Ratings based on 463 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston,texas

Beautiful and close to the beach.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Closeness to the beach.
Location: Very close
Fantastic staff. Quick service. Everybody is helpful. Will definitely come back and refer friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place on the beach

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Amazing atmosphere more geared to adults to children or teens. No tvs so just peace and relaxation. Place is located a quick walk to 5th street with lots of shopping and wonderful food places. Would stay here again Staff was very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vacation!!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Nice hotel, great location if you want to be close to shopping And restaurants. The food was very good and the service in all locations was excellent! Very warm and welcoming staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Peaceful...

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Nothing! It was perfect for us!
Location: Playa Del Carmen's 5th avenue is a short walk away. There is plenty of shopping and a nice mall. There are also plenty of bars and restaurants.
Mahekal Beach Resort exceeded our expectations! The staff were all warm and welcoming from the moment we arrived until the moment we checked out. I would describe the resort as rustic luxury. The decor is beautiful. Mahekal really stands out amongst the larger modern resorts. It is very unique with it"s palapa roofs and airy feel. There are no televisions or elevators. It is truly a place to come relax, unplug, and unwind! The service can not be beat. The wait staff at both Las Olas and Cocina are first class! They treat you like family! We were always greated with warm smiles. We loved seeing Rojelio's smiling face and a warm greeting of "my friend". The chef's are amazing! There was always a variety of food. It was not your standard resort fair. They really put a lot of thought into making gourmet meals. The grounds are beautifully maintained. We spent most of our time enjoying the beautiful infinity pool overlooking the beach. There is also a lovely pool with a swim-up bar in the garden section of the resort. Unfortunately, the beach has a huge seaweed problem, but that seems to be an issue throughout the Cancun, Rivera Maya area. The staff is out early every morning cleaning it up as best they can. However, that was just a small issue and did not take away from the magical time we had at Mahekal! We will definitely return to Mahekal again and again! My husband and I would like to say a HUGE THANK YOU to the entire Mahekal staff for making a 20th anniversary so special!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonora, México

Hotel muy bien ubicado, comodo y a la vez privado

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: buena ubicacion buena comida gente amable
Cons: Atencion via internet ya que pedimos cuartos de preferencia comunicados y no lo contemplaron
Location: mucho que hacer cerca de muchas actividades Tulum, Xcaret, Jungla Maya, Natives, Xplor, Delfinario
excelente trato muy satisfecho fuimos en familia excelente para convivir
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great location in Playa Del Carmen

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Staff was friendly. Ask the right questions regarding attractions-they are honest. Great beach access and walking distance to shops and restaurants. If you like Italian eat at Piola. If you like alcohol, walk to Amirate. Also, amazing Cuban at Los Medinos (can't remember exact name).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Awesome place to stay!!!!!

Posted Jul 23, 2015
We stayed here 2 years ago and went back. We love this place very much. Bolia and Alexandria are awesome concierge's. The grounds are spectacular with the beach just a hop away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A.

Cute hotel in a great location!

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Very cute boutique hotel rather than massive resort. I loved the individual huts! Definitely get a palapa roof unit. This is more of a very upscale glamping (glamorous camping) style of hotel, not the Ritz, so don't come expecting that. The hotel is the perfect walking distance to downtown 5th Avenue. Food at the hotel was great and drinks were great. Staff was friendly and accommodating as well. I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicest staff ever!!

Posted Jul 19, 2015
We had a great experience! All the staff was so nice and helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Already talking about going again

Posted Jul 17, 2015
My husband and I went for 4 days It was beautiful and the people were very nice The only thing is the a/c didn't work that well in our room at night and the wifi wasn't that great Other than that it was wonderful! We have already recommended it to several friends and are discussing going back again soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2015 by Karen S. , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your excellent review of the resort! I'd like to look into the A/C situation to make sure future guests are satisfied. Recently we had a power surge in Playa del Carmen and when this happened 3 of the 12 wifi routers were zapped. We are waiting for TelMex to come and replace the burned out adapters but other hotels experienced the same thing. We are aware of the situation and are having it fixed. 9 of the routers are still working around the resort and have hi speed, free wifi. We hope to see you again very soon! Warm Regards,