Ratings based on 503 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Villa Del Palmar

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The fiery to Isla Mujeres was a walking distance and we enjoyed spending our money their instead of in our hotel.
Cons: Reduce their prices based on their tier level(average resort), stop milking visitors from expensive average foods, drinks, wifi, and many others
Location: We enjoyed visiting Isla Mojeres couple times, everything else is one and half hours away and you have to buy their tours or take taxi.
This hotel is far from everything surrounded by untreated vegetation which at night mosquitoes attack you badly, A/C unit was leaking, shower did not have any curtains and water allover the floor even into the room. Since is too far from town you have to eat at their restaurants and they charge hefty prices for average food for fancy name. Everything is priced base on 5 star resorts for the resort which is not even 3 star to my opinion. I need to also mention that staffs were very nice but if you are planning to visit Cancun I DO NOT RECOMMEND VILLA DEL PALMAR and as my previous visits to Cancun there are many other resorts for almost same price but much nicer and you do not need to pay $20 each way to get to the city. Did I mention that the beach is not as clean as hotels in hotel zone area, rough sand and cigarettes butts allover.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: This is a beautiful hotel that is properly maintained. All the pools and facilities were nice and clean.
Cons: As with any hotel in mexico, the push for a time share presentation after check in is always a bit unpleasant.
Location: Unfortunately, this hotel does not sit at the best beach location, there is a lot of seaweed and moss nearby unlike some of the other beachfront hotel
We completely enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel. The service was great and the ambiance was perfect. It seemed to attract families more, which was perfect for us and our two children. The pools and food were great and the nightly shows were entertaining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

June quick getaway 2015

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Hotel is beautiful and the drinks were on spot. The food was the very worst and I along with 4 others with myself equate the restaurants quality of food to school cafeteria. So they need to work on it asap!! Poolside food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Resort was awesome - views were great. Rooms could have been cleaned a little better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Pleasantly Surprised Every Day!

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Awesome staff, great food and drinks, modern feel with nice amenities, secluded location away from "spring break" feel of Hotel Zone.
Cons: Little things in the room like shower design where water gets everywhere and balcony door not latching were a bit annoying, but not deal breakers.
Location: Secluded location with nothing around, but easily can book excursions at on-site travel agency or through concierge.
We were quite happy with the entire experience at Villa del Palmar Cancun, from the moment we walked in until the day we had to leave. The staff members were always kind, helpful, and willing to go above and beyond to make our stay an enjoyable one. The resort really was better than we imagined, the food and drinks were excellent, and the room was perfect. The pools were enjoyable, staff was very attentive at all times around the pool, and the event staff were also very positive and encouraging. The events throughout the day (yoga, volleyball, aqua aerobics, sushi lessons, etc.) were a nice way to entertain ourselves if we didn't feel like laying by the pool all day. The "vacation club" presentation or whatever it was called wasn't worth our time. If you're not planning on doing many excursions or using the other discounts they offer for going through the presentation, just politely decline. It's not required (from my understanding) for guests that book vacations through sites like Expedia, so unless you're looking to join, save yourself three hours and enjoy your vacation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newyork

Not happy with room.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
We booked kimgsize bed but when we reached there they gave us 2 double beds and room was not clean as we expected and I found a big cockroch in the balcony which went under my bed and it was really disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Beautiful resort hotel

Posted May 29, 2015
The staff was super friendly and helpful! The room was unbelievably nice and luxuries, we even got a free upgrade to a room for a family of 6..it was just my husband and I..the activities at the hotel were fun, the restaurants were so good!! We loved this place, we look forward to coming to family vacations here every summer to come!:)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse location not in hotel zone

Posted May 24, 2015
It is not located at hotel zone and everyday I need to spend 40 minutes taxi from this hotel to the hotel zone. They offer very limited shuttle bus to hotel zone. I was trying to book a one way bus from hotel zone to the hotel, although they had seats for round trip, I could not get it because I onlg wanted to come back with the shuttle bus. This is really annoying because it was the only shuttle bus I could take for my schedule. They might also charge you something you never used before and be aware of your bills. Staff were not really nice. While I was walking in the hotel, no one would say hi to me. If you want to try night life and variety restaurants at cancun, do not live here otherwise you got stuck in the hotel since the distance to everywhere!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montebello, Ca

Cancun Family Vaca 2015

Posted May 22, 2015
Awesome private feeling Isla Mujers right infront👍🏽 fairy is within a 3min walk on the beAch. we will be comming back Villa group members now. very clean and u feel u are at home
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

nice, but not our favorite

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: The suite with one bedroom, full kitchen, two full bathrooms, living room, and murphy bed was really really nice.
Cons: Stop making the guests sign receipts for everything, especially the all-inclusive guests!!!!
This was a nice resort, but our least favorite of the 6 Cancun hotels we've stayed at, mostly because even if you choose the all-inclusive package, you still have to sign a check at the end of every meal/drink order. Doesn't seem like a big deal, but it really was a hassle. We're used to all-inclusive resorts that let you order a drink, get the drink, and walk off with the drink. But here you have to wait and wait for the staff to bring you a receipt to sign, with a line for gratuity. Gratuity is supposed to be included in the all-inclusive package, but we usually tip a little with each transaction anyway. But to see it on the receipt makes it awkward. You also have to fill out your room number, last name, and sign. We always had the nagging fear that by signing the receipt, we were authorizing a charge to our room for something that maybe we didn't know wasn't in the all-inclusive package. Fortunately that wasn't the case - we were not charged any additional charges at check-out. But still, signing the receipt was annoying, not to mention the entire staff seemed stressed out the whole time, and I'm sure a lot of it had to do with chasing down guests who walked away not knowing they needed to sign a receipt and then entering those receipts into the computer. The staff never seemed to have time to relax a little enough to interact with guests. At our previous resorts, we loved that the staff could be laid back and talk to us - it added to the laid back relaxing atmosphere.