Ratings based on 647 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Not worth the money. Very disappointing. Bed was the firmest mattress made making it difficult to sleep on. No hot water. Staff were power washing outside our door till 2am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Great resort close to the city.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
We had a great experience at the Coco Reef. We went for the bpm music festival and chose this resort due to proximity. It was fine overall, great staff and clean premises. The pool was really nice, but there are a bunch of boats moored in the "beach" area so don't expect to swim or snorkel right in front of the resort. Other than that, we have no complaints and would go again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom KANSAS

Got bumped to The Reef at Playa Car..

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Crazy. We arrived to find out we were moved..no bed in our room...no water.pop. in our frig. Took too long to get this straightened out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom owasso, ok

I liked the hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Nice hotel very clean and the staff was very friendly. The beach was disappointing because of all the sea weed, I'm saying a lot of sea weed. The other disappointing part of our stay was that there was not any servers around the pool. We had to stand in long lines waiting for drinks from bartenders that could care less about service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Tulsa, USA

WE had a good stay at the Reef, we just had......

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location is a short walk to the unique fifth avenue. The resort is very well kept. The staff is very friendly.
Cons: Have waiters or waitresses around the pool and beach areas.
Location: Location is a short walk to the unique fifth avenue.
WE had a good stay at the Reef, we just had bad timing as a storm came in that covered the beach with 4 ft height of seaweed that ran the length of the beach. We watched for two days while the workers tirelessly hauled the seaweed off with two wheel barrels. Finally they brought in a submersible trash pump and covered the mess with sand. So, of course we did not have a good "beach experience", but that was just our timing. The resort is very well kept, I saw nothing that was in disrepair. The rooms as nice as any A/I we've stayed at, including the more expensive ones. Check in was friendly and swift and when our A/C didn't work, 1 phone call and it was fixed promptly. The staff was as great as any A/I we have stayed at, although no staff would bring drinks to us at the pool or at the beach. This is their loss because we are great tippers, if I have to get my own drinks, I tip smaller, so we returned home with a lot of tip money. Restaurant food was good and the staff was always on the spot for any needs. Mexican restaurant has a small upcharge, I wouldn't do it again since the buffet had all the same dishes. Did not try the Italian restaurant. To sum it up, we have a large family and this resort was very accommodating to a large family. Probably we will return to the Reef again, I do recommend this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

quiet small resort with great staff

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: staff is really friendly and helpful. great service in the dining rooms. location is great.
Cons: gym equipment is outdated, but does have newer elipticals and treadmills.
Location: Recommend: Negro Barro, Como,Como and Aluz restaurants. Also went to explore (zip line, river swim, etc.
This is our third time staying at Reef Coco Resort. This property is quiet and comfortable. The facilities are in good condition for an older property. We had the all inclusive plan. the food is good, with a nice variety. there is a Mexican as well as Italian themed specialty restaurants that are included in addition to the main dining room. The staff is super. Floriberto in the main dining area is super, cant do enough for you. Abelardo in the lobby bar was also super. He remembers what you drink and is great to talk with. In addition, use the tour company on property. the prices were reasonable and the excursions were good. The concierges were also helpful with suggestions to local restaurants. We would suggest the left side of the resort rooms if you are a light sleeper. The resort itself is very quiet at night however on the right side of the property is a small night club that occasionally hosts DJ, that can be quite loud (think lots of base). We always chose this property due to its serene atmosphere and it's proximity to the start of 5th Ave. (the more local end). you are not in the noise and commotion of the 5th Ave that hosts the cruise ship passengers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2015
This is a very nice and smaller all inclusive hotel. The common grounds are very nice. Our room was clean and beds comfortable. The beach had lots of seaweed when we were there. But still usable. You can walk to the Northern edge of 5th Ave and experience the playa.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

3 start hotel quality

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Pool was nice. its walking distance to the 5th avenue shopping and restaurant district nice staff. has a good tour company that booked our excursion.
Cons: wifi and restaurants should be free. small dirty beach should be cleaned often
Location: its near the 5th avenue shopping and restaurants
Traveled with my female friend and we are 28 yrs old. Arrived around 5pm. Our luggage was immediately taken from us out of view and we were forced to do a sit down 45 minutes "talk " about our stay and also an attempt to convince us to participate in a promotional 1.5 hr time-share talk the next morning. Was tired and wanted to go to room and shower FOOD--They have 2 restaurants; Italian and mexican and 1 buffet. Mexican charged an extra $6 per person, per visit even though hotel said it was All inclusive. Honestly would have been cheaper overall to just book a nicer hotel and eat out on their famous 5th ave. Drinks are 100 pesos ( $5) Buffet food was so-so. Beef didn't look like real meat. I tasted it and threw it away. HAD TO PAY FOR WIFI :/ hotel has a good pool. ROOMS--are ok. so-so beds. Not very comfy. bathroom - so-so. could stand to whiten their tubs. It had stains BEACH AREA--Hotel has a very small beach, sandy area. Had to walk 20 mins on the beach over to Paradisius hotel to have nice seaweed free sand and space
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit, MI

Disappointing based on Internet Info.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The Food was very good. The Staff were very professional and good as well.
Cons: Beach access. Accurate information on the Internet. Overall update of the facilities.
Five night stay over X-mas 2014 holiday. The internet info was misleading. The Beach was terrible, it was actually a marina. You really couldn't swin in the Ocean with all the boats there. Extra surcharge for one of the resteraunts and couldn't use the Beach Bar w/o an extra surcharge. None of that info was on the internet. The Basketball and Tennis Court was rundown and in poor condition. The door locks in both our rooms were rundown and in poor condition. For the money we paid, I was very disappointed and would not go back or recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kingston, Ontario

Great location. Wonderful New Years Eve event.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Great location. Food options.
Cons: Bolt locks on doors. Don't get tricked into the 90 minute presentation about the hotel - "not about timeshare!"
Location: 5th Avenue strip of restaurants, stores etc. Xcaret, Xel'ha, Tulum, Jungle Maya. Good amount of in hotel activities - water aerobics & volleybal
Everything was great except there was really loud, vibrating music coming from the bar next door all night. Recommend the North side of the hotel.