Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel....food is terrible.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The pool and the lazy river where nice and clean.
Cons: The food.
Location: The only thing near by are the dolphin excursion.
Hotel grounds are nice. The food is terrible. There is no privacy in your room. You can see in the bathroom from the main part of your room where the beds are. Not good for a family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relax

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Overall relaxing. Not exciting. We were never allowed to use the snorkel gear
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ash from Miami, FL

Great for families, great location, lots of fun

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: The amenities -- pools, lazy river, activities, nice modern decor and open, airy passageways. The location is perfect as well.
Cons: The food is terrible, not only the buffet, but the a la carte restaurants as well. They should stick to local, regional food and prepare it with care.
Location: Tons of activities at the resort and nearby. You will not get bored at all.
I had a wonderful stay at Sirenis in Akumal -- it's a great place to stay on the beach with the kids. It's a borderline-upscale resort (definitely spring for a premium suite or higher) -- has great amenities, perfect location away in a quieter part of Riviera Maya and the all-you-can drink/eat plus the lazy river makes this the perfect place to stay with kids. You definitely won't get an authentic Yucatan experience here, but this is a great jumping-off point for touring the area, which I would strongly recommend. This is a huge resort, lots of walking, but it's great exercise. The beach is amazing -- lots of iguanas, fish, turtles. Truly a special and beautiful location. Probably would return again with the kids. The food is terrible -- I had expected pretty bad cafeteria food, but much of it is just prepared poorly, cheap ingredients and some inedible. They would have these strange creations at the buffet that no one would touch (terrines, casseroles, etc) -- was a terrible waste of food and effort. They should stick to regional food and some standard American fare for the kids and that's it. However, even the regional food was pretty bad -- the tacos were extremely greasy dripping with fat, rancheros had no flavor, and the chilaquiles were dried-out. But, the natural juices were outstanding (all you can drink chaya!) and if they're serving moles enchiladas give it a try, it's actually pretty good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve from Toronto, Ontario

Awesome snorkelling, great beach, nice facilities.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Great beach area and access to the reef for snorkelling with fish and turtles.
Cons: Food diversity, access to some of the al a carte restaurants, and free internet access (at least in the computer room).
Location: This resort is very far from the Cancun airport. It's convenient to Playa del Carmen or Tulum, and lots of cenotes and activity parks nearby.
The hotel was everything that we've come to expect in the Mayan Rivera. The grounds were incredibly well maintained and the facilities were very clean and well kept. The rooms were very nice and clean, although the beds and pillows were a little uncomfortable. Every room had a nice balcony with stainless chairs and table, and the rooms were well equipped with everything one needs. The best part of the resort was the beach areas - they were very picturesque and there is a reef within easy distance for amazing snorkelling. There's also sea grass beds which attract turtles. There are three main pools, two party/bar pools and a large quiet pool, as well as a lazy river that is very enjoyable to relax for a break in the day. As with most of these resorts, its extremely large and tends to be geared towards families with children of any age. There's a disco on the property that is far from the accommodations, but we didn't go so not sure of how well suited to younger adults. The only two complaints were a) that you have to pay for both wifi access throughout the resort and computer access in their internet room, and b) the food wasn't as good as I've experienced at other Mayan resorts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Detroit, MI

Hotel OK, Beach Great

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Beach and staff
Cons: Food and comfort of room furniture.
Location: Close to Akumal beach. We took a cab there but found that to be pricey for the short distance. Took collectivo back which was really easy and cheap.
Stayed at Gr. Sirenis Feb 23- Mar 1. Hotel itself was just OK. Rooms were big but kind of shabby. Floors were super slippery when wet which isn't so great for a beach setting. Food was so-so. Some meals better than others. We really enjoyed the Mediterranean ala carte restaurant. Pools were huge and beautiful. Staff was wonderful... Very friendly and attentive. My favorite part of resort was the beach. Beautiful to look at and the snorkeling was fantastic. Easy to swim to parts of the reef right from the shore and amount and variety of fish we saw was amazing! Had to get to beach early if you wanted to get a spot in the shade, but if you can take the sun there were plenty of chairs. Since we have our own equipment we were able to snorkel every day, whenever we wanted, without the added cost of an excursion. It was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from indiana

Great all inclusive on the beach

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: The beach was beautiful.
The staff was friendly and the rooms comfortable and clean. The beach was beautiful and great for snorkleing . We had no trouble finding a chair on the beach or by the pool. We enjoyed a tasty meal at the Mexican restaurant and found the beach side grill great for lunch and snacks. Again the staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from indiana

Great all inclusive on the beach

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: The beach was beautiful.
The staff was friendly and the rooms comfortable and clean. The beach was beautiful and great for snorkleing . We had no trouble finding a chair on the beach or by the pool. We enjoyed a tasty meal at the Mexican restaurant and found the beach side grill great for lunch and snacks. Again the staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel at a good value!

Posted Feb 28, 2014
The hotel is clean and nice with good food. The staff there are very kind and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Probably not.

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Grounds are kept in a gorgeous state of repair. Concierge was very helpful, however they are the front line to entice time share victims.
Cons: I will pay more next time for a more upper end hotel.
Location: Tulum, XelHa very close
Third time at this hotel. First when they just opened, 7/8 years ago. Then again 5 years ago and again last week. It continues to go down in value as far as we are concerned. Was a 5 star when first opened and is now rated a 4/4.5 by most ratings. I think they may rate hotels slightly different than I do. The grounds are beautiful with gorgeous pools. The pools and lobby area have a roped off area that is now designated "VIP Club Members". These areas are for people that have bought into the time share concept. Yes, this hotel is now gone time share. Actually started about 4/5 years ago. A new twist that does not include a maintenance fee but does however charge you the all inclusive rate of up to "$200.00 per day per person. Everyone is charged for WiFi, charge for safe in room. Charge for French restaurant, $60.00 / person, definitely not worth it! With ordinary wrist bands, or "rabble" as they referred to it as, you received only cheap liquor in your drinks. Everyone knows the difference between a good quality gin or vodka and the cheapest stuff on the market. A few days in and everything tasted the same whether food or drink. The a la carte restaurant had good service but only the Asian seemed to surpass the level of "mediocre" food taste. Good value for families with young kids. Snorkel gear was less than worn out entry level. Bring your own!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jan from Kent, UK

Nice Hotel, not the business quality I expected.

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Beaches
Cons: Internet, variety of food. It is not the quantity, but the quality that is important.
Location: Swimming with Dolphins is a lovely experience.
The hotel has a nice beach and staff are friendly. The food was plenty, but relatively limited for supposedly a 5* hotel, I would say 3*, for vegetarians 2* only. Gym in nice but a bit of a walk away, which is OK unless there is a downpour of rain. The internet is in my opinion next to useless, unreliable and for a hotel that has a business section...as an public speaker I would NOT hold a conference there. And we stayed for 2 weeks, so not just a blip. I don't accept that the internet was poor (we are talking 1 - 3 kB/s and at times none) due to full occupancy, that is their problem. For that reason I will not go back to this hotel. For people where this is less of an issue it is a nice enough hotel, nice beaches.