Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calif

Expected better

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: People were all very nice. I loved the lazy river.
Cons: The entrance to the resort is bland and kind of dirty looking. The food could be better, it was very bland
Location: There's nothing to do close by, but then it's that way with all the resorts. Akumal beach is the closest, about a 10 min drive, no walking anywhere.
My husband and I just returned from staying at the Grand Sirenis for 9 nights. I guess I expected better. The buffets were pretty bland and ordinary. We had 4 ala carte dinners and for us, the best one was the mexican food.Our room had a beautiful ocean view, but was about as far from the center of things, so lots of walking. We called for a ride once in one of the golf carts that are around, that our bellboy told us to do, and were told not to call, they were busy, so we wern't happy about that. The last few days we found the coffee bar, it was awesome. The 2 girls who were always there working were so nice and sweet. They always had smiles and would see us coming and remember what we liked. Almost all the staff were really nice, except that one bellboy. They would walk past us and say "Hola". If you go here, becareful, the floors everywhere are all slick tile, the floors are very slippery, I slipped once, thankfully I didn't fall. We never really had a problem with anyone trying to sell us anything. They did set up an appt to give us a tour, but we cancelled and they didn't harass us about it. The beach had alot of seaweed on the shore, but it was on ALL the beaches. We snorkled in the bay and saw turtles and bright fish, then sat under a palapus with a drink. Overall it was great vacation, but I think I'd like to check out another resort next time, just to have a comparasion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, friendly staff, good food, geat swim up bar

Posted Apr 4, 2015
I don't think I have ever stayed in a place as clean. The staff do a great job to keep the place running smooth. The beach was rough and there was a red flag up for most of our trip. I would try and find a place with a reef next time. Great place to take kids - the lazy river is fab!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom westbank b.c. canada

tough one to rate

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: wedding planner and photos, Japanese restaurant. staff at Cajun restaurant, shows
Cons: shuttle sevice for both older and very young guests[esp. communications as to who gets to ride which shuttle]. overall cleanliness[ stairs esp.]
grand sirenis.. how do I put this, most of the staff were very pleasant and helpful, but some things were very disorganized. Japanese and Cajun restaurants were very good. buffets were average. bar service by the pool and on the beach were awesome some days, and not good on others. beach is not as nice as others we have been to. snorkeling was a disappointment after reading other reviews. was not terrible but sub par to other resorts on the mayan Riviera. set up of the resort can best be described as wasted space. we are avid walkers and had no problems , but others in our group were not so pleased. had shuttle service but was confusing at best , as multiple levels of service for whatever part of the resort you were in. on the plus side took in a couple of the shows and was impressed. was there for a wedding, and it was very well done by the staff. some people will like this resort others not so much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grande Prairie, AB

Great Beach, Lots to do

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: the beach is great
Cons: hotel could be cleaned up a little better, could use more places to hang out at night, only really have the main lobby bar
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, Hotel could be updated and cleaned up a little bit better but overall the experience was good. Lots to do and see, Food was just average, beach area is great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Very Large Resort

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Pools were nice, beach was different from what we have been to before, but nice. Excellent staff
Cons: Food and Drinks
Location: Went into Playa del Carmen, have been to Tulum and Akumal before.
We enjoyed our stay at the GS, but it was a little large for us. We are 58 and 60 and it required a lot of walking. Food was typical All Inclusive fare. The staff was great, beach good for snorkeling. Lots of families that seemed to be having a great time.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nanaimo, BC

Good & bad

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Best things about this hotel… lazy river for tubing, coffee bar, ice cream shack and beach bbq. Great staff.
Cons: The beds are terrible. Safe & Internet should be included in the price. Everyone in our group wished there was a hot tub.
This is a nice hotel with with some neat features, but there are some areas that could definitely use improvement. If you are wanting a nice beach where you can walk along for miles, then this is probably not the hotel for you. The Mayan Riviera has some beautiful beaches, but we found it pretty windy. We've been to Mexico 7 times and this was our least favourite beach. On the other hand, the pools were nice. Swim up bars at both. Lots of staff doing games & entertainment. A hot tub would be such a nice addition for those cloudy, cooler days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2015 by Carlos Batani, Hotel Management
Hi Jan, Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay in Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & SPA. It is sad that you did not like it enough our beach that is one of our most important attractions due to the snorkeling and turquoise water. On the other hand I am glad you enjoyed our pools, the bars and the friendly staff who every day are pleased of serving to our guests. It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya. Carlos Batani Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Cons: Reduce the number of raccoons on the premises, especially in the living quarters.
Location: Coba, Mayan village
We had a great time. Excellent service, delicious food, beautiful beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2015 by Carlos Batani, Hotel Management
Hi, I am grateful for your positive review of your recent holiday at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya. It is really important to us to receive positive feedback as yours, and I am glad to know that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. I thank you once again and it will be always a pleasure to welcome you back at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya. Carlos Batani Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Everything, beach, food, drinks, service.
2nd time at this resort, like it very much will be going back again, clean, friendly, great service. 1st class treatment.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Go elsewhere if you are able

Posted Dec 19, 2014
The grounds and beach area of this resort are nice, but where it falls way short is their organization and communication between staff and guests. We arrived to our room to find the safe and TV not functioning and the only phone that rang in our room was the one in the bathroom. Room was clean, but beds are not comfortable. Several times throughout our stay we would call to check on an activity or event to be told one thing, only to arrive to be told something else. This happened when calling the main operator and the concierge. Some of those issues to name a few were trying to schedule a bike tour, getting a shuttle service to places/events in the resort and our final "goodbye" was having our luggage nowhere to be found when our airport transfer arrived even though it had been scheduled for pickup over an hour before. Luckily our driver was patient even though this put him and us 20 minutes behind schedule. We also found that some staff would get argumentative during these mix-ups, as if to say you the guest are wrong and we are correct. Food here is OK, nothing spectacular. Do your research and homework when booking places in the Mayan Riviera as I know you'll find a place with better organization, communication and customer service than what we found here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, B.C.

Great place to relax and unwind.

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Hotel facilities and staff are incredible. Shows were good. Late night snacks were a bonus. The Brazilian Restaurant was fabulous.
Cons:
My son & I just returned from 4 days at the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya. Although this is a very large resort complex, getting from one location to another is not that intimidating, especially if you take the short cuts. The best advice I can give is to get to know your concierges. Unlike other resorts, they have 2 concierges at a station that serves every 2 buildings. They are there to maximize your experience, and they can save you a lot of time, and provide you with a more personal level of service that overcomes the shear size of a large resort.