Ratings based on 383 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to get away. Beautiful views.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Third time to Villa del Palmar. Great place to get away and chill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super nice place to getaway

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Quiet, beautiful rooms. We slept with door open to hear the water. No need to pay extra for the 'view' as all rooms face ocean (upper floors)
Cons: Timeshare tour is awful and misleading. Infinity pool should not be advertised if it is only for 'certain guests'
Location: FAR (at least an hour) from the airport. Nothing to do nearby. They do have things to do at resort.
We stayed here for a weekend getaway. Take note that it is FAR from the airport and there is NOTHING around it. If you want nightlife, lots of things to do, then stay in the hotel zone. Villa Del Palmar does provide transportation to a few things and they will pick you up at the airport (for a charge). Restaurants are OK, we did not do all-inclusive and feel that it is not that great of a deal. Also know that certain things are for ''members only" (aka time share) like the infinity pool. This pool is heated, the public ones are not. The nightly entertainment is cheesy but fun (think cruise line shows).....It is a quiet resort (we were there in January) and we loved that about it. Plenty of chairs and towels. Very clean, beautiful grounds. Do not take their 'welcome breakfast and then tour'. It is a timeshare tour and will waste at least 3 hours of your life that you will never get back. The spa services were FABULOUS!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

Best resort I have stayed in!!

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Great staff!!
Cons: More daytime and nighttime activities for adults. Also if they could explain that when you pay a bill in cash on an all inclusive, that counts as tip
Location: Close to everything we wanted to do
Great hotel! Staff were super friendly. All areas were kept very clean. We got to the resort a bit early and our room was not ready so they upgraded us for free. Beautiful rooms. Only issue would have been for them to explain the signing of every check you receive for food and drinks. We were aware that there would be extra charged for certain things but unfortunally no one told us we could not pay in cash so the servers assumed we were giving what would be a great tip. Then at the end of the stay our bill had these charges on it. Not a big deal as the resort is beautiful and the people are super nice. A few more activities throughout the day and evening would have been great as well. Will definatelly be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Loved the resort. Beautiful rooms. Mini bar a little lacking but we went all inclusive so it didn't really matter. Food was excellent at the restaurants, especially Davino and the Sushi bar. Tiki bar excellent. DO NOT waste your time on the timeshare presentation. What you get isn't worth the 2+ hours and they are extremely rude when you don't buy. Otherwise, loved the resort and would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Very nice hotel, ideal for just lazy/relaxing

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: all inclusive package, food, drinks, beaches, pools, free shuttle, port connected to resort for isla mujeres.
Cons: Free Wifi, better steakhouse and mexican restaurant.
Location: remote, 30 minutes from hotel zone and downtown cancun. 45 min ferry ride to Isla Mujeres.
Our first time. Ideal for just relaxing and being lazy. Facilities and beaches were great! Service was great. We did all inclusive package. 6 on site restaurants to choose from. Best food Hiroshi (sushi) and Davino (mediterranean/italtian). Okay food Zama Cappricho (good breakfast) and Bite Bar. Not good La Casona (steakhouse). 24 hour room service was nice a part of AI package. Would definitely come back if ur looking for relaxation only! far from hotel zone where all clubs are. Very close to isla mujeres (tons of things there! golf cart the island, zip lining, flee market, beautiful!). We took a cheap ferry ride there, which is a couple of sand steps away from your resort (convenient!) Free roundtrip shuttles to downtown (30 minutes) and hotel zone (30 minutes), however if too late in the hotel zone, you must cab back. Don't recommend if you want a crazy, party people atmosphere, there is hotel zone for that. Overall great for a couple and family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great place for family

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Food really tastes like mexican, mmmmmmm
Cons: Night entertainment, good, but can be better.
Very relaxing, amazing views from every room, kids club staff, really nice and respectful with kids, lots of activities for them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise 5 stars!

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Anyone who doesn't give this resort 5 stars is nuts! Must have said "wow" over 200 times while there. Concierge was extremely helpful. Spa was unbelievable! The best part was himoe affordable it was. I would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

every one was very nice and polite

Posted Jan 12, 2015
great experience,i would definitely go back and do it all over again. no regrets for the money. people were amazing even outside the resort. cancun rocks great place to visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Uncleaned beach + Hidden fees.

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Family resort.
Cons: Everything.
Location: It is really far away from the hotel zone where the life night is and the central of city activities
The hotel is okay as a family resort. It is really far away from the hotel zone where the life night is and the central of city activities. This hotel offers three water activities for free, but the beach is not clean, so none of these activities would be enjoyable. There is always hidden fees, such as the Wifi internet. 10 U.S dollar per advice for 24 hours only and the worse part, the internet is VERY slow. People working there are friendly just because they want to be tipped otherwise they do not even smile at you. Since the hotel has a large garden and swimming pools in the center of the resort, it is impossible to get a view ocean room unless you are staying in one of the villas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Excellent staff beautiful resort.

Posted Jan 11, 2015
It was perfect. We had no complaints. Staff were awesome. Amenities were great. Very clean. Beautiful setting.