Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ehh

Posted Jun 27, 2016
The water pressure in the shower was terrible- a steady stream lasted about 30 seconds then it would dwindle to half of the initial burst and shower would stop. Oher than this issue, the room was adequately sized and very clean. Facilities: In the hallway were random furniture pieces and parts of a broken door jam. The hotel provided beach towels were worn thin and dingy looking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Right on the beach

Posted Apr 30, 2016
I booked a room with a garden view, not ready when I checked in. It won't be ready for an hour. So disappointed! I asked if there are any rooms available with an ocean view. Yes there were, for an extra US$34.00 more. Accept it immediately. Clerk was very accommodating. Great room, great view. Staff was great.I was approached by someone for a sales promotion. Big mistake & time. I declined it!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cancún, Q. Roo

Muy buen hotel, aunque un poco retirado del centro

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Las instalaciones, muy ordenadas
Cons: El personal, puesto que pediamos informes referente a los tours, y no nos dieron muchas opciones
Location: En frente puede encontrar una plaza en la que pueden realizar compras
Las instalaciones son muy bonitas, justo lo que esperabamos, aunque lamentablemente se encontraba un poco retirado de la zona concurrente del malecón y casi no pasan servicios de Taxis. La habitación estaba excelente, muy ordenada, aunque hubiera sido mejor tenerla disponible en un piso superior para poder disfrutar la vista al mar.
3 out of 5
by Ronnie from Lodi, CA

Truy disappointed......

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
I was very disappointed in the El Cid Hotel. Before you can even register for your room you have to hear the timeshare pitch, even after we told the person we were in no way interested. We had booked an ocean view deluxe room and it was supposed to include meals and drinks. Once we turned down the timeshare pitch we were placed in a room with no view except the back of the restaurant and suddenly we had to pay for all of our drinks, including water. We would not recommend this facility to anyone who simply wants to get away and relax. It is adjacent to the docks of the cruise ships and El Cid is one of the on shore excursions so six days a week the beach is overcrowded from breakfast until late afternoon. If you are looking for a basic place to stay with pool, beach and great atmosphere the Blue Angel Resort would be our pick.
4 out of 5
by humberto from Hidalgo

Muy bien

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
En general bien
4 out of 5
by Maria Concepcion from Morelia

Extraordinaria calidad para el precio

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
El servicio a la carta extraordinario., si vas con niños tienes todo, absoultamente todo ahí en un solo lugar. realmente relajante.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mauvais rapport qualité - prix

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel agréable Un peu gênée quand même par les énormes paquebots qui font escale juste devant l'hôtel. Pas de WiFi dans la chambre Climatisation très bruyante Douche avec très peu de pression Le restaurant de l'hôtel n'est pas très bon
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: It was quiet, safe, roomy. Always enough staff.
Cons: Not all workers at the front desk could speak English, especially from 6 pm on.
Location: Taxi's always available quickly. Walking both ways option. A handful of places to eat within walking distance. A few excursions within walking.
easy check in, easy check out. Nice room upgrade offer when we got there. Welcome basket, and beautiful towel designs and nightly chocolate delivery by maid staff each night. Our kids loved Adrian, the activies director, and he does a wonderful job - he has the right personality for the activites. He works well with the couples and families staying there and is very personable. The activites were minimal, but enough for our kids to have great stories of making projects, playing bingo, learning Spanish, cooking class, and staying active during the day.
4 out of 5
by Viktoria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis Park, MN

Couldn't ask for more.

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pros: From the minute you walk in you are treated like friends and family. Everyone will do what is in there power to make you stay fun and relaxing.
Cons: The activities person needs to be aware that ppl relaxing around the pool/beach may not want to hear 25min of bingo calls. Set up spot for players.
This was a return trip to El Cid and as before we weren't disappointed. From the minute you walk in you are treated like friends and family. All of the staff from maintenance and housekeeping to front desk to restaurant (espescially) treat each other like family and it makes your day and keeps you smiling watching them joke with each other and guests. We love this smaller property allowing us to be on the beach and around the pool without a long hike. We enjoy the night time special buffets that offer great food and entertainment.