Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Grand Disappointment

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Better food and some name brand drinks.
Location: Grand Serenis, Riviera Maya
The staff is very friendly. The rooms are old put clean. The "all-inclusive" is a joke. The food is very cheap and the drinks are worse. If you plan to go be sure to take your own liquor. Guest are only allowed two nights to eat in a restaurant and even the restaurants have a very limited all-inclusive menu. The good food has an extra charge. Also, be prepared to do a lot of walking from one place to another. It is a huge property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2015
The beach was full of seaweed, which seems to be a problem throughout the stretch of beaches. The beach was also VERY rocky. The buffets were mediocre and nothing that was a wow factor. Most of the staff was nice and attentive, particularly deserving of tips; however, a few need service skills.
3 out of 5
for Families
by Marjorie

May consider staying again.

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
Adriane, waiter at the buffet area was superb. He provided excellent service. Price I paid for the room/all inclusive was acceptable and well worth it but the room not quite clean, had a damp smell, and luckily it was the last night of our stay when we found ants and leak when it rained. We love the location, close to TULUM, Xel-Ha, Kantunchi, Akumal Bay, etc. The beach area for the hotel was excellent for Snorkeling and food was okay. I would have given 4 star if it wasn't for the room issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by GrandSirenisRivieraMaya, Hotel Management
Hi Marjorie, Many thanks for your review and for having chosen Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya for your vacation. We always appreciate our guests' contribution, suggestions and comments which help us find out about their preferences. The observations that you mentioned regarding the room’s smell have been brought to the attention of our Housekeeper Manager in order to improve our service for you and for future guests. On the other hand I am glad you enjoyed the service from Adriane at the main buffet, I gladly pass on your compliments and she will be happy that her hardwork has not gone unnoticed. We are happy that overall we met your expectations and would love to welcome you back one day. Carlos Batani Assistant Manager
3 out of 5
for Families
by Carl from Austin

Don't loose your towel card - no negotiating here!

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
Golf cart rises rarely available in this expansive resort but lots of them parked in back lots- we experienced torrential down pours (not their fault) but ended up soaked at every wedding event we attended do to long walks to the front of resort. Additionally, our room was cleaned once during our 5 day stay & when we went to check out they charged us for a missing towel card for the pool we couldn't find!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great stay if you dont slip and fall

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Our stay coinsided with a tropical storm but we found they chose to bury all the seaweed in the sand right at the beach so the sand was dirty and full of dried up seaweed. Also the floors are super slippery when wet. A member of our party slipped in his room from a roof leak and had to go to the hospital. The resort refused responsibility. His leaky roof was an act of god. We saw several people slip and fall on the slippery tiles. The place overall was well kept and decent food provided.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Huge compound; lots to do. Friendly staff

Posted Jun 21, 2015
After driving an hour 1/2 in the rain to get to the hotel, we were greeted at the lobby only to be told we needed to go to the other side reception bec we booked thru Expedia 😒. Check in was a bit chaotic and disorganized. We were then told about all the extra fees to be automatically charged if we ever, even accidentally, use the wifi service, and if we do not return all the room and towel cards originally issued to us. Okay, fine. Then we were taken to our room. First impression: it'd work! Its ground floor-ideal when you have a little one. Inside its roomy and seemed clean but lots of not so obvious filth! One of them, we used the ice bucket to get some ice, the next morning when the ice melted, all kinds of dirt or sorts of sediments collected at the bottom! Gross! Drawers were dirty as well, we opted to leave our clothes in suitcases. Our unit is also next to the utility room and stairs, VERY NOISY! Beds can use some updating, sunken in the middle and hard! Fan in the bathroom never worked the entire time we were there despite repeated request for service, so we just gave up. On the positive, the units are roomy, plenty of room for my little one to move and even ran around. After a day or so the cleanliness of the room improved and towels were well supplied. Staff try their best and were all very friendly; I'd rate them 5 except the ck in reception. Pools were clean, Food & drinks were so so, surrounding area is great, lots of walking.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterford, MI

Nice but noisy

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Staff is very friendly and helpful
Location: Resort is a bit isolated and requires at least a 30 minute ride by car to go anywhere including the nearest town of Playa del Carmen
Let me start by saying that we arrived just as Tropical Storm Bill hit. We spent the first three days eating, drinking and being wet in the torential rains. All the resort floors are tile and extremely slippery when wet. Several guests suffered major falls requiring being ambulanced to the nearest hospital 35 kilometers away including a member of our party. Water leaked into his room, he slipped and broke his eye socket which will require surgery. While sympathic the hotel refused to cover any of his medical expensis. He spent an excess of $8000 usd in medical bills at the local hospital which had to be paid before he could leave. We sent him home after only a three day stay and hopefully expedia will be more sympathatic than the hotel was when it comes to expensis. Elsewise the hotel is open aired - no walls around the hallways - with golf carts driving through the building at all hours of the night. Guests must traverse the walkways through the buildings to reach the next ones and are loud and obnoxious at all hours. We were awaken by this noise at 3:30 am on several occassions. The resort is spread out and requires extensive walking to go from one place to another.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KC, MO

Great all inclusive hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 10, 2015
This was my husbands and my first all inclusive experience and we were so happy with our experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, the hotel had so much to do we only left for one short excursion. The buffets were great but I would pass on the a la carte restaurants, they were the only things we were disappointed in. We would definitely go back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisisana


Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Check out was easy and they sent a shuttle to pick us up with our luggage.
Cons: Stop trying to scheme customers to upgrades to supposedly better!
Location: Nothing unless you take a cab into the city.
At check in we were offered a upgrade to a partial oceanview (cheaper if paid with credit card vs cash) supposedly there was only one left. We declined and was given a room that faced some dried trees. Later we went walk by the other building that was been offered for "a better view" it gladly we didn't fall for their scheme because it faced another building that was under construction. Overall the room was ok, except the horrible view. STAY away from building Chez Room #1204. Great housekeeping! Warning about restaurants: A wedding party had the restaurant we wanted booked so they told we had to choose something else..NOT fair!! El Rancho was good if you like stakes. The buffet was better in the mornings. Very limited items on the room service menu. The beach was just ok, lots of seaweed and rocky, so its better to go in the morning when someone is working to keep it cleaned. Overall the staff was ok, not as friendly as other places. One of the bartenders overlook me one night and took all the other men orders who got there after me, before he even acknowledge I was there--JUST rude! And a lot of walking so just be prepared.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Wonderful Vacation!!!

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: The best hotel I have ever been. My whole family had the same answer.
Cons: On the infrastructure I don't see anything. The sand at the beach due the seaweeds are not the best. There is a lots of corals mix in the sand/
Location: There were many things to do at the resort. Plus many cenotes all around
The Hotel was 5 starts top to bottom. The only reason I gave a 4 overall is that the beach had too much seaweeds. They said that it's not normal that amount of seaweeds but there were too much. We went on the last week of May to the hotel.