Ratings based on 663 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

First experience at an all-inclusive was Ok.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The location on the beach, the pool, and the staff were helpful and courteous. Our room was comfortable and clean.
Cons: Consistent beverage availability, clear description of what's included (and not included).
Location: The location had a good but small beach and was a short walk to the north end of 5th Ave, the main pedestrian mall.
This was my first experience at an all-inclusive. We are a couple in our mid-30s and the convenience and luxury of an all-inclusive appealed to us. I knew that I wanted to eat several meals in town and the cost of the resort was reasonable so I didn't feel like I was being too wasteful by not eating all of our meals at the buffet. The waiters, bartenders and bellboy were all very helpful and pleasant. I was a little disappointed to learn by looking at the resort's website that our "all inclusive" price didn't include top-shelf liquor, access to the Mexican or Italian restaurants and "top shelf bar" on site. This wasn't very obvious to me from reading the descriptions that there were upgrades that we'd have to pay extra for other than the Mexican restaurant. By day 2 I was pretty tired of Dos Equis and the white wine available was pretty bad. I think that our next trip we will go back to paying for a hotel and not doing an all-inclusive again. They seemed to be running out of specific drinks at different bars throughout our stay. The one morning that I wanted a mimosa with breakfast I was told that they had run out, but they had had them the day before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno Nevada

Nice - right on the beach

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Small! Exactly what we wanted! Staff and management were aiming to please
Cons: The pool water is WAY too cold. Need coffee makers and coffee packets in rooms at no charge
Location: The hotel provide quite a few excursions. We chose not to do any. Went to Holy Mass on Sunday only
Stayed for one week. All we did was lay by the pool, read books and eat at the buffett
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Nice hotel close to 5th St

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Clean, food acceptable, good location, nice pool.
Cons: Services!
Location: Close to 5th St where the action is.
I was happy with the cleaniness of the room and the hotel. The food was okay. Service was lacking. We paid for a safe in our room and did not have one for 2 days because there were no locks available. We were without a TV for 2 days, went back on and then lost for another day. Tried for 3 days to get a coffee pot and finally gave up. We had a jacuzzi in our patio area. That went down and we were told it would be fixed that day. Did not happen.When calling for service would be told someone would be right up. No one came. We did get money back for the 2 days we were without a safe. The bars could have used another bartender. Lots of waiting for drinks. I would not stay here again because of the run around I was given on the services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Dakota

Very nice hotel clean comfortable

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Location location location........ walking distance to the beach,walking distance to the famous 5th ave shopping center.very comfortable.
Cons: All inclusive meals could use some more ethic foods rather than american foods. I love seafood but there wasnt any served
Location: Secure beach front property!! Walking distance to the little Mexican shops and the outlook mall restaurants bars night clubs.
This are very nice Hotel. The beach is beautiful. There was no one selling or bothering you on the beach. The staff at the hotel was very nice and honest! Seriously one day I forgot to lock the safe with over a $1000.00 plus passports diamond jewelry and NOTHING WAS TOUCHED! A typical day there is 2 housekeeping people in the room and then later a man filling the mini bar. We were so happy and impressed that we found our hotel staff and tipped them well. We had room 2357 our friends were in the next room. The maid service was amazing they move all the furniture and get every last bit of sand out of out room. Clean sheets daily fresh towels.Cleaner than many US hotels I have stayed in. We could see the ocean and also the pool Most activities we held right below us. So if you were in your room it was noisy but hey its beautiful outside I enjoyed the white linen cabanas. I am one to burn easy so these where so nice. There are tons of lounger and umbrellas so I really loved laying around sipping my frozen drinks. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and Family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta

Nice but be aware of what you are getting.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Staff. They were excellent.
Cons: Eliminate the loud pounding music, or at least lower the volume so that it is confined to the pool area and does not infect the whole beach.
Location: Great location - close to Fifth Avenue shopping and restaurants. Beach area is nice. Scuba diving was great. My 14 year old son got certified.
I will start by saying - great location, nice facilities and wonderful staff. Very willing to help. Very pleasant. Food was excellent and the service was excellent. Pool bar has GREAT margaritas. The negative, for me, was the music. It was constant and loud and really not what I was wanting in a beach vacation. For me, personally, the sound of the surf, the palm trees rustling, the gulls crying - those are all things I crave. If I want loud, pounding music with folks yelling into a microphone, I will stay at home and go to a bar. It was very distracting from the overall ambiance. There are some folks who really like that "party atmosphere", and if that is you, then this place really is perfect. If I would have known going in, I would have probably picked someplace a bit quieter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa

