Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great small luxury hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Rooms are spacious and modern in design Secluded and Relaxed Service is amazing - shout out to Cesar! Great Spa
Location: Playa del Carmen is a short cab ride Nearby Golf Course
This was our third trip to Blue Diamond in three years and we left completely relaxed, de-stressed, and satisfied after our six day trip. This resort is a small adults only luxury hotel just outside Playa del Carmen set gorgeous grounds along a cenote. The staff have all been amazing and many have been there for years so they completely remembered us and filled every request with smiles and efficiency. The food was the best it's been in the three times we've been there and being all inclusive there are no buffets for any meal - everything is ala carte in the restaurants and made to order. When not on the beach reading and swimming there were yoga classes, World Cup game viewing in the beach bar, fitness center, and even mixology classes. We are a married gay couple from NYC and the staff have always been so courteous and welcoming - the chef even surprised us with a wedding anniversary cake for dessert one evening while eating at the restaurant above the beach. The resort is beautiful, secluded, very quiet, and low key - subtle luxury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Everything was fantastic. Except the internet.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
We were extremely please with this resort from the amenities, staff and location. But, as many modern worker bees, I still need to check my email during vacation...Also FB and ESPN. The internet was inconsistent at best. However, for overall experience, I would love to come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Little Silver, NJ

Relaxing Getaway

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: We loved the rooms, the beach, the service, everything was wonderful. It was a beautiful place.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was great, very easy to get to the resort from the Cancun airport. The resort helped us to book a car to and from the hotel.
We decided to visit the Blue Diamond resort to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. It was a beautiful resort and the staff was wonderful and friendly. Everything was great. The food was good, though we would have loved some more authentic Mexican food. The beach was wonderful, not a lot of resorts down there have a beach as nice as the Blue Diamond resort, it was the best one that we saw. We did the snorkeling one day and went into town another day. The visit to town was nice and easy and we enjoyed getting out, though you really don't need to leave the resort. Not much of a night life, but that is not what we were looking for in our vacation. Just rest and relaxation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Not for everyone

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Service
Cons: Add some entertainment
When I tell you there is absolutely nothing to do in this resort. No activities during the day and no entertainment at night. There are two restaurants to choose from and the nicer of the two has very good food. The staff are very nice and there are plenty of them around. The bartender always comes around whether at the beach or pool. Always plenty of chairs no matter where you want to be. This resort is very long so be prepared to get a room at the palafitos or beachside...... And be ready to pay for it. You have bikes assigned to your room and its nice to ride the path to the gym. People had to ride from their room to the beach everyday. They have the golf carts you can call to pick you up. We closed the restaurant at 10:30 without a sole there and as soon as we left they were locking up. If you want to getaway and hide out this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arun from New York

5 star service

Posted Jun 10, 2014
We had an excellent stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a private getaway very close to Playa del Carmen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Exceeded Expectations

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Suites are incredible!
Cons: Air conditioning needs to be stronger and colder
My husband and I booked a three-night stay for Memorial Day weekend about a month before the holiday. We based our destination decision off reviews we read online. We were disappointed. In fact, we were thrilled that Blue Diamon exceeded our expectations. Attentive service, delicious cuisine, premium drinks and a remarkable suite combined to create one of our favorite vacations ever. This boutique resort lends itself to being more on the quiet and romantic end of the spectrum, which is exactly what we desired for our getaway. We did make numerous friends during our short stay and enjoyed relaxation time with them at the pool. We'll definitely return in the future.
2 out of 5
by Pengxi from NY

Bad

Posted May 26, 2014
Has nothing to do with "luxury". Terrible conditions. Terrible staff. Never go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from v

Beautiful beach, view and staff!

Posted May 26, 2014
Extremely relaxing! Loved everything except what te other reviews point out - - the bikes need attention (and our got stolen) plus the rooms were hot... But what do you expect! The staff were soooo friendly.. And Irving at the bar -- was the man!!! Very friendly and provided awesome suggestions.. Plus his drinks were great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by suzq from Texas

Awesome staff!!

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: food and staff
Cons: Bikes, air conditioning
Location: Had a great lunch in Playa at a restaurant named Karen's.
Loved the stay overall! Excellent staff, food, and drinks. The bike situation is a mess. Not only are there not enough bikes, but the ones they have are in horrible condition. Also, the air conditioning in the rooms is a little lacking. Other than that, the Blue Diamond is fantastic! Friendliest staff you will find anywhere you travel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by java from Dallas

Great food, nice rooms and helpful staff

Posted May 7, 2014
We had an amazing time with another couple. Anytime we needed anything...room was warm...they came right away and fixed, needed reservations or whatever...they were always helpful. The food was outstanding, we never had a bad meal in the entire weekend.