Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eau Claire, WI

Excellent location!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location and room was nice enough.
Cons: The food and the overall management and organization of the place.
Location: Rent a golf cart and explore the town - the Dolphin Discovery place was nice.
This hotel's location can't be beat! It's gorgeous!! The hotel seems to be in a constant state of renovation so some of it looks a bit unfinished but our room was nice enough - very comfortable bed and excellent view of the ocean. The bathroom's shower didn't always work but it was OK. The food was not very good, but OK. The biggest negative (in my opinion) was the management and staff. The hotel is not very organized and the men working there seemed a bit "shady" in my opinion. One of the servers actually said "thanks for nothing" after our first breakfast because we didn't leave a tip. (I am NOT cheap, but I guess I mistakenly thought "all-inclusive" also meant gratuity. I actually starting tipping because I was afraid of further repercussions. (I guess his tactic worked!) Overall, I would recommend this hotel because of the location, but not much else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: View, staff
Cons: Hot water, needs a fridge in the room
Nice hotel room with a great view of the ocean, and the staff was very nice and spoke decent English. It was under renovation while I was there, but it will be a very nice hotel/resort once it's done. I'm guessing this is why I didn't have hot water while I was there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Hotel under construction - and only 1 restaurant.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: The view from the room was spectacular. Close proximity to down town.
Cons: The rooms didn't have any chair, couch, table, dresser for clothes. Also there's no shower curtain so the bathroom floor gets soaked.
Location: North beach was a good choice for beach sitting, and a short walk down town offered up many food choices.
The hotel is under construction - and we had hammering that started at 7am everyday - in the rooms right next to ours. There's only 1 place to eat on the premis. On Valentines day they held a special dinner at an additional cost of $55.00. This didn't make sense when we paid for "all inclusive". Evertime we ate a meal there we were presnted with a bill that we needed to sign, with a 0.00 amount due. Didn't make sense for an all inclusive. Beach front limited and all the chairs reserved early. Hotel staff spoke very little english so communicatiions was difficult. Mixed drinks were very weak and not very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Manitoba

Just ok

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The food was the best I have ever had at a All Inclusive and the restaurant and bar staff very helpful .
Cons: The front desk staff promised the world and followed through on nothing. As I said the villa issue as well as our in room safe did not work.
Location: very quiet place with no pedlars. Good eats in town
went in early feb 2015 . Paid for the villas however we never did get one. We were put into the new towers were the construction was going on . The room was redone with a wonderful view of the Caribean. The front desk staff were all about getting you out of the office by over promising and under delivering.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom y

Poor

Posted Feb 9, 2015
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom des moines, iowa

Location, location, location!

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Very peaceful. Vendors were not allowed on our resort.
Cons: Could use some sprucing up, gym, umbrellas for beach, purified water coolers accessible, and entertainment.
Location: Snorkeling, shopping, fishing
This resort sits on its own little island with gulf and breaking waves on one side and Caribbean calm on the other. The best snorkeling was right there. No need to go elsewhere and pay. That was disappointing and we did not receive what we were promised. Bring your own gear, though, as resort does not have any to use. Food for all inclusive was good, but would probably not do that again as the cafes downtown are fantastic and only a few blocks. It's a safe pleasant stroll to downtown. Rent a golf cart as it's a nice way to see the island. bargain for the cart, as you do for almost everything. Seems to be part of the culture. Bring plenty of reading material and games, as there is not much for entertainment. Also, even though we were all inclusive, we only received one bottle of water per day, per room, which seemed odd.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oklahoma

Nice but not fancy

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Great area to stay. One bad was house keeping or someone with a key to the room to $600 out of my purse. I should have locked it in the safe but a lock was never offered to us. I thought the safe was just broken. Never have had a problem before so I left cash in wallet inside suitcase. Bad idea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great location, great staff

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Views were amazing each morning. Everything was done very well. They were remodeling one part but it wasn't a problem and the new rooms look fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Second visit, first as Mia property

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Location, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff
Cons: Fitted sheets on the beds, remove the construction refuse
Location: The town is just a 10 minute walk away. It was easy to get a golf cart to explore the island. We did not enjoy the Mayan Clay massage at Na Balam.
My husband and I had a great time. Yes, there was construction refuse, and true, several things promised on the website were not available. However, the staff was friendly and accommodating, the pace was relaxed, and the views and comfort were the best we've experienced. It is so wonderful to hear the waves crashing right outside your balcony and feel the ocean breezes waft into your room as you fall asleep and wake in the morning. We felt stuck getting the all inclusive, but ended up enjoying the food, and feeling like it was a good bargain. The hotel was quiet, and we prefer that. When we wanted noise, we could walk right into town. We will definitely be coming back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

hotel/workers/food

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The views and solitude
Cons: No store on the premise but that might be due to the renovations. It would have been nice to have something on lot but we were close to town to walk.
Location: Lots of local foods and drinks. Golf carts are a must to see the whole island.
Hotel was nice even under the renovation. The workers were excellent. Very friendly and pleasant. The food was always delicious and plenty. Needed anything? Just ask.