Ratings based on 969 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel at the beach

Posted Feb 8, 2016
I want to go back was an excellent place I like that is all inclusive
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Typical All inclusive

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Location near the downtown.
Cons: Drinks and food
Location: On the beach. Lots of shopping and great party scene with restaurants.
There was nothing awful about this hotel. It was just your typical All Inclusive resort with mediocre food. The drinks were terrible. They use a sweetener for the foo foo drinks that made them taste very bad. I would never stay here again, but I am picky about quality food and drinks when I stay at a place like this. Also this is definitely a hotel for the retired. We found much more exciting hotels when we walked around and they had better food and drinks as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: The tranquil pool and sushi bar which was outside my room. Also loved the beach grill. A good family hotel.
Cons: Treatment of a hotel guest's visitors when they come to meet you in lobby not to spend time at the hotel.
Location: Located two blocks from 5th Avenue. Many tours available.
Enjoyed sitting on the beach where they had an excellent grill which served ribs, chicken breast, hot dogs and hamburgers along with a variety of grilled vegetables. Toppings were also available to make your own nachos. One drawback was due to beach elision beach was lined with sandbags. Close to 5th avenue. Enjoyed sitting outside my room which had a swim up pool with a sushi bar. Service was great. Only thing I was not happy with is I had friends staying elsewhere. When they came to the lobby to meet me, they were immediately approached by a hotel employee or security telling them they were not allowed there. They never attempted to go beyond the lobby. I asked the concierge what the policy was and was told the could come in the lobby but no further. This was fine but they were approached at the door and told they could not come in. It is a large hotel and you must be prepared to do a lot of walking. Other than the problem with visitors the staff is extremely accommodating. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Friendly staff and clean hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: We loved the staff, hotel very clean, food good.
Cons: Beach erosion a problem sand bags are ugly!, but walk down beach about 300ft and it is awesome!
Location: 5th avenue is great place to shop, loved walking down the beach, massages on beach cheap and great!
Loved our vacation, had a wonder time. Staff great, good food and excellent drinks! Had massages on beach really cheap and very good!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

DON'T STAY HERE IF YOU WANT TO USE THE BEACH!

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: The room was nice, although our "ocean view" was more of a parking lot view than anything. The beach was only visible at a steep angle out the window
Cons: Ditch the green, slimy, stinky sandbags! Bring in a boat-load of sand to replace the erosion.
Location: The location at that beach is awful.
This is NOT a "beach" resort. There is NO beach! Where there evidently USED to be a nice sandy beach, there are now rows and rows of green, slimy, stinky sandbags! To get to the water, you have to walk over them. This "beach" is totally unusable. One of the reasons we booked this all-inclusive resort was to be able to use the beach, and still use the hotel's facilities (bathrooms, restaurants and bars). If you walk way down the shore, you'll find nice sandy beaches, but if you want to use a public bathroom (say, at a restaurant), you'll have to buy something! They won't let you in just to use their facilities (I don't blame them). This totally negates the benefits of staying at an all-inclusive resort! We ended up just using the pool, which is very nice, but if the wind blows just right, you'll smell the stinky sandbags! Find another place to stay. You will be so DISAPPOINTED here!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Localizaça boa, porém praia imprópria para banho!

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Não fiquei satisfeita com este hotel, pois reservei 2 suítes e eles nos colocaram em uma suíte inferior e com vista para piscina um barulho infernal. solicitei a troca e a resposta que obtive foi que o hotel estava lotado! Por muito custo eles resolveram trocar umas das suítes! Onde as tomadas não funcionavam! É a outra suíte foi trocada no dia seguinte! Na última noite resolveram nos transferi para o hotel the royal play del Carmen. Esse hotel sim recomendo pois fui muito bem recepcionado! Pontos negativos do Gran Porto à praia é imprópria para o banho! Funcionários da recepção dever ser melhor treinados!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Nice hotel great hospitality.

Posted Jan 30, 2016
I loved the Gran Porto. The hospitality of all the staff was the best I have ever had anywhere else. The hotel is very nice and the room was top notch. I would definitly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

On the beach. Very good locisen

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Love the place but the food can be better. This is a place that I going to return . Ask for the room to be on the beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from md

Great location good food but..

Posted Jan 25, 2016
The location of the hotel is great, right in the heart of downtown. Food was great as well. The buffet was not that great for dinner. The Mexican and Italian restaurants were great. Easy to make reservations. Moreno at the beach with the swings and Miguel at the sushi bar and Italian restaurant were awesome. My problem with the beach was that not everyone can get cabanas they are reserved for certain ppl and everyone else has two to pick from and they were not in the greatest condition. Hotel staff could be a little friendlier ESP the front desk and the beach bar employees. I know they are overworked and are busy but a little bit of friendliness goes a loong way ESP if we are throwing a lot of $$ at them. The drinks were always strong and good. Overall it was a great exp not sure yet if we will return. Also, the main beach is rocky and it smells you have to walk away from the hotel to find a swim up beach and the beach bar closes at 11 which we thought was kind of early, atleast stay open till midnight. They don't have straws either so some frozen drinks were tough to drink..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Piece of Paradise

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Not overly large. Quaint with friendly staff. Very clean, good food. Very kid friendly too.
Cons: Can't think of anything, except with you book, if you want a balcony with full view of the ocean book ocean front.
Location: Within a few blocks of shopping. We never needed a car or taxi except to get to and from airport.
We just got back from a beautiful vacation. Our room was a Master Suite that came with cabana. Treated like royalty. The rooms were very clean, stocked fridge, beautiful ocean view from balcony. All inclusive food and drinks were plenty. If you couldn't find anything you would want then you are too hard to please. The staff was very friendly and happy that you couldn't help but enjoy your stay.