Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Alex from Dallas

Close to the beach

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Food and drinks, rooms
Cons: Beach, activities, information.
The beach was disappointing, water murky, boats blocks swimming. The ocean hits one side of hotel wall, and small piece of sand on the other side. There no volleyball on the beach in the vicinity. No tennis courts. No soccer. Not many activities to do. Boring as baseball. There is a net in the swimming pool, but no murk up for the lines. There are bikes for rent, but nobody tells you about their availability, I found out on my last day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Nice and very close to town

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The staff, availability of food and drinks and the convenience to town.
Cons: Entertainment in the pool area could be improved with more music and more energetic and experienced staff to lead more activities.
Location: Many of the parks are very close. Plenty of shopping and reasonable prices. Many beaches and convenient to go on fishing, snorkeling and scuba tours.
Smaller than other resorts that I've stayed but just as nice. The rooms aren't really upscale but clean and nice enough and the air cond worked well! Friendly staff, plenty of food to choose from, highly recommend the Italan restaurant! Drinks were convenient and plenty of them. The location was also convenient only about 4 blocks from 5th street which goes on for at least a mile or so but a quick $5.00 to $9.00 taxi ride would take you anywhere in town. However those few blocks to 5th were pretty vacant, some ran down and some new construction, it was hard to tell which. Security was great but never felt uncomfortable or unsafe. There were many languages spoken by internationals from Canada, Poland, Germany, Russia and US. The pool was nice but if you like the beach there is not much of one...I hear they lost it in the hurricane. But there are chairs, water and beds available plus a short walk and you will find plenty of beaches. We walked the beach all the way to the ferry that goes to Cozumel 1 to 2 miles? They have a disco that starts at 11:00 but no one really came so I hear 12th street is where the night life is so I would just plan on taking a taxi. Overall....I had a great time with no complaints.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wasn't in the lobby 5 minutes.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: nothing we only seen the lobby.
Cons: we don't know
Location: we were moved to the other end of the resort areas.
We took our taxi from 5th Ave to the Reef coco beach walked in the lobby to check in, gave them our info they told us there were problems with our rooms and a taxi was waiting outside to take us 7 minutes down the road to the Reef playacar. We knew nothing about the reef playcar, we didn't know what the rooms looked like if it was on the beach if it had resturants anything. We knew nothing except we were in a taxi heading there. The reef coco beach could have atleast concacted the people they were moving to let them know a week or two in advance so they could research the knew resort they were staying. It is not a good feeling getting shoved out of a lobby into a taxi heading to a place you know nothing about. We were very upset. We paid extra to have ocean front rooms well the reef playcar doesn't have that ocean front or view rooms so that money was wasted. Our stay turned out to be pleasing and good we enjoyed our trip but that was no way to start one. I would sure think since they knew 5 months in advance we were coming that they could have somehow contacted us to let us know what the situation was before we got there. Very poor management in my mind.
3 out of 5
by Daisy from Chicago, IL

Not what we expected

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The staff was nice.
Cons: Their room service and reception.
It is close to the beach, but we got charged for a safe lock when the safe had an enter in code. The shower head did not work. We paid $30 for internet to supposedly work for 3 days, and it kept on disconnecting. Their drinks were all watered down. I would not recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south new jersey

Great all inclusive right on the beach!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Staff very helpful and friendly, especially William & Jorge in the VIP bar. Resort is only blocks from 5th avenue. Resort is very clean but not gourmet food.
3 out of 5
by Stacy from Minnesota

Ok, but would not recommend or go back

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: The location and food.
Cons: Overall conditions and staff that is friendlier and more accommodating.
Location: It was a 6 block walk to 5th Ave and a nice walk on the beach.
Playa is great, so I say all of this with that in mind. The hotel is old and outdated. Staff was not rude, but not friendly. Very few spoke any English and it was difficult to get anything other than a basic drink. They had limited shot glasses so getting shots was difficult. A diaper sat under the walk bridge for three, or more days. The pool was dirty, often and the place was flocked with birds and bird doo doo ( more so than other resorts) Overall it was not nearly as clean and tidy as other resorts we have stayed at and the rooms weren't cleaned until very late in the day. They charged $6 to eat at the Mexican restaurant and there was really nothing special about it. They charged for safety deposit boxes too. Perhaps most concerning was the entertainment guy (Anderson) who all but stalked my daughter and her friend and tried endlessly to get them to go to the club with him. Apparently they get spiffs if they get people there, but I found it disturbing. When they declined several nights, he became rude and made condescending remarks. On the plus side, the food was good overall and there was always a place to sit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from Kansas City

