Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Great place for relaxation and some caveats

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Stayed at the Zen resort. Great welcoming environment. Relaxing. pampered. Spa too expensive for what they offer, though. Excellent restaurants, although food somewhat scant in some of them (Piaff and, De Autor). Quality of drinks intermediate. Beaches resorts with excellent infinity pool and wet bar. Azul and Lucca best places to eat. Watch out at Piaf restaurant with sommelier trying to have you choose from an expensive list of wines not included in the "all inclusive". "All inclusive" should also include spa serpvices for more moderate prices or a try for free. Quality of "de la casa" wines and Caba (champagne) pretty low. Overall great experience for reconnecting with significant other. Very satisfactory place to spend a week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Best hotel ever...

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Love the staff and the hotel best resort I ever been too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excusite Experience

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: The service The food amazing. I am from NYC and enjoy fine dining. The restaurants truly are unique and unlike the typical all inclusive experience
Cons: Have coconuts available to drink Allow your butler to check you out for your depature
Location: Didn't need to leave the resort
Great staff, location and area. The staff treat you like royalty and if you are celebrating something they make the extra effort to acknowledge you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

the best hotel in Rivera maya

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: each food is made totally different from all other hotels in Cancun, we looked on design of each plate so long before eating the best texture of that,
Cons: the housekeeper should clean the room before 9pm....... the minibar has to be refiled every day, the bell guy was late to pick up our laggage
Location: beach, swimming in the pool, ping pong
we go to Cancun 3-4 times a year and staying in different hotels. this hotel we like the most, its very high quality of service and food..... also very nice beach u really want to be there and in the water. we felt like it was real vacation... thx all stuff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Grand Velas in Playa del Carmen was amazing! The staff were very friendly, the hotel was beautiful, the rooms were clean; everything was fabulous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A real relaxing and beautiful place

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Location, Beach, Rooms, Views,Staff and food all great
Cons: Need some night and daytime entertainment occasionally
Location: Close to everything and beach is beautiful.
Hotel and staff were great 2nd time here and fantastic. Special thanks to Victor always helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Beautiful

Posted Aug 22, 2014
My family and I had a great and relaxing time in Grand Velas. It's clean, and beautiful. The staff is very nice and will take care of any of your need. The food is great, it's not the most high end food, but the quality and presentation is great. Their Asian restaurant is surprisingly good compare to what I read on the Manu. It was very tasty. Italian food wasn't good at all, had no flavor. But overall our stay was wonderful and I would love to go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Best Hotel and Spa in the Riviera Maya

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: None
Location: You don't need to go out, most activities within the hotel are ore than enough to keep you either bus or relaxed...
I have been traveling to Cancun and Riviera Maya during summer vacation for more than 30 years, and I have never experienced such a good resort. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a personalized attentive staff much different from the traditional all inclusive commercial resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice place

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Cons: Fish should be fresh. We ate fresh fish only at Cocina de Autor.
Best service we have experienced in the Cancun-Riviera Maya area. We have stayed at different resorts every time and this was our third visit to the area. With very few exceptions (eg. Bistro restaurant), you see staff working hard and still very nice to guests. They are always smiling. Rooms are spacious and comfortable but the replenishment of soap, shampoo and shower gel is inconsistent. Our concierge Jimena was nice and accomodating. The beach is not the best in the area unfortunately but it is good enough. Luis at the beach area was great. Food can be very good. Our favorite was Cocina de Autor. Chef Xavier is a genius! Piaf and Sen-Lin restaurants were very good too. Lucca was not our favorite, filet mignon was hard. Pools are beautiful.The girls in the kids club in the Zen area were very nice to our kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Wonderful 4 day stay Great food Beach could be better