Ratings based on 544 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Midwest

You probably want to pay for Privileged Status

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The resort was nice, but if you want to have good options to eat when you want, relax in your own lounge and just get better service, the privileged status makes it easier. It does not cost too much extra when you book your trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Very friendly staff , nice place to coming back !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Great time for adults and kid

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The staff and location so close to Cancun.
Cons: Making reservations for dinner, even if you had to limit it to 3-4 times per room to eat at the individual restaurants.
Location: The little island of Isla Mujeres is a great day trip!
The whole family (5 adults a 4 year old) had a great time at Ocean Coral. The staff is their biggest asset, they could not have been more friendly or helpful. The food was good, breakfast the best, as was the variety of drinks, the bartenders would use top shelf if requested. We enjoyed the pools but were disappointed when pool staff removed our towels in the morning but not others who had been reserving chairs as well. (Bring you own towels they don't remove those) The beach was a disappointment, thought it would be calmer and cleaner, lots of seaweed that only got removed sporadically. The rooms were spacious and bright, the beds were firm, the pillows lumpy, so could use a little up-dating. Two of our rooms were musty smelling and the air conditioner did not work very well in one of them, they did come to check it out right away when called but it really didn't get much better! The housekeeping staff did a great job! The Daisy Club for the kids was excellent, although we only used it for a day or two, the staff was well-trained, the Disney production they put on with all the kids was outstanding! Overall a great vacation!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, OH

Nice resort, lacking in service

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Good sized rooms, clean resort, nice big pools
Cons: They need doors into the bathroom. I traveled with my son and privacy was an issue.
Location: Located in the middle of nowhere. Good snorkeling though.
I've traveled to numerous all-inclusives in Mexico and this is my least favorite. I won't return to this resort. It was clean and nice facilities, however, the overall service and food was lacking. I paid extra for the privilege room and services. It was worth it for the free wifi and being able to make dinner reservations and have a reserved section on the beach and a private pool. The food was very boring and too Americanized. I didn't want hamburgeres, chicken nuggets, french fries and hot dogs for lunch. It would have been nice to have more local flavor. The Italian restaurant was a joke. It took 45 minutes in line to be seated for our "reserved" dinner and then another 1-1/2 hours to get our meal after that (and it wasn't worth the wait). We were brought one roll each and given water when we sat down and they took one drink order. They never came back the entire meal to give us more drinks. Don't waste your time there. The Hibachi experience and Blue Moon restaurant were much better experiences, however, not up to the usual good food that I've had while at other all-inclusives. The beach was a constant project with all the washed up sea weed. Never really wanted to get in the water because the pile of washed up debris wasn't worth walking through. Disappointed in the beach after many stays in Cancun. If you want a beautiful beach, stay in Cancun. Stayed 3/22-3/25 during Spring Break. It was a nice alternative to the craziness of Cancun. Family friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Very Disappointing

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The pools were nice as was the beach. The staff at the pools and beach were helpful and pleasant as opposed to the front desk and management staff.
Cons: Customer service needs to be improved greatly. No one should have to deal with a flooded room. Food needs improvement.
There were a number of shortcomings. The first was that one night, the sink in the bathroom leaked, flooding the bathroom and hallway floors. They would not give us another room and then it took more than two hours for someone to come fix the problem. It took another three hours, and multiple calls to the desk, to get someone to come clean up the mess. They didn't even apologize. Unacceptable. We had reserved a room with a king bed. This was not honored. The food was poor. We have been to other all-inclusive resorts and this was by far the worst food we've had. There were limited options for breakfast and lunch and the dinner options were only marginally better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Raymore, MO

Spring break at Ocean Coral

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The huts on the beach are great, and typically have 4 chairs per hut. The option to use the shade or pull your chair out in the sun is great.
Cons: The shower nozzle is bizarre. It is a handheld thing that you have to hold above you in order to have the water hit you.
Lots to do for families or couples. Tons of pool activities, or you can hang by the ocean and be left alone to relax. Some of the restaurants are good, others not so much. Breakfast is fine, Lunch is decent at Caribbean Grill or Creperie or Casa Del Mar. Dinner at the Mexican restaurant, Caribbean Grill or Italian. The Japanese is pretty gross. Mike's Coffee is great and switches food 3x day. Mornings are pastries, afternoon sandwiches and evenings dessert. My tween and teen would go to the Teen club when it opened at 3, and it was a great way to get them out of the sun. Tons for them to do, although it can be a bit difficult to find at the end of the resort. Would be nice if it was open evenings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Second week of March

