Ratings based on 681 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Relaxing Vacation, Great Resort!!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: We like that this was a smaller place so there were not long lines and nothing was too crowded.
Cons: We thought everything was great - keep up the good work!
Location: Relaxing on beach, 5th Ave shopping just 2 blocks away, and ferry to Cozumel within walking distance.
We had a wonderful week of vacation! We choose this resort based on reviews - and were glad that we did! Resort was small enough that there were not huge crowds, long lines, or fights for a beach chair! One day we even had the rooftop hot tub to ourselves! We upgraded to beach walk-out, which I would highly recommend. It was fabulous because it included a cabana and also included The Royal restaurants right across the street. Just 2 blocks from lots of shopping on 5th Avenue, and easy walking if you want to take the ferry to Cozumel for the day. So many great staff that I wish I would have written down more of their names -- but from the time we checked-in (Maria), to the great staff at the concierge desk (Enrique), to Janet H on the beach delivering me a cold drink at the perfect times, to Nicolas at Trade Winds bar mixing up "something fruity", to the great staff at the sushi bar and all the great staff at the various restaurants. I really can't say enough good things -- we wanted a relaxing vacation, and this was definitely a great choice! We rarely stay at the same place twice - but this resort would be an exception....we would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel all around

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Hotel is very well maintained, rooms quality and clean,great facilities, staff is terrific and food and beverage is good enough. The Italian restaurant onsite is very good and rest of the food is solid but not top notch. That said plenty of variety and the overall price for the experience is a great value. High quality entertainment each night. Attentive staff onsite to help with kids. Walking distance to all of the action and shipping you desire in playa del carmen. Whole beach in playa del carmen has eroded quite a lot since our last trip but I hear this is a recurring problem a d government brings in a bunch of sand to restore periodically. Beach at the hotel is the best in the immediate area. We will definitely be back! Had an absolutely terrific vacation.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom usa

Near the bottom of places we have stayed.

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Location. Service
Cons: Variety of food. Dressers in the standard rooms.
Location: Anything you could want was very close by.
We have been traveling to Riviera Maya area for 25 years, always stay All Inclusive, almost always at different resorts. This year Some in our group of 16 wanted to be "In Playa Del Carmen" which is why we chose Gran Porto Real. It is very convenient for the stroll down 5th ave. We happened to book a little late and only could get a standard room. Tried to upgrade upon arrival but the place was completely full. Got to our room and couldn't believe how small it was. There were only 2 small drawers and a very small closet so basically had to live out of our suit cases for the week. The shower also very small, but we did have plenty of hot water and very good water pressure. Some in our group had the Jr. suites which were much bigger so I definitely recommend the upgrade. Overall resort is decent and staff helpful and friendly. Bars do have better liquor than most resorts we have been to. However the buffet lacked variety, and food was just average at best. At night the buffet is the main restaurant and again not much variety. The Mexican restaurant was very good, and the Italian pretty good. We ate across the street at the Asian twice ( It is part of the sister property the Royal) and found it to be excellent. There were usually plenty of lounge chairs on the beach and near the pool and the wait staff came around quite often ( We do tip so they may not be that attentive if you don't). The beach is on a curve so in ocean area was a bit rocky
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

Nice hotel awesome area

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Over all really good the location is awesome the town is very fun to walk around in a ton to do. The standard room is just ok but the beaches pools bars and restaurants are good. 5th ave is a must see and cozomel is a short boat ride away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old World Charm

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Staff was very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Hotel's architecture was old world charm...very clean and comfortable. Food was very good and top shelf liquor. 5th Avenue was just two blocks from resort. We would definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arden Hills, MN

Great hotel in heart of Playa

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The staff, location, food, and access to the beach was great.
Everything was great and our experience was memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Relaxing. Great food for an all-inclusive resort. Easy access to beach and 5th ave walks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Plan your next trip here!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: We like everything about this hotel but mostly the architecture and the service. It is also a nice clean beach as it is attended to daily.
Cons: Sadly, there is a lot of beach erosion that has happened the last few years. Hoping in the future there is a way to bring some of it back.
Location: The location is great and 5th Avenue shopping/dining is just a couple blocks away. Tours can be purchased at the hotel, many are very close.
My husband and I have stayed at Gran Puerto Real, Playa del Carmen 3 times in the last 4 years. We have never been disappointed. Weather you are looking to tour the area or relax on the beach, this is the place to be. Our last visit was 2 years ago and when we got there this year we were greeted by staff that recognized us and welcomed back as if we were family. Jose and Teresa who work on the beach were the first two that recognized us, Gilberto in Maria's entertained us greatly and went above and beyond to make our dining experience well remembered. Juan in Il Pescatore also remembered us from 2 years ago and is a joy to visit with as well as an excellent waiter. We also like the little surprises that wait in our room for us when we retire for the evening. The maids are very creative with towel creatures and floral greetings which end the day with a smile.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge, Ma

Standard room is straight from the 70s

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The staff served drinks on the beach. They were friendly and the room was clean. The "resort" was close to shops and restaurants.
Cons: Drawers to store your clothes. Food quality
Location: shopping and restaurants near by
Standard room looked like something from a motel and was not resort quality. There was a sliver for a window, no private balcony and no space to keep your clothes. I've stayed at other resorts in standard rooms and got a better quality room. Food was not great. Some meat tasted reheated at times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Was a great week!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, drinks were all very good
Cons: No
Location: Walking distance from shopping area. People at resort to help with all your travel and site seeing adventures.
Had a great time at the Gran Porto Real. All the staff were wonderful and so helpful. Food and drinks both very good. Would stay there again for sure.