Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Neglected and depressing

Posted Apr 1, 2017
This hotel is rundown, and the staff is not helpful. No hot water in the shower (in March, in Chicago!,) fixtures coming out of the wall when touched, and non-functioning wifi in some of the rooms. Whenever I brought a problem up to the "Innkeeper," David, he would say "oh yeah, that happens sometimes." (?!?!) When I book a hotel that says it has wifi, I expect the wifi to work in my room. Intact fixtures and hot water are not too much to ask. And a staff that actually cares about the problems with the hotel would be nice. I would not stay here again. It's also dark, depressing, and claustrophobic, and there is no elevator.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Alkaline trio!!!

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very welcoming and had an awesome nostalgic feel!!! Can't wait to come back.
2 out of 5
by Anuj

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Brandon

Great Place to Stay

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, great! I really enjoyed our stay, and the innkeeper was excellent! Would always stay here when in area!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic - At a good price

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
We don't spend a lot of time in hotels. We are out and about most of the day. So, we look for the basics and a cheap price. This place had that. Very quiet. Conveniently located. David, the manager is very friendly. Some of the rooms like ours are very small but there was a shared lounge nearby we could also use. Breakfast was simple continental but with a homemade cake or quiche each day. The place is decorated in 1920s-30s style and much of the house looks that way (e.g. old squeaky doors). Not crisp and modern. But that did not bother us. Looked at another way, it feels like staying in someone's home. Affiliated restaurant neighbor with discount vouchers for hotel guests. "Speakeasy" in the basement.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is a bed & breakfast type place in a neighborhood near Wrigley Field. Funky old house, beautiful antique furniture, creaky floors & doors, with an amazing speak-easy called Room 13 in the lower level. Room was small, but bed was comfy and the place was quiet. Shared bathrooms were clean. Continental breakfast, but coffee and other items don't appear 'til 8:00 a.m. This place is about 200 yards from the Belmont 'L' station, very easy to get to and quick access to anywhere in Chicago. Overall I give it 2 thumbs up!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: David was very kind and accommodating. The location was nice too. It is very near the red line.
Cons: The floor of our room was not vacuumed. Behind the bed and the window sill were extremely dusty. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. The mattress sunk in the middle. The shower curtain was modly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Hotel manager does not always stay in the office.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Hotel itself was very lovely, close to the metro station and the hotel manager was very friendly. But when I arrived the hotel, the door was locked and I found the notice `if there is no reply please call the following telephone number`. Fortunately there came one person walking along the road with the dog and told me he would help. Actually, he was a hotel manager. I wonder if he had not come at that time, what would happen as when I dialed the number, I did not succeed to connect. Also, although other guest was able to use, I could not connect Wi-Fi using informed PW.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and dirty

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
This was my worst hotel experience. The hotel is very old and dirty. The hot water in the shower was not working. I asked them to fix and in the second day it was the same. TV in the room didn't work properly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Convenient location

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for two nights to attend some concerts. Nothing fancy but comfortable bed. Room was small but clean as proved by my clean white socks. some rooms share a bathroom. Didn't bother me too much. The innkeeper was very friendly.