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Lunch buffet - Pools
Cons: The rooms.
Visited this resort with another family for spring break. I have stayed at Dreams which is near by this past November and I must say it was like comparing apples to oranges. Not everything is all inclusive, be prepared to pitched to buy into their time share (they dont want to call it that) and everything seems like they nickel and dime you. If this is your first all inclusive or if a Holiday Inn Express suites you then this is the ticket. Dont loose your plastic hotel key, its $5.00 and watch your towl cards as well, loose those and I think they are $30.00 a pop. The rooms were dark ours was musty and even had a stand alone dehumidifier to remove the smell. Our guests, two doors down did not have that problem. The TV had such a horrible feedback you couldnt stand for it to be on. The beds, lets just say an air matress would have been better. We had dinner one night that we waited two hours for steaks that we paid for, to their credit they did comp us that cost. $40.00 per steak, $10.00 steak at best BTW. The pools were nice, the lunch buffet near the middle pool was awesome. Plenty of choices, we spent alot of time there. All in all it wasnt a nightmare but left us with go with what you know and in our case its Dreams RIveria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great pools, good food and good staff!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The food, the location (CLOSE to the airport!), the staff, the views
Cons: I wish they had their own water filtration system so you didn't need bottled water to brush your teeth
Location: Snorkeling/scuba, kayaking ($3 a person), or rent a catamaran without leaving the property. Tons of excursions available. Just over a 1K trail to run
This was my second time staying at Ocean Coral and this time was pretty much just as good as the other time. My only complaint is that my group really felt harassed by Judith upstairs about buying a time share when checking in. She simply wouldn't take no for an answer. After we got her out of our hair it was great though! We stayed privilege this time instead of regular and making reservations was SO great. Only waited in line to try the outside Italian restaurant. Food is good here -- great selection! 4 awesome pools, easily accessible drinks. Beach was gross -- there was tons of kelp washed on shore. It wasn't like that last time! It was really windy though. The beach sand is very nice though and the view is great. My only real complaint about the hotel is the water smells like well water. But they're GREAT about refilling your bottled water and pops and I never once worried about getting sick or anything like that. There were two weddings there during our 1-week stay. i went with a group of 8 and we all really had a blast. The staff was great. The entertainment staff was okay, although lackluster in comparison to last year's staff. Overall though, I'd definitely stay here again! In fact, we just might! Clean and pretty resort, great food, pretty good staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OKC, OK

Nice All-inclusive Resort on the Beach

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Location (on beach & 25 mins from airport), clean, detailed, beautiful resort and location
Cons: More staff, loungers on beach & pool, less aggressive time share sales reps, and refill mini bar more frequently
Location: We did not leave the resort but many excursions were available
We spent a week at this resort and found it overall very satisfying. The resort was very nice and we only had a few complaints which I will list in order to alert other potential guests. 1) The beach was covered with seaweed (which is not the resorts fault but they also did not seem to clean it up). We often saw machines that were attempting to clean it but it was not very successful. The ocean was full of seaweed which made is displeasing to swim or snorkel. Also, the water was not clear during our stay in early March. 2) It was very difficult to find beach or pool loungers if you did not get there by 8 am. The resort had signs everywhere that indicated that saving chairs was not allowed, however you would see every chair taken at the large pool and only 5-6 people in the pool. In short, the resort needs more loungers. 3) We were aggressively approached at check in to spend 1 1/2 hours the next morning to listen to their presentation on time shares. We said "no thanks" at least 5 times before the rep finally gave up. She monopolized probably 45 minutes of our time during this aggressive pitch while we were waiting for our room to be ready. 4) The staff was friendly at most all times but it was often challenging to get drinks and refills during meals. Seems that they need more staff to properly be able to service these occasions. These were really our only complaints. Other than these, the vacation was outstanding and we would return to this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis MO

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Friendliness of employees
Cons: Check in. It would be nice if they could give you a pager to let you know when your room is ready instead of waiting all day.
Location: Near the fishing town of Puerto Moreles.
Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Ours had a great balcony. We were in Building 11, which is near the lobby, restaurants and pool with the swim up bar. The pools are clean and well maintained. The beach and sea had a lot of sea weed. There is a 3 foot wide by 1 foot high ribbon of sea weed between the beach and water. And there is lots of sea weed in the shallow area of the water. This is not a resort for a beach person. Restaurants are ok, nothing exceptional. Each one closes for 1 day each week, but this is not posted. If you really want to try a particular one, inquire which night it is closed so you aren't disappointed. The employees are the best feature of this resort. They are friendly, helpful and work hard to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Show your appreciation by leaving a tip. T hey deserve it.