Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

Hotel was nice but a long way from any shopping.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The swimming pools were nice and laying on the beach.
Cons: The food was disappointing at the buffet with it being very repetitive and bland.
Location: The trip to Mayan Ruins was the highlight of the trip as well as Playa del Carmen for sightseeing and shopping.
The hotel was nice but they didn't explain the need to choose your specialty meals early on in the stay so that we could reserve the restaurants we wanted in time to be able to eat there during our stay. The food in the buffet was disappointing and repetitive daily. The beach was a long way from our hotel room. To go into a near town for shopping was twenty minutes away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very large property great Beach

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: They take very good care of the grounds and buildings with the exception of the beach
Cons: Food, Beach, beach furniture (in very poor repair) ,non smoking areas, transportation from lobby to main road.
Location: The location is ok, if you want to go into Playa del Carmen, its either a long hike out to the highway or an expensive cab ride.
We booked this hotel after driving past it for years, when we arrived we had no idea how large the property would be, the rooms, buildings and grounds are all great, the staff were all very friendly and helpful and the service was fantastic. The wild life in the jungle was amazing to watch, we saw a lot of things we had never seen before in Mexico including Monkeys gliding thru the jungle canopy. The biggest disappointment was the food was very bland, the ala carte restaurants were not much better it was hard to find something good to eat every day and we are not picky eaters. There was no place for non smokers to sit in a smoke free enviroment and have a cocktail or relax except for the restaurants. The beaches were full of cigarette butts and straws they could or should be doing a little better with clean up as they are saying how environmentally friendly they are ! We went into Akumal and Playa del Carmen both are very expensive cab rides, there is no transport from the lobby to the gate so you either hike to the road or cab into town. All in all a nice place if the beach was cleaned up and food improved it would be fantastic, just not the place for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

More than I expected

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Amazing facilities. Everything that you want for an all inclusive resort. Special thanks go to Arlina Gutierrez and Alan Loqiza at Ikaban. The concierge staff during Oct.6th through the 9th.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Excellent beach front area with superior pools

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Excellent food with fantastic staff. Rooms were convenient and comfortable. Pool areas were exceptional with adequate access to food/drink all times of day. Staff was energetic at pool areas though would leave you alone if you so desired. Weather was fantastic. Snorkeling was exceptional on-sight with many varieties of fish, sea turtles, etc. at the beach. A few topless bathers and one naked man at the beach in the early morning hours...but no other "eye blinding" sights seen. A great vacation that I would recommend to anyone...this was our second time to the resort. First floors are noisy at night due to shuttles, late party-going people etc........so would suggest second or third floors for room choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina, USA

Amazing week in Akumal, Mexico at The Grand Sirens

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The food was AMAZING, spa is a delightful experience, and guest services were top-notch.
Cons: I have no real complaints for this experience, but the bed in the room killed my back; however that did not impact the quality of my experience.
Location: Adventure tour:Zip lining, snorkeling in underground rivers and lagoons, swimming with turtles, four-wheeling through the jungle; & Plya del Carmen
From the moment that I arrived at the resort the presentation of the resort and professionalism/accommodation of the staff was impeccable. Aranza is was the young lady who greeted me and checked me into the resort. She was very attentive, thorough, and sweet. Any questions or requests that I had during my stay, she was very helpful with. The conditions of the resort were well-kept, and rooms were exactly as they are shown on the website, which was a big surprise and plus. The pool, beach, and activity areas were constantly managed and kept super clean. The quality and variety of food served across the resort was delicious and consistent. We visited the spa and it was such an amazing experience. This is a must if you go here, and I regret not getting the massage on the beach. Next time I will get one for sure. I strongly recommend this resort to first timers and returning visitors to the Akumal area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Great resort, never had to leave for anything.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Diving, Snorkeling, Spa and Dolphin experience were the best.
Cons: Concierge needs improving, they could set up meals at special restaurants, but cannot set up diving, spa and resisted to set up my Super Shuttle ride.
Location: Everything needed was onsite, but they had tour guides offered in the lobby for anything needed outside of the resort.
We never had to leave the resort for anything, they have everything you need right there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

It is GREAT

Posted Aug 25, 2014
This hotel has everything you might want. Distance between activities is considerable but very good inside transportation (golf carts). We certainly be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice, mid-level, All-Inclusive

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The rooms are nice and big. We really enjoyed all the wildlife around the resort...iguanas (big ones), racoons, and several other animals
Cons: The food could be upgraded. The AC in the restaurants should be upgraded.
Location: We loved going on an excursion to tour the cenotes around Cancun.
We just returned from our 5-night stay yesterday, August 14th. Before we departed for our trip we read a LOT of online reviews so we knew going into it that this would probably not be the nicest place and that it wouldn't be the worst either, so our expectations were tempered a bit. You will have a GREAT time here if you are not an overly "picky" traveler. The staff is very pleasant and eager to please. The grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are nice. The food is pretty typical of properties in this price range...it all looks really good, but tastes rather mediocre. I didn't taste anything terrible, but I also didn't taste anything great...just kind of middle of the road. It's the kind of food that you would be disappointed in if you ordered at a nice restaurant at home, but since you aren't getting a bill at the end of dinner you accept it. We have stayed at a super nice all-inclusive in Turks & Caicos and we have stayed at a dumpy all-inclusive in Jamaica.....this I would put right in between. I would consider this a good "value-priced" resort. The weather is VERY humid and every day is in the high 80's to low 90's so it feels very hot. Of coarse this is not something the resort can control, but unfortunately the air conditioning in a few of the restaurants just weren't adequate and we found ourselves uncomfortably warm during dinner a few nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

grand sirenis july 21-29

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Our second time at Grand Sirenis love the grounds ,beach for snorkeling ,staff was nice and very good .Food was terrible especially the Mexican ala- carte,Japanese was good the steakhouse was just ok. The buffet was below average but, Roberto was excellent and deserves a shout out. Our room 1729 was good, close to pool,second floor maid service by Francisco was excellent another shout -out .The only thing about room I hate is lack of privacy in bathroom. We have been married 30 years and a fan in the bathroom is a must!! there is nothing romantic about an open bathroom.Our friends first time at Sirenis hated everything food, housekeeping service ,rocky beach not soft sand but they loved the dolphin experience which I HATE and don't believe the dolphins should be in cement pools.Everyone cares so much about the turtles yet have no problems locking up the dolphins.Sirenis should have spent the money upgrading the food not adding dolphins. I wont be back its time to try somewhere else with better food,rooms and no dolphins just my own personal opinion
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gold Crown Service!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: All Inclusive. Benefits as if we were members. The staff were extremely helpful and consistently provided us with help on excursions, reservations
Location: Snorkling, sea turtles, Cozumel, diving, pools, restaraunts, excursions, Mayan ruins
We were treated like royalty! the staff treated us as if we were members.