Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Wonderful family friendly hotel.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Grounds, pool, beach, plenty to do for the kids. In my research no other resort in Riviera Maya has this much for children to do.
Cons: Food- buffets were alright. I'm not from Latin America/Mexico so it seemed it catered more towards that traditional cuisine.
Location: Plenty of excursions to do. They have on-site dolphin swimming. It was excellent you can purchase pictures and a video of your experience.
Absolutely beautiful grounds, pools and hotel! The beach especially by the Caribe and Beach section of the hotel chain (where we stayed) was rock free and perfect for swimming. Near the other hotels the Tropical and Colonial- swimming was harder because there were lots of rocks. The pools were extremely clean. Palm trees provided plenty of shade and were beautiful. By the pool there is plenty of shade as well. Room- We were on the second floor. It was a bit noisy. People above could be clearly heard. Not sure if hotel can do anything about that. Request a room on the third floor near the stairs. Room was clean and house keeping did a super job. Everyone at the resort was extremely friendly and nice. Most guests at this hotel are Spanish Speaking- I'd say about 30-40 percent American, We loved it though-was a great experience for our kids to see another country and learn a bit of another language. Only people who were drunk by the pools were the Americans! All staff does speak English. Some better than others though. Spa was top notch. Ask for Coral for a massage. On site photographer as well. For 150.00 you can get 10 photos. Ask for Yamin he was great. Breakfast was awesome. Omlette bars, crepes, fruit-you name it. Lunch was alright. Same food at each buffet. My only complaint was the breakfast food. Dinner at buffets was different theme every night. The A la Carte restaurants were o.k except for the two Japanese- Kyoto and Tokyo were top notch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Exceptional minus the food and watered down drinks
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, beautiful beach/pools, excellent food

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We had a very nice vacay in Mexico. The staff made us feel good. Beautiful hotel, good food and nice people. The staff were polite, respectful and honest. I highly recommend Barcelo Maya Hotel. We really enjoyed our tours to Xcaret and Chichen Itza. We had a wonderful experience with the dolphin at Delphinus Trek. Nice staff in all 3.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Great place overall. My only complaint if I had to think of one was the walls in my room were a little thin and you could hear too much banging/noise from above and in walkways. Resort is properly rated at between 4-5 stars.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from myrtle beach, sc

Beautiful hotel...lots of amenities

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Didn't leave the resort
Went for my son's destination wedding..they couldn't of picked a better place!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great beach, disappointing resort

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The beach at the resort was amazing. The sand was soft, and the water was shallow and warm. You can easily go out 100 feet and be only waist deep.
Cons: The reservation and check-in process. If I am offered the ability to book a specific hotel I expect it to be honored.
Location: The location is about 15 minutes from Playa Del Carmen by taxi. It is surrounded by jungle. We did see a few exotic wildlife there because of this.
Check-in was terrible. I booked at the Caribe, but when we showed up the resort had our reservation at the Beach. We were informed by the staff at the desk that there were no rooms with two beds at the Caribe or any other hotel at the resort. They also said the reserving a specific hotel should be considered more of a request rather than a guarantee. This seems crazy to me since both Expedia and the Barcelo website are set up to reserve specific hotels at this resort. We ended up in a room at the far end of the resort, away from all the restaurants and other facilities. This is precisely why I did not book the Beach. The only saving grace was that it was close to the pool and beach. The room was also dirty. The sheets and pillows had stains on them. The bathroom had fuzzy mold growing in places. Housekeeping was inconsistent. Sometimes they never cleaned our room. When they did it was usually very late which impeded our ability to get ready for dinner. They often forgot to replace everything that needed replacing as well, such as fridge items, cups, and towels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Love this hotel:) Outstanding resort!!:)

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: I definitely that we did not have to walk 3 miles to get to the beach, pools, restaurants, lobby, tennis courts and the gym. Loved the healthy food!!
Cons: Allow at least 3 meal reservations for a 4 night 5 day stay!!!
This was our second summer visiting the Barcelo Resort! The layout it's amazing you are close to everything you need! I love this property as it offers all we enjoy! Great beach with lots of palm trees there are always lounge chairs available! It is so relaxing. The pools are great too, but rather be at the beach! Everything is close the beach, pools, restaurants, lobby, tennis courts and the gym is wonderful! As to the food outstanding!! We like fresh healthy food! So if you like fruits, salads, fish and shrimp! You are at right place! We do not eat junk food so the choices are fantastic! For dinner the cocktails were so good! Plus I always had wine with my meals! If you are looking for mega steaks and lobsters all fancy then go somewhere else! Our favorite restaurants were seafood, italian and japaneese really good! Service was fantastic everyone super friendly! The mall it's kind of fun, loved the mariachis, the Mexican Plaza, the disco and the chapel! Wake up with the sunrise one morning and thank God for HIS amazing blessings! Barcelo thumbs up!! 5***** Thanks for a great vacation with lots of tennis, workouts, dancing, best breakfast with all my favorite fruits and my veggie ommelett! Hope you will like it as much as we did!! Be open to a healthy vacation!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Resort was good, room description was deceiving

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Some of the buildings are very nice, especially at night. The reservation requiring restaurants were excellent.
Cons: Make it less like a mall, more of a plaza or social setting. The mariachi set up in the maya mall was kind of akward.
We had an overall good stay, we enjoyed the resort very much. It is very large and the staff are mostly friendly. The retail area of the resort makes you feel like you are at a mall, which wasn't exactly what I wanted for the vacation, but there is plenty to do outside of the Maya Mall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Beautiful resort on the beach

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Having access to the whole resort was fun. Abundance of pools, bars, buffets, and the beautiful ocean made this resort an excellent choice for us!
Cons: All was good
Location: We went fishing and on a all day tour of Chichen Itza. Fun stuff!
Our stay at Barceló could not have been more perfect. Our room was excellent and very clean. The staff was amazing! We will be returning to this resort on our next trip to Mexico!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful facility, lacking in food quality

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Very nice grounds & pools but the food was terrible. Also the AC systems were inadequate, causing the rooms to feel damp. 7th visit to Mexico & never experienced this before. Service was lackluster.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Hotel Barceló Maya Caribe, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Caribe as your vacation hotel and the comments you kindly share, I can let you know that all guest comments, whether negative or positive, are very important to us, as they show us our strengths and opportunity areas. Kind regards,