Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver canada

Nice resort with scuba diving shop

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Water sport equipment in very poor condition about 20 procent good for usingI wanted to ride catamaran but never had a chance
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta Canada

Mediocre hotel beautiful beach

Posted Jan 21, 2015
The staff were fantastic abd many of them have worked there 10+ years which says a lot about how they are treated. The beds are terrible! And the rooms need updating. The beach if fantastic and you can snorkel right there!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota, USA

Would not recommend to a friend.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: The weather, people, pools, beach, and the ocean were all good. I suspect they could have one of the nicest beaches on the island.
We had registered for 2 premium rooms. When we arrived they told us they didn't have any left. We said we would take standard rooms instead. They then said they didn't have standard rooms available either, but could have them by 7:00 that night. (12 days later we still don’t have the difference refunded on our credit card.) The one of the rooms we were issued was just remodeled and the holes were not in the door jamb for the door latch to lock into. (The door would swing open and couldn’t be locked.) We couldn’t get it fixed until the 3rd day. The 2nd room had mold around the tub. (Not just a little.) The food was not what we expected. Many of the dished were cooked mixed vegetables that didn't appeal to us but filled up the buffet table. Much of what we chose was the nachos, burgers and fries. One of our group got Montezuma’s revenge the 2nd day and stayed in the room the rest of the week. We rented a 7 passenger van from the guy in the hotel lobby. He said it was a 2012. When it was brought in, it was a 2001 Voyager with 115,000 miles, dents, scratches and a tear in the seat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta, Canada

Good family resort for low maintenance travellers

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Awesome beach and swimming, terrific staff and service! Low key, laid back environment with enough activities (vball, bball, tennis, fitness room etc
Cons: it would be nice if the resort would get an espresso machine
Location: Rent a vehicle and explore the island, diving, snorkelling
This resort is small and friendly with a great beach and swimming. It has a fun play pool with slides and water features as well as a shaded park area for young kids to play. The grounds are lovely and well maintained. The rooms are basic and clean, but not new and sparkly and some things do not work (our phone did not work, hot water and pressure issues etc). The food is decent but fussy eaters may have issues. Evening entertainment is minimal and there is loud music at night from the disco is you are a room close to it. Overall a great 3 star resort for low maintenance families-fussy travellers will want to keep looking!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Allegro struggles to match competitive standards

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Comfy rooms with functioning A/C. Plenty of nice swimming pools and nice beach area. Long pier with easy access for dive boats.
Cons: Modern travelers expect free wi-fi. Allegro needs to comply, or will suffer in comparison to its competition.
Location: For divers, Palancar Reef is the "thing to do nearby"! If you are OK with drift diving, you cannot beat Cozumel.
We are a family of fairly experienced divers, and not prone to hysterics when it comes to accommodations. So overall, I say: compared to the rest of the world, carping about resort conditions on a Caribbean dive trip is a bit shameful. Having said that, here are objective observations: 1. Room still under construction (remodeling) when we arrived. One king bed for 3 people in one of the rooms, second bed had to be jammed in. 2. Free lobby wi-fi disappeared after one day, replaced by rather pricey options. 3. Buffet was OK, but not great...basic, not gourmet. However, our diving experience (ScubaMau) was so stellar, it trumped any annoyance or inconvenience associated with the Allegro.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by apmestasfrom ciudad de mexico

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
al llegar nos dieron registro pero entrega de habitacion fue tarde. al recibir equipaje tenia rota una llanta, fui a reclamar y dias despues el gerente David repuso con otra maleta nueva. las instalaciones en genral bien, pero descuidadas en general. El parque acuatico infantil con importante falta de mantenimiento. Areas cerradas que funcionaban previamente (snak bar de parque acuatico infantil) . Conseguir una bebida toma mucho tiempo, ya que los bares no estan abiertos todo el tiempo y son atendidos por poco personal. el bar de playa una sola persona atiende a los huespedes, se tiene que ausentar para buscar vasos sucios y los tiene que lavar el mismo. en fin se aprecia falta de personal y al platicar con los trabajadores del hotel comentan que no han tenido recursos humanos y materiales para laborar. sorprendentemente la comida de los restaurantes tanto buffet como a la carta estuvo muy bien. en general estancia agradable pero con areas que les falta mantenimiento
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2014
The kids pool was the main reason we booked this hotel. While it was definitely old and not well maintained, my two-year-old son still thoroughly enjoyed it. Room left something to be desired as there was very minimal space for storage. Food was decent - not exceptional, not bad.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by CAZ2050from TABASCO

restaurant y servicio de reservas malo

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
la misma comida siempre, en recepcion se les olvida hacer la reserva de cenas y se queda uno sin cenar, meseros igualados, discirminacion de atencion, y ademas compre un pqt de buceo el cual no me dieron porque tenia que tener PADI, lo cual nunca me informaron antes en hoteles.com al reservar. sin agua caliente, telefonos fallan, sin show en el teatro de 6 noches solo 1.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant hotel and beautiful beach

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Older hotel but very pleasant , simple but very good food , lot of fresh vegetables and fruits, excellent beach and and dive shop. Simple rooms with comfortable firm beds( some people complain that they were too hard :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The beach is the only nice feature at the resort

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Cons: Nightlife the resort needs some atmosphere and the hygine needs major improving..
The front desk staff are rude and hopeless! They have no knowledge of anything... not helpfull in anyway. No WIFI