Ratings based on 449 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great staff, service

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The staff, most of all.
Cons: The food & the evening entertainment options.
Location: Snorkeling was fantastic.
The best part about the Fiesta Americana was the staff. The wait staff, especially Marco, & Aaron at the Vina Del Mar & the beach, were fantastic, attentive, and made us feel taken care of. Giancarlo at the pool made our stay special and fun. Everyone spoke excellent English and we were quite impressed with them all and their excellent and cheerful service. The 2 theme nights (Mayan & Mexican) had fantastic shows that were very special. We were very glad we didn't miss those. Otherwise, the evenings were pretty light on choices of things to do. The pool should stay open late! The food was very hit or miss. The food was definitely the least enjoyable part of the stay. Some things were very good like the Ceviceria on the beach, the guacamole,and the fresh fruit, but most was not worth the high expense of the all inclusive resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Still a great place

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Wonderful staff. Good choice of dining options. Dive shop should give preference to hotel guests
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a beach

Posted Jul 12, 2016
It was a great place to visit for snorkeling and scuba diving; but if you want the beach experience it does not work. All the staff is very attentive and that was wonderful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Beautiful resort with excellent nighttime dining!

Posted Jun 23, 2016
We snorkeled several times at the resort and really enjoyed it, took our own snorkeling equipment. I think you can rent it, as well as, bikes. Our room was upgraded to a master suite and it was great. We were on the 2nd floor and there were smaller pools right below us. So, we had access to our own personal pool if we wanted. Breakfast and lunch buffet was ok but the dinner restaurants were Awesome!!! I wanted to take a picture of my plate every night. We enjoyed the Italian Restaurant the most. This was our first trip to Cozumel. What we learned: No need to exchange money to pesos, Need lots of one dollar bills for tips because the staff is Awesome! You can pay with dollars everywhere in Cozumel. Don't plan excursions until you get there, our daughter wanted to swim with the dolphins and the resort Concierge planned it for us for about $50 cheaper than any internet trip that I could find; Taxi trips run from $8 to $10 one way to town/airport. Resort tips: Room service is included 24/7. We ordered coffee every morning from room service because they do not offer coffee makers in the room. We enjoyed the nighttime entertainment. We saw a fire dance one night. Our favorite thing was to swim in the pool, right by the water, after snorkeling. We loved this resort and would go back. We are low key people and this is not a party resort so, perfect for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new orleans

Perfect Getaway

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: The location is about 10 minutes from downtown; therefore, it is quiet. The snokeling off of the beach is perfect and reefs 30mins or less.
Cons: The retainer walls surrounding the pools could use alittle painting, but other than that the hotel is nice
We have stayed at this Hotel several times prior to the remodel and were always pleased. Since the remodel, we found the rooms were upgraded nicely, wifi works well within the hotel and on the beach, the food was very good (especially the Penisula Asian Restaurant) and the staff went out of their way to know us personally. We will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bend, Oregon

We enjoyed every bit!

Posted May 1, 2016
Everything was great, except for the lack of snorkel gear. Youre in snorkel wonderland and they never had enough gear for us. That's the only downfall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Accommodations and Staff were Excellent

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: No complaints at all.
Location: We specifically went to relax and dive. We accomplished both :) Thank you Fiesta Americana
All of the staff did a fantastic job. Ruth, Erika, Aaron, Miguel, and the Dive House Staff- Ivan, Lorraine, Raul , and David. We will definitely be returning hopefully for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
by Rob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blowing Rock, NC

Groovy place by the beach.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Cons: Offer premium cocktails with an upcharge, I don't think anyone would mind paying a little extra per drink, I sure wouldn't! Step up the food, bigtime!
Location: Loved the locale, we biked all over and enjoyed the few mile ride to town.
CheckIn, perfect! They asked for a name, and brought us a cocktail. The hotel is beautifully located on the ocean with a fabulous pool and outdoor space. The beach is awesome and comfortable with many areas designated for relaxation. The staff is superb! They are all so friendly and helpful in everyway possible. Our room was fantastic with an awesome ocean view and all is very clean and inviting and remained that way. All the aforementioned...5 stars. What brings the rating down considerably is the food and cocktails. Of the several restaurants...Asian is acceptable; Italian was disappointing; Mexican was quite good; Buffett for b'fast is mediocre; the Seafood was tasty and my favorite. Big exception was the Sushi which made me quite sick for a full day (another guest told me the same). Kind of messed up my vacay from there on. I found this completely unacceptable, given what we all hear regarding getting sick in Mexico, they should make sure no spoiled food is ever served. Also, the cocktails are all kinda lame. Mediocre white wine and weak cocktails.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Royal treatment

Posted Apr 9, 2016
This is my new favorite place in Cozumel. The resort was kept clean and nice at all times. The rooms were kept clean and stocked multiple times a day. Multiple choices for food and drink all day with no gaps in service. The staff was a dream! Everyone we came in contact with was very attentive and friendly. There seemed to always be someone nearby making sure everything was just right for us.