Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, B.C.

Great place to relax and unwind.

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Hotel facilities and staff are incredible. Shows were good. Late night snacks were a bonus. The Brazilian Restaurant was fabulous.
Cons:
My son & I just returned from 4 days at the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya. Although this is a very large resort complex, getting from one location to another is not that intimidating, especially if you take the short cuts. The best advice I can give is to get to know your concierges. Unlike other resorts, they have 2 concierges at a station that serves every 2 buildings. They are there to maximize your experience, and they can save you a lot of time, and provide you with a more personal level of service that overcomes the shear size of a large resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom México City

Buena opción para vacacionar.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Servicio del personal Habitación
Cons: Climatizar las albercas
Location: En realidad no necesitas salir del hotel, lo tienes todo dentro.
Me pareció una excelente opción para ir con la familia o en pareja, tiene muchas actividades, una buena relación costo/beneficio, el personal muy amable en todo momento, la habitación muy bonita, el único detalle es que la playa tiene muchos corales por lo que es incomodo al entrar al mar, después de pasar esto la arena y el mar son preciosos y que el agua de las albercas no esta climatizada y es fría. Un especial agradecimiento a Eduardo, cantinero del bar en la alberca, muy amable y excelente servicio.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom memphis

Overpriced but nice beach

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Service in the Mayan beach lobby was great, service in the riviera lobby was terrible. Tried to double charge us for the room because my party checked out at two different times, poor communication between staff. No free wifi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TX

Excellent hotel except customer service

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Everything was excellent, the only complaint I have is that more than a few workers lack good customer service skills
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom BC

Great place to stay but too pushy on the timeshare

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Overall a really nice place to stay....the snorkelling out front was excellent. Saw turtles and sea rays.
Cons: A nice slice of apple pie would be GREAT! The desserts were nice, just the same little cakes for two weeks. Try the coconut ice cream....terrific!
Location: We went to Xel- ha. Great place to spend a day. Another day at Tulum and one in Playa de Carmen, just stake the collectivo.
Had a great two week stay. Food was excellent but got a bit tired after the two weeks. We had some excellent meals at the Japanese and Brazilian. Great bartenders and the drinks just don't stop coming. The only annoyance was the concierges. They start of great but don't want to let up on the push for timeshares. Got to a point where we were consciously avoiding them. Too bad, but I guess they are told to be pushy. I wouldn't return myself just because we's prefer to see new places all the time. Not commit to one. But I'd certainly recommend it to others with the above cautions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom hanover, ontario

Amazing family vacation!! No complaints!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Couldnt have asked for a better vacation for my fiance and I and our 4 children (7,9,10,13). Hotel was gorgeous, staff super friendly, grounds upkept extremely well, and front desk staff more than accomodating. Food was incedinle and tonnes of variety. Pools cleaned daily, and beach was beautiful. Absolutely perfect! Will definately return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Snorkeling Off Beach!!!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Snorkeling, surrounding habitat, Brazilian and Japanese restaurants, Theatre shows.
Cons: Nightly buffets were all very similar, or shared the same options as the A la carte menus. Better air quality in room(at least ours.) Steak House!!!
Location: Beautiful coral banks, jungle walks, Tulum ruins.
The hotel was large and because of that the service is not as consistent and timely as other places, but staff was courteous and accommodating. Food was good, not great, not bad. The Brazilian restaurant stood out, as did the Japanese Restaurant. Both were excellent and great experiences. The Steak house was a complete disaster. I ordered a Ribeye steak and received a 1/4 inch thick sliver of grissle and fat. Seriously, I managed to salvage one forkful of meat from it, and that honestly felt and tasted boiled. Terrible, but the Brazilian more than made up for it. Besides the steak house, the only other negative was the smell in the room. It was overpoweringly musty and mildewy smelling, and even a dehumidifier didn't really do much. It was obvious that they were aware and were expecting our call, but a de-humidifier was the only practical option. The nightly entertainment was exceptional, with the Grease, Rock show and Lion King really standing out. We enjoyed it immensely and would go back in the future. Snorkeling. Turtles everyday! Octopus, Moray Eels, Squid, hundreds of fish, rays etc... Awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Great staff but a little tired around the edges

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The staff were excellent. Nothing was a problem and everyone of them from Bell hop to gardener greeted you with a friendly smile and enthusiastic Ola!
Cons: Update rooms & bathrooms, food needs improving. Wifi cost and set up is ridiculous. No smoking in public areas this is 2014 I don't want it near me.
Location: Hire a car, but not from the airport, and go to Tulum, Coba, Xplor, Xel Ha. Don't use the tours it's cheaper on your own if you have a car.
5+ years ago this hotel was probably exceptional. However the current condition is well below what I was expecting and it's in need of some TLC. Before I list my gripes I have to say the staff were exceptional. I feel they are a reminder of the standard this hotel once had. This isn't a bad review though I had a good time here for the money. That said this is our overall impression. Check-in. We arrived early (12pm), staff did everything possible to get us into our room. There was really no need. We changed to our swimsuits, left our luggage, and were free to enjoy all the amenities on offer. Room was ready an hour early and so we avoided the rush from the arriving coach loads. Grade A+ Room. The decor was tired, furniture & furnishings dated but generally clean. The bed hard, very little padding between the springs. Every fabric had some kind of stain on (curtains, towels, bed sheets, couch cushions etc). The TV ancient and with no English channels. Wifi price was absurd and you have to pay per device?! Bathroom needs updating, shower was old and crusty. No privacy for your #2s, needs shutters to divide from main room. Grade C- Food. Average. The best option is at the buffet where the chef cooks an item on request. Get what's on offer every meal. Grade B+ The specialty restaurants were worse than the buffet- pointless. Snack options unhealthy. Grade D- Pools great, A- Beach average, needs more sand less rocks, C Gym, dated, C Spa, good, B Smoking everywhere, not cool, F
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MEXICO DF

Muy buena estancia

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Tienen varias albercas para todos los gustos, y también muchos camastros en la playa. El spa excelente
Cons: Que no dan el servicio de WiFi, al menos debieran darlo en un dispositivo
Location: El hotel está muy completo, la playa por supuesto hermosa (es el caribe) y está cerca de muchas actividades de la Riviera Maya.
Fue una muy buena estancia, descansamos muy bien. El personal del hotel muy atento y siempre preocupado por saber que los huéspedes están bien. La comida está muy bien y el all inclusive definitivamente lo vale, incluso un día se puede cenar langosta en el buffer principal.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

Hotel was nice but a long way from any shopping.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The swimming pools were nice and laying on the beach.
Cons: The food was disappointing at the buffet with it being very repetitive and bland.
Location: The trip to Mayan Ruins was the highlight of the trip as well as Playa del Carmen for sightseeing and shopping.
The hotel was nice but they didn't explain the need to choose your specialty meals early on in the stay so that we could reserve the restaurants we wanted in time to be able to eat there during our stay. The food in the buffet was disappointing and repetitive daily. The beach was a long way from our hotel room. To go into a near town for shopping was twenty minutes away.