Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort

Posted Jul 20, 2017
We stayed with 3 teenagers. Overall it was a great stay. There are activities for young kids and adults but I wish there was more to do for the teens. The food was decent and the staff were friendly and willig to address any issue. Would stay again at this resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

July 2017

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Great hotel. I stayed there prior to the remodel in 2013 and although I miss the Hacienda look, the hotel is great. Food was awesome, room was comfortable and clean. Nothing bad about our stay. Beach as always was beautiful. Best beach in Cancún.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angles

NOT Handicap accessible, horrible customer service

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The customer service attitudes, the food the bathrooms etc.
I recently got back from a family trip to this resort and let me just start out saying it's the worst place I've ever been too. My dad is paralyzed and in a wheelchair and he was unable to use the restrooms nor dine at any of the resturants due to the tables. He had to hold his plate in his hands. The hotel manager offered us an upgrade suite, but guess what? the suites are only on the 2nd and 3rd floors and they have no elevators.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Very nice hotel. Close to the beach.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Location! Territory! Excellent performers before dinner!!
Cons: Intertainment, offer drinks on the beach, maintainence! Beach chairs are very old! Front desk needs to pick up the phone!
Location: Excellent location! Near Playa Del Carmen night time intertainment and stores!
Our first stay was in 2003 and this is our 12 times to stay there. It was big desapointmen first year after remodeling and we use another hotels. Two years we came back and licke it. Food is much better, still not like in 2003. Was more variety, ice figures. Now it's the same menu every day. Service got worse. Nobody offer drinks on the beach, not so friendly. Just staff who used to work in old time are excellent. Intertaiment is much worse! Where is your famous shows?! On Sunday , we are understand some people off, nothing happened. Boring! We are paying for all 7 days! Good two parties which is new, inside of the pool and on the beach. Excellent!!!! Good food on the beach! Very clean everywhere!! Beautiful territory!!! Generally very good hotel! We will come again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We loved the hotel. The beach was the best and pool super fun. Hotel staff is very helpful and nice. My only complaint is that the food was terrible. Some of it was simply unrecognizable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good food, great drinks,nice staff, amazing beach.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Place was great and safe, staff were very friendly. Food was good and drinks were great. Beach was amazing. Walking distance of a small shopping plaza.Family friendly, kids have a lot to do. Enjoyed night shows. Would recommend staying more than 5 days if you want to do the wonderful tours to be able to enjoy the beach more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Great staff! Many activities to participate in through the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A quick Winter get-away.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: The food was abundant and very good. the atmosphere was one of fun and carefree relaxing entertainment.
Cons: If possible, clean the air ducts in the rooms. A moldy odor can be detected in all the rooms I entered.
Location: The location was excellent and convenient to Carmen Del Playa. Very beautiful grounds.
All of our experiences on the Yucatan peninsula have been positive, but this stay was the best! I felt very comfortable at this resort. The poolside activities were very enjoyable and I made some friends from getting up and dancing with Senor Jerry. There were people from all over the world there and they were having an awesome vacation, too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rui Yucatan

Posted Apr 7, 2017
This resort was great! Very clean the food was excellent and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Added bonus there are all kinds of wild life running around the resort. The size of the resort is perfect so guest don't feel on top of each other but you don't have to walk miles to food and activities either. Can't wait to come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent all inclusive

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: The only restaurant that was good in this hotel was the dinner buffet. I was surprised that the buffet was better than the a la carte restaurants.
Cons: The a la carte restaurants were ridicoulous. Literally similar quality to getting dinner at a hospital cafeteria. Luckily the buffet was good.
Location: Going to Playa del Carmen 5th ave was fun. $12 taxi ride for 6 people. Safe and fun.
I was hoping this might be a better overall experience. It wasn't bad, but not great. The best thing about it was the beach. That area of beach was awesome. We stayed at a resort right very close to this last year, and decided we liked the beach, but figured we should try something different. I regret not just going back to the other resort. I thought Riu might be awesome, but it was instead moderately nice. My brother has a time share at a close by resort that is about 150 yards down the beach from this place and he always says the feels like he is treated like a king when he is there. I thought he is was being silly, but sure enough when we stayed at his resort, it was awesome. At Riu Yucatan we were treated nicely, about like you would get at a McDonald or something, but no above and beyond treatment the whole week we were there. One thing that I didn't understand well when we booked was that by staying at Riu Yucatan we could only use the facilities at Riu Playacar and Riu Tequila. We could not eat dinner at those resorts however, just lunch and probably breakfast. And we could not go on to the any of the three Riu Palace properties. For some reason I thought that we would be able to use all of the Riu properties when I booked, but it wasn't till a while later that I figured it out. Also I was suprised by the ammount of partying and drinking. I'm not a prude and shocked by people enjoying themselves, but it wasn't as family friendly as I thought it would be