Ratings based on 630 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edmonton, Canada

4/5 rating

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Good food and bars, nice beach and pool, close to 5th Ave, bellhops were awesome, good snack bar and a la carte, make a mean mojito, awesome time overall, except the stupid timeshare ppl which I totally avoided
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Smaller resort in good location

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: location and staff
Cons: The beds are too hard. After 1 week my body hurt .
Location: Good location small beach, night life is short walk or ride away.
Staff were very nice . The bartenders at all locations were very good with any drink a visitor could explain. They were very well versed in mixology. Hotel was in good location, I have stayed in Playa many times so I knew my way around. Even if you did not want to walk; the taxi cost 70 peso to other side of Playa. Off the resort , just a short walk away are good restaurants , if you tire of the resort food.Speaking of the food, breakfast and lunch were good. The snack bar as well. The dinner at the buffet could be better. Idid not eat at the 2 ala carte restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel a la orilla de playa

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Cons: El servicio de los meseros (sobre todo en el área de la alberca) y el tamaño de las almohadas (son del tamaño de cojines)
No recomiendo este hotel, hay personal muy amable pero otros mas muy muy groseros con el turismo mexicano, al grado de negarse a llevarse algo que yo no había pedido. Las almohadas son muy incómodas debido a que tienen tamaño de cojines, solo las decorativas son grandes. Encontré algunos cabellitos incrustados en las fundas de las almohadas, la ubicación no es tan buena, hay mejores opciones, incluso mas económicas cerca de las avenidas principales. La comida no es muy buena, entiendo que es un buffet pero podrían mejorar un poquito, los jugos son malísimos (por supuesto artificiales todos) y el café tampoco es opción. En el restaurante de la alberca hay gatos que no se despegan de las mesas rogando comida, incluso uno de ellos trepó a mi mesa. La experiencia en la Riviera Maya es increíble, pero este hotel no vale lo que se paga por la estadía.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Very nice hotel for the price

Posted Dec 8, 2014
We had a great time here. This is definitely a couples or family hotel. I would not recommend it to any single or young travelers looking to find a date. The food was great. The staff were awesome. Please don't forget to tip them.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Hotel on the beach, but thats about it!

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Beach steps from hotel.
Cons: Everything. Getting rooms that you actually paid for. Hot food at all meals. And variety. Better service and with an occasional smile.
Location: We snorkled as we have already done the ruins, parks,etc on previous trips. Liked 5th ave markets with shops and restaurants!
I just returned from a week at Coco reef with my wife and 3 kids( 16 & 15 yr old girls, 13 yr old boy). Upon checking in they informed me that they didnt have adjoining rooms(I paid for 2 doubles that adjoined). They "Upgraded us to a suite.....with a king size bed in one room, a sofa with pull-out...and then brought in a roll away"...not quite the 4 beds we paid for but didnt want 2 seperate rooms in 2 different places..Not quite family.... First night to take showers and there was"NO water pressure". and no hot water!!! To get presure, u had to turn on the sink water, then the shower. Nice end to our first day!!! They managed to get luke warm water that trickled out..Thats what we dealt with all week for showers..... The buffet food was always...I mean always...cold. Not sure if they dont have proper warmers or what, but breakfast pancakes,french toast,etc in am always cold...lunch and dinner the same. The food was always the same as well with very little variety. Kids ended up eating at pool bar on hamburgs and hot dogs...Italian restaurant way below average. Didnt eat at Mexiacn restaurant..AN added $6/per person for that....nice all inclusive!! The pool was nice enuff and pool activity people very nice. The beach was also nice and steps from hotel. There are no waves here though as there is a reek that stops that...so its good for little ones but pretty much a soaking tub.Bar service slow and unfriendly..Would not ever go back unless free with every upgrade.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Construction at 7am, additional charges for everything (coffee, food, beverages), inconsistent service and a tiny beach. I would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tampico

bueno pero ni tanto

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: en general esta bien y tranquilo, pero un poco apartado
Cons: pues la maquina de sodas del restaurant de piscina no funcionaba y aveces no habia alguna que otra cosa del menu, el frigo lo rellenan cada dos dias
Location: tienen varias actividades como cayack que no cuesta, y actividades para ninos sin costo tambien, y otras en area de albercas para adultos,
esperaba mas por el pago y precio pero bueno no esta tan mal, si va a estar uno saliendo a pasear y conocer es major un hotel que no sea todo incluido pues ahi ya te estan cobrando todo, y si vas a estar relajando y sin salir tanto del hotel pues vale la pena, nada extraordinario pero bien, el personal muy amable y servicial.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom london uk

Hotel close to 5th Avenue

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Location to 5th Avenue.
Cons: The restaurants although adequate bit limited!
Smallish type of all inclusive resort, but that suited us. Staff very friendly & attentive. Food & drinks adequate! Rooms clean & fairly well maintained. Location excellent 5 mins walk to 5th Avenue. Beach slightly small but it was never overcrowded & enough sun loungers available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent beach front hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2014
The lobby area is very inviting. Very pretty ceiling and statue. Front counter staff was nice. Talked to Louisa who tried to get us to do timeshare presentation, which we declined, but she did provide good tourist information. She was nice, but ended up asking us about it 3 times over the 4 days we were there, which I felt was annoying. Our room was adequate. Nice view of beach and pool. We were in 2259. Bed was a little too firm. Only saw 1 wall outlet to use in bathroom and didn't see any by night stands. Tv had limited channels. Lamp shades wouldn't stay straight. No issues with house keeping. Cleaned room nicely. Provided lots of bottled waters. No fridge in room. Every day we were there, around 11am ish they did water aerobics, which I didn't like. We tried to nap in our room but couldn't because it was so loud at the pool for that. Bar lobby was nice. Big tv to watch football. Bartenders were decent. Bathroom in lobby was really nice. Only beer choices were dos equis light or Amber..need more beer choicesfor the resort. Pool was big and pretty! Lots of chairs to lounge in the pool or outside by the pool. Pool closing at 8 pm is too early in my opinion. Pool bar was good. Bartender Milton was very nice. Hot tubs were warm, not hot. I was looking forward to using them, but not hot enough. Had 3 hot tubs all right next to each other facing the beach. Buffet was good. Daniel at the buffet was friendly and funny. Other staff at buffet were helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Great for the money!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Location: The hotel is about 1/2 mile from the main 5th street which is a great place to go out. Taxi's can take you there for about $5.
We were there for a wedding that was at The Royal (a really expensive all-inclusive) and we decided to stay here because it was about $1,000 cheaper. We didn't spend a lot of time at our hotel but we did experience a couple of things. First, the pool is very nice and the hotel has its own private beach area though it is not large. We only ate at the buffet and the snack bar, both were nothing fancy but the food tasted good. I think the night restaurants are probably better. The rooms were clean and comfortable and for the most part the hotel staff is very friendly. They do try to get you to do a 90 minute tour to buy a vacation plan, which we got out of but one of the lady managers was really rude about it and telling us that we had time (did not appreciate that). I think the hotel is a reasonable price and you get what you pay for.