Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Helpful and pleasant staff and service.
Location: Good location, handy to shops, restaurants, etc
Enjoyed a great relaxing and comfortable break. Little disappointed with the beach - could not lay on beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

perfect location, great rooms, awesome staff

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The location was great! right on the beach. When we arrived we had the option of upgrading which meant we had access to the hotel across the road all inclusive as well. Staff members were extremely helpful and were about to book activities through the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Oct 11, 2014
From the moment we arrived to the hotel they try to accommodate us and whatever you ask they did ther best to help you... The hotel is clean and have free access to the Internet and a lots of activities. Definitely you getting what you pay for an above...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Leave your worries at home

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: The staff' attitude. Absolutely everyone working had a great attitude!
Cons: Compared to the last time there(8 years ago) the beach had erroded some. They have many great pools though.
Location: Between 5th Ave., the ferry to Cozumel, Tulum, Cancun, there's always something to do, if that's what you want. Pool area is great.
Whether it's Arturo at the pool, Chucho in the dining room, or any of the bartenders in the entire facility you won't find any negative attitudes at this hotel. From the minute you arrive you can feel the weight of all the anxieties you left behind at home melt off of you. After the pleasant experience checking in we quickly unpacked at immeadiately started to explore the hotel. We instantly felt right at home. The biggest regret of the entire stay was leaving. There's always next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Posted Oct 10, 2014
We had a nice time at the Gran Porto. All-inclusive food was as expected, although the staff did try to change things up. The Tranquil Pool on the rooftop was our favorite hangout! So quiet and relaxing. Unfortunately the beach is small and the shoreline is covered in sandbags, not necessarily something the resort can help. Overall, we had a great time. The location was great, just about a block from lots of shopping and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Great location in Playa!

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Visited end of Septemeber/beginning of October. They are doing construction around the pool and that looks like it will take a few months. You can still enjoy the resort, but it does cause some extra noise. Drinks are good, staff is kind, and ate most meals in downtown Playa instead of at the resortz
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Paradise!!!!

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!!!!
Cons: Continue with the service you provide so efficiently.
Location: Walking to the main shopping strip...just around the corner, tours to Cozumel and other touristic places which are close and easy to organize.
My husband and I went to Mexico on the recommendation of our two daughters that absolutely loved it. Gran Porto Real Resort didn't dissapoint and was more than we expected, from room service, to bell boys, to entertainment, the location and to the smallest of detail. There are too many staff members to thank and congratulate on making our stay an outstanding one that I will just say everyone we had encountered whether it was fo 5 minutes or the 8 days were very accomodating. When I read some of the reviews before booking there were complaints about the beach....stop complaining you just had to walk a minute away to enjoy. Of course not all the time things go accordingly but look at the big picture and stop picking on the little things. Overall excellent location, lots of food choices, free entertainment, free alcholic beverages (pity I don't drink) and beautiful people that are sincere and out to please.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from essex

stay was very good

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: rooms were great there was always food on tap and drink
Cons: they really need to sort the beach out and the room type really needs to be explained before you book and they need to spread the beds out round the p
Location: was great shops and restaurants 5 min walk bus station for Cancun easy to find
the hotel was lovely and clean when we arrived I had booked a sea view and got side view and they wanted me to upgrade which I thought was bad so kept the room I had service was great beach was a very disappointment seaweed covered the beach and they decided to mend round the pool so took beds away so it was like sitting next door to a stranger hotel staff and hotel was very good food was not to bad they also need to sort the beds out round the pool they are to close together
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The beach is contaminated and unswimable

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Food and staff
Cons: The beach
Location: Other than shopping and the beach everything seemed to be a $25 ride.
Unfortunately, for about 100 yards in either direction the beach is polluted. If you are planning on swimming in the ocean you need to plan on walking a block in either direction. I asked why and was told that it was the underwater currents that caused the pollution to accumulate in front of the hotel as well as a small fleet of fishing boats anchored there. Also, the pool was under renovation and with a boarded up section around one end. This problem is more ascetics and should be solved quickly when then renovations are complete. We also experienced a water black out which lasted 6 or 8 hours with no hot water and intermittent cold spitting water. Some kind of plumbing problem which was fixed. I also did not like the pressure that was placed on us to attend a sales meeting to explain I think a variation on the time-share scheme. My wife said several times that we were not interested and they wouldn't take no for answer. It went so far as calling the room and asking when we could attend. Please this was 5 day 4 night vacation and high pressure sales tactics were not expected. There was also some kind of a fire close to our room. About 10 workers ran frantically down the hall to try and isolate where the smoke was coming from. I never did get an explanation on what happened but it sure smelled like something caught on fire in one of the rooms or it could have been in the duct work. On the plus side the staff was GREAT and the FOOD was good with a lot of different options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Place to Stay

Posted Sep 17, 2014
The facility is excellent. It is what you would expect at an all inclusive resort. The choices for food have plenty of variety. All seafood choices are fresh and delicious. What makes this place great are the employees. very nice and willing to help. Cannot wait to go back! If you go to Cancun I highly recommend this hotel.