Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great playa hotel/condo

Posted Jul 28, 2013
We've stayed here before and just love it. The location is great with steps to a private beach section containing palapa s chairs etc. Hotel also has a huge nice pool and jacuzzi and each unit has a patio or balcony with a view. Condos are clean comfortable roomy with daily maid service, bottled water, a welcome basket.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by SR from Shoreview, MN

Close to beach and the 5th street happening place

Posted Mar 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a very convenient location to stay. Its just 45 minutes from Cancun and within driving distance to other attractions (historic sites, adventure parks, cenotes, beaches). Its walking distance to the 5th street plaza that offers great cuisine after a long day out. Overall its was a very comfortable stay and money well spent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from NYC

Not a hotel, but a condo

Posted Feb 4, 2013
This is a condo, and not a hotel. Staff didn't speak any English and service didn't exist. Room are large and comfortable, but if you have any problems, you are in trouble. Only one English speaking manager with authority to resolve them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LEE from Hyattsville, MD

Nice Condos, Great Location

Posted Jan 20, 2013
We stayed here before, and returned bringing our grown children this time. We still loved it because the beach and pool are wonderful and uncrowded, and it's only a short walk to shops and restaurants. The condo units are spacious, the funiture is comfortable and there are washers and dryers in each condo. Staff are very nice. There were a few minor upkeep issues--dishwasher didn't seem to drain properly, not enough large plates in the kitchen--but nothing serious. Unfortunately, there was a noisy music festival at the hotel next door that caused us to move inside sometimes rather than sit on the patio. We definitely will return to the Elements, but will make sure we avoid booking when the musicians are next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jamie

Highly recommend

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Loved staying here. Great location. Beautiful and comfortable rooms. Every room has a view of the Ocean. Close to Cannonball. Safe & secure. I will definately stay here again.
2 out of 5
by Jenni from Venice, Los Angeles, CA, USA

basic accomodations, but too expensive; great view

Posted May 10, 2012
Pros: view of pool and ocean
Cons: lack of services that were said to be available; horrible smell in w/d closet
Location: a location that requires a car to get to the more central parts of Playa del Carmen
the property does not have the amenities the website makes it seem it does; housekeeping was scarce, there was a terrible smell that came from the w/d closet that smelled liked sewage. i've spent a lot of time in bangkok so i'm not a lightweight, but having this smell dominate the living room area was really unpleasant. the apartment did not have a lot of character and greatly lacked details that made of a comfortable stay (i.e variety of kitchen utensils, extra blankets, inviting outdoor seating to enjoy the view, etc.). It was all in all pretty basic, especially compared to the other surrounding apartments. I'm fine with basic, but not for these prices. we went on to rent a house in tulum for the later part of our stay and even though tulum is more expensive, the house we rented was not much more money, was right on the beach and it was clear the owners wanted the guests to have unique, inviting and comfortable experience. this was not the situation with the elements...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beach girl from WI

Elements Stay

Posted Mar 6, 2012
Pros: private beach
Cons: Toward the end of town so kind of a dark more deserted walk for a few blocks at night. We walked it & felt safe. Can also take a cab back.
Location: Nice to be near 5th but far enough away that it wasn't so crowded & busy
Great Stay & we'd definitely go back. The condo was well appointed & stocked. We liked the private beach & the ability to bring your own food/beverages. It was also nice to have facilities at the condo to stay in for some meals & make some meals there. Close enough to walk to 5th but enough off the beaten path to be quieter. We like to walk so that was no big deal for us but may be a bit far for some, though cabs are readily available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nadia from Seattle, WA

Great place for families

Posted Feb 21, 2012
Pros: We were on the ground floor so we rolled out to the pool and beach!
Location: Fantastic - five minute walk to the center of Playa.
We had a great time at The Elements. It's family friendly with a pool perfect for children. The beach was right there and you can get great massages for close to nothing! We had a two bedroom apartment, and we're a family of six, and we all had lots of room. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and accomodating. The location is fantastic too! Only a five minute walk to the heart of Playa. Would definitely come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Beautiful Vacation Spot

Posted Aug 6, 2011
The Elements was a beautiful condo-hotel. The rooms are very large and nicely furnished. The hotel grounds were maintained well and the area felt safe. The condo had a very musty smell which was the real only downfall. This may be due to the fact that they wanted you to turn off the air conditioning when you left. It was a 15-20 minute walk to 5th Ave., but this was ok once you were familiar with the area. It was very easy to get a taxi there for $5.00. The beach was very nice and not crowded. I would recommend it as a nice get away spot with plenty of room for a large group.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from MONTERREY, Mexico

great hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2011
a great hotel for relax time