Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Family hotel right on the beach

Posted Nov 20, 2014
We went with a large group of friends and had a blast, the staff was great clean rooms and we walked right out onto the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, Illinois

Great resort with pool and beach within your reach

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: very freindly staff, variety of food, proximity of pool and beach, activities althrough out the day, all the restaurants
Cons: available transportation to and from airport
Location: great location to 5th ave and pier to cozumel...
This is our first trip to Mexico. This is a wholesome, firendly, top notch place to relax. We had an awesome experience! Top of the world service! There is no need to go out of the resort. Excellent! Fun-filled stay! Great variety of deliciously cooked food! Family-friendly Staff love their work Room is always clean and kept! Fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fin fun fun fun fun fun
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Hot water wasn't hot.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
There was almost no beach, the beach that was there was held up by sand bags. Hot water was warm at best and when we called the hotel they told us it was the "big machine" and wouldn't be able to be fixed. The bars throughout had no straws which was just weird. The one good restaraunt needed reservations and by the third day we were there the rest of the night were booked up. The "welcome package" they called me at 7:00 am for on the thrid day was actually just a ploy to sell time shares to their sister hotel. Other than that the staff was nice and the hotel was located close to fifth ave which was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OK

Clean resort, very nice staff, and great service!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Clean resort, very nice staff, great service, small resort (you can easily make friends unlike at larger resorts).
Cons: The food is just okay, but it is what is expected for the price. The beach needs improvement, but you can walk 5 minutes to sit at a nice beach.
Location: 5th street (shopping district) is 1 block away, you can walk and get there within about 1 minute.
This was our second trip to this resort. Love it, mostly that it has the small resort charm. Staff is extremely friendly, they all say hello when you walk by. Drink service is excellent at the pool. Food is just okay. They do lots of activities at the pool during the day (to keep everyone entertained). This is not a party resort, as all of the bars close by about 1 am (however the 24 hour lounge has beer on tap and liquor available 24/7). We will most definitely go back to this resort, mostly because of the staff and the other guests that go to this resort. If you go multiple times you will more than likely see some of the same guests as a lot seem to be repeaters.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff, Service.
Cons: None
Location: 5th Ave and Xceret.
Stayed here for five nights with my family in November, 2014. Fantastic resort in terms of location from 5th Ave and all other things to do. Very friendly staff and great services throughout. Will definitely come back here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PALO ALTO, CA

Great way to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: The staff the pool and activities.
Cons: THE BEDS!!!!
Location: 5TH AVE SHOPPING, FERRY.
Checking in I was disappointed since I booked 3 rooms on one reservation and the hotel didn't have us next to one another, we were on the same floor but not 3 rooms next to each other. I upgraded to an ocean front room for my husband and I which was nice. The beds in all our rooms were as hard as the ground. They need to get better mattresses. Our first room (307) was a ocean view, but you had to lean over and look down half of a block to see the ocean and you could hear all the noise like everyone was right outside the door until after midnight. The staff was great and the food was good too. You could go downtown Cancun and go to the sister hotel the Gran Caribe, we didn't as we stayed there a few years ago but you couldn't go across the street to the Royal Hotel unless you agreed to go through the presentation and sales pressure to buy into the vacation club. The beach is nice but very small and it had a smell that was not pleasant. The pools were nice too. I would stay there again but would want to be located towards the back of the lobby and pool area to have a decent night sleep. Our family was in room 320 and 322 and said it was quiet (they were both ocean view rooms) and close to the ocean but their balconies were very small (like a Romeo and Juliet balcony). I hope this helps everyone trying to decide where to stay. The location was excellent close to shops restaurants and the ferry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Perfect location, exceptional service!

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Just got back yesterday and wow the weather in November, perfect!! Location is perfect! Service exceptional! Staff couldn't do enough for us...they were all such a joy!!! Great food, great restaurants...Maria's was our fave! Security was on it at all times, felt completely safe! Will def be back to vacation at Gran Porto...a million times thank you!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Great place great price great vacation

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Place is perfect size. Not too big not too small. Very very very clean. Staff was awesome. Food was very good. No complaints. Location great. Walking distance to town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NEW JERSEY

VERY GOOD LOCATION

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: STAFF. PROXIMATY TO EVERYTHING.
Cons: MORE CHOICE OF TYPES OF FOOD.
HAVE STAYED AT THIS HOTEL 7 OF MY LAST 8 YEARS IN MEXICO. CLOSE TO 5TH AVE SHOPPING AND CLOSE TO PHANTOM DIVE SHOP WHERE WE DIVE OUT OF. YOU CAN WALK TO BOTH, STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND FOOD IS ABOVE AVERAGE. WE BOOK AN OCEAN FRONT SUITE SO WE CAN DINE AT THE SISTER HOTEL NEXT DOOR WHICH HAS SUPERIOR FOOD,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles, ca

excellent staff service, moderate accommodations.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: the location, is on the beach and in town, and everything one may need within walking distance.
Cons: sound proof their rooms specially the doors, they look sturdy but are paper thin when it comes to noise.
Location: its on the beach and within walking distance to the popular fifth avenue were you find everything from restaurants to hotels, shopping and night life.
the staff at the gran porto made us feel good from the moment we arrived. they all more then made up for any inconveniences we had such as the noise outside the room, at times it felt we were sleeping with the door open. and had a bit of a problem finding parking for my rental, since the hotel don't have their own parking space. but again the attention to details from all of the staff turn our experience into a positive one. thank you all.