Ratings based on 582 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alemania

Hotel a lado de la mejor playa de Isla Mujeres .

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: La playa, los cuartos , el lugar, el personal.
Cons: Los cocteles.
Location: Kajak, rentar carrito de golf, nadar, Yoga , caminar al pueblo, shopping, buenos restaurantes, parques, delfines etc.
Cuartos muy confortables, comida all inklusive muy rica, personal muy amable, playa preciosa, un poco de animacion por las noches. Una estancia perfecta.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
Decent food !!!! location is stunning !!!! Love going over the planked wooden bridge to get there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lynchburg, VA

Gorgeous! Location, location, location!

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Friendliness of staff. Small. Quiet and peaceful. Food was excellent!
Cons: The hotel is under construction - in no way shape or form did it disrupt us from having a great vacation. It will be fantastic once it's finished.
Location: The hotel sits on a spit of rock just off the Isla Mujeres. Rocks on the back side of the hotel with crashing waves and its own snorkeling area.
I was very nervous because there are so many bad reviews out there. This was the most peaceful vacation I have ever had. I was in paradise. The staff were very friendly, and speak English just fine. I don't speak Spanish and had no problem. Helpful, polite and will try to do anything to make your stay a good one. The food was great. You could be American and get burgers, fries, wings and pizza or live on the wild side and try the "special" every evening. I did the special every night and loved the local dishes. Never had a week drink! Most days had the beach to ourselves. Never a problem getting a palapa or mattress. There was a guy on the beach getting rid of seaweed all day - so no worries there. We stayed in the studios, which are a bit outdated - but who cares, all we did was sleep in it and sat on the balcony listening and watching the waves crashing on the rocks. We spent most of our evenings in the bar area watching the sunset from very comfortable sofas. Fantastic vacation. Hope to go back next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by Heriberto Castro, Hotel Management
It whit a great pleasure to hear your comments and know that we were part of a inolvidalbe experience for you, we hope to see you again soon and create more unforgettable moments Best Regard Heriberto Castro Manager Rervaciones
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Beautiful beach

Posted May 5, 2015
Beautiful views of the ocean, hotel is under construction, food was better in town. Overall, a nice stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: los paisajes
Cons: si cuando terminen la remodelacion
bien pero falta capacitacion al personal para dar mejor servicio, est6a en remodelacion el hotel aunque los paisajes son hermosos
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boscobel, WI

Will go back....

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Great resort working on making it even better! Lots of construction but nothing that was an inconvenience! Wonderful staff and great food! Will certainly go again!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for us

Posted Apr 8, 2015
If you need 5 star attention, keep looking. The hotel is remodeling so some growing pains with that but definitely a 5 star for rest and relaxation . We will definitely go back although we might not do the all inclusive . That was an option, the bungalows are amazingly close to the coral side and the waves crashing alone was therapeutic .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Staff was so helpful. The staff that worked at the front desk were great. Spoke english very well and helped us with transportation.
Cons: Everything was great, love to come back and see after all remodeling is done.
Location: location is absolutely beautiful. Loved walking in to town to shop.
Everything was great. I only marked Pleasing for Hotel facility because they are still doing some remodeling. Definitely come back again next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's just okay.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: If you could get a chair on the small beach, and there wasn't a ton of seaweed washed up, it was a lovely little beach.
Construction is still going on, although was too disturbing. Villas are in major need of upgrades. Key card stopped working on day 5 of a 10-day stay. Had to make 2 trips up to lobby to get it corrected. . . annoying. Too many kids for me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great location. A work in progress.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: My favorite part is that you can see the sunset and the sunrise from the hotel grounds. Also very friendly staff: Carlos, Jeorge, Gabriel and Martin
Cons: The studios being updated and more food options. It seemed like most days the food looked pretty much the same.
Location: Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Golf cart rentals are easily accessible. Lots of places to snorkel.
We just returned from a 10 day stay at the Mia Reef Hotel. This was our first visit since it has changed owners. We have stayed at the hotel 3 other times when it was known as the Avalon Reef Hotel. We were not sure what to expect because of all the mixed reviews that we have read about but decided to go anyway. I am so glad that we did because the upgrades that they have completed so far are very nice. We stayed in the studios that have not been updated yet but they were still comfortable and for the amount of time that we spent in them they were fine. We were told that they will be redoing them as soon as the main hotel is finished. The staff were very friendly and it was nice to see some of them were still there from our previous visits. As of right now I would give the hotel 3 stars but once all the updates are done I'm sure it will be rated higher. If you have the option of not doing the all inclusive that is the best way to go because there are so many restaurants on the island that have lots of delicious food to try. This is definitely not our last visit.