Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Binghamton, NY

Clean, neat and comfortable

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Cons: Can easily hear noise from corridor and other room.
Location: 5 mins walk from Divison (CTA)
The room is bright and clean. The decorations are lovely!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Comforting hotel and staff in a great neighborhood

Posted May 14, 2016
Located above Ruby Room Spa on Division St. in Wicker Park. This hotel is located in the middle of Wicker Park - a thriving, trendy neighborhood. Plenty of stuff walking distance to do and see, as well as the Blue Line which has access to Logan Square, O'Hare & downtown Chicago within 20 minutes. The hotel itself has very comfortable rooms, amazing beds and the bathroom (at least in my room) was gorgeous w/ a very nice all glass shower. W/ access to the patio in the back of the building, it made for a great morning coffee and sitting outside late at night watching the thunderstorm roll in but staying dry. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Keep in mind there's no TV here, so you might actually have to go outside and do stuff. Without a TV though, it's plenty relaxing and simply bring a laptop / iPad / whatever with you and viola - you have your TV.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice boutique Hotel

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: I liked that it was very affordable and had a wellness component, it provided a very relaxing environment.
Location: Nice location with shops nearby. Places to eat, grab coffee or drinks. Also close to a metro station so you can easily access other areas quickly.
The hotel is part of a wellness spa and salon that offers great services but be sure to reserve ahead of time because they book fast. The services are a little expensive but I'm sure worth it. I didn't get to try any because I didn't reserve any. The rooms are located in a separate building but very close to the spa. The rooms are set up like apartments and have a private feel to them. They are only accessible by stairs only through a narrow staircase. Once you get to the rooms they are simple but very comfortable. No TV makes for a very relaxing and peaceful environment. The shower had a hot steam function that was very nice as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Walk around town

Posted Apr 20, 2016
No parking. Loading zone only. Hard to fine a place to park on side streets. Register at Spa and walk by separate street entrance on narrow steep dirty carpeted stairs three flights to room. No elevator. Room with hard wood floors and newly remodeled bathroom. Bed very comfortable but floors need to be cleaned. Heating and hot water good. No TV, radio, phone. You want to sleep, shower and leave.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location!

Posted Apr 7, 2016
The hotel was a lot nicer than anticipated based in price. Location was great, room comfortable, bathroom had steam shower which was amazing, and staff was very friendly!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapolis

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: The fun spa and the building had character
Location: Smoke daddy's great place to eat
Comfortable beds and pillows. We actually thought it was fun to walk all the steps and the surrounding neighborhood was great!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO FOR THE BUSINESS TRAVELER

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: bed was comfortable
Cons: Be honest about the amenities of this hotel and put in your ad that there is NO TV and that you have to park on the street...
No parking, No TV in room, No hair dryer, No cup for water, etc... and when I called and asked about parking - they said yes, but that meant 2 blocks away and you have to circle to find parking on the street. The key did not work on the back gate- so had to walk around the block to enter from the front... And no where in their ad - did they say their rooms do not offer a TV. In their booklet - they say they provide a cd player for relaxing by - but this was EVEN MISSING... NO MUSIC, NO RADIO, ETC... I STARED AT 4 WHITE WALLS. I was able to cancel my second night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Off-beat, convenient, very comfortable

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, convenient, non-interventionist. Great for people who don't need coddling by hotel staff, since there basically is none.
Cons: I would have liked to have personal interaction with Ruby Room spa staff but wasn't around at all when they were open; not a big deal.
Location: Good eats: Smoke Daddy BBQ, Bangers and Lace (well reviewed but didn't get a chance to try it), Alliance Bakery, coffee shops. Convenient to subway.
The hotel is conveniently close to the Blue Line subway, with some amenities in the neighborhood. The use of the very nearby Wicker Park Fitness gym -- friendly, clean, and well-appointed -- is an amazing perk, which I really enjoyed. Pretty no-frills but spacious room; my only complaint was that the shower was much too hot, but I didn't get a chance to mention it to hotel staff so maybe they would have fixed it. Nice to have access to a small kitchen with fridge. Also I didn't miss the standard hotel staff, and the after-hours check-in was nicely handled and their backup support was very good.
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Iowa

Great Place to Stay! Great Change Of Pace!

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
It's a great hotel. I loved the boutique style. Being able to come and go without going through a lobby was very nice. It made us feel like we were living in the city. I will definitely make this my hotel of choice next time I am in Chicago!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, Ontario

cozy inn located in great part of town

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: The bedsheets, our room's balcony, the location.
Cons: Soap should be free! It would be nice to have had a coatrack in our room, or just a few hooks, as well.
Location: Check out "Bangers and Lace," a bar down the road. Caffe Streets has decent coffee, as does Intelligentsia and the scone place. Walk around Milwaukee.
I stayed in room 4D for three nights, and I highly recommend it. While there was no iron or ironing board in the room, the staff were kind enough to bring one of each up for me upon request. My only real gripe is that we couldn't use the soaps that were in our room, because we feared that we would be charged an exorbitant fee. The staff said that we'd be charged with the cost of replacing a bottle of soap if we were to use it, and so we didn't want to use any. Fortunately we brought our own soap! Past that, we loved the place. The bed was huge, the sheets were soft, and the neighbourhood has plenty of great places to grab a coffee or a drink! Perfect Valentine's Day retreat.