Ratings based on 716 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Staff was amazing! Never wanted for anything:)

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Hotel, staff and location was great!! My only complaint was the comfort of the beds. Mattress was not great, but everything else excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice modern property

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Cons: Security on the beach is non-existent. Vendors are all over the place and RIU needs to step up the security. Watch our for your valuables.
This was our 5th visit to RM in the past 8 years. All of our trips have been to AI resorts. Three of them were adult only. The RIU Palace Mexico is a modern contemporary styled property that is very clean and beautiful. The rooms are a bit underwhelming because they are on the small side. Also you should know that if you get a standard room it will face away from the courtyard and depending on your floor and location you may be disappointed with the view. The food was above average to excellent everywhere except the Italian Restaurant. Breakfast and lunch buffets were very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Hotel is in need of repairs.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Great food and staff
Cons: Hotel repairs
Location: Lot's of tours available.
Had to change rooms after roof leaked and room flooded. The walls even blistered. Second room had sewer smell coming from the drains. Both rooms had a mildew smell. The staff and food were excellent! Hotel has been remodeled to look pretty but it is in need of structural repairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

zonas comunes perfectas, habitaciones ruidosas

Posted Jan 6, 2016
El servicio, las zonas comunes y la comida estuvo increíble. El único problema es el ruido de las puertas de las otras habitaciones ya que suenan a partir de las 8am y no te dejan descansar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Troy, OH

wonderful stay

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Cons: The shower water like a sea water
Location: Xplor
very quiet place, great delicious foods and drinks, comfortable A/C, very cleanliness room, friendly staffs, close to a beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Wonderful Stay! I would highly recommend! A+++

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly. Everyone works so hard to please you and makes your stay lovely! The food was wonderful as was the resort itself!
Cons: The nightly entertainment (shows) need some improvement.
Location: There is a wonderful little shopping center right across the street from the resort. The famous 5th avenue is a ten minute ride by taxi.
My husband and I enjoyed this all inclusive resort. The staff was exceptional! From the moment we arrived until the very last minute, we felt like we were waited on and felt important. We stayed at the resort through Christmas. To say that this place does Christmas up right is an understatement. On Christmas Eve, the resort had a Christmas dinner that was something out of a movie. Ice sculptures, carved fruit, Santa, reindeer, elves, trees, and wait for it.... Olaf! It was so magical! I was beside myself. It was a night that I will never forget! It probably was one of the best Christmas's ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek, CA

Beautiful Hotel & Beach

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Room was very quiet. Beach was beautiful and easy to walk.
Cons: Housekeeping was a bit sketchy - were gone all day and no one had cleaned the room . However, one phone call and it was taken care of.
Location: Easy walk to 5th Avenue where there are shops and restaurants.
Beautiful hotel, beautiful beach, walking distance to 5th Avenue - couldn't ask for more. Staff is very friendly and helpful. They even remember your drink orders after a couple of days. Restaurants are great and buffets plentiful. We will certainly be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek, CA

Very contemporary, comfortable hotel.

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Location is great - right on the beach - short walk to 5th Avenue.
Cons: Absolutely nothing.
Location: Several other Riu properties within walking distance. Again, short walk to 5th Avenue.
Hotel is beautiful, staff is friendly and helpful, even remember what you usually order for drinks! Food was excellent, restaurants are worth making the reservations. Overall, a wonderful experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

some good, some bad, would not stay again

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: grounds, beach
Cons: rooms
Location: great beach, close to town
The good--overall pleasant service, beautiful grounds, nice beach with plenty of lounge chairs and shade from trees. The bad--food was just ok (buffet--did not try restaurants), decor was tacky throughout. Did not care for the room layout, flourescent lighting, awful pink/purple/white color scheme--felt very cold and unwelcoming. We were on the ground level and had ants--when we called the desk, they sent someone with a can of Raid...lovely, toxic chemicals. By the end of three days, every item of clothing we owned was damp or wet--they seem to have a climate control problem, even with air conditioning running. Furniture in rooms is super cheap/ IKEA-like. After 3 nights with 4 people sleeping like sardines in two double beds, we were so ready to leave. Bottom line--for the price, I would suspect and hope there are better options. Also, I think we are just not really all-inclusive type people. We chose it for the kids club option for our 4-year old, but only used it one day for a couple of hours. Just did not feel like a good value for the price we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Asya M.

Vacation trip

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Orbitz
All-in-all it was excellent! A little draw back: the room we were staying was noisy: the delivery and passenger carts were circulating back and forth all day time (not at night time though!). Suggestion : why the electric carts could not be used for these purposes? Other than that-everything is FANTASTIC! Thank you!