Ratings based on 470 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Nice Hotel near the Ferry

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant. We arrived early and although our room wasn't ready we were fine with grabbing our suits and going straight to the beach. When the room was ready, we were excited to see it and get unpacked and discovered a king bed instead of two doubles. We went back to the front desk and were told that they were sorry but that was not "guaranteed". My only concern with that was my confirmation indicated two double beds so that was disappointing. The manager did provide us with two roll away beds which ended up working well. We were within walking distance of the ferry to Cozumel which made it easy to get there by beach. Our final night we dined at Pesacadore and had a wonderful waiter, Salvador. The food was wonderful as well. Buffets were good but the food at this restaurant was certainly a cut above. Entertainment nightly was also very good. The performers were talented dancers and I enjoyed the variety of costumes and the pace of the shows.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Not as expected

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Pool wait staff good & if tipped, they were very attentive to your drinks. Friendly staff.
Cons: Hotel should come up w/ a solution for pool lounge savers who throw towels on chairs & leave for hours @ a time. Need dining options w/ AC.
Location: Close to 5th st shopping & eats. The "beach front" @ this hotel ISN'T, had to go to property across street for beach w/ out erosion & sandbags.
3 adults traveling- the room I booked not available. Had to have roll away bed taking up floor space & what was described as ocean view was a far stretch. Had to go out on patio & crane to c water which was across street and beside property there. Some construction at hotel, although was not told when booked SPA massage package that the changing room/sauna/jacuzzi & showers were being used for both male/females. It was awkward & we ended up not using anything. No music or "zen"in spa...dirty, outdated & only two hard metal loungers for sitting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

We loved the hacienda look of the Gran Porto Real.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: We loved the look & feel of the resort. We're not fans of the huge resorts, Gran Porto Real is not small, but it is not a behemeth either.
Cons: I was happy with our stay there.
Location: Great location by the pier for Cozumel, beach location is fantastic. Shopping is a block away.
We stayed at the Gran Porto Real 7 years ago but didn't do the exclusive. There are changes in Playa Del Carmen, the Gran Porto Real is still a great resort there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Nice resort

Posted Jul 13, 2014
My husband and I went here for our Honeymoon. We upgraded to a ocean front room on the 3rd floor and we're so glad we did. It was picture perfect. The room was very spacious and clean. We loved hanging out at the pool daily. There was construction going on next to the pool but it didn't bother us too much. The food was decent. The buffet offers a decent variety of food daily and we really enjoyed the mayan dinner set up at the pool one night. By the end of our week we ended up ordering room service breakfast, since we liked it better and you and can eat buffet food so much. Maria's mexican restaurant was great and we sat on the patio during a nice night. The one thing we had an issue with was Pescatores Italian restaurant. We were not informed that we needed to make a reservation for dinner at this place a few days in advance. So we didn't get to eat there. There was nothing in the hotel information book in our rooms about reservations either...so we were a little upset we didn't get to eat there. The beach is tiny and is suffering from erosion. Hopefully they can fix that soon. Overall, we had a nice time. The location is great and just a minute away from shops along the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia,SC

Week in Playa del Carmen

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Staff, proximity to playa del Carmen
Cons: The beach, it needs to be cleaned and removed the sandbags in it
Location: It is located next to the beach and Playa del Carmen.Shops and clubs are within walking distance
We were celebrating our 24th anniversary and stayed at the hotel because it location right at the beach and the town. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. And the hotel room was always clean, I was surprise to find a new towel design every night when coming back from the tours or the beach. Marias restaurant and the Italian restaurant were great and have great staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Very nice and accommodating staff. Did not have any negative remarks regarding our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Sadly Promoted As Up-Scale

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Sarain - waiter in the Mexican restaurant and Froilan - bartender in the Mexican restaurant. Food/drinks in the Mexican restaurant were good.
Cons: Most of the food there was dismal. Beach snack bar's hamburgers tasted like what I can only describe as something not of bovine origin.
Location: 5th street is GREAT. Tons of good food and stores.
Arrived early, before our room was ready, and found the receptionist seemingly upset that we had interrupted her conversation with another staff member. Came back to check in to our room and once again spoke with receptionist. She seemed indifferent that our room was not ready at the scheduled time. Nor was it ready an hour later. Finally, our the room was ready. Was willing to give it a chance and overlook her attitude and room delay. When we got to our room we were shocked, to say the least. The base room was something more akin to the Bates Motel. Something built in the 1950s... My wife and I couldn't believe they actually put guests in these rooms. So we upgraded to a better room - paid more per night - was well worth it. It was ok, nothing stellar, but good. It was obviously newer than our previous room. The fit and finish throughout this hotel was sad. We've stayed in the Cancun/Playa area for nearly 20 years and this hotel was the worst. Promoted as upscale, but sadly missed the mark. Good for spring breakers who just come for the alcohol and night life. Beach in front of the hotel smelled like the bathroom - the fishing boats dump a lot of dead fish in the water. That along with the stagnant seaweed and floating trash forced us to find a better beach to sit. The only upside was Dario - waiter at the beach bar and Sarain and Froilan that work in the Mexican restaurant. The beaches north and south of Gran Porto Real - very nice... go ther
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Family friendly

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Great experience. All the staff was great and most know English. Very good at recommending places to visit. Even though is all inclusive I recommend you go out and enjoy the local cuisine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not much of a beach

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The beach has eroded and it's mostly sand bags, rocks, and seaweed. The smell from the decaying seaweed is not pleasant. We were constantly approached for money while trying to take a relaxing walk on the beach. Our first full day was taken by a scam they run trying to get us to buy into their "club." Just felt badgered the whole time. Not a relaxing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Awesome room overlooking pool and beach.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Had a great time and the hotel was extremely kid friendly. I would recommend this hotel to any family looking for a safe and comfortable holiday.