Ratings based on 626 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

nice hotel close to action

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: we are a large group and the staff is very accommodating!!
Cons: Add a few more staff workers around the pool area
Location: Ferry over to Cozumel
have been staying here for annually for the last ten years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Location in town

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff. the hotel itself.
Cons: the beach is like the pictures shown, not great! but the hotel compensates by making your stay there awesome!!
Location: -rent a car, $45, go to Tulum, $5 to get in - Cozumel, take the ferry, get there and rent a jeep, approx. $55 - fishing trip -5th ave -Playacar
I went to playa del Carmen the first week in December with my wife for 7 nights. We read the reviews about the hotel and they were mostly spot on. The hotel itself was really nice. Since my wife does real estate the free Wi-Fi was a deciding factor in staying there even though she only used it less than an hour a day. The hotel was just what I wanted! a location close to the town, walk to the ferry to go to Cozumel. walk to shops, etc. The staff seemed to be positive all the time and I had no bad experience. The food was above average in my opinion. but it is a big resort so they cannot please everyone. but the buffet was a huge selection. The only bad time I had was watching the Patriots lose to Green Bay in the hotel lobby :-(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denton Texas

Great location, great staff

Posted Dec 11, 2014
The head bar tender at the outdoor bar is amazing. He always has a smile and just makes your day. His name is Magale. Please give him our praise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

On the beach, close to the action

Posted Dec 8, 2014
I stayed here with a group of 15 women, looking to de-stress, be warm, get pampered. I was not disappointed. This hotel offers everything you need, is family-friendly; yet it's in town if you want to get part of that action, day or night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rice Lake, WI

15 Fabulous Females on Vaca in Mexico

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: It's clean, up to date, very friendly staff overall, housekeeping was very attentive to requests, lots of activities to do if you wanted to keep busy.
Cons: Two things: Check in is 3:00 p.m. but the room wasn't ready until 4:00. Reception staff need to smile/be more friendly.
Location: This resort is perfectly located on the beach as well as only 2 blocks from 5th - which has great shopping and lots of cantinas/restaurants.
...and another trip to Gran Porto Real in Playa del Carmen, MX was as fabulous as the last 5 trips! This was my 6th year on the annual girls' trip to MX for our birthdays. Part of what makes this trip work so well is that we stay at Gran Porto Real every year. We are treated wonderfully by staff, who remember us as the "Senoritas from WI and MN" each year. We are waited on, pampered, included in activities and feel a real sense of "family" with staff. It's nice to come back to the same place so you really get to know where things are. The resort is clean, kept up to date, the food is attractively displayed and really, if you can't find something to eat, then you are waaaaay to picky. The evening entertainers are really good! We had fun dancing to the band in the lobby bar most evenings as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Great Resort, Excellent Despite Naysayers!

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Just got back yesterday, this resort was phenomenal all around as was its location. We had read some bad reviews where people complained about pool construction, bad food, beach erosion, etc. We decided to just book it and go anyway. We were not disappointed. The resort was absolutely fantastic - it was clean, nice, and had an absolutely awesome location wedged between the beach and 5th avenue (Playa del Carmen's main strip) and within walking distance of the Cozumel ferry. The food was great at every restaurant, and the buffet always had a different menu and it was all excellent. The room was clean and the housekeeping was impeccable. More than anything though, from check in and all the way through and beyond checkout, the resort staff was OUTSTANDING. They bent over backwards in every way to make sure you were always pleased. Really can't say enough about the staff, great people all around - and a special shoutout to the waiter "Frank" at the buffet dinner service - you were awesome! The only legitimate complaint is the beach erosion issue and the sandbags on the beach, but we knew that before we went. Plus, if you just go 150 feet along the beach it's just fine so why is everyone complaining? Too lazy to walk 150 feet? As for the pool construction, it was a non issue - the construction isn't even in the pool - there isn't even any noise so dismiss these complaints. Most of the complaints about this resort are bogus, it was great and we will be back!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach and 5th avenue. Good mix of nations

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Familiar staff
Cons: I pay for booking several months in advance & always leave note I want room on 2nd floor & that I will be early. They always get it wrong!!!
I come here twice a year for ten years now so I know the routine
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Close to 5th street, but that may be the down side

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Clean for the age.
Cons: More restaurants and better nightly entertainment.
Location: 5th street is great at night but that may be the down side since you have already payed for an all inclusive.
We had stayed in Playa Del Carmen 14 years ago and decided to go back. We have stayed at other all inclusive resorts outside of town and have been very happy with them. Since the Gran Porto Real is an all inclusive you would like to eat there as much as possible. Due to the limited selection of restaurants we ended up eating outside of the resort a great deal at additional cost. You would probably not notice the lack of restaurant selection but you get to see the great restaurants as you walk up and down 5th street (I would highly recommend the Aqua on 5th). I would also recommend you view your room before you check in. We were put on a ground floor room next to the busy street. We had to stay there one night before we upgraded to an ocean front room (maybe that is how they get you to upgrade since that is a big push for them). My daughters stayed in their room which also faced the street on the 5th floor. Even they said it was quite noisy till 1:00 AM. OK I guess if you stay out that late as well. With the exception of the front desk staff the rest of the staff are quite pleasant. Aaron one of the Bell Men is a great resource. The cleaning staff does a great job considering the resort has some age. If you want to stay in town to experience 5th street at night I would stay at a resort that is NOT all inclusive so you can enjoy all of the restaurants on 5th street. If you want an all inclusive stay outside of town for a nicer beach, and more restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom CT, USA

Nice hotel on the beach, convenient location

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: The swimming pool with the bar, the hot tube on the last floor
Cons: maybe adding more fresh flowers ornaments in the lobby area.
Location: park is near by and is a must place to experience. May be park as well.
Nice hotel on the beach, convenient location close to famous 5th Avenida in Playa Del Carmen Hardworking and extremely polite full staff, always around to help, to offer a drink or invite you to various activities. Clean rooms, and a neat place everywhere you look, nice architecture of the hotel and of course the view are making this hotel a come again place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quantity, Not Quality

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The location is beautiful, only beat by its sister property, next door. The resort is very clean, and housekeeping truly skilled at towel animal art.
Cons: Club Sales: take no for an answer the first time. Hire more than two waitstaff for the pool/beach areas. Serve better food. Add more pool umbrellas
Location: The resort is set on a beach with rough surf and moored boats, but still beautiful. Short walk to Fifth Ave shopping and more restaurants.
If you don't mind a 7-day pushy sales pitch in paradise, this is the place for you. The area is beautiful: gorgeous beach, quaint village with a nice mix of older and newer restaurants and shops. We may have traveled at a particularly busy time in November, however I would expect other times to be much busier. That said, the resort was very crowded, and their aggressive sales pitches immediately after check in, before we could even go to our room (!) made it clear that they are more interested in filling all rooms at all times, preferably with repeat visitors, than they are interested in providing a quality experience for those who are currently there. This was our fifth time traveling to an all-inclusive resort in the Caribbean, and the other four were better. We'd actually been to this same resort, when it had newly opened, without "Gran" in the name, and it was fantastic. It has come a long way downhill, since then.