Ratings based on 536 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, all inclusive conditions are not satis

Posted Feb 11, 2017
All restaurants have a schedule, so you are forced to adapt to their times instead of enjoing a vacation on your terms. The hotel's store closes at 10 Pm and opens at 7 Am so anything you need ( toothpaste, toothbrush, cigarettes) you cannot get past 10Pm. It should be 24/7 in my opinion
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

loved the pools and bartenders and waiters.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, grounds, restaurants....... it was great! Buffets were spectacular!
Cons: Better entertainment at night.
Location: Location was fantastic , as we could walk across the street and there was a two block plaza to browse around and shop.
It was a great time and would go again! It wasn't a real young crowd which is what I was hoping for (I am 61). I was hoping to see a painting booth to paint my own bowl or plate.... :( So, instead I bought one , which didn't have as much meaning to me. My only complaint,,,, which is a "small" one: the shows at night could have had more variety .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Beautiful hotel, great staff, quality food

Posted Feb 10, 2017
This was our second time at the Riu Palace Mexico and we have also stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. The staff is always excellent and very involved, the drinks are of outstanding quality, and food is very good as well. The Japanese restaurant and Krystal fusion were the two speciality restaurants we went to and the buffet was excellent as always. Highly recommend this resort, just watch out for the Koatis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Excellent birthday stay with two adult daughters!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: Took short trip to Tulum, very interesting, would have liked to stay longer to explore
Stayed Jan 12 - 17 for mine and daughter's birthday. Staff went above and beyond in service. Room Was decorated, treats in room. Staff were always happy, resort is spotless, buffet was excellent. Ate in two restaurants, steak and Krystal. Krystal was a little over the top for my tastes, rest of nite we ate in buffet. Liked that was in gated community, felt safer. Beach is beautiful, no problem finding chairs. The entertainment team took daughters into Playa one nite to go dancing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful beach ,Cold pools

Posted Jan 15, 2017
A solid 3 1/2 star resort beautiful beach,friendly staff,modern buildings. but very cold pools, food average, adult beverages some top shelf but not many options. Would've given it a 4 star if it wasn't for ice cold pools
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, Great food

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: The food and staff were amazing. Plenty of chairs by pool and by beach, even over Christmas time!
The food and staff were amazing. Plenty of chairs by pool and by beach, even over Christmas time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Excellent Resort

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Location is safe. 5th ave is within walking distance.
We love the RIU chain. The service here is second to none for a mainstream All Inclusive. Room was spacious and clean. Food was good to very good. Drinks are a little watered down but just request them to be made strong and they will accommodate you. Excellent beach. Oh yeah if you stay here you can enjoy all the RIU's in Playacar and Cancun.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Can't put my finger on it...

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Clean
Cons: The Kids Club was very uninspiring for my son. Did not want to spend time there. No schedule of events just people there attending.
Overall, it was nice. However, I was expecting to see more about Mexican traditions around Christmas. It was ok. The shows were more skewered to Caribbean themes. Condition of hotel was ok but beds were uncomfortable. Food was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Nice hotel, need to renew bathroom

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Great service and food quality. Bathroom has no privacy with the rest of the room. Also showers in the lobby are old. In general good option to visit playa del carmen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent ! Can't be missed

Posted Dec 26, 2016
We stayed there with our two kids for one week during Christmas holidays. What a great hotel. We are French so difficult to please in terms of gastronomy.. but it was awesome.. everything was perfect. On our departure day our boys were asking us to come back !