Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderful

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Though it is a little bit far from the air port, it's really a good place to stay. You will enjoy there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Nice rooms

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Rooms great, food okay. Housekeeping needs to leave private items alone. Everyday came back to find my cosmetics rearranged and contact case closed up. A bit irritating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Our stay was beyond expectations. the staff was super friendly. The resort hat tons of activities daily to keep us entertained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel amenities but poor service

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Amenities were great; rooms, pools, breakfast.
Cons: Service - it's lacking "atmosphere" which I felt was largely to do with the interaction that I had with some of the staff during my stay
Location: We went to Isla Mujeres and the car ferry was right next door which was very convenient - it was cheap and only took 40 minutes to get over there.
Overall it was a great hotel; the room was beautiful, very large, great view, it was clean, pools were great, it was right near the ocean. However, the check-in/out seemed to be really slow and they gave you the impression that they were almost too busy. When we had additional questions they weren't forthcoming and it felt like they were a bit bothered that I had been asking questions; these were general questions about when and where the ferry left from etc. I think they need to further stipulate in writing the "holding fee" and when you can expect that it may take a few days after check-out. Once we had checked-out and left the hotel; I tried to call the hotel about the holding fee, and how much it was to double check what the amount was on my bank statement and it took approximately 4 calls to get through to the front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Beautiful facilitates and accommodating staff.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Nice facilities that are clean and well maintained. Quiet setting away from all the hassle of downtown Cancun. Food and drink was great!
Cons: Really, we had a great time and I couldn't improve on it.
Location: Nothing near by. You have to drive, or take a shuttle, to everything. There is a store and many restaurants onsite.
We spent a week here and enjoyed every day. The facilities are beautiful, quiet and have options for virtually any age. We loved the beach as well as sitting by a pool. You can snorkel, kayak or lounge depending on your interests. The staff was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Hotel should be named, "We take your money"

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Alcohol
Cons: Staff should tell you details about what charges are being made. Maybe disclose how to get a discount card?
Location: Better off going to another hotel. The market is far, and there are cheaper means then what Villa del Palmar has to offer.
Apparently I didn't book the room for 2 Adults, so I got charged per night for 1 extra adult to stay in my room. No biggie... They directed us in the wrong direction for our room, and it was at the opposite direction from where they sent us. Then our room keys didn't work. I wasn't mad at that point, just irritated. All I wanted to do was lay down on the king size bed that I booked. I got a working pair of room keys, and guess what I didn't get? A king size bed. They put me in a room with 2 doubles. I go up to the front, and I explained that I booked 1 king size bed. They said, "oh that's just a request, and not a confirmation." Just a request?! I booked it didn't I?! I would understand if they told me what kind of room I would be in, and then we would have this discussion of changing the 2 beds into 1 king size bed then. Unfortunately, I did not have this discussion prior to being misled in all the wrong directions in all sorts of ways. I got my king size bed, which I thought was free of charge for their excellent customer service; however, they charged me because I switched rooms. It did not show up on any of the other charges during my stay here. Of course they would charge us money per day per device to use WiFi within the room. I did not get a chance to check my balance until I reached the states. Beach sand was nice, yet full of twigs. Water was brown, and I step on nothing but sharp rocks. Beware of staff not disclosing details. They are there to take your money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NICE HOTEL. WORTH THE MONEY.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
This hotel is very nice. It is right next to the ferry for ISLE Mujeres. It is only about 15 minutes cab ride from the hotel zone in Cancun. The grounds are very lush and tropical. They built around the palm trees instead of ripping them down. This really appealed to us. We had a one bedroom suite for the week. There was my husband and I and our kids( age 4 and 7). The room size was great. There was plenty of space for all of us. The food was great. We have been to many all inclusives and this was by far the best food. Even the room service was good. It was a great overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Beautiful Resort

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Everything from the rooms to the landscape and pools where maintain really nice.
Cons: I really don't have anything at this time.
Location: I ended up renting a car because it gets expensive really fast if you want to travel in a taxi.
I book a 2 bedroom suite at this resort and i gotta say that by far this has been one of the best hotels i have stayed in. The pictures on the site definitely reflect how the rooms look like. My overall experience was great, the resort offers many activities and they even have there own little market place so guest can shop. I was amazed how many people they employ but i guess to have a nice looking resort like they do, that is what is needed. I will stay at this resort next time i go back to cancun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, New York

Pictures does not do this place justice

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Wow. That pretty much sums up my stay at the Villa Del Palmar. Absolutely beautiful resort. As soon as you arrive you will see an amazing piece of property. Once inside, the staff was so pleasant and helpful. The complimentary pina coladas helped too! When me and my friend got to our room, we were amazed at the beauty. From the kitchenette inside our room , to the amazing bathroom with the great tub and to our great balcony with a hammock , we didn't want to leave the room! When we made it outside we stepped into paradise. Some of the best pools I have ever seen are at this resort. HUGE pools await you with the highlight being the pool with the walk across bridge and the infinity pool. The food was excellent in all 4 of the restaurants on site. Only minor complaints are the beach conditions and the watered down drinks. The beach which is directly behind the resort is pretty horrible if your intentions are playing in the water. Very rocky once you step in the water and way too much seaweed before you get deep in the water. And also the drinks where flowing well but they were too watered down for me even though the bartender Angel did his best to get me nice and tipsy! But overall, this was the best vacation i have been on and i will definitely be returning to this resort and hopefully it will be sooner than later!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is was great beautiful,housekeeping poor

Posted Aug 22, 2014
We liked the hotel, poor house keeping , plus they would not refill dirige w/All inclusive snacks as I was told on my reservation ,even after I called front desk & they said they'd send someone .. That someone never came:/ I didn't like the fact of not being able to have dinner at the restaurant of your choice unless you reserve before.. We were late to one dinner only 15min they made us wait 1full hour to tell us they only had space in the bar area :/