Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Has Potential But Management Is Very Poor

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: A FEW staff members were very nice/attentive - remembering us and proactively bringing drinks, towels, etc. If not for them it would've been very bad.
Cons: Management needs to change - the location is great and this place has potential but they (management) fails at meeting basic customer service needs.
Location: Couldn't tell you - wanted to leave but they wouldn't arrange a trip without using their shuttle service for a $60 roundtrip for about 9 miles. Nope.
We picked this location because she was looking for a nice beach and I just wanted to place to relax and the reviews, while mixed, seemed to indicate that people enjoyed the beach and found it pleasant. In all honesty, of all the resorts we've been to this one was the worst overall. Food: There wasn't a single dish that was memorable - except for those that were pretty bad (too salty, tepid, etc.). It was all inclusive yet they pushed an 'extra expense' wine list at our first dinner and didn't mention that they had a lot of other wines that were included. Either dishes looked good but tasted average or looked average and tasted bad. Room: There were several things wrong with our room but nothing that warranted calling to complain (we're there to just relax - I'll let some things slide). When we finally had enough and called the person we spoke to didn't seem to believe us - meanwhile we talked to another couple about their experience and they mentioned that they had to change rooms and then another couple passing by said they did too. No one it seemed could get hot water consistently. It took us 10-15 minutes (literally) of running the water to get it hot. Unbelievable! Facilities: Everything else seemed okay, though in all honesty we didn't take advantage of much. We just wanted the beach and to relax. Overall: Someone recommended before we left that we stay at one of the Mayakoba locations. It was next door and next time we'll go there instead. I recommend you do the same.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great potential

Posted Jul 21, 2015
It's a wonderful hotel in property with great potential however the attention to detail was lacking. Tipping is absolutely required even though it's an all inclusive resort the service that you received is solely based on how much you tip we spent 2 nights in a room without air conditioning and the staff and hotel management was unwilling to do anything about it until we got upset and really complaining they finally moved us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, CA

amazing and relaxing

Posted Jul 14, 2015
This hotel was very private. The lobby was right as you pull in so there was no access to anyone in the facility but guests. It was amazingly quiet, the food was great, the staff was extremely attentive and the facility was spotless! I will go here again. If your looking for five star relaxation, all inclusive, and escape from the children, this is it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Fantastic Hotel with great staff

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Everything. We were surrounded by nature and the room was great.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: We only left the resort to go fishing and it was a little bit of a drive but nothing to complain about.
The hotel was absolutely amazing! The property is surrounded by nature so walking around is an experience in itself. The Laguna Room we stayed at was incredible. We were on the second floor over looking the laguna and it felt like we stayed in a tree house. I can not say enough amazing things about the staff. Each person was so polite and helpful. They exemplify true customer service. We also visited the Spa a couple of times and had incredible treatments there as well. Lastly, the food was incredible. Everything we tried was great and paired well. You can tell they have put a lot of thought in their dishes. I can't think of one negative thing about our stay. We will definitely be recommending the Blue Diamond to friends and family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Beach Reality

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Room comfort and services
Cons: The beach occupancies
Location: N/A
When we have chosen this hotel, main criteria was “do not have to fight for chairs on the beach” Nobody on the previous reviews mention that more than half of the beach (and it is a very small one) is reserved for the 5 casitas (practically 5 couples!!), or for whatever the manager of the resort (like relative, friends) let them stay there. The rest of the beach (1/3) has high density chairs that need to fit the rest of the resort people, over 200 people. The swimming pools are very small and very low water level, impossible to really swim just to get wet! We just wanted to have a very nice quiet time, but hunting a quiet chair at the beach was very stressful, as they will harass you if you cross the reserve area! Make sure if you go to this hotel, to be in a very crowded place on the beach if you are not in the 5 casitas, or a preferred management costumer! Very disappointing and frustrating! It was not compensating for the very nice service, and nice people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from memphis

Beautiful & relaxing

Posted May 25, 2015
The excellent ratings and pictures were spot on! The property is tranquil and beautiful. The food is very good and they provide a good variety. This was one of the best trips I've tak in a long time; a very good overall experience. The only advice I would give is to not be in a hurry for anything. Transportation in the resort and service is laid back; however, it wasn't a terrible inconvenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2015
Beautiful resort, great food, great drinks and very helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus Ohio

Relaxing and beautiful

Posted May 17, 2015
The grounds are immaculate. The wait staff was always eager to please. Especially Caesar. He made our trip. If peace and quiet is what you want then this is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale AZ

Beautiful Hotel

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Great food, great staff, and beautiful property
Great hotel, the staff is wonderful and the food is very good. I would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from PA

Small relaxing and better quality than competitors

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: High quality, Amazing Food, Small (not crowded), Nice rooms, Excellent service
Cons: Logistics and operations, honesty of staff regarding problems, not a lot of things to do inside the resort
Location: Middle of the Riviera Maya, surrounded by a few miles of beach. 20USD/15min taxi away from Playa del Carmen, about 40 miles from Cancun
One of the best all-inclusive resorts in the area The food is simply amazing. There are only three restaurants on site, and one is only open for dinner (6-10). But the quality of the food is outstanding, exquisite top-end traditional Mexican dishes as well as some international alternatives. In contrast with other all-inclusive resorts, the drink service is great. The bars/mini-bars have good brands, and bartenders/waiters are very attentive and willing to please It is very small (128 rooms) and hence quiet and perfect for relaxing, not the place to party. Most of the guests during our stay were couples and would just chill in the beach, pool area or restaurants It is surrounded by a few miles of beaches. It is between Playa del Carmen and Puerto Morelos, and you can access either place with a 1USD/40min public van, or a 20USD/20min taxi. Its very central location makes it easy to drive or take a shuttle to other popular places Only two complaints. The logistics are not that great. E.g., if you try to schedule something at the lobby, the instructions might never make it to the concierge. They will try to fix things as soon as they realize, but you might face some inconveniences Also, they are never straightforward when there are issues. E.g., they don't have enough bikes for all guests. Instead of telling you that you will have to wait a day or two, they will keep saying that a bike will be available soon and then making excuses, I saw this happen with a few guests