Ratings based on 758 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Friendly and clean!!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: The dolphin swim is well worth the price and downtown playa is a 10 minute walk.
The resort was spotless and friendly. From the front sidewalk to the beach staff. Its a beautiful place to relax and be treated like royalty.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Riu Hotels are ALWAYS top notch!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The staff and service are excellent. The facilities are kept extremely clean. There are many choices in food and beverage.
Cons: Better selection for desserts.
We have stayed at Rius in other locales and have never had a bad experience. They are always clean with excellent facilities and kind, and caring staff members.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bs as, argentina

Alegría riu

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Acabo de llegar de mi estadía en el Riu palace México de Playa del Carmen. Todo fue excelente, habitación cómoda y amplia, aunque ruidosa por la Ubicación. El personal es servicial y predispuesto. Las instalaciones y la comida son buenas. Es un hotel recomendable, con buen clima y ambiente. Sin duda la cadena riu no defrauda, por lo que la seguiremos eligiendo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Sep 30, 2016
the hotel was good and the food was the same as any other riu. The only negative things I have to say is that the pool was always dirty better going to the beach. The staff at the front desk were extremely rude. Compared to other riu I stayed at the entertainment during the day and at night Really sucked. I think they need to do a better job or have people go to the other resorts like in punta Cana, Cabo, etc and have them see the entertainment. the only reason I would come back to this resort is because of the ocean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Find another hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Beach was great
Cons: Better food. Add some safety stripping on the stairways. hire more staff
Location: Tulem is worth the drive. Playacar is no longer the charming Mexican village and Playa Del Carmen looks like a US outdoor mall.
The biggest issue for this hotel is understaffed restaurants and wet tiled floors . There are 5 restaurants. The Fusin and Japanese were great. The steakhouse was a HUGE disappointment. The main buffet was average. the 24 hour snack room was a joke. I wouldn't eat anything that has been sitting out all day. The entire resort is tiled. You have kids in wet suits running around. Leave your hills at home least you slip and fall. I took a really bad fall and the hotel could not have cared less. if you stay here get an extra room key. You will need it to turn the lights on in the room!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calvillo

Unforgettable vacation

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Great food, entertaining shows, courteous staff, excellent service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Times they are a changing

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We stayed at this resort last year & had a good stay, but this time the stay was questionable. We came this time for our wedding & with a large group of people. Some of our party had not so good experiences. One guest was given an uncleaned room upon check in & another guest had cold shower water most of their stay. The first issue was remedied with a new room, but the second issue wasn't fixed. When we checked in we had to remind the front desk that we were getting married there! Considering that they now knew this they didn't try to do anything special for us throughout the week. Other reviews from other guests who stayed at this resort spoke of flowers, champagne, & or gifts when the front desk was aware of their special occasions (honeymoon, anniversary, etc). I brought this to their attention at the end of the week & they said that they could bring some champagne but we needed to set a time for it & be in the room at that time for it. We waited in our room for the set time & no one came. We left our room & they brought the champagne some time later. Overall I think the breakdown was that there was a lack of communication. Or maybe they just didn't really care. They may have been short staffed also because service all over the resort was lacking compared to our last visit. The lesser wait staff was still friendly & still worked hard though, so no complaint there. At the end we were just very disappointed & now unsure if we will ever go back there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice resort and wonderful staff!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Beautiful location and excellent staff. The room was not what we expected. Asked for a king and when questioned about getting two beds, we were told to push them together. The sofa was not comfortable at all and was comparable to bad patio furniture cushions. If the room was more cozy and updated, we would definitely rate the resort a five! Still had a fabulous time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We really liked all the amenities!

Posted Sep 9, 2016
We will definitely come back and stay at a Rio property again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Overall a great vacation!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The staff was beyond attentive, they decorated our room with roses, hearts, chocolates & balloons every single day of our stay because they knew it was our anniversary (I'm not sure if the daily tipping for housekeeping did the trick). Food was AMAZING!! Starting with the Don Julion buffet, to the Japanese cuisine at Miyagi & can't forget Krystal (French), me & my husband had our eyes rolling from all the exquisite flavors & quality! Overall amazing trip!