Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Who could ask for more?

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: "Xavi's special" should be on the menu. It's a delicious drink and everyone was talking about it!
My husband and I just had a quick trip to Playa del Carmen and we stayed here. Our stay was magnificent. The place is phenomenal, the staff is wonderful and accommodating, the beach and pools are amazing, the restaurants are gorgeous and our room was stunning. Really, stunning! It over looked a beautiful cenote, private pool, amazing outside private spa/bath. The entire place was simply breathtaking. Very private. I would love to still be there right now!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Camera was stolen and hotel did NOTHING

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: flaura and fauna, view from pool, bikes, alligators, coati, some staff, quiet mostly
Cons: security, FOOD, watered down alcohol, hot tub temperature, accountability
Location: near beach, 20 min from Playa del Carmen, Cenotes near by, Ruins about 40 min, 45 min to Cancun, snorkeling nearby
I was excited at first when I arrived by the quiet and beauty.There are some things that rate 5 stars, but plenty that negate that. They water their alcohol like other all inclusives, but I didn't expect that at an this $400 a night resort. I wasn't drinking a lot, but would have preferred to get what I paid for. The food was aweful. It was so bland, and took a very long time. The serving staff was very attentive. The cigar lounge was closed the ENTIRE time we were there, and our snorkeling trips were cancelled every time we booked We never got to go.The hot tub was NEVER hot. We went for our anniversary, they had a bottle of Mexcian sparkiling wine, and rose petals in the room. Does $400 a night not rate a better bottle of champaigne? I saved the petals, which I would have brought back for nostalgia, but the maid threw them away the next day. I had them set aside.This will be important to the story later. The crown of the problems is this. Our Go Pro camera was stolen on the property. I told them immediately and stated that we needed the police.When we returned from our prepaid excursion that we could not cancel, we asked the staff if they had called for us, and they had no idea what we were talking about. The morning person told no one, and did not call police. They sent security, and security said "our staff would not remove even a pen".Day after day we asked and they never called.They said they would call and send us the report via email. Never happened!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Loved the experience at blue diamond. Best honeymoon ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

amazing hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: no mosquitos please
Location: xplor
everything is perfect here. donmt waste your time trawling through all the other hotels in PDC. bert all inc by far. food, booze, service, beach, pool, settoing all 5 star/
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Experience!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Upon arriving at the resort, my friends an I were greeted with smiles, a cold towel and cold champaign in our rooms. What!?!? Great start to a relaxing/fun filled week. We had amazing service in every restaurant. Especially Ambar! I'm a huge foodie, and I/We were super impressed. Our wonderful waiter, Mahoney, both nights we dined, was completely on point and extremely accommodating! The service on the beach and dock, where we camped out at the end of, was great! the resort is large but not ridiculous. I recommend staying closer to the beach if you plan on using it and the pool a lot. They have carts pretty available. They also provide bikes, although they may run out if it's busy! The bikes are kind of run down and most tires are on the flat side of things. :) Over all, i think it was perfect for our group of 6. We would definitely come back! Everyone was SO nice!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puerto rico

Very nice and private hotel!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The privacy
Cons: The Aquamarina restaurant only for breakfast the waiting it's too long
Location: If you go, do the Temazcal, great experience. The Spa is great.
Excellent experience, a relax vacation!!! The service and the staff was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Wonderful Experience!

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: I liked that it's adults only and private. The grounds were kept well and the people were quite friendly and attentive to our needs.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.....
Location: This was really a trip for my friend and I to relax. We didn't leave the resort at all! The ride from the airport wasn't long at all (30-35 mins).
From the moment my best friend and I arrived to the day we left, we received nothing but great service. I really wished that I could remember everyone's names, but I can't. I will mention a few Marco, Jorge, Caesar, Floris..., DeMargo, as well as others were exceptional. No matter where we went on the resort and no matter what time of day it was, we were greeted with a "Hola". Aside from the little creatures (lizards/geckos) that I am terribly afraid of, and falling ill one day, there's nothing bad that I can say about the Blue Diamond. Great service, great resort, great people. Thanks for a vacation to remember! I forgot to thank the gentleman who went out and got Gatorade for me and my friend because we both had taken ill!!! Gracias....
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Beautiful but not what was promised.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The entry and lobby are beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. We thought we were at a five star hotel. Unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations. The hotel advertises that bikes and a snorkeling tour are included. There aren't enough bikes for everyone. When we asked on our second day, we were put on a long waiting list. The snorkeling tour was canceled due to weather the first day. The second day we made a reservation for 11 a.m. We were told to go to the beach. The guys at the beach had no idea what we were talking about. We were asked to wait 10-15 minutes until the boat arrived. After waiting in the broiling sun for half an hour we gave up and sat on the beach. The boat never came and no one even bothered to tell us let alone apologize. The food was good for all inclusive. The portions are small so you don't feel like you are at an all you can eat buffet. Ceviche and fish fritters were delicious. Don't get pizza unless you like school lunch pizza. The beach is beautiful but very small. Half is for the private villas. Everyone else is shoved together. There is no feeling of privacy. Tropical paradise doesn't include sitting next to chain smokers. The pool area is small and even more cramped and busy. If you are there to party and you are with a young group it is a great hotel. The drinks are good and plentiful. If you are looking for a beach to relax on and feel closes to nature and the beauty of the Riviera Maya this is not it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great small luxury hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Rooms are spacious and modern in design Secluded and Relaxed Service is amazing - shout out to Cesar! Great Spa
Location: Playa del Carmen is a short cab ride Nearby Golf Course
This was our third trip to Blue Diamond in three years and we left completely relaxed, de-stressed, and satisfied after our six day trip. This resort is a small adults only luxury hotel just outside Playa del Carmen set gorgeous grounds along a cenote. The staff have all been amazing and many have been there for years so they completely remembered us and filled every request with smiles and efficiency. The food was the best it's been in the three times we've been there and being all inclusive there are no buffets for any meal - everything is ala carte in the restaurants and made to order. When not on the beach reading and swimming there were yoga classes, World Cup game viewing in the beach bar, fitness center, and even mixology classes. We are a married gay couple from NYC and the staff have always been so courteous and welcoming - the chef even surprised us with a wedding anniversary cake for dessert one evening while eating at the restaurant above the beach. The resort is beautiful, secluded, very quiet, and low key - subtle luxury.