FANTASTIC

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The size is small & that is what I love best.
Cons: I have to say the night time entertainment wasn't as good as other years but some of it was very good though.
Location: The location is spot on for 5th Ave & tons of things to do !
I have been to this resort many many times & will go no where else. I love the small cozy small size, the staff go well beyond their duties to make you feel at home & welcome. Also the location is spot on for all the fun on 5th Ave. I will be back for sure !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Danmark

Flot og dejligt hotel tæt på stranden

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Tæt på dejlig strand, hjælpsom personale, god mad, ikke placeret lige midt i centrum
Location: 10-15 minutters gåtur til centrum, ca 45 minutter i bil til Tulums ruiner, mange cenotes, flot turkis vand
Dejlig ferie i Playa Del Carmen Man kan altid finde en stille plads på stranden eller ligge ved poolen med musik og underholdning/aktiviteter
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Ok for what it is

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Coco Reef has its positives and negatives. For an all inclusive the food is pretty good although there are only 2 restaurants besides the buffet, one of which you have to pay $6 a person for if you don't have a premium package. The premium package gets you top shelf alcohol, access to that restaurant without the $6 charge and access to an additional bar. It didnt seem particular worth it given that when we walked by the premium bar it was empty. It seemed like they were trying to nickel and dime you given they even charge to use the safe in your room. They also gave us and the 2 other couples on our trip 2 double beds instead of the king bed we each booked which was frustrating. Once we got passed that initial disappointment and the off putting nickel and dining we were able to enjoy the trip. It's not the biggest resort which was fine for us. The staff is very friendly and the entertainment staff is a lot of fun. The resort didnt seem to be at full capacity but it was difficult at times to get a beach chair or pool chair. The resort is very close to fifth avenue so we were able to walk there without needing to take a cab. Overall if you're looking for an all inclusive place to just hang out and drink with pretty good food it's not a bad option. If you're looking for a place that's a little more romantic with more options of things to do or places to eat this one might not be for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

2 week vacation

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: Staff, Josie and Milton were GREAT
Cons: Free wi fi, coffee and tea free in the room, free safe, free beer in fridge
Location: We walked to 5th ave.
It is in the middle of being updated which is a good thing….We were offered an upgraded room for $55.00 per-night for our 2 weeks. NO. For that you get a remodeled room and an upgrade for alcohol and you can get into the “Mexican Restaurant” for free (save $6.00 per person). We had to pay $35.00 extra for a safe. There was no coffee, tea or microwave in the room. Coffee and maker was extra. There was 2 Coca cola light, 2 coke, and 2 orange pop in the fridge but no beer. They came every other day to check on the beverages. It is a time share but they don’t call it that anymore so if they offer you a look at the “vacation club” beware. The beach is not very nice. It is a marina. There are boats all out in the water. You also had to pay for Wi fi The good: Staff was wonderful. The room was cleaned very nice. Food was good but not the best. They only have the buffet and Italian Restaurants and the snack bar for free then the Mexican is with a fee. We were able to walk to 5th Ave. We did have a fun time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

We enjoyed the nice pool and activities.

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: We liked the size of the hotel as it was not mega size with hundreds of other guests to deal with.
Cons: Please do not have the concierge, at check in, push guests into "club" vacation sales pitches. It was not appreciated at all.
Location: My husband and I enjoyed the close proximity to 5th Avenue for shopping, Authentic foods, and nightlife.
My husband and I had a wonderful experience at The Reef/Coco Beach. The food, beverages, entertainment, and the grounds were top notch. We loved the choice of either lounging by the ocean under the umbrellas/kon tikis or poolside. We arrived and had not a care in the world as all our needs were taken care of.