Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing resort

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Food, rooms, pools.
Amazing resort, the food, the pools, the rooms and spa were all excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Best place ever!!!

Posted Jun 12, 2015
I will go back every year!!!!! Best all inclusive in the world!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for spreading your enthusiasm. It is my commitment to keep making of Grand Velas the best all-inclusive in the world. It will be our pleasure to welcome you for many more years to come. All my best. qqq
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Awesome truly 5-star hotel in Riviera Maya

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Grand Velas is great truly 5-star hotel. I was there with my family in early June which is considered a low season, so we could enjoy the great pools, the beach and the restaurants without the crowds. The hotel has two locations - one on the beach (Ambassador), and another one (Zen) about a half a mile from the beach, in the jungle. The hotel provides a super-efficient shuttle service between the two locations. The rooms are very large; we stayed in Ambassador and were just a stone's throw away from the ocean. Most restaurants require a reservation and provide a top-tier service and great menus. The only minor downside is the ocean which is very shallow and there are stones and weed in the water. The beach itself is white sand and very enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great hotel but beach not so nice

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Cons: Don't waste your time on going to the Mexican restaurant it was pretty bad. Another thing that I was not happy about was the hotel transfers.
Fantastic hotel with great staff. The facilities are superb and so is the staff. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Only downside to the hotel is that while the sand is beautiful unfortunately the beach in pretty bad, don't go by the pictures. It is full of seaweed and not very pleasant at all. Since I normally pick my vacations based on the beaches, this was a great disappointment. Another area where I thought they could improve on was activities. There is very little to do, most good activities are not included and at night there is absolutely nothing to do except go to a bar. A little entertainment would go along way. Finally, the food. Not the best I have had in Mexico and not the worst, just ok. A bit disappointed with the quantity and quality of the buffet. While the restaurants are much better they are also not great. For our group we thought the French was the best, followed by the Asian and then the Italian. The Spanish that everyone raved about I thought was just ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Very Consistent EXCELLENT Service

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: Can't think of anything
Could not have been happier with this vacation. Class Act:)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Glen for such a warm review. Knowing you couldn't be happier with your Grand Velas vacation experience is our best compliment. I am very glad to know the excellence in service was what enhanced your experience. When the need for a vacation beyond all compare arises Grand Velas will be honored to welcome you back. Kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Zen pool suite was a waste of money.

Posted May 28, 2015
Had to change rooms at the Zen building. Pool suite is a waste of money. Majority of the plants were weeds. Bird droppings on our deck and in our pool 4 out of the 6 days. Had to ra use attention to the staff 4 times. I stayed in the grand class with my wife 2 years ago and was a much better experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

the best in play del carmen

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: foods, cleaniness, beaches, and view
Cons: the pool in our room can be cleaner..
excellent hotel .all the restaurants are great except c. authur..didnt care much for the 8 courses meal. excellent staffs and hotel... we stayed at the grand velas.. so the beaches are beautiful..quite and adults only..highly recommend it .love the spa.. and I'm a guy.. the best i ever had and price are very fair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Definitely a 5 start hotel!!!

Posted May 26, 2015
Cons: Restaurants were difficult to find without bothering the staff: put up signs. The boutique did not sell items I would take home to family.
Location: We just relaxed at the hotel the whole time. We were only there for 4 nights and 3 days so we just enjoyed the beach and pool and restaurants.
What a wonderful staff, beautiful location and relaxing vacation. Very zen-like. Excellent restaurants and beautifully creative food. The hotel itself is just beautiful and the rooms are so spacious with lots of luxury! Treat yourself with a trip to Grand Velas!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Beautiful hotel but poor beach

Posted May 6, 2015
The hotel as a whole was beautiful, clean and luxurious. The staff were superb and we had a wonderful time. If you want peace and tranquility you are better staying at Grand Class because Zen and Ambassador were mobbed with children and music. The beach was a let down as the sea was not particularly clean like other parts along that coast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Wonderful Resort

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The pools and the service. The rooms were large and very clean. Very comfortable beds.
Cons: The beach was not that great. The sand was beautiful but the ocean was merky, rocky and there was a lot of seaweed.
Location: We did not leave the resort. We were there just to relax.
Great resort and service. The grounds are beautiful and the pools are great. I loved it! There isn't a thing the staff wouldn't do to make our stay the best.