Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Grand Velas in Playa del Carmen was amazing! The staff were very friendly, the hotel was beautiful, the rooms were clean; everything was fabulous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A real relaxing and beautiful place

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Location, Beach, Rooms, Views,Staff and food all great
Cons: Need some night and daytime entertainment occasionally
Location: Close to everything and beach is beautiful.
Hotel and staff were great 2nd time here and fantastic. Special thanks to Victor always helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Beautiful

Posted Aug 22, 2014
My family and I had a great and relaxing time in Grand Velas. It's clean, and beautiful. The staff is very nice and will take care of any of your need. The food is great, it's not the most high end food, but the quality and presentation is great. Their Asian restaurant is surprisingly good compare to what I read on the Manu. It was very tasty. Italian food wasn't good at all, had no flavor. But overall our stay was wonderful and I would love to go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Best Hotel and Spa in the Riviera Maya

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: None
Location: You don't need to go out, most activities within the hotel are ore than enough to keep you either bus or relaxed...
I have been traveling to Cancun and Riviera Maya during summer vacation for more than 30 years, and I have never experienced such a good resort. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a personalized attentive staff much different from the traditional all inclusive commercial resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice place

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Cons: Fish should be fresh. We ate fresh fish only at Cocina de Autor.
Best service we have experienced in the Cancun-Riviera Maya area. We have stayed at different resorts every time and this was our third visit to the area. With very few exceptions (eg. Bistro restaurant), you see staff working hard and still very nice to guests. They are always smiling. Rooms are spacious and comfortable but the replenishment of soap, shampoo and shower gel is inconsistent. Our concierge Jimena was nice and accomodating. The beach is not the best in the area unfortunately but it is good enough. Luis at the beach area was great. Food can be very good. Our favorite was Cocina de Autor. Chef Xavier is a genius! Piaf and Sen-Lin restaurants were very good too. Lucca was not our favorite, filet mignon was hard. Pools are beautiful.The girls in the kids club in the Zen area were very nice to our kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Wonderful 4 day stay Great food Beach could be better
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Royal Oaks, CA

Hands down best Resort EVER!!!

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Amazing!! From the very begging upon arrival to the airport, our transportation van was ready to take us to our resort! Very friendly and helpful driver!! Once at the Grand Velas we were greated by very friendly and professional staff that provided us with a refreshing drink and wet towelette!! We arrived at 6am and were told check in was until 3pm but they totally went the extra mile and gave us our room right away!! The facility was breathtaking and the service, staff and food was beyond our expectations!!!! Can't wait to bring my family here again next year!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was amazing.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Cons: The pool water temperature is too warm.
Location: Playa del carmen is beautiful. We loved going down to 5th avenue to take walks in the evening and to shop. Watch out some shop keepers inflate prices.
The whole experience was a positive one. The rooms were great, the food was very good except at the pools the food was average. The staff was amazingly nice and professional. The atmosphere was very relaxing and chill. The spa was awesome. Our favorite restaurant was the Piaf french restaurant but the others were also good. The downside was that the pool water and beach water were warm. And we did not like the fact that the restaurant bill had a cost breakdown and it asked you if you wanted to leave a tip. On the bill however it says that the tips are included but if you wish to leave an additional tip. We did not mind leaving a tip because the service was great and so were all the staff, but we did not feel it was necessary to have the $ amount on the bill since it is an all inclusive resort. Having said that, we didn't mind tipping because the staff was very professional and nice. We usually would leave a $20 tip for dinner and a $10 tip at the pool and a $5 tip for room service. The tricky tip was the concierge tip. We just decided to give him $60 for his restaurant bookings and his attention even though we did not need him to do much more since it is all there for you at the resort. Finally it was a great place to stay. We would stay there again in a second.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Like to come back again

Posted Aug 3, 2014
First and ever have nice vacation in cancun in hotel grand velas I would tell many friend about this hotel Food is delicious Staff is awesome Clean room thank you See you again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Service is outstanding in general. Food is great but some not so elaborated food would have been good at some point, also some typical Mexican dishes.
Cons: I'd have liked to have more basic food.Still food is great.Didn't like that restaurants are dark at night, not comfy with kids.
Best service we have experienced in the Cancun-Riviera Maya-Playa del Carmen area. We have stayed at different resorts every time and this was our sixth visit to the area. With very few exceptions, you see staff working hard and still very nice to guests. Even the staff who don't work with guests directly greet you with a smile every time. Eventhough it was full, it didn't look crowded. In any case, you always have options, a pool in each of the three areas, two kids clubs, different restaurants, spa, beach. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Our concierge Rodolfo and Paco were nice and accomodating. The beach is not the best in the area unfortunately but it is good enough and it was not crowded at any time. Luis at the beach area was great. Food can be very good. Our favorite was Cocina de Autor. A must. Hats off to the chef! French and Asian restaurants were very good too. Frida was not our favorite. Not a pools lover but have to accept that this is the best I have been to so far. The girls in the kids club in the Zen area are nice. Didn't feel the push to tip like other reviews say.