Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Need ice or refrigerator.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly overpriced for a dirty room

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
We paid the equivalent of a 6-star resort for Xaloc for 3 nights in Jul-17. I understand that there is a premier on the island during whaleshark season but the price is still high compared to the other hotels nearby for what we get. The room was dirty and we had to wear slippers in the room all the time or the soles of our feet is just black. We found a scorpion under our luggage on the last day. There is not much room to put or hang things in the room. The toilet door knob has fallen off and the screw was left exposed. The air conditioning did not cool the room much and the room was hot and there is not much windows you can open. Lighting was dark. The curtain poles keep falling off when you draw the curtains. The hotel pool is small and dirty. Thank goodness it is by the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Great location, view, disappointing room

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Great location, great food, great view. Staff was polite.
Cons: Rooms need serious upgrading.
Great location, great food, good view, but our room was quite disappointing. Toilet never worked, we had to jerry rig it to use it. Shower had constant pressure problems where you had to wait for the water to come back. The internet was excruciatingly slow, but that seemed to be a problem across the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach stay

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Cons: clean up seaweed off beach
Hotel is directly on beach and close to town restaurants. Rooms are comfortable and clean, pool nice. Only downside was the seaweed which comes in with the tide and is not cleaned off beach by staff and which smells bad and creates a meter wide barrier between sand and water which one must wade through to swim. Some hotels do clean their portion of the beach, but this one did not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Very nice hotel, close to beach and downtown

Posted Feb 7, 2017
We liked several things about this hotel. The staff was amazing, very helpful. It was a very short walk to downtown. The adult pool by the beach had a small bar and he would bring drinks to the beach also. This hotel was not crowded at all which we liked. The breakfast was so, so but that didn`t seem to bother us much. I guess my biggest complaint was the beds were very hard. My friend joked all beds are hard in Mexico. Lol. We would stay at the Xaloc again. We loved Holbox....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
horrible hotel with horrible service. would avoid staying there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B, St.Louis, MO

Gem of a hotel with great beach access.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Excellent, extremely friendly and reliable staff. Very comfortable beach bungalow, dependable and caring housekeeping. A bit of excess noise from ATV taxis nearby, but a minor concern. Would stay again in a heartbeat!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Nice enough hotel close to the beach.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Again see above. Noise reduction. Eliminate the standing water on the property to eliminate the mosquito problem.
Location: Within 10 minutes walking distance to town and other hotels and restaurants. Large beach area equipped with beach lounges.
The Xaloc does suffer from the effect of an absentee owner.(in Spain) The place is getting a little frayed around the edges too but staff is friendly and helpful and the price is right compared to the competition. One major issue when I was there was the noise. All the golf cart transport vehicles are gasoline powered which means they are noisy, very noisy. I found myself being wakened up in the middle of the night by the machine gun sound of these things rattling up and down the street right next to my palapa. Not cool when you are paying USD $200 a night for accomodation! The other issue was a pack of barking dogs in the hotel next door. One would start howling and set off the rest in a constant cacophony of noise. Again, not what you want to be listening to if you are tired after a long journey to Holbox. There is another more serious problem which they don't seem to acknowledge and that is standing water. With zika now present in the Caribbean this could become even more serious in future. This hotel has a large lagoon of standing water from the entrance all the way to the office check-in over which is a boardwalk which you must cross the enter the hotel. This is a breeding ground for mosquitoes. Even though it was end of summer there were many more mosquitoes than expected due to this fetid water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Orbitz
The hotel is nice, it has everything you need to have a natural experience so you can forget about everything you left behind and enjoy the island
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff are really helpful and really friendly, if your a couple then I'd say this is a good place to stay! The wifi is in abit of a annoying location, would be good if you could get it in your room.