Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Amazing resort

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Amenities, Staff, Activities.
Cons: The waterpark. More slides would be great
Location: Good location
We had an amazing anniversary and birthday celebration. The staff surprised us in many nice ways and the resort is a magnificent place with a lot to explore and enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

A True "Getaway"

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: What's not to like? Rooms were gorgeous, the setting was breath-taking, restaurants were very good (and expensive), staff was lovely.....
Cons: We experienced a huge disconnect over waterpark hours- multiple days (and even concierge was wrong)- made for a disappointed 8 year-old.
Location: Had dinner at El Ladrillo (mediocre) and Grappa (phenomenal/best meal on trip, including Mi Casa) in Dorado. Day trip to Isabela....
We spent a week in an East Beach room with a plunge pool and it was perfection- very comfortable for my husband, me & our two daughters. From what I understand, East is the more quiet of the two locations- West has better beach access, but, my husband and I loved being able to have coffee outside and feel like we had the place to ourselves. Bikes were provided and we enjoyed riding to different locations on the property (the Watermill Water Park, and two pools, as well as Goodwinds, etc.). Staff went above and beyond and truly seemed to enjoy being helpful and accommodating. Pools were never crowded, and we often have them entirely to ourselves. Not what I was expecting during spring break! Meals were very expensive, but, very solid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Awesome facility Tons of activities for children. Very helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and great overall experience!!

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Would not change a thing...perfect beach getaway. Great beach, food, staff, etc. Cannot wait to go back again! Great gym, tennis courts, surfing, spa, especially the treehouse. Do not miss the restaurants on property. They were all great. My favorite was positivo. Ambassadors were attentive and helpful. Always making suggestions ad checking in. Loved that we got bikes to get around and explore the property. We wish Expedia had let us upgrade our seats on JetBlue...that is our only complaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017
We have stayed in some incredible, 5-star resorts before but this one tops the list. The rooms are spacious and gorgeous with direct beach views. The nearby fitness facility is top-notch, as are the restaurants on-site. We loved walking the meandering Rockefeller Nature Trail each morning. Overall, an incredible experience. We stayed 6 nights but wish we could have stayed longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Menasha, Wisconsin

Awesome Hotel on the ocean

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Service was second to none! Location of the hotel was fantastic & restaurants were excellent!
Cons: Drinks and food were very expensive & the walking paths had a lot of cart traffic.
Location: San Juan for a day is a must & we really liked touring the rain forest!
Location of the hotel was amazing - both Positivo and MiCasa were excellent restaurants with a lot of variety. The walking paths and workout facilities were a great amenity to our trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Luxury resort, not quite 5 start

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Lovely setting, handsome facilities, nicely designed. Annoying that they charge a resort facilities fee of $95 every day, regardless of one's use of the facilities. It would be more honest to just put it in room rates unless they are trying to avoid room taxes. Also lots of other nickel and diming, like charging $6 for bread at dinner at the upscale restaurant, charging full rates for refill of cup of tea. Staff is very accommodating, perhaps overly so and every request is met with a "right away" although it can take a long time to get a beach umbrella, or luggage pickup. The grounds and landscaping are, however, quite nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The grounds are beautiful. Most people are very nice
Cons: Service at the Encanto pool. Non hotel guests should not be there.
This was my third time at Dorado. The two previous ones were better than this one. Grounds, rooms and most people are beautiful. Did not have good experience at Encanto pool. Poor service most of the time. Seats are made up only for locals and friends of the attendants. If you are Spanish speaking young lady ,he will carry towels to your seat and make up the seat. Is you are an English speaking old lady you ar asked : How many. That means how many towels Than handed the towels ,and you are on your way to do with them whatever you want. My daughter asked for an ice tea at 10 AM. Told : not open until 11AM. Non Ritz Carlton guests definitely change the atmosphere to something that one wants to escape when paying for Ritz Carlton Reserve. I ordered a glass of wine. It was delivered in a plastic cup. For that I can go to Motel 6. Please ban serving wine in a plastic cup. That underestimates your guests. Underestimates the wine. This trip I took my daughter and grandson with me to show them a peak. Maybe next time. Respectfully: Agnes Oana Soni
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Beautiful hotel on beach

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Excellent restaurants on site; impeccable service from all staff; a truly special place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

My room was right on the water it was beautiful!

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Orbitz
The only thing I did not like was the choice of food and prices .