Ratings based on 1,867 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Loved Everything but the FOOD :(

Posted Nov 30, 2016
We stayed in June of 2016. Beautiful grounds, sweet people, gorgeous white sand beach, plenty of walking and things to see. But, the food. Oh the food. It was horrible. So so so bad. We ate at a few of the restaurants and tried several buffets. Each of them was bad. We both got sick (my husband vomited) with pretty bad diarrhea. When we went to Punta Cana, we didn't experience stomach discomfort whatsoever. The food here, however, was bad. Really bad. Just looked old and had flies all over it. So much food was wasted because people kept going back to the buffet to try to find anything they could eat and actually enjoy. Thinking about it now, months later, I can still remember how bad it was and it makes my stomach turn. We couldn't wait to get to the airport to eat an actual meal! Ruined Mexico for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Really clean resort with great service. Totally recommend going!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Beautiful Resort

Posted Nov 16, 2016
The gardens, grounds, ocean front and pools were all wonderful. The room was ok, but we stayed in Tulum (lower end) of the resort. We are planning on taking a large family trip there after the kids finish college in 2019. We will at that time stay in the Caribe with the swim up pools. The buffet food was good, the restaurant food was great! We got a rental car to drive to the ruins and beaches, so we could be on our own time. It was a great vacation. We have stayed at multiple all-inclusive resorts and took several cruises and we were not disappointed for the dollar. Veronica at the pool was a sweatheart
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Erika Garcia, Hotel Management
First of all I would like to thank you for spending your vacation at the Barceló Maya Beach, Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure to serve, and we are pleased to read that we succeeded. We look forward to serving you again in the future Best regards, Erika García Argueta Sub Director Beach| Assistant Director Beach Barceló Maya Grand Resort beach.subdirector@barcelomaya.com T+52 984 875 15 00 | Ext: 1521
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newton, Stati Uniti d'America

Beach paradise worth revisiting

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The grounds are well kept. The staff are very helpful in meeting your needs. The air conditioning worked well.
Cons: The room -refrigerator could have been filled earlier with soft drinks and snacks. I like diet drinks anad had to call a couple of times for them but then they brought 3 cans
Location: Xcaret is a good excursion as well as XPLOR with the zip lines and the underwater cavers and atv ride.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Erika Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear Gary L Many thanks for choosing Barceló Maya Beach as your vacation resort and the time you have taken to share your impressions about your stay, we are glad you have enjoyed the property and Service. I can let you know that all guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us, as they show us the areas that we need to improve. Will reinforce our servibar area to make sure we fulfill your expectations We will be pleased to serve you again in the future. Best regards, Erika García Argueta Sub Director Beach| Assistant Director Beach Barceló Maya Grand Resort E-mail beach.subdirector@barcelomaya.com T+52 984 875 15 00 | Ext: 1521
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Very bored at the hotel in the evening.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Beautiful beaches and sea water.
Cons: No normal dance. The only disco slow Mexican dances. Stale salads and fruit in restaurants, from which the stomach problems. The maids brutally noisy.
The maids brutally noisy. I got terribly smoky room. It stinks sofas and armchairs. The neighbors were smoking on the balcony, it was difficult to breathe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful beach

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The beach and the spa.
Cons: The check-in staff were awful. They need a ton of training. The pools always had a ton of scum and were disgusting around the edges.
Location: Their are SO many things to do at the resort itself you don't need to leave. If you choose to leave the resort their is a ton to do.
I have stayed at this hotel previously and had a wonderful experience. After saying that I will say I willl never come again. The front desk staff, the registration staff/check-in employees are horrible. The hotel/employees cold not get their stuff together and it took three days to get us the room we paid for. We were moved around, shuffled around and made promises that were not kept. Supervisors and managers were promised to fix the problems but that never happened. After having such an issue with our room it was hard to relax and overlook other small issues with the resort. We came with 9 people total and all of our friends also had issues with accommodations except for 1. The hotel is pretty, the beach is beautiful, the spa is awesome, the other hotel staff is very accommodating (especially when tipped well).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Hôtel presque parfait !

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Points positifs Grand complexe, très beau et bien entretenu. La plage est magnifique et paradisiaque, nombreux transat à disposition. Il y a tout ce qu'il faut pour s'occuper dans l'hôtel : bar avec bowling et autres jeux, petit centre commercial avec boutiques, marché de souvenirs, nombreux restaurants à la carte en plus des buffets, animations musicales le soir, etc. Le personnel est à l'écoute des demandes en général. Points négatifs Le wifi est payant (12$) (gratuit uniquement de 10h à 13H). Lorsque vous ne commandez pas les services de l'hôtel, on ne vous rend pas service. Pour exemple, j'avais commandé mon aller-retour entre hôtel et aéroport via internet, et lorsque j'ai demandé à l'hôtel d'appeler l'agence pour confirmer mon retour, on a voulu me facturer la communication prétextant que je n'avais pas commandé leur service. Ce que je trouve limite s'agissant d'un appel local et sans doute gratuit pour l'hôtel ! Enfin, un gros inconvénient, les chambres avec porte communicante très mal insonorisées. Excursions L'hôtel est plutôt bien situé, à 20 minutes du centre de Playa Del Carmen. Nombreuses lieux d'excursions à proximité. Pour ma part j'ai choisi 2 excursions, COBA qui est un site Maya et la visite d'un Cenote (Mexxtremo Adventures). Mais vous avez le choix avec de nombreuses activités (parc d'attractions, parc naturel, plongée, etc), il faut juste prévoir le budget car c'est très cher.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bait and Switch

Posted Oct 30, 2016
We booked our group trip to the Barcelo Maya Beach a couple of months ago, but when we arrived they didn't have all the rooms we booked instead tried to give us a story about how sections of the hotels were close,so having our rooms all over the resort was fine. They also told us they were totally full,but we found out they were really only 70percent full. Then it took 3 days for us to get moved to our correct rooms. We have been to this resort many times and always had great service,but this time we were only given the run-around about pricing, services and assistance. We will never go to this resort again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny, ny

Hotel was absolutely amazing for our party of 5

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Spa was fabulous Grounds were immaculate Pools were breathtaking Beach was Greer minus a few rocks
Cons: Better shows at night
Location: 15 mins from playa Del Carmen
Only dislike with hotel is there are very view rooms with an actual ocean view
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Anniversary Trip- just okay

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: the grounds
Cons: hotel room (garden view) and food.
The grounds the hotel is located on is absolutely beautiful; however, our room left much to be desired. I was celebrating my anniversary with my husband and asked for a room with a nice view. They told me the room and view I was getting was BEAUTIFUL. However, much to my surprise, the view was of the parking lot and not "The Garden View" and when I asked to be moved I was told it would cost $160/night to upgrade. I was extremely disappointed, not only because it was my anniversary but because they were only 50% occupied. This is low season in Mexico and there was no reason not to move me or upgrade me for a reasonable rate. I was so frustrated I just hung up. We were located in Tulum building which is the farthest building from all the water activities (snorkeling, kayaking, etc.). It was over 1/2 mile each way to the beach/room. UGH...not fun to do in flip flops. The bed in the room was terrible. By day 4 my back was killing me...although the pillows were nice. The noise level is also ridiculous. There were teenagers running up and down the hall from 12mid-2am in the morning and no one did anything about it. Finally, the food was okay- not great and but definitely not terrible. Just okay. In fact, the buffet was better than the steak house and the service was better too. I am not sure I would recommend this resort, but the grounds and bartenders are great- the room, hotel staff, and buffet were just OK. For the money, I will try elsewhere.