Ratings based on 1,577 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Experience

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Food and drinks
Cons: Front Desk staff, working wifi, check-in process, not have to wear wristbands the entire time
required to wear wristbands the entire stay, wifi free for first device , $2 extra for each additional device. Bad thing is that wifi is horrible and lucky to find a place that works. Required to use towel card, if not returned - extra $30 ( Make sure when you get a towel , you return while staff is at towel booth because they take the card when you get the towel. If you lose the wristband - extra $160. Hotel staff are not very friendly, do not make eye contact. Check-in is a horrible process - not organized at all. We left, gentleman cutoff our wristbands, asked for towel cards and we didn't have ours because of incident above and he wanted to charge us $30. He never made eye contact, never asked how our stay was or anything, more concerned about the extra charges and to get us out of the hotel. Large facility so be prepared to walk alot but they do have golf carts that come by but not very often.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom AR

just ok

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Restaurants
Cons: Have waiters at the pool/beach areas.
the hotel is not too bad, bed was better than some of the other hotels I've stayed in. The restaurants were the best thing about the hotel, even the buffet was pretty good. But we had to wait about 30-45 min to get our luggage. There were no waiters at the pool or beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom las vegas

Posted May 17, 2015
good comfort on the room, excelent international food with variety restaurants; beutiful pool and white sands, the beach is not too bad but the staff of the restaurants is not carefully with their service so brown gays bring the tips on your hand lol.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Herkimer, NY

Loved it and will return

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: We loved the hotel. Our room was the best. Our private pool spoiled us.
Cons: Bad odors from stagnant ponds should be addressed. The Black and White "sports bar" needs larger TVs and offer a variety of sports, not just soccer.
Location: This trip we chose not to leave the resort. The beach front at this resort however was almost non-existent.
We were so happy with our overall experience at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda. We reserved a pool walk-out suite and are so happy we did. The size of the resort is smaller than others we have stayed at and we really liked that, made it much more manageable as we chose to walk throughout the resort rather than taking the shuttles (needed to walk off some of our overindulged meals). The entire resort is so clean and impeccably maintained. The staff is beyond friendly and helpful; Karina our VIP Concierge and Sammy the VIP beach bartender were the best! Just a recommendation to others, the VIP Emerald upgraded package is well worth the added expense. On the negative side, there were some bad odors from stagnant ponds that should be addressed. The Black and White is listed as a "sports bar" and would be a great place for more people to hang out as it offers a cool breeze and great atmosphere, however the TV screens are small and all show only soccer on them. Sports bars usually have a variety of different sports for a variety of different interests. Many people we spoke to just walked through because there were no sports of interest to stay to watch. There were some major sporting events being held the week we were there like basketball and hockey playoffs, major league baseball, and a major boxing event, but only soccer was shown on all the televisions at the sports bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom df mex

estancia inolvidable

Posted May 16, 2015
Excelente atencion comida esquisita y bebidas las habitaciones hermosas y lagente que dice que los empleados te tratan mal es mentira
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

May 3-9, 2015 - Excellent Hotel, Staff and Food.

Posted May 15, 2015
Location: Took shuttle to Playa del Carmen. We felt very safe and had a wonderful experience.
This resort was wonderful. The staff was exceptional. Staff entertained guest during the day pool side and put on shows at night in the theater. The food was 5 star.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nv

Nice large pools

Posted May 10, 2015
Food is good, pools great. The only major complaint is the noise that comes from an uneven stone floor in the,hallways that makes everything echo. When a maids cart or suitcase is being wheeled down the hall the sound is so loud you can't sleep especially early in the morning. Also no real meeting place or lounge in the lobby and no swim up bar. Friendly staff. Beach not great.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom tx

Horrible place and horrible beach

Posted May 9, 2015
Will never return by far the worst place I've ever stayed in my life
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mn

Great place to stay, slow check in.

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Food, pools, gym/spa, comfortable rooms, gorgeous resort, very scenic walkways with animals roaming about.
Cons: Check in speed....
Location: Within 1/2 hour or less of Xel-Ha, and X-Plor, and Xcaret adventure parks, 6 miles from Playa Del Carmen.
We had a awsome time here, just a couple niggles. Check in took an hour... Some of our party arrived a day later, and no better then, which is unacceptable. Rooms were nice and clean, mine was musty and was covered off with cologne. Sink stopper didn't work, and bathroom fan bearings were noisy and needed replacing. Girlfriends room had toilet flush handle retaining nut missing, so had to hold the flush handle in the proper position for it to flush. Minor issues in the whole scheme of things as the resort itself is very nice and had fantastic food. Beach water is disappointing if you are looking for clear blue water, but knew that coming in, but the pools make up for it with plenty of chairs in and out of the water. If you are a workout fanatic the gym has top quality precor equipment and a small weight room and yoga area, very busy place from what I observed. Lot of people staying at the resort were quite attractive, making us feel a bit out of shape! More couples than families with little kids noted here, which we preferred.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heerlijk hotel met super vriendelijk personeel

Posted May 6, 2015
Genoten van een week Mexico in het Blue Bay Grand Esmeralde in Playa del Carmen. Het hotel is een absolute aanrader. Vriendelijk personeel dat je graag helpt en zelfs iets extra's voor je doet. Het eten is prima en er is echt veel keuze. Gezellige bar's (ook op het strand) met leuke muziek. Ieder dag een keurig schoon gemaakte kamer en een leuke verrassing op het bed :-) Gereisd met twee kinderen (9 en 12) en ook zij hebben zich prima geamuseerd. Veel activiteiten voor jong en oud rondom het zwembad (overdag) en in de Sportbar ('s avonds)