Clean, friendly staff, beautiful beach

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: It is very clean. They clean the rooms and the hotel daily, and they're very thorough.
Cons: Add pads to the bottom of the furniture in the room so I don't have to hear them scraping across the floor when the people above us move it constantly
Location: The location is great, it's about 30 minutes from the Cancun airport. It's in a quiet part of the beach and they have free snorkling gear.
The staff is super friendly and accomodating. The beach was beautiful and the ocean was a patchwork of sea green, teal, and blue. It was gorgeous and I plan to go back again. The only thing I hope they do in the future is to add pads to the legs of the furniture so it isn't really loud when the people above you in the hotel are moving their chairs constantly. They also move the beds when they're changing the sheets, and so that is pretty loud since it's wooden furniture being dragged across a cement tile floor. The people above us were moving their furniture (sounded like chairs) across the room for about 30 minutes to an hour every night. I am not sure if they had kids or what, but it was very aggrivating and it's a cheap fix just to add some cloth pads to the base/legs of the chairs so that they slide easily and without noise across the floor. Other than that, the hotel was very nice, they had shows every night after dinner for entertainment and the weather was beautiful. We went during spring break, but since this is in Playa del Carmen which is 30 minutes south of Cancun, we didn't have hardly any young spring breakers, which was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tara

beautiful hotel! close to the beach. great food

Posted Mar 16, 2014
staff was very friendly and accommodating. absolutely beautiful hotel with great activity leaders by the pool. I loved how we could snorkel and kayak for free! definitely want to go back soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LG from New York, NY

Beautiful resort-secluded beach-friendly staff

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Cons: Buffet variety from day to day.
Location: 5th Ave. is a $5 cab ride away or within walking distance if you are up for it. They have shopping and resutrants and bars. Good place to explore
The resort is about an hour or so away from the airport, and the package doesn't include transportation so you have to get a taxi.---around $100 one way but they had a promo for $150 round trip Once we arrived at the resort we were greeted by the staff and a glass of champagne. The resort was clean and the view from the lobby over looking the pool was beautiful. Room as a good size and everything was clean. The maid service was excellent as well. The pool area was wonderful and clean. The beach was nice as well, and after taking a walk down the beach we realized that it was very secluded from other hotels and locals. The food selection was okay, the buffet could have had a little more variety in my opinion, but overall it wasn't too bad. they have an Italian and Mexican restaurant as well. You have to pay $6 more at the Mexican restaurant though.. which was a little weird to me. There is an office there where you can book excursions. We went to Xcaret and spent the day there. It was really beautiful and a good way to do fun activities and learn about Mexican history. Definitely would recommend going there. All in all, I would definitely recommend staying at the Reef Coco Bay Resort. a solid 4.5 stars in my book. The food selection was the only downfall, but it honestly wasn't even bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ReNee from Nebraska

Very Nice Resort....Mainly for relaxation

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: The Mexican restaurant and VICTOR!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: 5th Avenue!!
We stayed 7 nights, and anyone who says the food gets old must be the PICKIEST person in the world. If you don't like buffet, they had a WONDERFUL snack bar, if you wanted a restaurant GO UPSTAIRS. The Italian restaurant is free and you don't need reservations and had great food. The Mexican restaurant cost $6 a person but is well worth it. What can we say VICTOR is amazing he was a huge help!! Also Milton at the Disco bar is great. The rooms were very clean and the grounds were amazing!! The disco bar was fun because (we 8 travelers were the entertainment)! Hardly anyone was up past 10 pm!!!!!!!!!! So party life it is not, but you can party yourself in the disco, which is what we did. The beach is nice but small, but never crowded. If you are looking to get away and not spend a fortune....give the Reef a try. 5 blocks you are at one end of 5th avenue. They also have nightly shows that are fun!!