Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pampered Relaxation on the Beach

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The staff, rooms and beach
Cons: Although we enjoyed breakfast and lunch, we thought the dinners could be improved a bit.
From the minute we arrived ,we were greeted by the most friendly staff, who promised to pamper and take care of us during our stay - and that is exactly what they did! The hotel has a very peaceful and relaxing vibe. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. The resort itself is very long and narrow, so the staff is always nearby to pick you up in a golf cart and take you to the beach, spa or to dinner. It is an extremely quiet, adults only resort so if you are looking for anything to do at night besides having a relaxing dinner, this may not be the place for you. The beach is beautiful and very clean. The pool area sits up high with great views of the ocean. It is an all inclusive resort and the staff is very happy to accommodate all your requests. The staff is absolutely what sets this resort apart from others. They are the sweetest, most pleasant and helpful staff I have encountered on vacation! From the waiters to the bartender, pool and beach staff - all are ready, willing and able to accommodate your requests and do so with a smile!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful paradise escape

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Quiet and beautiful setting
Cons: NO .
Location: Playa del Carmen , 5th ave
Great property , attentive staff, well maintained hotel . Luxury
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by H from New York, NY

Quiet, comfortable stay

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Interior design, architecture, food, staff
Cons: Bicycles, mini bar
Location: 30 minutes from airport, 45 minutes to Tulum
Overall, the grounds were kept very well and stay was very comfortable. Would recommend requesting a bike upon arrival as we only received ours on the last day. We stayed in the Jr. Suite so it was a little bit of a walk to the beach and restaurants, but very nice scenery so we didn't mind. Food and drinks were excellent and served by the friendliest staff. Spa was beautiful and the yoga class offered during the week was a great addition. The mini bar could have been filled more frequently and possibly offer more snacks instead of only nuts and m&ms, but no major complaints. Definitely would recommend to friends and family and possibly go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

quiet

Posted Mar 15, 2014
exactly what i hoped for.. dont hope for a bicycle, even when we got one we couldnt ride it, then it was taken by another guest.. you dont need it though.. we loved this place and are looking forward to going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Beach Lover from Toronto

Beautiful, quiet, smaller hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The size (not a big sprawling, multi pool complex), the beach and pool, the rooms and the ambience of the resort.
Cons: Spa is too expensive and would have gotten more of our business if it has charged 20 - 30% less.
Location: There are no included water sports at the resort, but just a few meters down the beach is a place to rent equipment.
I went to the hotel for a week with my daughter to unwind and this was the perfect hotel. No small children, a beautiful room with a patio and seating by the river, excellent staff, gorgeous (though small) beach and pool. We liked everything about the experience. Other reviewer were helpful in pointing out that the rooms are a distance fro the beach and getting a cart can be a wait. We put our names on a waiting list for two bikes and on the morning of the third day we got them.. they were are little dilapidated, but they did the job. Service in all areas of the hotel was excellent. Breakfasts and lunch were very good and cocktails were made with good quality alcohol and ingredients. Dinners were okay .. after a dinner at the more formal Alhambra we opted for the restaurant at the beach which was more relaxed and food was just as good. We also ate in Playa del Carmen a couple of nights.. the town is very touristy and lost any charm it once had, but with a little research you can find a good meal (though most restaurants are mediocre at best). We did not have any bad experiences and loved out week at this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by W.C. from Atlanta

Beautiful Property! Great Staff

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Cons: More bike or make bike communal. It would be nice to have some live music
Location: Do not do the excursions unless you take a cab on your own. Just getting to the facilities could take an 1.5 hous each by group bus!
We stayed a week at the property in Feburary. Very please! Beautiful setting and the staff was extremely friendly and very attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by IG from from NJ

Great hotel, best beach, excellent food!

Posted Feb 20, 2014
The property is magnificent! The villas are huge and comfortable! The staff is very accommodating and eager to please! Presentation, quality of food, menu choices are excellent! Just needs a little improvement with details: champagne bottle & coffee cups left in room for 2 days; needed to call for them to pick up! also had to call twice for more toiletries! Other than those 2 minor mishaps, our overall experience was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Loved the room, the most amazing room I have ever been in. The grounds are gorgeous, food is good for a resort, the beach was nice (had a lot of seaweed but it may be the tide) the pool area was very nice but small. The bars were not lively and there is barely any music here (granted the system was broken the first few days we were there but when they fixed it they play very calm relaxing music). There are very few activities but we loved it, we were not looking to dance and play games we only wanted to relax and if that is what you want this is the place for you. The crowd was great as well, no loud drunks, no screaming just quiet and peaceful. The spa was great, you must visit the spa to really get relaxed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect Mayan Rivera Vacation

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Cons: The gift shop and the wine list
We just spent four days at Bue Diamond and it has been one of the best vacations we've had, the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable, spacious and modern, I personally loved the bathroom, which is almost as big as the room itself, with dual showers and sinks, and outdoor hot tub. We stayed at the Cenote Laguna Jr. Suite, which had a balcony overlooking the beautiful cenote, it definitely has a wow! factor as you walk into your room, where there is a bottle of champagne waiting for you. We enjoyed every moment of our stay, Darwin always made sure we had what we needed. The pools are small, but stunning, they have an infinity edge overlooking the ocean and they are open 24/7, which can be fun. The property has a pier with lounging chairs where you can sunbathe and then jump into the ocean when you are ready to cool off in the warm, turquoise water. Playa Del Carmen is a beautiful place, we went to Tulum one day, where you have the opportunity to see one of the ancient Mayan ruins, one of the last cities inhabited and built by the Mayas; walk around to learn a little about the history and end it with a dip in the turquoise waters below. While you are there you have to visit a cenote, which is a natural pit that exposes fresh water underneath, if you are in this part of the world, you definitely have to visit Tulum and a Cenote. Feliz Viaje!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous place!!

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Excellent design all around, incredibly facilities and spa, outdoor heated pool overlooking beach, amazing rooms and gorgeous spacious bathrooms! A real treat, we had an incredibly relaxed time. The staff is super friendly. Only criticism on our part was the food, it's ok but not great. The restaurants would benefit from a few more mexican dishes and the inclusion of lighter options, such as salads and vegetarian food. All dishes are quite heavy or cream-based.