Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: It was not too big. But still has four restraunts.
Cons: More selection in the Buffet.
Location: Nothing in a remote area.
Very nice,clean hotel. Great pools adult, members, children's and another pool a lot for size hotel. Signing bills at all inclusive took a little getting used too. Liked that they served lunch poolside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MI

Very nice resort

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Nice pools, clean, beautiful landscape around, good service, and food overall was very good.
Cons: Get rid of all the receipt signing after each meal or bar. Evening dinner in Zama restaurant, during the day food was very good, but not at night.
Location: Visit Isla Mujeres it is worth to go and also there is nothing wrong with taking this cheap ferry that is located next to the resort.
We loved it, very nice place, rooms were beautiful with nice views, loved the hammocks on the balconies. Staff was outstanding, especially two bartenders (Rodolfo and Mani) in the lobby bar were very nice and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

New Hotel, great amenities and staff!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: New, clean hotel. Great dinning options. We liked having appetizers at one restaurant and entrees at another.
Location: Diving, Bull fighting
Visited Jan 2014, great new hotel, very friendly staff and wonderful amenities. Food was excellent and dining options were fantastic. Chef at the Steakhouse invited us back for a special dinner. He did not disappoint!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Great resort, helpful staff. Nice beach. Good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Could have been a FIVE rating...

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Great food with many different restaurants, great room service, nice staff, loved the beach and beautiful landscaping throughout..
Cons: Add A SEAFOOD Restaurant, Replenish coffee and toilet tissue in rooms each day, Don't set appointsment for guest that do not quality for the Vacation
Location: Location nice but a little isolated from main stream shopping, malls, restaurants. Although had Lots of water activities.
Hotel very nice, loved the tile floors in our room, except there was a very dirty throw rug in the center of room, that needed to be thrown away, we pushed under the bed so as not to walk on it... Was disappointed that in the kitchenette had only a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. The daily housekeeper would never replenish our coffee or toilet tissue as needed, so had to call guest services. When our shower diverter broke they were very quick to repair it! Sometimes the showers were barely warm enough.. Had booked a garden room but was switched to a corner room with very limited views of the grounds. Beware, you will be given a sales pitch to buy into the Vacation Club, which is beneficial if you want the VIP discount of 15% at the hotel shops/restaurants during your stay.. We were told we would be given a free 24 hr rental of golf cart, but was not true.... We agreed to the breakfast meeting but when we arrived were told that since our husbands and credit cards were not with us, that the meeting was not available to us and we wasted our entire morning.. We loved the food in the buffet breakfast and were glad we chose the breakfast included room rate, as it saved us money.. The Japanese restaurant was also very good and affordable (less than breakfast buffet).. The staff were very nice and accommodating , especially when doing the sales pitch... Over all gave a four rating as we did enjoy our stay there.. It is a great place for families with kids...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City, MO

Family Vacation

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Great family resort! The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were too! Loved the junior sweet for having lots of space and a little separation between kids and parents. The murphy beds are such a great idea! The food in the restaurants were very good and had lots of options for adults and kids! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Perfect getaway

Posted Feb 24, 2015
My cousin was getting married so we decided to come to Villa del Palmar Cancun but I can really say this is the best resort by far if you want to be only second away from everything you need. And still make it for Dinner at a 5 star Steakhouse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

beautiful grounds

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: the grounds
Cons: front desk
Location: tours were expensive but we enjoyed a trip on the ferry to Isla Mujeres
check-in confusing and although we got an upgrade, the people who had to sleep in Murphy beds said they were very uncomfortable. Room service usually took over 1/2 hour, one shower did not work, even though we had a beautiful 1 bedroom suite. Found glass on the beach ... good availability for kids and adults to play volleyball and soccer on the beach, karaoke night was entertaining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Good facilities, decent location

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: New construction
Cons: No signing papers every time you get a drink or food
Location: Ferry to Isla Mujeres
The good: Good and new rooms, well kept and well maintained. Almost all rooms have ocean view. One bedroom suites are convenient for families. Very good quality food and drinks, attentive staff and service is good. They have heated swim pools, good activities and a decent beach. The ferry to Isla Mujeres is right next to the resort. Resort is close to the town and lots of public transportation options are available. The bad: The VIP / time share presentation ruined our stay, a 90-minute presentation took 4 hours, with pushy sales people that got quite rude towards the end. We did not even use the "VIP" benefits, that's how turned off we were. Don't take them up on this if you are not into time shares. Since the guests are a medley of all-inclusive & just room renters, every time we ate or got a drink we had to sign receipts, and felt obligated to tip. You can tell from the servers looks that they expected tips. Well, if you are playing in the water, why would you be carrying money on you? And after paying a ton for all-inclusive, tipping should not even be part of the equation. The Hertz rental on-site is a joke, they messed up our van reservation and gave it away to others. We had to change our plans because of that non-sense. Rent from the airport or other locations if you want reliable service. The beach is not long if you want to run / walk on the beach for a while. Ends on both sides within a few hundred yards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Cons: Front desk for sure
Location: The nearby Island was a treat to discover
Front desk is poorly organized. Takes far too long to check in. The billing and tipping seems to be confusing and not well explained.