Ratings based on 410 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Non existing beach

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Upon our arrival we were approached by a man who claimed to be concierge. However, he was just trying to manipulate us into a timeshare. He told us we could visit dreams telum for a day-no cost to us, free transfer, and we didn't have to do anything. We showed up, after paying for a taxi, and they told us we had to sit through a 90 minute presentation! The staff did nothing to make this issue better. The pool needs some maintenance. Tiles are broken off and slime building all over these empty tiles. You can't walk along the beach because it's all rock except for a small bay that collects all the seaweed and dirt. Not nearly as beautiful as their pictures show. I'm not sure how this place gets great reviews. They must be from people that never vacation. This is our fourth stay in Mexico and by far the worse. Food wasn't anything spectacular. They weren't accomodating in specific diet needs or modifications to their food. We had a room that walked out to the kid pool and it was so loud in the morning we couldn't even sleep past 7, which is important on vacation. Also, the entertainment at night was awful. One of the nights they had a talent show of the guests. The first group of guests were so awful we couldn't even sit through the rest of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MB

Hotel was Great, Some travel complications.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Nice place, good food, great staff.
Location: Akumal, Xplor, Xcaret, Tulum, Playa Del Carmen, SCUBA, Swimming with Dolphins, and much, much more.
The hotel was great, the staff were friendly, and the food was very good. I would recommend this place to anybody, with the following consideration. The beach is very nice to sit at, but the swimming area is very small, rocky, and quite shallow. There are no other real beaches in the immediate area, the shore is all rock. So, I guess if that's a deal breaker for you you won't like this particular area. That aside, its a very nice place. My real issue is with Expedia. I landed in Cancun and found out my trip did not include transportation to and from the hotel. I looked like an absolute fool standing there with my wife and three kids trying to locate my ride, which didn't exist. I had to get a van and it cost me several hundred more dollars for a round trip. Awesome surprise right when we got there. When I booked my trip, I had no idea this was not included. There was no place to include, nor decline the transportation. There was also no mention of it not being included. Ha! Take that! unwary traveler! This also carried over to tours and excursions. For example, we spent the day at the Xplor Park. If our names were on the all-important transportation list, the bus trip would have been included. I was not on the list, so I had to pay extra. On a lesser note, a glitch in the site wouldn't allow me to book a king suite and a double room. when I clicked on the king suite it just came up as a double. The hotel did their best once I got there, but the rooms weren't what I wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom silverthorne, co

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Great time with all amenities. Service was quite good. Beach was nice when we could pry kids from pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Excellent vacation!

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Everything ..
Cons: not much you can do about the noise level - people are just having fun.
Location: walking distance to a little restaurant/shopping area, and the dolphin, manatee and seal pools was a bonus!
The staff, beach, pool area, hotel, beach entertainment and the food were all fantastic! This would be an excellent hotel for families. Our only complaint would be the noise, so if you're going, request the rooms away from the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort for families!!

Posted Jan 16, 2015
The resort is fantastic for families. There is an area for adults only however I did not spend any time there. The wait staff were wonderful. Having 2 kids can make meal times a nightmare, but the wait staff at the buffet make it super easy for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2015
This is a small beautiful resort with private beach. Pool is kept very clean, is safe for all age kids. Amazing activities for kids all day along. Overall my family really enjoyed our stay at this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

First family non Disney all inclusive vacation.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Family vacation that was one of our best yet. resort is dated and needs constant upkeep, but beach, activities and dolphin experience made the vacation a great memory.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2014 by Dreams Puerto Aventuras, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. As professionals in the service industry we know that our guests feedback is very valuable, and the key to allow the constant improvement in order to reach an enduring high quality level in services, also renewing out property to offer you better services for your enjoyment. All of your feedback will be shared with our management. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in a near future and make more memories that lasts a lifetime. Warmest regards, Isabel Torres E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice family resort

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The relaxed atmosphere. Good beach area with many shady lounges.
Cons: After a week, the meal selections started to get stale. Each restaurant only had a few entrees so we had cycled through the menu twice by weeks end.
Location: Must go to Playa 5th ave for shopping. $25 cab each way but good excursion. Nice variety.
Nice family resort. Good for eating, swimming and taking in the sun. Activities are weak but very relaxing resort with good staff. Small but good beach with plenty of shade and chairs. The cove style beach reduced the waves so good surf all the time. For early December, the place seemed only about 1/2 full so few lines for restaurants and easy access to just about everything. Long ride from airport and poor internet were the only real down sides. Spa stuff is overpriced and this seems like a wedding mecca. We saw 6 weddings in one weekend including the one we attended. The wedding we attended was well done including the beach reception. This resort does a good job on the wedding planning. Overall nice mid-level resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2014 by Dreams Puerto Aventuras, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive for your recent stay in Puerto Aventuras. We apologize for not having exceeded your expectations in every aspect of your stay here with us. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the pertinent departments in order to be addressed and where possible improved. As professionals in the service industry we know that our guests feedback is very valuable, and the key to allow the constant improvement in order to reach an enduring high quality level in services. All of your feedback will be shared with our operations team. Once again we are extremely grateful for your time and preference and please feel free to contact us directly prior to your next visit so that we are able to our very best to fulfill your requirements and demonstrate the type of high quality services we uphold here at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We are confident that in any future stay with us we will surpass all of your expectations. Sincerely, Isabel Torres E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico, D.F.

Decepcionante!!

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Nada.
Este hotel no tiene nada que ver con otros hoteles de la cadena Dreams. El edificio e instalaciones muy viejas y faltos de mantenimiento. La comida muy mala y las bebidas mal preparadas y de mala calidad. En general muy malo!! No se dejen influenciar porque sea de la cadena Dreams.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else !!!

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: We love how friendly and welcoming the staff are. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them and they made us feel right at home.
Cons: I really can't think of anything
Location: We love the gated community but also it's proximity to the marina, shops & restaurants.
My husband & I along with our two daughters, son-in-law and two small Grandchildren just returned from our second stay at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We absolutely loved it and look forward to our next trip hopefully within the next couple of years. The staff are always welcoming and friendly. Within a couple of days of being there many of the staff members knew us by name and treated us like family. There were activities on the beach every day & evening that included both the kids & adults. The beach, swimming pools & natural pool are stunningly beautiful and provided endless hours of swimming, snorkeling, playing & boating for all of us. There are certainly bigger more luxurious places to stay In Mexico but Dreams Puerto Aventuras is exactly the friendly, family oriented experience we want. Just like being at home in a beautiful, tropical location. It's now become our only vacation destination. We love it.