Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NICE HOTEL. WORTH THE MONEY.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
This hotel is very nice. It is right next to the ferry for ISLE Mujeres. It is only about 15 minutes cab ride from the hotel zone in Cancun. The grounds are very lush and tropical. They built around the palm trees instead of ripping them down. This really appealed to us. We had a one bedroom suite for the week. There was my husband and I and our kids( age 4 and 7). The room size was great. There was plenty of space for all of us. The food was great. We have been to many all inclusives and this was by far the best food. Even the room service was good. It was a great overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Beautiful Resort

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Everything from the rooms to the landscape and pools where maintain really nice.
Cons: I really don't have anything at this time.
Location: I ended up renting a car because it gets expensive really fast if you want to travel in a taxi.
I book a 2 bedroom suite at this resort and i gotta say that by far this has been one of the best hotels i have stayed in. The pictures on the site definitely reflect how the rooms look like. My overall experience was great, the resort offers many activities and they even have there own little market place so guest can shop. I was amazed how many people they employ but i guess to have a nice looking resort like they do, that is what is needed. I will stay at this resort next time i go back to cancun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, New York

Pictures does not do this place justice

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Wow. That pretty much sums up my stay at the Villa Del Palmar. Absolutely beautiful resort. As soon as you arrive you will see an amazing piece of property. Once inside, the staff was so pleasant and helpful. The complimentary pina coladas helped too! When me and my friend got to our room, we were amazed at the beauty. From the kitchenette inside our room , to the amazing bathroom with the great tub and to our great balcony with a hammock , we didn't want to leave the room! When we made it outside we stepped into paradise. Some of the best pools I have ever seen are at this resort. HUGE pools await you with the highlight being the pool with the walk across bridge and the infinity pool. The food was excellent in all 4 of the restaurants on site. Only minor complaints are the beach conditions and the watered down drinks. The beach which is directly behind the resort is pretty horrible if your intentions are playing in the water. Very rocky once you step in the water and way too much seaweed before you get deep in the water. And also the drinks where flowing well but they were too watered down for me even though the bartender Angel did his best to get me nice and tipsy! But overall, this was the best vacation i have been on and i will definitely be returning to this resort and hopefully it will be sooner than later!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is was great beautiful,housekeeping poor

Posted Aug 22, 2014
We liked the hotel, poor house keeping , plus they would not refill dirige w/All inclusive snacks as I was told on my reservation ,even after I called front desk & they said they'd send someone .. That someone never came:/ I didn't like the fact of not being able to have dinner at the restaurant of your choice unless you reserve before.. We were late to one dinner only 15min they made us wait 1full hour to tell us they only had space in the bar area :/
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great stay, was very hot in August !!!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Large resort, with multiple pools and restaurants.
Cons: Pool water was very warm in August, would have liked cooler pool water..... Resort could offer free wifi.
Location: Can walk on beach to ferry in 4 minutes, then take ferry to Garrafon and Isla Mujeres.
Enjoy visiting the Garrafon and Isla Mujeres. The all-inclusive feature made everything easy. Would have liked free wifi at the resort. Lots of pools, several restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
I must admit it was more than I expected! Great service, great restaurants, friendly staff! Overall, great experience. If I were to travel to Cancun again, I will definitely stay at this place. Thanks Expedia!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Very Average and Isolated

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Newer and cleaner than other resorts I've stayed at in Mexico.
Location: Very isolated, there is nothing to do within walking distance and the few activities the resort offers are meager at best.
Newer resort, nice, clean. The problem was it was very isolated from everything else and impossible to use hotel transportation with a group of 7 without making reservations days in advance. Same with dinner reservations… Without a reservation, you get the snack bar food- not good… rubber pizza with ketchup for sauce… Restaurant food was not worth the high prices charged… In town, be prepared to be ripped off every which way from Sunday… You have to be on guard all the time… Isla de Mujares was very nice… rented a golf cart and drove around decent food, more local flare. Be warned- the ferry schedule is definitely not exact.. we arrived at 9:10 for the 9:30 ferry and it had left early… We had to take a taxi to the ultra mar ferry and spend ~10x more all in (literally). Time Share sales people have taken it to a whole new level… Got into an argument with a couple… Came home exhausted and broke… Glad Cancun is off the bucket list… Heading for hawaii to rest up now...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent room size recommended family with kids

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Excellent room size, living room has a storable queen size bed, sofa, 6-8 people dinning table. Kitchen is equipped with 4 different size pots, cutlery. Bowls and cups. Very easy to make breakfast if it is not all inclusive. Dinning in resort is little bit under expected. If not all inclusive, preparing for the disk ordered May have small size. Swimming facility is excellent. Water falls, jacuzzi open all the time. Beach is nice, there a lots of sea grass on the seabed. Excellent view. Walking distance to the public slow ferry, 38 peso each adults and kids a free, can save the taxi and extra dollars for a fast ferry. Very nice if want to explore the island.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

issue with staff and rooms

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: right on the beach and nice rooms
Cons: Better trained staff and better at getting thing fixed.
Location: Not much to do close to the resort but take the ferrie to the lsland.
The place is a real nice resort but they try to nickle and dime you for everything, yet won't compensate you for any issue you have. For example our safe messed up twice and our room keys kept deactivating causing a huge inconvience even when they said they rescanned and fixed it we would go back to the room and still not work. I know its a resort and they are trying to keep it safe but it was like death com level 10 just to get on and off the resort much less have your friends staying at another resort try to visit you. Also avoid the whole time share deal they say is 90 min but is 3 hours of high pressure sale tactics that might be the worst sales pitch I have ever heard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good choice

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Great facilities away from the noise and in a natural environment, great for families