Ratings based on 1,436 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent resort and great location

Posted Feb 24, 2017
We absolutely LOVED the Gran Porto. Everything you could ask for, great ambiance, clean, good food, lot's to do, great service, and great location. Everyone was very polite and friendly. The resort is just the right size for us, not too big and not too small. The pool is lively but not gross like you see at so many all inclusive resorts (with too many drunks). Great for kids but not all about kids. Nightly entertainment and vendors but over by 9 so you still get your peace and quiet. Would highly recommend the ocean view rooms, can't be beat especially with the patio including a hammock. Yes, the beach has sandbags and isn't the best for swimming but good beaches are right to the left at the sister resort the Royal (too big for us and adult only). If you want to shop then hit 5th st which is just a block away. The ferry to Cozumel is an easy walk away. The excursions are great, we booked with one of the street vendors and everything went fine but it would probably be better to book with BD travel or Expedia, both in house. Yo're basically paying for travel, the price of all the major attractions can be found online. For example: we did Tulum, Coba, and a Cenote in one day. The price for admission is about $4 for each one but the travel is what costs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us. We are truly happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us and that you fully enjoyed all of our great services and facilities. We are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Beautiful hotel close to shopping.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Close to shopping beach is not great. Your room is ether street side or beach side no garden side. Ask for a king bed got two doubles. Staff was friendly great entertainment at night and the food was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Diane, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our services and facilties. Thank you for your visit and we are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel clean rooms

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Beach views location to Playa
Cons: More staff at bars
Location: Great location walking distance to town beach location great views
First few nights were unbearable parties in room next door you could hear everything, moved rooms to a quieter location. They could use more bar staff asked for beer at bar by pool only had dark beer, saw others getting it, they had to go to lobby bar. Room was not cleaned till late in day. Nice resort food good, however pool chairs all reserved early hard to find spot. Totally prefer The Royal Next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear lin, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us. It is truly important to let you know that our guest's observations are taken very seriously as it is what helps us improve our service standards. Please rest assured that we will address the concerns you have kindly mentioned with our team in order to give the proper follow up. We truly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Great beach hotel in Playa del Carmen

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location, many amenities, service, great food, appealing for couples of all ages and families
Location: perfect beachfront location next to the main shopping district for Play del Carmen. However, when you were in the hotel, it was quiet.
This higher quality but friendly all-inclusive hotel offers the best of all worlds for a relaxed beach vacation. The hotel itself was attractive, clean, and service-oriented. The rooms were not overly ornate but spacious and comfortable. The pool area was lovely, with ample chairs and beachfront access, with wait staff and entertainment staff readily available but not overbearing. The food was one of the highlights, with a beautiful poolside dining room available for buffet dining for breakfast ans lunch with additional venues for dinner. The food was of wide variety and delicious, with buffet stations preparing the food fresh and to order. The hotel also had kids programming, theme oriented entertainment, tour offerings, and a spa. Though everything needed was at the hotel, an added bonus was that the Gran Porto is only steps away from the main pedestrian shopping street in Playa del Carmen, filled with local crafts, upscale stores, and all types of bars and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear Kelly, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us and letting us know how wonderful your past vacations with us were and that you fully enjoyed our great services and facilities. We are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Screwed over by expedia.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We loved the resort, service, etcetera, no complaints there. The complaint is about the Expedia information when we booked. We booked a United flight, and the Expedia info said "free checked bag." When we got to the airport, we had to pay $50 each way to check our bag. We had also upgraded on the Expedia site when we booked. We upgraded from "standard room" to "junior suite" which said it had an ocean view. When we got to the resort, we had a ''street view" and had to pay an extra $210 for a "partial ocean view." We also booked a Country Inn and Suites in Chicago, from which we departed. It said we had free airport shuttle. Well, that was only for certain hours of the day, which it failed to state, so we had to pay $40 for a taxi from the airport. All in all, we paid $350 for extras due to inaccurate information on Expedia. I have used Expedia a lot for travel, but this pay cause me to use a different travel site.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Kristen, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort and letting us know you had an incredible holiday. Thank you for your visit and we are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience!!!!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Nothing but great things to say about the overall experience during our recent stay. The hotel grounds and amenities were very inviting, all staff members were very polite and helpful and the location was dead center to everything. The only negative comment I have about this hotel is that the sheets and towels all had a funky smell. They were clean, but had a funky smell. I would definitely come back and stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us and letting us know how incredible your past holiday with us was. Thank your for sharing you valuable feedback and please rest assured that we will address the concerns you have kindly mentioned with our team in order to give the proper follow up. We truly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Not a VIP Hotel!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The location, the service staff (not the front desk), and the Italian restaurant.
Cons: Sound proofing of any kind, ask the vendors to leave the guests alone, quiet areas to relax.
Location: Great location walking distance Fifth Street and close to the Ultramar to Cozumel.
This is my first bad review of an Expedia VIP hotel, our first complaint to Expedia in years. This hotel is loud! So loud we could not sleep the first two nights (added noise being next to the elevator). We asked nicely several times to be moved as we had no sleep for two nights, and they showed rooms available. On the third night we stayed at a different hotel just to get some sleep. We returned on the 4th night to a new room that had no hot water for showers, and it was still very loud. Two mornings during our stay our phone rang before 8AM and we answered thinking it was help from the front desk, but it was Coco Bongo calling from the lobby trying to sell us, why would they allow that? There is entertainment in the lobby which is nice, but it is impossible to enjoy with the vendors asking for your name so they can put it on merchandise to sell you. There is really not a quiet place to relax on the property. This is the loudest hotel I have ever stayed at and we travel a lot. The food here is ok, nothing to write home about, but not bad in any way. Also, the ocean is very shallow outside the hotel so it is not good for swimming, not a deal breaker. They did send us some fruit and wine which I could walk to the lobby and get 24 hours a day, what I needed was sleep. We did call Expedia and they refunded us a night, which was very nice considering it was not their fault.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Susie, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us. We would like to thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, this is greatly appreciated as it is what helps us improve our service standards. Please rest assured that we will address the concerns you have kindly mentioned with our team in order to give the proper follow up. Thank you for your visit and we truly hope to have a second opportunity of welcoming you back to exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington ky

Great time in Playa

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Great staff, very helpful.
We enjoyed the resort and the Playa Del Carmen area. The hotel is just 2 blocks from the walking street area, shop, bars, restaurants, everything. Quite a nice place. The was our first visit but will likely return to the resort and the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. David, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and letting us know how incredible your past holiday with us was. thank you for your visit and we are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh

Beautiful and friendly

Posted Feb 17, 2017
This was one of best places we stayed everyone was very friendly and helpful. From check In to check out, we had a wonderful time. Food was awesome, never had a bad meal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Caroline, thank you very much for taking the time to share your review regaridng your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort and we are truly happy to read you had such a wonderful holiday with us. Thank you for your visit and we are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: The staff, cleanliness and variety of activities! Very personable staff!
Cons: the beach could be improved a bit. EVERYTHING else was AMAZING!!!
Location: Loved that it was near 5th Avenue. Made a nice, safe walk to shopping!
We had an excellent trip! Was a very relaxing vacation. The Hotel staff, entertainment, food and cleanliness was all above and beyond our expectations! Loved the variety of restaurants included in our hotel all inclusive!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, we are glad to read you had a wonderful holiday with us and to know that you fully enjoyed our great services and facilities. We are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant