Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olympic Peninsula Washington

Fabulous, would return in a heart beat

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Food was great. accommodated select vegetarian changes. Privacy and smaller size facility.
Cons: Concierge should not be steering guests to only a few select activities. Researching on line makes it easy to find other local tours that were great
Location: Great views of caribbean sea, felt private, very quiet. Tours to ruins, biodiversity park, scuba diving, snorkeling, cenotes, shopping, golf, & more
Staff was a lot of fun, food was great, pool was fun, able to relax. Attentive staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fl

Is not about the location is about their staff .

Posted Sep 10, 2016
It's a pretty hotel, rooms are comfy but the ac doesn't work correctly in any area, the don't allow the ac to be less than 73 and Mexico u very hot . The pool are is okay. A little murky and greenish , but the staff is fenomenal. Rosita the hostes of the restaurant is the diamond of the place . Gilberto at the beach will make you feel in heaven, best service ever . Oscar at the bar will always get you what you want , and Martin oversees all this hard workers , Darwin the bellman is amazing always in a good mood. So basically they make you feel at home . Hotel needs maintance for sure . But the food was really good .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Relaxing Vacation

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The service. The employees are very nice. Even the landscaping crew says hello as you pass them.
Cons: The room air conditioning could be better. We had ours as low as it would go and didn't get as cool as we would like.
Location: There are a lot of day trips nearby such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza. There are also water and wildlife parks.
Second visit and there is a reason we went back. Excellent service and quality. The hotel staff is what makes Blue Diamond so great. They make everyone feel special and they seem to go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. The beach and pool area is nice and clean. The food is great and I always find myself eating way too much. We will visit again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Quiet and Privacy are the big draw to this resort.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Overall the staff made the stay great. The hotel is not a 5 star. The phone was out over half our week and you Must have a phone as rooms and restaurants have to have a ride called. Ants were a problem daily. Found a giant roach one day. Internet was in/out. Half the beach was reserved for the beachfront villas. Only one restaurant was open for dinner when hotel is 50% or less. Butler service was useless. They were very nice. But you may get 25-50% of what you ask them to do. We asked for bikes, I'll have them there tonight. Nope. Can you draw us a bath, at 7pm? Sure! Did it happen? Nope. Seems they just forget. Most of the food was great. But some... Meh. Like steak. A 5 star should have the Best cut, no gristle or toughness. I've had better $5 steaks from the grocery store. There are alligators so no swimming in the Cenote. Cesar was the best... A cart driver. Room condition was not 5 star. Rusted nuts on items. Peeling paint. Large slide doors in back you have to be very physical to move them. Last but not least... The A/C. 75 is the coolest it will ever get. It does not dehumidify the air. Bathroom is more like 80 at the coolest. Poor poor quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The room, the food, the people working there, the lap pool , the beach, the temascal Love it!!!!
Cons: Soft beds
Location: La Quinta avenida is 20 min from the hotel , there is a lot of things you can do around
Well it was great be pick up at the airport by from a company working direct with the hotel, the driver was very courteous and nice . the check in was very easy we didn't have to wait until 3 we arrive early and we continue to the the room immediately. The property is enormous so a golf car take us to the room.From the lobby to the beach is about a mile the hotel also have bikes that you can use to move around which is great. The room is incredible big very, clean the bathroom had a doble showers with a door in the middle that open to a little pool outside the room the bet was a little hard for me but was ok. The bar was well equipped unfortunately we don't drink hard liquor, but we did take advantage of the water in the refrigerator and the juices I love the room so much it was like to be in my own house with luxury. The restaurants are really good the food was delicious, from breakfast to diner it was like a work of art on a plate but enough food to be satisfied all the food in the three restaurants were excellent, the drinks also very good . But the best thing was the service all the people working there was the best!!!! Courteous, gentile really really great people !!!! The only downside is the insistence to buy a membership to the hotel , but it was ok they have to do their job !!! I will come back in a future
5 out of 5

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Amazing place and nice people......................................."................"..........................
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fullerton, CA

Great staff & great value

Posted May 2, 2016
The location is great! There is so much value for what you pay for. My wife loves the room and view of the beach from the pools. The food is amazing as well. 2 years ago I stayed at Viceroy, I feel the the same for both.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely Disappointed

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: The people were all very friendly and the "jungle" setting is very pretty!
Cons: The level of service, the food options and quality (FRESH fruit is needed!!), hotel upkeep and attention to detail is lacking and it shows!
It's obvious the hotel is no longer under management from the Mandarin Hotel chain. The facility isn't being well maintained and it shows. The "snack bar" by the beach is in disrepair, the grounds by the ritual had not been cleaned in weeks. The beach area is small and cramped and was filthy with seaweed! The room was not cleaned until after 5:00pm and there was no turn down service at night. People who stay in 5-star hotels are used to a level of quality and service that this hotel no longer provides. We ordered nachos and the shrimp cocktail one day and both were disgusting! The nachos were cold, limp and the cheese was obviously from a can. The shrimp was swimming in a red, watery sauce! At breakfast, I was told the orange juice was fresh squeezed, but it clearly was not - it tasted like Tang! When I asked, the waiter said they ran out of oranges! For a tropical location, the fruit was horrible! All the berries were served in a wine sauce which was disgusting and when we asked for FRESH fruit, they brought us un-ripened melon slices. Almost the entire breakfast menu consists of eggs - there should be many more options at this type of hotel. I was very disappointed. I stayed at the Fairmont Mayakoba 2 years ago and absolutely LOVED it. The only reason I decided to try a different hotel this time was because of the Mandarin name and reputation. I was very disappointed in the overall lack of service and quality at the Blue Diamond. Stay at the Fairmont instead!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jersey city, NJ

Nice quiet resort great for a relaxing getaway

Posted Apr 13, 2016
This resort is ideal if you just want to relax and get away. Beach was nice and facilities and very well maintained. Food was extremely good and staff always friendly. Was there for my honeymoon and thought it was ideal for the occasion.