Ratings based on 568 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: los paisajes
Cons: si cuando terminen la remodelacion
bien pero falta capacitacion al personal para dar mejor servicio, est6a en remodelacion el hotel aunque los paisajes son hermosos
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boscobel, WI

Will go back....

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Great resort working on making it even better! Lots of construction but nothing that was an inconvenience! Wonderful staff and great food! Will certainly go again!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for us

Posted Apr 8, 2015
If you need 5 star attention, keep looking. The hotel is remodeling so some growing pains with that but definitely a 5 star for rest and relaxation . We will definitely go back although we might not do the all inclusive . That was an option, the bungalows are amazingly close to the coral side and the waves crashing alone was therapeutic .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Staff was so helpful. The staff that worked at the front desk were great. Spoke english very well and helped us with transportation.
Cons: Everything was great, love to come back and see after all remodeling is done.
Location: location is absolutely beautiful. Loved walking in to town to shop.
Everything was great. I only marked Pleasing for Hotel facility because they are still doing some remodeling. Definitely come back again next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's just okay.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: If you could get a chair on the small beach, and there wasn't a ton of seaweed washed up, it was a lovely little beach.
Construction is still going on, although was too disturbing. Villas are in major need of upgrades. Key card stopped working on day 5 of a 10-day stay. Had to make 2 trips up to lobby to get it corrected. . . annoying. Too many kids for me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great location. A work in progress.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: My favorite part is that you can see the sunset and the sunrise from the hotel grounds. Also very friendly staff: Carlos, Jeorge, Gabriel and Martin
Cons: The studios being updated and more food options. It seemed like most days the food looked pretty much the same.
Location: Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Golf cart rentals are easily accessible. Lots of places to snorkel.
We just returned from a 10 day stay at the Mia Reef Hotel. This was our first visit since it has changed owners. We have stayed at the hotel 3 other times when it was known as the Avalon Reef Hotel. We were not sure what to expect because of all the mixed reviews that we have read about but decided to go anyway. I am so glad that we did because the upgrades that they have completed so far are very nice. We stayed in the studios that have not been updated yet but they were still comfortable and for the amount of time that we spent in them they were fine. We were told that they will be redoing them as soon as the main hotel is finished. The staff were very friendly and it was nice to see some of them were still there from our previous visits. As of right now I would give the hotel 3 stars but once all the updates are done I'm sure it will be rated higher. If you have the option of not doing the all inclusive that is the best way to go because there are so many restaurants on the island that have lots of delicious food to try. This is definitely not our last visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto suburb

the hotel was very beautiful

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The grounds were beautiful & the ocean sooo close...wsa like paradise there
Cons: complete the renos faster, & have more English speaking staff
Location: Locationb perfect, just a short walk from the town where there are many outdoor cafes & loads of quaint shops.
Mia Reef is very beautiful, but still under construction so there were alot of workers & construction materials lying about the staff were very helpful but their English was sooo poor that they could barely understand what we were asking them!!! the rooms were lovely but still alot of things were missing....no shower curtains or hairdryer,no toilet paper holders , no drawers to put anythingin, & very little closet space....we had to keep most things in our suitcases, 7 when we had a shower, water was pouring out all over the floor!!!!!! The hotel has a "paradise-like" location....on a peninsula with the ocean surrounding it on 3 sides!!The grounds were beautifully landscapped, pool lovely, & food was spectacular....everyday a different menu....sooo delicious!!! Our overall experience was positive as we can see it will be gorgeous after all the renos are completed!!! Overall stay very enjoyable,
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kentucky

Decent hotel but not much of a beach

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: I liked the hotel location.
Cons: They need to provide more variety in their meals and they need to have enough cushions to go around.
Location: There was a lot of shops within walking distance.
My husband and I, along with 3 other couples, arrived at the Mia Reef on March 8, 2015. This was our 3rd time visiting, the 1st 2 visits were when it was still the Avalon Reef. I can see where they are trying to make improvements to the resort. We normally stay in the tower but this time we stayed in the villas, which they have not yet begun to remodel. 1. The restaurant is nice and clean but the food is palatable at best. On the weekends they seem to put more effort into it and it was much better. Not really much variety. They are working on another restaurant beside the pool but it is not yet open. 2. The bar area is much nicer and has a very nice swim up bar and the area outside the bar has been converted from tables and chairs to nice wicker furniture with cushions. Very nice place to chill out. 3. WiFi is only available in the bar and restaurant areas. 4. The Beach was very small and they have built a wall along the beach front to minimize erosion which makes water access very difficult. There are wooden reclining chairs on the beach but never enough cushions to go around. 5. The staff was very nice and helpful. 6. One problem I had was when I lost the key to my room safe. It cost $100 us to have someone come and drill the lock out. My purse was in the safe and they ended up drilling holes in it. They gave us a voucher to use but then wouldn't honor it when we tried to use it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I'd absolutely stay here again.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
The hotel is undergoing renovations. I feel by Jan/Feb of 2016 the Mia Reef Hotel will look awesome. I stayed in the older outdated villas and hope these are going to be a part of their renovations. Knowing that, the staff and cleanliness of the room made up for the dated room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Terre Haute, IN

Best location in the caribbean

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: minor cleanup and painting at the villas
Location: Shopping downtown, Cliffs at Punta Sur, Playa Norte Beach, Everything on the island is accessible within minutes
Hotel is being updated and looks like it will be really nice. We stay in the villas. We go to Mia Reef for the location. Soft sandy beaches with calm water and ocean waves crashing on waves all on the same grounds. Best area I have ever been to for swimming, playing in the water. Excellent.