Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom london uk

Hotel close to 5th Avenue

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Location to 5th Avenue.
Cons: The restaurants although adequate bit limited!
Smallish type of all inclusive resort, but that suited us. Staff very friendly & attentive. Food & drinks adequate! Rooms clean & fairly well maintained. Location excellent 5 mins walk to 5th Avenue. Beach slightly small but it was never overcrowded & enough sun loungers available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent beach front hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2014
The lobby area is very inviting. Very pretty ceiling and statue. Front counter staff was nice. Talked to Louisa who tried to get us to do timeshare presentation, which we declined, but she did provide good tourist information. She was nice, but ended up asking us about it 3 times over the 4 days we were there, which I felt was annoying. Our room was adequate. Nice view of beach and pool. We were in 2259. Bed was a little too firm. Only saw 1 wall outlet to use in bathroom and didn't see any by night stands. Tv had limited channels. Lamp shades wouldn't stay straight. No issues with house keeping. Cleaned room nicely. Provided lots of bottled waters. No fridge in room. Every day we were there, around 11am ish they did water aerobics, which I didn't like. We tried to nap in our room but couldn't because it was so loud at the pool for that. Bar lobby was nice. Big tv to watch football. Bartenders were decent. Bathroom in lobby was really nice. Only beer choices were dos equis light or Amber..need more beer choicesfor the resort. Pool was big and pretty! Lots of chairs to lounge in the pool or outside by the pool. Pool closing at 8 pm is too early in my opinion. Pool bar was good. Bartender Milton was very nice. Hot tubs were warm, not hot. I was looking forward to using them, but not hot enough. Had 3 hot tubs all right next to each other facing the beach. Buffet was good. Daniel at the buffet was friendly and funny. Other staff at buffet were helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Great for the money!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Location: The hotel is about 1/2 mile from the main 5th street which is a great place to go out. Taxi's can take you there for about $5.
We were there for a wedding that was at The Royal (a really expensive all-inclusive) and we decided to stay here because it was about $1,000 cheaper. We didn't spend a lot of time at our hotel but we did experience a couple of things. First, the pool is very nice and the hotel has its own private beach area though it is not large. We only ate at the buffet and the snack bar, both were nothing fancy but the food tasted good. I think the night restaurants are probably better. The rooms were clean and comfortable and for the most part the hotel staff is very friendly. They do try to get you to do a 90 minute tour to buy a vacation plan, which we got out of but one of the lady managers was really rude about it and telling us that we had time (did not appreciate that). I think the hotel is a reasonable price and you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisville, KY

I will go back!!

Posted Nov 11, 2014
The hotel staff was greag, the food was good. The hotel was very clean and there was usually some fun activities out by the pool! The hotel is located at a poit with a reef just beyond, several fishing and dive boats anchored out past the beach add to the charm. Lots of things to do, great dive shop on premises and lots of dive opportunities as the dive boats leave from the dock. If you wants some fun outside the resort there is a great little beach bar located next door that had a fun crowd (if you're not paying attention you'll miss it) and 5th avenue is just a short walk. I would definitely recommend it to friends!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap, confortable, good location

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Not too close to 5ta avenida, but far enough to rest from all the clubs noice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brisbane, aus

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location, and entertainment
Cons: Food could be better. You just didn't crave to overindulge. Food labelling was lacking, didn't always know what was in the dish.
Location: On the beach, restaurants, bars, shopping.
Our week stay at this hotel was good. Our main goal for this holiday was to go exploring, see the ruins go to Cozumel, shopping etc. If your main goal is to sit by a pool and be waited on this May not be the place for you. Although the staff were nice and wanting to please, some of the service staff their English was very limiting so ordering drinks or ordering food made it difficult in some cases. Their is no drink service by the pool so you have to go to the swim up bar to order drinks, it would be nice to just sit by the pool read a book and get waited on even if it was one person who did the rounds once an hour. However our goal was to go exploring and this hotel was perfect for that, it's close to 5th ave which is a big tourist hub with shopping, bars and restaurants. It is close to the ferry to Cozumel and makes for a perfect day trip. The events staff were wonderful with games and activities around the pool, and good evening entertainment aswell. We enjoyed our trip and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay at The Reef Coco Beach

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: It is a small hotel with very attentive staff.
Location: Tours to Chichen Itza, Maroma, Xcaret, and Tulum are easy to book through the tour office at the hotel.
The staff was very kind and courteous. The Mayaland Tour office made booking excursions easy. The nightly entertainment was delightful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CAPE COD, MA

EXCELLENT HOTEL, VERY HOSPITABLE STAFF ....

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING , THE STAFF, THE FOOD, JUST LOVE THE ENVIRONMENT ....
Cons: THE BEACH ....THAT'S ABOUT IT ...
Location: THERE'S PLENTY TO DO, BUT WE JUST CAME TO RELAX ....
WE WERE HERE 3 MONTHS AGO, THAT'S WHY WE CAME BACK, THE ONLY THING THAT I CAN COMPLAIN ABOUT WAS THE WEATHER, WE CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK NEXT YEAR , GOD WILLING ......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Duluth, MN

First time to Mexico

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Loved the location. Close to 5th ave shopping, and right on the beach. Well set up with plenty of pool side, ocean front seats. Friendly staff.
Cons: Wifi should be an expected freebie. Wish there wasn't boats anchored out in front of the beach, & please replenish the bottled water in our rooms.
Location: Near 5th avenue shops.
My wife and I thought the hotel was very nice. I had done a lot of research on all inclusive hotels since we had never been to one, and first time in Mexico. We wanted a smaller property (peace and quiet was our main goal, and we also wanted the ability to dine without being set to a restricted reservation). This was the perfect place for that. We also wanted a location that was right on the ocean beach (not just a place that had beach access), and it hit the mark on that, too. I had read that with the all inclusive, most places only allowed you to get their house wine or draft beer, and rail drinks, otherwise there was a daily upcharge to get bottled beer, imports, and top shelf. I guess it wasn't clearly defined enough, because I thought I was going to have access to bottled beer and imports, but, I didn't see any bottled beer on site, and my wife was totally fine with rail drinks (she sampled many specialty drinks). I will say, their tap beer (Dos Equis) was great, and I drank that the whole trip. (They do offer Dos Equis Amber in the lounge bar, too.) I would definitely book the same location again. Their Italian restaurant was very good. (their beef was like a filet mignon) There are 5 places to get food during the day, and 4 bars. Daily activities to take part in. We spent 2 days just "chilling" and 2 days venturing out. It was a great relaxing, romantic getaway, and we will be going back next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

Great deal great value great place

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Conviently located to 5th avenue, great staff... Quaint place and truly a real value! I have been twice and will be back a 3rd time :)