Ratings based on 546 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milwaukee, wi

Excellent!!

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Nothing more to say but I will be there next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Since we arrived there the girl who's waiting us was very polite,smiling and briefly she finish the procedure and gave us the keys, the room was amazing, nice and neat , great food, beautiful pools and beach, great service from waiters, cleaners and all of them, so everything was excellent..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015
overall great place to spend your vacation. Nice staff, clean hotel, great foods, enjoyed everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

comfortable beach life in riviera maya

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: La riviera Maya. Excellent location and facilities.
Cons: desserts taste. very poor...
Hotel facilities, staff, location are very good! Nice getaway. Definitely we will get back. Just need some improvement in desserts taste.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Very disappointing

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: - Staff was overall, pretty nice - room was clean - free (watered-down) drinks
Cons: - food - cleanliness of pool - entertainment - kids club - put potable water in bathrooms - clean the beach
Location: We went into town and found the main pedestrain street quite charming. The food was much better in town.
We chose this hotel, based on the positive reviews, to spend a special occasion with our extended family. Unfortunately, it was very disappointing, and I would never come here again or recommend it to anyone. I really don't understand why the other reviews have been so positive. - food was terrible: warmed-over, bland and tasteless. The buffet was the worst, but even the "specialty" restaurants were terrible, as often the food served was clearly not fresh (most noticeable at the sushi place). Compare this to the restaurants we tried in town, which were excellent. - pool was always dirty and very hot - the kids club room was small and not air-conditioned! My son lasted a half hour. Overall, the kids club was understaffed, had few activities, and was basically useless. - the water in the bathrooms were not potable, which lead to endless requests of (very wasteful) bottled water (although at least it was free) - the beach & ocean were clogged with seaweed, and unusable. To be fair, this is a natural occurrence that they can't do much about; but other resorts at least sweep the seaweed off the beach every morning. - the entertainment was lame, with the occasional exception of some good live music acts. - endless shilling for various paid (and very expensive) excursions, even poolside - decor was "Miami Barbie dream house" (I guess this is a pro or con depending on your taste) We visited the 3 other Rius close by, and they were even worse. I have no idea how they stay in biz.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Never going back

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Cons: everything has to be improved
Location: you can go to the town theres a lot of restaurants and stores there
Boring hotel, no activities to do. The rooms are very humid. All the clothes smelled bad with a musty smell. The ac doesnt work good and its very hot. We had to go to the Riu Yucatan because of how boring it was. No music . The food was overall good but not great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Had a great time at the resort. The staff was outstanding and made you feel right at home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Pros & Cons from a recent visit

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Clean
Cons: Fix bathroom situation. Cool down pools. Remove sea weed from ocean and beach area.
Location: Did not leave the resort.
We recently stayed at the Riu Palace All Inclusive. So here are the pros and cons for those of you looking to book a stay. Pros - modern decor (Miami beach meets Barbie dream house), nicely manicured hotel with friendly staff. Buffet was good with lots of options. Someone constantly came by to ask for drinks at the pool, which was convenient. Cons - could not enjoy the beach due to the abundant sea weed. It was everywhere and made the water look brown. Lack of a fully closed-in bathroom was a problem in the ample size room. If you want to eat at a specialty restaurant, you need to get in line by 8am to reserve a spot for that night only. The lamb at the Krystal restaurant was pretty good, otherwise the other restaurants were so-so. This time of year the pool was more like a hot tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Nice Hotel, good food

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The food was very good, both at the buffet and at the restaurants. The rooms were nice and clean. They had Jack at the bar!
Cons: The nightly entertainment was average at best and could definitely be improved.
Location: Location is great, being just a 5 minute cab ride to downtown Playa and the shops and restaurants and clubs.
Of course it is a nice hotel, after all it is a Riu Palace. Food in the buffet, as well as the a la carte restaurants was very good, always fresh and delicious. The deserts in particular were great! Hotel in general is very nice, smaller than other Riu palaces that I have been to, and also quieter than others. Seemed like an older group of guests, but very good none the less. The nightly entertainment was fairly average, and things wrapped up pretty early. All in all a good stay at a nice place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Covina, California

Our family was together and it was wonderful.

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: Good the shuttles took us everywhere.
I will never forget this day and was glad we shared it together Richard and me and our kids, Grandkids, and our new family members. Love you all!!