Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Great place to honeymoon. Select members of the staff went above and behind to help us feel comfortable. We would come back ASAP.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2015
We are definitly going back to Cozumel and stay at El Cid
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: cost and clean. good access to snorkle area.
Location: close to new stores and more coming. too far from town to walk.
right on the beach. clean rooms. nice pool area. good area to access the ocean for snorkling. good breakfast buffet and grill. never had lunch or dinner there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice relaxing hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2015
We've taken many trips to Cozumel and tried many resorts. El Cid was by far the most relaxing and had the best food. It wasn't full of young drunk kids either. Music was relaxing and not blaring like at other places. There are shops nearby. They don't hassle you about timeshares either. Being so close to the cruise ships kind of sucks but the relaxing atmosphere is worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Nice hotel with good snorkeling right off beach.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Location, views, pool, beach, kitchenettes, private balcony, staff
Cons: Softer beds
Location: Good location-2 or 3 miles to town and a short drive to the south end of town
Wonderful stay! Stayed 14 days. All was good. No trouble from cruise ship people. Sometimes the beach area was a little full, but always a good time. Our kids also came for 7 days. They went out of their way to make sure we had rooms next to each other-thanks Rocio and staff! Rooms were always clean , towel art daily and sweets delivered at night. Rooms had everything you need-small furnished kitchen-we shopped at the Mega-hair dryer, iron! Staff very friendly. Great pool-has baby pool for our granddaughter and swim up hot tub bar for us! We had a great time hanging around the pool and beach area. The kids enjoyed the ping-pong table. Pretty good snorkeling right off the hotel steps. Many years ago a plane was sunk off the coast for a movie, I believe. Now it is in front of the hotel. Even saw a couple of eel, octopus, and large ray! Pretty good for an easy snorkel! Short drive to town. We will definitely stay at El Cid again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san Francisco, CA

On a small beachfront, beachside of main drag.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Check in was smooth, however unbeknownst to me I was being charged full price for the breakfast buffet x 2 days before I discovered their error. Had rooms in old section of hotel--my bathroom window never did stay closed, and my room phone never worked despite several requests for fix. Very frustrating. When tried to switch hotels after two days, was told hotel manager off on Sundays so they could not help me. Very small any-like bugs in kitchenette, then in bed too, despite no food there. Wifi was slow when available, and then only in "common" areas (free tho). PLUS, they try to sell you their timeshare deal. Ridiculous. Everything evened out in the end, I bid farewell and won't be back. Park Royal across the street is sooo much nicer, comparable prices. Do yourselves a favor and pass on El Cid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Nice hotel close to the beach with good variety

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Fun times at El Cid, very close to the town square and near some great shopping. I recommend this to anyone wanting to get away at a good price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Okay hotel (not terrible)

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Walls are too thin and we can hear housekeeping in the mornings talking and moving furniture around. Plus we can hear people above us waking... Hotel is nice but it's not very quiet when trying to sleep in. Plus there may be cruise ships that will wake you up once they port because they honk their horn several times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Good snorkeling, friendly staff

Posted May 15, 2015
The snorkeling off the beach area at the hotel was really cool. Lots of pretty fish, and we even saw a few rays out in the deeper water! The staff was friendly and accomodating, but nothing over the top. Great hotel, would definitely stay here again. Also, the "continental breakfast" is just fruit, juice, and toast - carbs and sugar. Not super good either...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2015
Wait staff requires tips for quick service, but friendly people overall