Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Beautiful. Lobby staff very accommodating...
Cons: Food availability at 5 restaurants..
The resort has 5 restaurants... one closes at 6pm, 3 require reservations. One evening the buffet was closed and our dinner plans had fallen through..There was simply no place to accommodate us until after 9pm. We discussed this with concierge..No one was concerned. We ended up going to the mall for the worst meal ever... costing us cab fare there and back...40.00. This is something which I feel needs changing... Later in the week, when we attempted to order pool side..(terrible service here) at 545, we were told they were closing in 15 minutes and we could not order....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tulsa, OK

Great location away from the hotel zone!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Very clean and nice hotel grounds Relaxing location Great massage/spa (Ask for Maria) Rooms/Views were great Breakfast bar was great
Cons: Stop pushing the vacation club presentations Free Internet access More lunch options Dedicated dessert bar
Location: North of the hotel zone. Right next door to a ferry to Isla de Mujeres. Not any night life nearby.
Overall, this is a fabulous hotel if you're looking to get away from the craziness of the hotel zone. It's about 20 minutes north of downtown in a more remote area. The hotel grounds are very, very nice. Restaurants were all pretty good. Pools were awesome. Activities at night were good. The beach is nice but has the same seaweed issue that all beaches seem to have in the high season. All of the rooms seemed to have great views (ask for a high room). I recommend booking your dinner reservations for your entire stay as soon as you check in. I would absolutely recommend the resort itself. However ... BIG WARNING: Avoid the presentation that the hotel will try to get you to do. After we checked in, we were directed to a table where they said they were assigning us our "personal concierge". This person started off by telling us about the great prices that we could get on excursions with their "VIP card". They finally got around to telling us that we had to do a 90 minute presentation to get the card. The savings were significant so we decided we'd spare 90 minutes early the next morning considering that part of it was during breakfast (which we would have been doing anyway). Big mistake. We started at 8:30am and they didn't let us leave until 1:00pm. The buy-in was almost 200k. They held our VIP Card hostage; so we had to ride it out in order to get our discounts. We had to say NO 100 times to 4 different people to finally get free. Ruined half of a day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The entire spa experience was great including the massage.
Cons: We signed everytime for an included breakfast buffett, but when pointed out at checkout, those charges were removed without problem.
Location: We went for sun,beach,atmosphere, and food. All were great. Not much in the way of shopping in the immediate vicinity.
Meals were excellent, but you did have to plan ahead and have reservations made the day before for any restaurant at the resort. That said, we arrived late and they accommodated us at the door the first night.I like hot , hot tubs, but other than the spa , I would say the regular hot tubs were warm at most.Great view. It is a ways from town and there is nothing else nearby. It is about 5-10 minutes by vehicle to downtown.The room was comfortable and clean. Had requested a king, but ended up with 2 doubles that worked fine. Was offerred at check in an opportunity to move to a king room starting day 2.It is also a time share and all inclusive, but other than a very brief intro about everything offerred at check in, that was never mentioned again during our stay. There was no high pressure sales pitch!Check in and check out was efficient. Taxis and shuttles were readily available.20 minutes to airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: It was not too big. But still has four restraunts.
Cons: More selection in the Buffet.
Location: Nothing in a remote area.
Very nice,clean hotel. Great pools adult, members, children's and another pool a lot for size hotel. Signing bills at all inclusive took a little getting used too. Liked that they served lunch poolside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MI

Very nice resort

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Nice pools, clean, beautiful landscape around, good service, and food overall was very good.
Cons: Get rid of all the receipt signing after each meal or bar. Evening dinner in Zama restaurant, during the day food was very good, but not at night.
Location: Visit Isla Mujeres it is worth to go and also there is nothing wrong with taking this cheap ferry that is located next to the resort.
We loved it, very nice place, rooms were beautiful with nice views, loved the hammocks on the balconies. Staff was outstanding, especially two bartenders (Rodolfo and Mani) in the lobby bar were very nice and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

New Hotel, great amenities and staff!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: New, clean hotel. Great dinning options. We liked having appetizers at one restaurant and entrees at another.
Location: Diving, Bull fighting
Visited Jan 2014, great new hotel, very friendly staff and wonderful amenities. Food was excellent and dining options were fantastic. Chef at the Steakhouse invited us back for a special dinner. He did not disappoint!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Great resort, helpful staff. Nice beach. Good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Could have been a FIVE rating...

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Great food with many different restaurants, great room service, nice staff, loved the beach and beautiful landscaping throughout..
Cons: Add A SEAFOOD Restaurant, Replenish coffee and toilet tissue in rooms each day, Don't set appointsment for guest that do not quality for the Vacation
Location: Location nice but a little isolated from main stream shopping, malls, restaurants. Although had Lots of water activities.
Hotel very nice, loved the tile floors in our room, except there was a very dirty throw rug in the center of room, that needed to be thrown away, we pushed under the bed so as not to walk on it... Was disappointed that in the kitchenette had only a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. The daily housekeeper would never replenish our coffee or toilet tissue as needed, so had to call guest services. When our shower diverter broke they were very quick to repair it! Sometimes the showers were barely warm enough.. Had booked a garden room but was switched to a corner room with very limited views of the grounds. Beware, you will be given a sales pitch to buy into the Vacation Club, which is beneficial if you want the VIP discount of 15% at the hotel shops/restaurants during your stay.. We were told we would be given a free 24 hr rental of golf cart, but was not true.... We agreed to the breakfast meeting but when we arrived were told that since our husbands and credit cards were not with us, that the meeting was not available to us and we wasted our entire morning.. We loved the food in the buffet breakfast and were glad we chose the breakfast included room rate, as it saved us money.. The Japanese restaurant was also very good and affordable (less than breakfast buffet).. The staff were very nice and accommodating , especially when doing the sales pitch... Over all gave a four rating as we did enjoy our stay there.. It is a great place for families with kids...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City, MO

Family Vacation

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Great family resort! The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were too! Loved the junior sweet for having lots of space and a little separation between kids and parents. The murphy beds are such a great idea! The food in the restaurants were very good and had lots of options for adults and kids! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Perfect getaway

Posted Feb 24, 2015
My cousin was getting married so we decided to come to Villa del Palmar Cancun but I can really say this is the best resort by far if you want to be only second away from everything you need. And still make it for Dinner at a 5 star Steakhouse.