Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
HOTEL AGRADABLE, PERSONAL, HABITACIONES EN GENERAL TODO EXELENTE AMPLIAMENTE RECOMENDABLE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Great hotel!

Posted May 18, 2015
Very large property which is great for walking around. Tons of activities to choose from... Something for everyone. Staff was pleasant and rooms were clean and spacious. Door was delicious! We ate at 2 restaurants and the rest at the buffet... PLENTY to choose from at the buffet and the fish was amazing.... Would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

WOW! Beautiful resort, great location!

Posted Apr 28, 2015
This was our second visit to the grand sirenis and it was amazing! The location is a bit far from cancun but well worth the drive becasue it is extremely close to Akumal beach where you can swim with the sea turtles and also alot of the cenotes and other adventure parks. The hotel is a bit of a weird deign but love that it is unique. Rooms are functional and kept very clean! My only complaints would be that the shower wasn't a consistent temperature and the pillows could be replaced. But very minimal in comparison to all of the positives. The staff are definitely the highlight of this resort. The entertainment staff work from first thing in the morning all the way into the evening shows to make sure you are laughing and having a good time. All of the servers/bartenders are extremely patient with the many difficult customers they seem to get and are very appreciative of any tips they receive. They will go above and beyond if you treat them with the respect/kindness they diserve. The resort is very well maintained and there isn't any time in the day/evening where staff aren't working on gardening, sweeping, cleaning the pool etc. The food is great! The buffets always have a large variety and there is no way you will go hungry or not find something that you like. The a la cartes are also very good, we tried all of them except for the steak house and they were all excellent. I don't think I would pay the extra fee for the French restaurant but we got it for free for being VIPs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

The heart of Riviera Maya

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The design of the lobby and rooms and the food and drinks they served
Cons: Wi-fi signal needs vast improvement in more areas and stronger all around the resort. The price of the wifi should be per room, not per device.
Location: Close to all major activities in the area ( Excaret, many beautiful cenotes with tours and without, rio secrete etc.
Exceptional staff ready to help with anything. Beautiful large rooms with balconies and very clean bathrooms. The resort has very beautiful swimming pools and beach amenities. We'll go there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Great food and pools

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Really had a nice and relaxing time. The food was great and the pools were nice. The pools could be noisy but one was not, but enough variety. Snorkeling was free and great but the beaches were windy. The dolphin adventure was fabulous and cheaper than other places. Could have been better with more for kids.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calif

Expected better

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: People were all very nice. I loved the lazy river.
Cons: The entrance to the resort is bland and kind of dirty looking. The food could be better, it was very bland
Location: There's nothing to do close by, but then it's that way with all the resorts. Akumal beach is the closest, about a 10 min drive, no walking anywhere.
My husband and I just returned from staying at the Grand Sirenis for 9 nights. I guess I expected better. The buffets were pretty bland and ordinary. We had 4 ala carte dinners and for us, the best one was the mexican food.Our room had a beautiful ocean view, but was about as far from the center of things, so lots of walking. We called for a ride once in one of the golf carts that are around, that our bellboy told us to do, and were told not to call, they were busy, so we wern't happy about that. The last few days we found the coffee bar, it was awesome. The 2 girls who were always there working were so nice and sweet. They always had smiles and would see us coming and remember what we liked. Almost all the staff were really nice, except that one bellboy. They would walk past us and say "Hola". If you go here, becareful, the floors everywhere are all slick tile, the floors are very slippery, I slipped once, thankfully I didn't fall. We never really had a problem with anyone trying to sell us anything. They did set up an appt to give us a tour, but we cancelled and they didn't harass us about it. The beach had alot of seaweed on the shore, but it was on ALL the beaches. We snorkled in the bay and saw turtles and bright fish, then sat under a palapus with a drink. Overall it was great vacation, but I think I'd like to check out another resort next time, just to have a comparasion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, friendly staff, good food, geat swim up bar

Posted Apr 4, 2015
I don't think I have ever stayed in a place as clean. The staff do a great job to keep the place running smooth. The beach was rough and there was a red flag up for most of our trip. I would try and find a place with a reef next time. Great place to take kids - the lazy river is fab!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom westbank b.c. canada

tough one to rate

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: wedding planner and photos, Japanese restaurant. staff at Cajun restaurant, shows
Cons: shuttle sevice for both older and very young guests[esp. communications as to who gets to ride which shuttle]. overall cleanliness[ stairs esp.]
grand sirenis.. how do I put this, most of the staff were very pleasant and helpful, but some things were very disorganized. Japanese and Cajun restaurants were very good. buffets were average. bar service by the pool and on the beach were awesome some days, and not good on others. beach is not as nice as others we have been to. snorkeling was a disappointment after reading other reviews. was not terrible but sub par to other resorts on the mayan Riviera. set up of the resort can best be described as wasted space. we are avid walkers and had no problems , but others in our group were not so pleased. had shuttle service but was confusing at best , as multiple levels of service for whatever part of the resort you were in. on the plus side took in a couple of the shows and was impressed. was there for a wedding, and it was very well done by the staff. some people will like this resort others not so much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grande Prairie, AB

Great Beach, Lots to do

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: the beach is great
Cons: hotel could be cleaned up a little better, could use more places to hang out at night, only really have the main lobby bar
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, Hotel could be updated and cleaned up a little bit better but overall the experience was good. Lots to do and see, Food was just average, beach area is great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marlenefrom Quebec

Great for families with children.

Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Since we had just come from another resort the first day was spent comparing them which isn't always the best...it is a large resort, with a lot of people staying there. The lobby feels like a mall or an airport. However, after staying a while it kind of grew on us. The architecture of the buildings are neat - the shuttle runs right through the bottom of the buildings - something between Star Trek and Jurassic Park. The beach was disappointing because it was in smaller bays rather than a long walking beach. But again, it had its own merits of rugged beauty and great snorkeling. Thankfully not everyone likes the beach or it would never have held everyone - a lot of people just stayed by one of many the pools. Even though there were thousands of people staying at this resort, everything is quite spread out so it's not so noticeable. Because of the lazy river, the dolphins and the way it's set up like a theme park, kids would love it. We really loved the Coffee Bar...it was a busy place. The Wifi was not free nor was the safety deposit box (they were at the previous resort we came from). I complained and they were able to remove the charge for the safety deposit box, which made me feel good that they at least listen. It was difficult to get decent times in the a la carte restaurants because we were in a group of 8-11. The food was good but not exceptional. The rooms are a bit dated. In the end we really enjoyed our stay and we got a lot of exercise!