Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Very nice

Posted Apr 15, 2014
First time traveller to Mexico for a vacation, glad we went with this resort. When they say all inclusive they mean it, very few things are an additional charge. When you tip or buy anything they happily except US dollars which was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leo from Long Beach. CA

Why is this hotel a 3.5?

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: I loved the location, the beach, location location locating
Cons: The have to work on their menu. I stay there for 5 days and they had not tacos. Really!!!!! i was in mexico and no tacos in the hotel.
Location: 5Th avenue is 2 blocks away and for all the newbies in playa del carmen, 5th avenue is the biggest shopping center in the area. Closed to the ferry
My overall experience was great, super friendly staff but i must condense at some point it gets kinda annoying that everybody either says hi at you or wave at you. But it sure is nice to get that kind of attention the first 3 days.
3 out of 5
by Jim from Ohio

Great Service, Nice Place, Too many smokers

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Service was EXCELLENT. Very clean. Great location in town. Friendly employees.
Cons: Add non smoking section to the pool. Move all ashtrays away from entrances. Make the outside section of the lobby bar non smoking.
Location: Tulum and Coba were great. Try the Cernotes, the were really cool.
The employees at The Gran Porto real are absolutely wonderful. Everyone we met was friendly and went out of their way to make our stay better. The Ocean front room with balcony was very nice. The whole property was kept VERY clean. HOWEVER, There are so many smokers at this resort that I did not enjoy my vacation at all. While the inside is designated non smoking by law, ALL outside areas including the wide open covered entrance is considered smoking. They could easily make the south end of the pool non smoking. All the kids activities are at this end as well as the kiddie pool. Laying by the pool with smokers on either side smoking everything from cigars to unfiltered cigarettes was terrible. When you go inside, it is no better. The wind blows all the smoke from those smoking in all the covered areas and by the ash trays next to the entrances. You can smell smoke EVERYWHERE in the resort. The management could do more to accommodate the non smokers AND protect the health of kids. When I spoke to several managers, all said there was nothing they could do. They enforce a no eating policy at the pool, it would be VERY easy to do the same with a non smoking section. Smokers are more than welcome to sit there, just not smoke there. I cannot recommend this resort due to the smoking issues and I will not be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great place, close to everything

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Staff, location
Location: Anything and everything
My husband and spent our honeymoon here and have no complaints. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the food is good! Any bad food reviews are likely people who aren't expecting authentic Mexican food. Stay home if you want to eat all American food. Experience some culture, people! The best part about this hotel is the location. It's walking distance from tons of shops and restaurants. We're going back next year. I would recommend it to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Resort by the beach

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Lots of amenities. Kid friendly. All inclusive. Entertainment most nights.
Cons: Room needed updates. Better mattress and TV. The upper level Bar should have stayed open later. Closed at 5.
Staff was very nice and helpful. Location was great. Excellent features at the hotel. I went with the basic room, and it was that, basic. Nicer rooms are available. I will probably go back, but next time will stay in an upgraded room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Calgary

Great hotel on beach and in town.

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and the views.
The Gran Porto Real hotel is charming with exceptionally friendly staff. The beach view from our room was fabulous. One side has the beach and ocean, and the other a town full of shops and restaurants. The best of both worlds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from Oklahoma City, OK

Great Hotel but lousy beach.

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Location was perfect. Cleanliness and rooms were nice.
Cons: The beach!
Location: walking distance to everything
Very nice accomodations, food was average but the staff was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, Great staff, rooms need improvment

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Loved the selection of bars and meals, Great location right off the beach and close to 5th Ave, staff was very friendly and helpful
Cons: Rooms! Standard suite has two full beds and barely a window. Worthwhile to upgrade to a room to ensure a balcony and further upgrade to ocean view.
Location: 5th Ave is very close, great shopping and things to do. Right off the beach which is perfect to enjoy. Hotel brought vendors in for shopping too.
Overall excellent experience. I would have to say we underrated the hotel because it is right next to the Royal which from pictures looks much nicer. We were a young couple and were nervous about kids, but did not have any issues and they were all fairly quiet and well behaved. Staff was great and friendly at all the bars. There are two nicer sit down restaurants with menus, the first waiter comes out and hands you a wine list with the cheapest bottle being around $40. They lead us to believe this was the only option so we paid for wine. We found out the next night at the other restaurant, all inclusive drinks are still included, they just try to get you on the wine first, so don't fall for it :) Rooms are definitely worth paying for an upgrade, we choose not too and were happy, but two full beds for a couple was not the best choice. Sushi bar was fantastic, people were great, vendors at the hotel were excellent. Overall much happier than we expected for a young couple at a kid friendly resort.
2 out of 5
by Paxton from Louisville, Ky.

Somewhat disappointing

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Excellent location. Beautiful beach
Cons: The quality of food. The rocks on the beach.
Location: Excellent location on the beach and only a block from 5th Avenue. We also went snorkeling, which we loved, then toured the ruins at Tulum.
This is not a bad hotel, but don't expect a 5 star experience. We felt this hotel has seen it's better days. After our 2nd night, we upgraded to their sister hotel next door called the Royal for only a few additional dollars per night. It's adult only, which didn't matter to us. However, the difference in all around quality went through the roof. The all inclusive food was unbelievably better with twice as many restaurant choices. We didn't really care for the food at the Porto Real, but we just thought food must not be that good in the Yucatan, until we changed hotels and started having fantastic gourmet meals. - The rooms were also much more luxurious at the Royal. The beach wasn't full of rocks like the Porto Real and swimming in the ocean became fun again. The hotel staff at the Royal are even more inviting taking better care of us. - Plus, there's not sales people in the lobby harassing you on a daily basis like the Porto Real. They were so aggressive they even called our room at 8:30 am. which we found to be somewhat rude. - I suggest that you stay in each hotel and see for yourself what we're saying. I think you'll agree, lol. - Otherwise, the location is excellent. The beach is beautiful. We look forward to going to Playa Del Carmen again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from Maine

Most amazing place.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Staff, cleanlyness,
Cons: The hard beds.
Location: 5th street was great, but just wish the vendors were not so pushy.
WOW, is all I can say. The hotel and staff was amazing. Had the most wonderful experience. By far the best place we have ever stayed. Can not really put into words how to express our stay. Big shout out to the amazing staff.