Ratings based on 431 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakley, KS

Wonderful place with wonderful staff!!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: The resort itself had tons of things to do. The location is great because it's away from hotel zone but still within reach of anything you want to do
My husband and I took our two children, our future daughter-in-law and our niece over spring break and had an amazing vacation. The staff was incredible and the resort itself was perfect. Great food and lots of selection, clean facilities and and amazing view! We felt very safe and had no worries at all. Away from the party zone but still within reach of all the amazing things to do. We will definitely return!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Enani

Do not recommend it!!!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: It is safe to have your kids playing around in this hotel.
Cons: Staff way of communication, restaurants' food quality, and tons of stuff need to be changed.
Location: There is nothing to do nearby. It feels like you are out of Cancun.
I really regret every cent that has been paid for this hotel. Bad location, nothing near to it, bad restaurants, and communication. You have to pay for the slowest Internet, staff try to insult you, the hotel does not accept cash, you have to pay at least $40-50 daily if you are going from the hotel to any place daily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great resort and pools for families

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The pools are great. Lots of families and kids, a nice place to avoid the younger party scene. Evening activities were fun for the kids.
Cons: Beach was fine, better beaches on Isla Mujeres nearby. Food was not the best, but enough options for the week.
Location: Spend one or two days on Isla Mujeres. Take the quick taxi ride to the main Ultra Mar ferry. Plenty of nice beaches, restaurants, and local feel.
We had a wonderful week-long stay at the resort! We checked in around 10PM, and although we had booked a room with two queen beds, they did not have one available. After declining to pay for an upgrade, they were still able to give us a nicer room. Highly recommend the rooms with the king bedroom and the murphy bed in the separate room if you are booking as a family. The studio with two queen beds would have been too tight for 4 people, so we lucked out! We also avoided the heavy sales focus that you read about in many reviews. It is definitely present because they are expanding the resort in the near future and we had phones messages every day trying to get us to meet with someone. Overall the resort is very nice, very clean, and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a nice pre-trip concierge call, as well as a great concierge staff on site. The breakfast buffet was terrific, and included with our stay so we did not do the all-inclusive plan. It is definitely manageable to spend less than the daily all-inclusive if you make a few meals in your room kitchen or go to Isla Mujeres. The restaurants were OK and on par with any other all-inclusive resort. The Mediterranean one was our least favorite, avoid that one if you are a paying customer. :) Plenty on on-site amenities to keep you busy, and plan a few days on the island or in town. Anything not immediately on the property requires a taxi ride. Bring lots of small bills to tip! Drink the green juice at breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Don't sign up for the timeshare presentation!!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The rooms, the beach, the kids pool, the service from the waiters and waitresses.
Cons: Management and concierge service. Also, the food was not too good.
Location: It's 30 minutes away from the airport, nothing to do near by unless you take a taxi or shuttle.
We stayed 4 days even though everything was great, upon our arrival we were stopped by the concierge to offer a timeshare/points presentation for 90 minutes. As an incentive of assisting they offered ferry ride tickets, golf cart rental, free massage, beach bag and an VIP card for discounts. We had our 2 small children with us, bottom line, we did the presentation it took 3.5 hours (not 90 minutes), we did not get everything we were offered, they tried to charge me for one of the massages $120 which is supposed to be free, no beach bag, no ferry ride for one of my kids, and we never found the golf cart rental location they gave us the free ticket for. At the end of the presentation, the manager was upset because we decided not to buy and he was very pushy, rude and disrespectful towards my husband, myself and kids. He made comments about how we were not serious and that my kids were being restless (after 3.5 hours...). This experience nearly ruined our stayed at this beautiful resort, it definitely left a bad impression and will highly recommend you to not waste your time accepting this presentation. If you decide not to buy at the end, they will make you feel very uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, fairly new resort. Quiet, out of the w

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Lush landscape, great restaurants, quiet. Not crowded
Cons: Sometime it felt like restaurants were not staffed well enough to handle spring break crowd.
Location: Not real close to airport, or anything really. Have to drive thru the really junky part of Cancun. 20 minutes from downtown to shop.
Resort is quiet and relaxing. Not the place if you are looking to party. Lot of families and couples. Food is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Great resort. We had a blast

Posted Mar 18, 2015
When we arrived as we were checking in drinks were brought to us almost instantly. The room we booked was not available so they instantly upgraded us to a suite. The room was perfect, clean and decorated very well. The staff were friendly and outgoing. Food was very good.the grounds were groomed to perfection (people constantly looking after them) Overall a great experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lockport, IL

IMMACULATE RESORT-GREAT STAFF-GREAT ROOMS !!!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Rooms, View, Food !!!
Cons: They should let all guests use the "members only" infinity pool.
Location: Isla Mujeres...You can take a ferry to the Isla Mujeres. Excellent shopping, and restaurants, and sightseeing !!!
"Villa del Palmar" !!! My wife and I stayed from 02-18-15 through 02-25-2015. From the time we arrived at VDP, we were very impressed with it's overall luxury. It appears that no expense was spared in constructing this elaborate resort. From the lobby, to the courtyards, the pools, the restaurants, and especially the rooms, we were astounded of the quality and the elegance. We stayed here 2 years ago as well, and the year before next door at The Beloved. The resort is immaculate. It is relatively new, and the rooms are extremely well appointed. We chose the "one bedroom suite-ocean view", with all inclusive package, and would highly recommend it. The restaurants/bars were fabulous !!! I didn't think it was possible for an all inclusive to provide such a wide variety of gourmet meals. We especially liked "Davino", (their Greek/Italian restaurant). Zama had a great variety of Mexican cuisine, The Steakhouse was excellent, and the little snack bar by the ocean had unbelievable shrimp burritos/fajitas/tacos/pizza and salads !!! I saw some negative reviews about the 1&1/2 hr timeshare presentation before booking, and I was a little apprehensive because of them. All I can say is that we found them to be completely accurate reviews, they push the timeshare hard...JUST SAY NO, and you will be left alone !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

it was really great place to relax

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: everything the place the facility and the security the staff
Cons: all good
it was a great one to go to and have relaxing time and enjoyable vacation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom virginia

Very nice

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The attentive and knowledgable staff. The food was beautiful and very delicious. The gym was very well appointed.
Cons: The drinks tasted like they were from fruit syrups rather than fresh fruits and very little alcohol.
Location: We never left. The hotel was very inviting so we didn't want to leave.
The hotel was beautiful. The staff was more than pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Isolated

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Nothing nearby. A fortune to cab anywhere. Beatific grounds and rooms. Gorgeous pools and wonderful food.