Ratings based on 1,100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to 5th avenue

Posted May 22, 2016
Close to 5th ave, a strip mall full of restaurants, nightlife, and shops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Staff, Rooms Ugh

Posted May 21, 2016
There were stray cats in the restaurant when mentioned act as though it was normal. Rooms old
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great resort for families

Posted May 18, 2016
We loved our 6 night stay at Gran Porto. We had an oceanfront family room which was very spacious for even 4 people. The Buffett, while repetitive, was actually very good. We also ate at Maria's and Il Pescatore and found them to be good as well. We spent most of our time by the pool where the staff works really hard to please the guests. We also used the kids club and loved the staff in there. The eroded beach was disappointing but not a huge deal as we just walked around the corner and used the beach there. Would love to go back again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DFW, Tx

Nice hotel, close to beach and shopping

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: The pools, drinks, view (ocean front) was great!
Cons: Ship some sand in to cover up the rocks in the ocean. It was difficult to walk out & enjoy the ocean due to the rocks.
Location: 5th St has some great shopping and places to eat/drink. It was within walking distance and very safe.
The hotel was awesome! The staff was great and very courteous.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location.

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Staff was very attentive...they are by far the best feature of the hotel.
Cons: Beach was not pleasant...but this was due to the location and natural shape of the land, not anything the hotel could have done.
Great location...steps from shopping and restaurants. It was our first trip to Playa del Carmen and it allowed us to experience all the offerings....all within walking distance. We reserved a Jr Suite with King Bed but due to late arrival was assigned a room with 2 double beds. They would have changed our room the following day but we had already unpacked and decided to keep the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hotel Experience Matches Employee Customer Service

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Extremely clean and OUTSTANDING service.
Cons: The only thing that I felt need to be improve was us staying longer! Our next trip WILL be longer!
Location: Enjoyed that everything was within walking distance. Also, we ate at Marias and it was really good!
Wow! First of all the Hotel is without a doubt, OUTSTANDING ! Along with the great hotel , the staff service was excellent. Starting with Elizabeth Mora our Concierge, our stay started excellent with her taking care of ALL of our arrangements from the moment that we planned this to the moment that we left the hotel. Elizabeth is an outstanding example of what all employees should be like. Kudos to whomever hire her! Another associate that made our stay very memorable is Omar. We had a scheduled romantic dinner at the beach and let me tell you that this gentleman was another reason of why we are coming back. His customer service skills were excellent. He made our night a night that we will treasure for ever. We were also blessed with Efren company whom we felt was truly a pleasure to be around with. He made an excellent impression of great service from a great hotel. Allow to mention those that guided us at the food area. We were blown away with the excellent service that Jaime, Carlos, Lucy, Saguco gave us daily. Their service was impeccable. I was always looking forward to seeing them daily. Marissa, at the pool service, was also fabulous. Finally, Liliana our waitress truly made us feel at home every single day we saw her. We fell in love her and kind words and her positive attitude. What a great concept to have an outstanding hotel matched with excellent service. We will definitely be back due to this experience that we had.PLEASE thank the staff for us!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Piscataway, NJ

Great hotel

Posted May 14, 2016
Can't say enough good things about Grand Porto. Staff is amazing, very well kept facility. Do not hesitate to book a stay here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel and staff

Posted May 12, 2016
The hotel was impeccable and so was the staff. Marissa Emma, Sarain, Maria Puente, Brenda, and Chef Vicente Ferrer are some of the most memorable members of the staff, but everyone was stellar!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Mexico is not for us

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Clean, pretty, nice staff
Cons: The beach and less noise
The hotel was nice and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful, but the beach is very disappointing and some of the food wasn't very good. The beach has huge sandbags separating the water from the sand and they are very slippery so when you try to walk over them to get in the water it is easy to fall. Then once you get past them into the water you have to walk on rocks that are slippery and sharp. We chose this hotel because other reviews said it was close to all the activity of 5th Avenue and had good music. What this really means is that this hotel is loud all the time. Whether it's music, traffic, kids, people wheeling carts, etc. you can't get away from it. 5th Avenue sounds like fun but there are so many people in your face aggressively trying to sell you everything that we ended up not going into any of the shops and shopping is one of the things we enjoyed on previous trips to other places in Mexico. We had to go over to Cozumel to do our shopping.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oxnard CA

Posted May 11, 2016
They have a lot of cats in the restaurant outside and inside. Am allergic to cats so I got really sick one day and I had to be in my room with no activities. The cats just go to your table asking for food and won't leave.