Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Just Okay

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Lazy river was best part about this hotel
Cons: most of everything
Location: Lots to do nearby. We rented a car and enjoyed many activities in the Riviera Maya
Unfortunately, I can say I have stayed at better. We went for our honeymoon! I should of spent the money for a nicer resort. The first room we got smelled like mildew. It was also very loud since it was on the first floor. We changed to a different room the next day. It was on the third floor. It was still loud but did not smell. The food was mediocre. The buffet was better than the Ala carte restaurants that we tried. Best meal of the day was by far breakfast. We also chose not to eat at the resort three times as we felt it would be better to eat elsewhere. The shuttle service was lacking. so always had long walks everywhere. We tried to get information from Expedia as to if we were to check out of the hotel if we would be refunded for the unused part of the trip so we could rebook into another hotel but they were not helpful We were supposed to be contacted by a operate department but never were. I learned two thing. I will not be staying at this resort again and I will not be booking through Expedia anymore.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Scam artists

Posted Jun 1, 2017
First off you pay to stay at the Riveria Maya side but they put you up in the Mayan Beach side-which is much less expensive and part of the same resort complex. The reception staff is rude and charge you for upgraded rooms which isn't an upgrade at all because they put you on the cheaper side of the resort anyways but then they knew full well you didn't know the layout and that side seemed closer to the beach..but it wasn't. The bartenders are extremely rude!!! I showed up to the bar which was empty and they just carry on talking amongst each other, a man then shows up and they rush to help him. There are small ants in the room, if you put your iPad down it becomes infested. You need water shoes! The beach is very rocky. The food is absolutely disgusting..every day the same terrible food. Even the supposed specialty restaurants have the buffet food served w a new sauce on a fancy plate-but same thing! You don't get bottled water unless you're a Member, instead you get a gallon jug in your mini fridge that they refill!!!! Wear comfortable shoes because everything is a 15min walk and good luck getting picked up by a golf cart because those guys fly around the resort almost hitting children and basically anyone in their way. The waitstaff on beach n buffet work very hard and are pleasant. Believe the bad reviews and Do Not Stay Here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large Resort

Posted May 19, 2017
Large resort with lots of options, nature walking/biking trials are beautiful, bring your walking shoes alot of walking! And it will take a couple days to figure out the best routes to beach, pools, buffets. Staff are attentive and friendly, good food. We are planning on visiting other locations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapolis, mn

Pros: Amazing beach. Cons: see below

Posted May 7, 2017
This is my fith time in Mexico. I will be not returning to this resort. Beautiful beach with coral reefs (snorkeling gear available if weather permits) and a lazy river were great. Food was not good and I'm not a picky eater at all. Buffet was understaffed. Coffee shop was good. You need to make restaurant reservations right away. We waited for three days and were able get in to only two restaurants with our 8 nights stay here (restaurant food was ok). I actually lost weight while in Mexico which never ever happens 😀. Facilities are huge, be prepared for a lot of walking. Hotel is about an hour drive from airport which felt like a waist of paradise time. I hope this helps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, big, peacefull , good atmósfera,

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Great time peaceful, big, great food snack babecue, service excellent, and only little discrimination for a stupid lady of the service but this no is a responsability of the hotel she was fair
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Sprawling Resort Close to the Beach

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Large Resort, Not Over crowded, Beach BBQ Hut (Amazing Chicken Wings!), Lazy River, Roof Top Bar. Drinks.
Cons: Rooms need updating. The air conditioning was lacking and one of the rooms in our reservation was very musty. Food was mediocre.
Location: Great location, away from the chaos and craze from downtown. Plenty of activities on site. Close to snorkeling excursion locations.
We enjoyed our stay at the Grand Sirenis. It was a perfectly relaxing vacation. The resort is HUGE, and has a lot to offer in terms of activities, food, and views. This is a good resort for family vacations. The buffets and bars were plentiful. The rooftop bar was a great, upscale spot to listen to music and relax.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from utah

Hotel is very large. Plan to walk

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Great rooms. Buildings are far from beach. Beach is fairly small for the amount of people. Bars and beach area close at 6 which really means they shut down at 5 to clean up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dearborn

Great all around, very clean and fresh looking

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Location and size.
Cons: more staff on the managerial level
Location: Downtown Tulum, visit Zara (Clothing store), Bershka, pull and bear.
Great all around, very clean and fresh looking, staff are super nice, Their buffet is very generous on food variety and portions, they do need more staff on the managerial level.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

All we wanted right at the resort!

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The staff at this resort was very friendly. We loved the beach, the pool, the food and drinks. We participated in many activities and enjoyed them all
Cons: The rooms & furniture could be updated. The bicycles could use some maintenance. We thought we had ocean front and got a 2nd floor room - need 3rd!
Friendly staff, good food and drinks and a beautiful beach will bring us back to this resort! We loved that we could be at the beach and then snorkel right at the resort. There is so much to do at this resort. We swam with the dolphins, snorkeled with sea turtles, road bicycles, shot airsoft guns and archery. The pools are nice. We love swim up bars and there were 2 of them. We were able to make reservations for 3 nights. The food all three nights was excellent. The other nights were theme nights at the buffet, so there was something different to eat all the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hola Sandi, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our many facilities here at Grand Sirenis. We have taken on board your comments about the decor in our bedroom and we are currently in the process of renovating all of our bedrooms. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Mexico. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Marco Mendoza Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Spectacular, stylish, clean, safe, beautiful

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay so very much and hope to go back extremely soon. We had a little bit of a hang up with our check-in due to our last minute weekend reservation (we literally made our reservation 20 minutes before we got there), Daniel the supervisor was extremely nice and accommodating. We had to pay a deposit separate from our reservation but it was refunded the next day without problem. All the staff are extremely nice always greeting with hello from the concierge to the people cleaning the property. The property is HUGE and spectacular. Vegetation everywhere, neat/unusual animals can be scene on the property, modern feel in sleek white, botanical gardens, huge pools, and an amazing spot on the beach. Much of that area of the coast is too rocky for swimming but they have made their area accessible. Tours of every kind can be made or done on site. Lazy river, multiple pools, delicious fresh juice bar, very happening pool bar, kids activities, and the food was delicious. We did not originally book with the hotel because we had read some terrible reviews, take them with a grain of salt because this place is spectacular. This is a huge operation and hang ups can occur but the staff is MORE THAN WILLING to make sure you are happy and fix anything as quickly as possible. I have been to multiple resorts in Mexico and to many countries and I can say without hesitation I highly recommend this place.