Ratings based on 461 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Beautiful grounds

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Our stay was wonderful! Our room was a suite and very spacious! Loved it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to the beach!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
The staff is great. Very close to Xplor park which is very fun. The only thing I didn't like were the towels always smelled. They need new towels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VERMONT

Great Resort Great Location

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location, Price, comfortable room, good food. All the restaurants were good. The jungle area between the buildings have families of Howler monkeys.
Cons: I don't know the answer, it is crazy you have to go down and reserve a chair at like 630 am in order to get shade. I would like palm palapas on beach
Location: Located in Playacar a safe gated neighborhood of resorts, markets and private condos, located minutes from downtown playa del Carmen.
Speedy check-in ,good friendly service, good assortment of food.Had some good snorkeling 1/4 mile south down the beach. Good for couples and families. Very simple and quick to go to Cozumel, we got a great snorkeling tour to Cozumel very very reasonable from star tours located next to the ferry ticket booth.(MaryLou) . 50$us for 2 people on glass-bottom boat on 3 reefs for 1/2 hour on each reef with refreshments.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardona

El mejor punto de Playa del Carmen

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Excelente ubicación. Habitaciones renovadas. Alimentación con diversas opciones. Excepcional atención del personal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Is ok but they need improve

Posted Jul 22, 2016
The hotel is close to the beach very good. Only they need improve in the food , Also in the show during the night they need have more showes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

A great trip

Posted Jul 17, 2016
The resort was nice and big, with access to a couple other Riu resorts in the neighborhood. Huge variety of food at the buffets, a lot of it being really good. Some things could have been better. The staff was fine for the most part. Didn't go out of there way to help you but they were around when you needed to ask a question or call a cab. We did have a problem at the steakhouse restaurant. They turned us away at 9pm, saying they were closing even though the sheet they gave us said they were suppose to be open. Went to the front desk and they said they are open and have to seat us, but we didn't go back. The beach is beautiful and big. Nice fine sand. Water was nice but could have been more clear. The pools at all 3 resorts are nice, with swim up bars. Get there early for a chair though. Dragging a chair up to the water after dark and relaxing was amazing. There's a lot of stuff to do in the area. Playa del Carmen was fantastic. 4 mile road plus side streets of all shops and restaurants. Make sure you barter them down big time though. We also went to the natural water park Xel-ha, and Chichen Itzan both of which were great. Awesome snorkeling at Xel-Ha, and all-inclusive food and drinks for the day. Overall I highly recommend visiting the area and partaking in the activities. Might look into one of the neighboring resorts next time for variety, but maybe not. It was a nice place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lindale, Tx

Nice hotel, friendly staff, easy access to beach.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: The grounds were pretty, the monkeys, the friendly staff.
Cons: The smell in the rooms. Air conditioning in the restaurants.
Location: Playacar. Shopping, parasailing, golfing, fishing, diving, water sports.
We were not able to get to a room until 10.00 due to a broken ac unit after a long hot day that seemed to long, but they did finally make it right and moved us to a suite room. Well that room had an awful smell and had a jacuzzi tub that would not hold water or turn on. Theven staff was quick to help with any request that we had or needed, other than the initial problem we had with the room. The pools were nice. The drinks were good. The food was ok. The grounds were pretty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Riu Yucatan

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The beach
Cons: The rooms
Location: Beach, 5th street, explore other Riu hotels, except the Riu Palace because you're not allowed access.
Not the best resort i have been to. The lobby was gorgeous and the restaurants. The beach was amazing. The campus overall was lovely. However, the rooms were old, our room smell like paint, asked to be switched, but had to wait until the next day. In another room of a family member, the AC was out, so it was really hot, they had to wait until the next day to be moved as well. The food was repetitive and you get sick of it after eating the same things after about the 4th day. The alcoholic drinks were ok.. The entertainment staff really go out of their way to make it more fun.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene G. Vancouver WA

Ok. Not the best

Posted Jul 6, 2016
The hotel was great right in the beach. Modern look and looks really nice. They had 5 restaurants. All are Buffett. 3 of the 5 had entrees only that you had to order. Everything else appetizers and desserts was buffet. . Not the best quality. There is wifi thru out the hotel but once you get in your room you have to pay for it. Which was very disappointing for an all inclusive resort. You can't order food to your room either. It is a pretty big resort. They do a good job of keeping you entertained. It's about a 5 minutes drive to the 5th ave. 90 pesos from the hotel to the 5th. All in all I was happy with it. But if I were to go back to playa del Carmen/ Cancun I would try a different resort
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2016
I had a great time here. Everything someone could ask for especially for the price. My only complaints are that the bar only had two beers and that the meal plan does not change. Same old food options became old. However those are things I can live with. The entertainment and everything else was superb!