Ratings based on 1,506 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico, D.F.

Hotel agradable cerca de la Playa

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: El SPA es muy agradable, la atención es excelente.
Cons: Desde la recepción, la atención en los restaurantes, la calidad de la comida pues aunque se busque economizar hay platillos que pueden ser mejores.
Location: Playa del Carmen es muy agradable, muy buenos restaurantes, y la gente calida.
Es un hotel all inclusive, donde desafortunadamente salvo excepciones la atención sobre todo de los restaurantes lleva esa tendencia, es asi que no es muy buena su atención, pero es pasable, se tiene que reservar para ir a los restaurantes del hotel despues del desayuno. como todo hotel de este tipo, se busca que el cliente permanezca dentro de las instalaciones. el spa es bueno
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Time!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
We truly enjoyed our stay at the Blue Bay. The pool, staff, grounds, room were really nice. The drinks and food were great! Elmer at the Swing Bar was our go to guy - he went out of his way. The only complaint I have, and it's not really a complaint, just my idea of a resort. I felt the grounds were a little too big with the main bar and restaurants being so far away from the beach. When I am on vacation, I like to be closer to the beach. I didn't mind the walking part, you could even hop on a golf cart if needed, just wanted to be closer to the beach at night. As far as having individual buildings for rooms, I loved that set up. The price at the Blue Bay is very reasonable. The wild life was entertaining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wasilla,AK

Nice hotel, decent food, close to beach

Posted Mar 22, 2015
The food was ok, the beach had a lot of seaweed but that cleared towards the end of our stay, it was .6 mi to the beach from our room that was kind of far. It's far from Playa del Carmen but you have pretty much all you need at the resort. Most of the staff were friendly, lots of pushy sales people, but overall it was relaxing and fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, Minnesota

Another great stay at the Blue Bay!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Our second stay in three years at the Blue Bay. Really good specialty restaurants, good buffet food, upgraded liquor this year from years past. Rooms and facilities in good shape. Wouldn't spend extra money on the spa..several water features and sauna not working. Staff is outstanding. Always great service from everyone. They do a nice job keeping the teens and spring breakers busy while keeping other areas of the beach and pools peaceful for those looking for that. Priced very well for our stay - all inclusive is the way to go when on a budget.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MEXICO DF

PÉSIMO SERVICIO Y ACTITUD DEL PERSONAL!

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: La naturaleza alrededor del hotel.
Cons: La limpieza de las habitaciones, de la playa y claramente el servicio y la atención del persona.
Location: Solo fuimos a playa del carmen un pueblito donde comimos muy rico y pasamos una linda tarde.
La actitud del personal fue muy altanera y grosera. Desde mi llegada en el chek in se tardaron una hora en darme mi habitación, el joven que me atendió lo hizo de mala gana. Nunca me explico nada de las instalaciones ni los horarios de comida ni nada. al estar las habitaciones muy lejos hay que usar un transporte el cual maneja muy mal y no se paran. Dos veces tuve que pararme enfrente de los choferes para que me subieran al camioncito, ya que venía con mi mama que no puede caminar bien y una bebe de 2 años. Vi dos veces a los meseros gritarles piropos groseros a dos americanas que como no entienden solo se reian, pero para los mexicanos que estabamos ahí fue muy desagradable. Al no ser extranjero te atienden como si te estuvieran haciendo un favor pero bueno, ahora entiendo por que es tan barato. Prefiero gastar mas en otro hotel que recibir ese tipo de servicio. La alberca super sucia, tenía una nata asquerosa apenas siendo medio dia. Fueron unas vacaciones muy incomodas, la verdad no vuelvo a hospedarme en ningun hotel de la marca. PESIMA experiencia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Wonderful location, Forget the other reviews

Posted Mar 20, 2015
This hotel is about 15 minutes from Cancun International Airport and 15 minutes from 5th Avenue. Ideal location for romantic getaways or family vacations. Several restaurants offering a variety of food and locations throughout the resort. There is not much nightlife for the people looking to party, but that makes this place special. Staff is very helpful and welcoming. Pools are amazing, perfect to relax and enjoy the sun. The beach is beautiful and has a great view of Cozumel at night. You seriously would not even need to leave the resort if that is what you are looking for. Rooms are nice, not modern but not antique either. Beverages in room replaced daily as well as sheets are truly changed and floors are wet moped so there is never a dirty feel. Most of the rooms are garden views, so paying extra for the maybe 30 rooms that have a view might be too much, the view of the garden atmosphere is amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Very big hotel. Little entertainment great food.

Posted Mar 19, 2015
The hotel was a little to big. But they try there best to provide shuttles. downfall is they dont run in the am Had to get up 20 min early to walk to the beach to see the sun rise or after dinner . Little entertainment as far as pool side but still had a great time. great family environment but the bar was full kids drinking. ...thr beach is no great rocks and seaweed. Bight sid was the lagoon about 10 min down .the staff was really nice helpful .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Great time!!!

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Had a great time. I would revisit this resort. The buffets were fantastic. Next time I would ensure that I had a room with a king size bed and the personal pool outside my door. We requested king beds but our rooms had 2 full size instead :( The beach was not the best due to all the seaweed from past hurricanes but the hotel has no control over that. They did clean it up daily. The pool was clean with fun daily activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Sometimes the service wasn't good enough, some waiters had a bad attitude
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom illinois

Room smelled and shower leaked

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pools were nice, buffets were good went to seafood reastraunt and we did not like the food my husband got the steak most of it was fat and grisle I got the samon I didn't care for the cranberry ontop but it was nicely cooked. The potatoes that came with it was horrible. The Mexican reastraunt was very good! Staff was very nice!