Ratings based on 465 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Best location and staff on the Island.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Everything and everyone - best location on the island. Dive and Whale Shark tour with Bonnie at Sea Hawk Divers - They are 2 blocks from the hotel!
Cons: Nada - Great service
Location: Dive and Whale Shark tour with Bonnie at Sea Hawk Divers - They are 2 blocks from the hotel! Buy a round trip ferry to and from Cancun.
I stayed in Rm #1027 on the first of two floors. The grounds and pool were awesome. Then when I got to my room the back door opened to the best view I have ever seen. Google this hotels location and google earth and you will see what I'm talking about. 5 star location!!! It faced north toward the Whale Shark area and coral reef. Private snorkeling and diving 50 feet from my door. I rented a bike or scooter and tour the island, and could not wait to get back to my hotel. I paid $125 to do the Whale Shark tour with a crew in town and we came back my hotel to snorkel as part of the trip. Highly recommend this location and I will be going back for Spring Break 2015!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

FALSE ADVERTISEMENT......Stay AWAY!!!

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Absolutely everything.
Location: The location is nice. So stay somewhere near this location but NOT this location.
The pictures online are not what the hotel actually looks like so beware! When we went there was constant construction our whole 14 day stay. We were NOT notified of this. I don't mean a little construction here and there. I mean, they were completely GUTTING and tearing down half of the main hotel. There about 50 construction workers on the resort at all times. The sound of jack-hammering on the beach and hammering from your room = miserable!!! Work trucks coming in and out several times a day. The manager is RUDE. When we asked for our money back she said the construction wasn't on our villas so it wasn't bothering us. Our honeymoon was ruined and you can't re-do a honeymoon. Trust me, you do not want to stay at this place. No DVD players, no entertainment what-so-ever. GIANT boards inside the pool (ugly and disgusting)!! Constant sea-weed on the beach. Pool table is missing half of its balls. All the staff make you feel very uncomfortable as if they wish you weren't there. Save your money, go somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 10, 2014
We were offered a free upgrade due to hotel repairs. Our room was comfortable, and we had an awesome view. Staff was helpful. Three star experience for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best beach and location

Posted May 31, 2014
The location in the island is great. It is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. There are virgin areas behind the hotel. Very secluded and breathtaking. The hotel is okay I guess. The service and all inclussive services are not as impressive as others' but overall you'll enjoy it and will have a great time here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dawn from Oklahoma City

Worth it for the beaches & amazing views!

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The views are incredible and the beaches are amazing.
Cons: It is currently a work in progress, and I'm looking forward to seeing how it turns out!
Location: We rented a golf cart for our stay (ask for a 24 hour one) and it is just a short ride from the main road. It has one of the best beaches in the world
If you are looking for a high-end resort with modern amenities, this might not be the best place for you. However, if you are willing to overlook the outdated appearance of the rooms, you will realize that this hotel has the most amazing views and one of the best beaches in the world (Playa Norte). It is being renovated, so it might be a bit of a nuisance, but the amazing beaches and views are well worth it. It has recently become an all-inclusive resort and it offers good food and good drinks. Overall, it is an incredible place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from NH

Great Location, good service, and wonderful Beach

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The location and all inclusive options
Cons: They are working on updating many items now.
Location: Location was the best and snorkeling was amazing
This is our 4th time staying at the Reef on Isla. The villa's are great and private. Rooms are comfortable and kept clean. The views from the Villas are beautiful. We will go back.
2 out of 5
by sacee from ottawa ontario

The nicest spot on the island

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: The staff are most accommodating and are the saving grace for this hotel
Cons: More staff. Give the client their own bottle of wine with meals. Hot water Get other restaurants opened Close area while renovating.
Location: Much to see and do. Lots of music and bands elsewhere. Lots of wonderful restaurants to choose from.
All inclusive with only 1 open aired cafeteria styled restaurant complete with bird s who eat unattended food and crap as we'll. Beer is warm coming from a draft keg. Wine by the glass bottle never opened at the table. You don't get your own bottle with your meal. Sitting at the pool is a war zone as they renovate 2 other eating areas. Been under construction since December. No tuck shop available at this time. Empty space where it was last year has big chains and locks on both doors. Warm water only for showers. Towels and linens have seen better days. Make sure to get an egg crate for the top of you mattress. Staff has been reduced by half this year.
1 out of 5
by Cam from new york, ny

Completely disappointed ... Disaster !

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: The only good thing is the water surrounding the property; but the whole island is full of beautiful water and more accommodating resorts.
This was the worse all inclusive experience I've ever had. We paid hundreds of dollars extra for the all inclusive package and couldn't eat the food once during our 5 night stay. There aren't any restaurants since the whole compound is under construction; all day, all night. There was a 4 tray set up in the bar area with food we couldn't even recognize . We were provided with ONE bottle of water in our room for the whole stay and were told bottled water was not included in the all inclusive package; again which we paid hundreds of dollars extra for. Not to mention absolutely no beer or soft drinks stocked in the room. In fact no bottles or cans at the bar unless you pay extra, only watered down beer on tap. You are giving a key for the safe in your room which you are responsible for keeping on you at all times ; if you loose it you must pay $100 for. This did indeed happen to my friend while playing on the beach, which is what you do on vacation. The beach area was small and we had to practically beg every day to have an umbrella set up. The water however is gorgeous crystal blue, which is the only good thing about the property. But again the downside is the report sells day passes to people not staying in the resort, and they come by the boat loads all day ; so it's practically packed with people not staying at the hotel. The family staying in the rooms next to mine were robbed; iPads and phones were stollen from their room. Complete rip off.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, under constant construction

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Nice hotel location, but there is on going construction which is loud and distracting. Had to have the room switched because they out us directly above the construction area and they were banging constantly from 7am-10pm. Staff have us a hard time about moving the room, but finally moved us about 40 hours after our arrival. Construction workers moving materials across the beach basically the entire time of our stay and I'm sure they are still doing this. Read a review saying the same thing from January and thought it would be done with... Totally wrong and it didn't seem like they even close to finishing! Also, many sea urchants , be very careful if sing anywhere aside from the small private beach, especially in the "kings bath" area. Food was decent, bar was very limited. View, aside from construction areas, was great. Get a higher story room of possible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie from Vancouver, WA

Wonderful beach location! Amazing!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: It was very clean.
Cons: The entire place needs to be updated (to American standards) for the standards on the island, it's a great place.
Location: AMAZING BEACH! Great, great, great! Wonderful sunsets. Walking distance to their souvenir market. Lots of great restaurants. snorkeling too!
The hotel itself was not amazing, they are going thru many renovations (I hope!). They are pretty bare bones, but the beach is AMAZING!!! I would go back just for that reason! The hotel isn't what you are going for! At times, the food seemed a bit mundane, and some days they'd run out of items (once they're gone, they're gone!). Luci at the omelet bar is a professional!! :) Overall, we'd return - but not because of the hotel - but because of the amazing beach right outside your door! Views are to die for, and the water is amazingly blue and one of the best beaches ever!