Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic - At a good price

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
We don't spend a lot of time in hotels. We are out and about most of the day. So, we look for the basics and a cheap price. This place had that. Very quiet. Conveniently located. David, the manager is very friendly. Some of the rooms like ours are very small but there was a shared lounge nearby we could also use. Breakfast was simple continental but with a homemade cake or quiche each day. The place is decorated in 1920s-30s style and much of the house looks that way (e.g. old squeaky doors). Not crisp and modern. But that did not bother us. Looked at another way, it feels like staying in someone's home. Affiliated restaurant neighbor with discount vouchers for hotel guests. "Speakeasy" in the basement.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is a bed & breakfast type place in a neighborhood near Wrigley Field. Funky old house, beautiful antique furniture, creaky floors & doors, with an amazing speak-easy called Room 13 in the lower level. Room was small, but bed was comfy and the place was quiet. Shared bathrooms were clean. Continental breakfast, but coffee and other items don't appear 'til 8:00 a.m. This place is about 200 yards from the Belmont 'L' station, very easy to get to and quick access to anywhere in Chicago. Overall I give it 2 thumbs up!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: David was very kind and accommodating. The location was nice too. It is very near the red line.
Cons: The floor of our room was not vacuumed. Behind the bed and the window sill were extremely dusty. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. The mattress sunk in the middle. The shower curtain was modly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Hotel manager does not always stay in the office.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Hotel itself was very lovely, close to the metro station and the hotel manager was very friendly. But when I arrived the hotel, the door was locked and I found the notice `if there is no reply please call the following telephone number`. Fortunately there came one person walking along the road with the dog and told me he would help. Actually, he was a hotel manager. I wonder if he had not come at that time, what would happen as when I dialed the number, I did not succeed to connect. Also, although other guest was able to use, I could not connect Wi-Fi using informed PW.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and dirty

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
This was my worst hotel experience. The hotel is very old and dirty. The hot water in the shower was not working. I asked them to fix and in the second day it was the same. TV in the room didn't work properly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Convenient location

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for two nights to attend some concerts. Nothing fancy but comfortable bed. Room was small but clean as proved by my clean white socks. some rooms share a bathroom. Didn't bother me too much. The innkeeper was very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Charm and a Great Hotel!

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
It was an amazing stay at the Old Chicago Inn. The Innkeeper was as sweet and helpful as he could be. The room was classic in style, it felt like old 20s/30s era Chicago. The bed was amazing. Wifi worked great. Breakfast was good. Hot water was perfect. The detached bathroom was different but it wasn't an inconvenience really. All in all, it was an amazing stay and I'll be back there the next time I go to Chicago.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Owner is very good with communications. Location is excellent and price is very reasonable for the area. Internet is lacking in signal strength. Parking is available on the next block over.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, Great vibe

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was absolutely fantastic. I would 100% recommend it to anyone. The inn keeper was the highlight of the experience. He had so much personality, and really made us feel welcome!