer service won't blow your hair back but the resort is very pleasant, clean, and well kept. It is right on the ocean and a short drive to downtown Playa del Carmen. We were able to easily book outings in the lobby. If your expectations aren't very high then you will likely be perfectly content with this resort. If you do have very high expectations however you might be disappointed as they do miss the mark on a couple things. As for the sewage smell others mentioned it was wafting through the grounds at times but not near our room so it didn't bother us much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Very nice resort and would go back. Grounds kept up and food was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
My girlfriend and me has an amazing experience there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom minnesota

nice place beautiful beach nice pool good food

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Everything else! The beach the food the pool the bars! The staff is amazing! Loved Puerta!
Cons: More restrooms in closer proximity to beach and pool.
Too much timeshare push at check in and had to get our own bags to our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Posted Feb 22, 2015
We had a lovely stay! Time went by way too quickly.