Ratings based on 1,301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

A little good, a little not so good!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: It was spacious in the large lobby area. Liked the free wifi for my teen. The pools are nice. Beaches beautiful first 2 days.
Cons: Couches in common areas in buildings and individual rooms are tired. More staff in buffet and behind bars.
Location: We only went off property once to Senor Frogs and it was a blast. Careful with taxi drivers. Our ride home was frightening.
I started review before and ran out of space. I'll keep it brief. The good-the staff is all very friendly and helpful The grounds are maintained impeccably The rooms are spacious, showers strong. (Had to move on 3rd day from handicapped room on first floor) shower water traveled out into living space, critters on ground floor patios. We did not need/want handicapped room Food for dinners great, ate in Italian rest 4 times. Mario and Judith are awesome. Breakfast buffet had a lot of options. For lunch it has ice cream too. Marco at the quiet pool is very attentive getting drinks. They come to the beach too. Utilize them! The bars outside take forever, need more staff. The pools are nice, we stayed at the quiet one. The lobby is beautiful The not so good-having to move rooms on day 3. The beach was great only the first 2 days, after that tons of smelly seaweed made it impossible. It took forever to get coffee for breakfast. We'd be ready to go without any. Ordered room service 1 night just for soda not delivered during the day. It took 90 min. and 3 phone calls. The ladies in the spa are very nice, their change was awful. If I didn't have a room credit I would have complained. So, the staff was all super nice. I think they need more at breakfast buffet. Couches in buildings and rooms are tired-at least our rooms. A lot of walking to get around but that was fine for us. Check in and out was fairly quick for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside County

Nice Hotel, beach not so much

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Ammenitties , food, activities
Cons: Dinner reservation system for their Japanese Tepan restaurant
Location: Plenty of fun activities nearby
The Hotel itself is nice , the food is good, but the beach and the ocean water is not what you would expect from the Riviera Maya. The water is dirty with lots of algae and does not have a nice color
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cuautitlan izcalli

muy bien la playa y áreas de albercas, muy bien

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: el servicio, la atención, los alimentos,
Cons: los muebles de las habitaciones, y ser mas cuidadosos en no dar bebidas al cólicas a menores de edad
Location: visitamos los cenotes, playa del Carmen, Valladolid, muy bien
bien el personal muy atento y cordial, las instalaciones bastante confortables
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful resort, front desk not so good

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Different restaurants and quiet pool. Also certain sections for Privilege visitors only.
Cons: Reception service, Butler service, cleanliness of pools, bathrooms, and just general around the resort. There were always empty cups around the pools.
Location: Location was away from everything. Nothing to do close by. We took a taxi to Cancun which cost $72.00 USD round trip.
Customer service needs improvement. Wait staff was Excellent (Marco-waiter at quiet pool) was the best! We payed for Privilege statis, Had a butler (Louis) that would never return your call. waited over 2 hours for luggage to be delivered first day after check in. Food was good. Rooms were ok. Beautiful resort, just needed a little more up keeping, (mold in pool). All in all, we had a wonderful time with friends.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful place but I'll never go back.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Staff were great except housekeeping. We had to ask for towels and or wash cloths everyday. We had to ask to get our room cleaned more than once. All they would ever do is make the bed anyway. Big water bugs in the room. There was a SNAKE in our room one morning. They never, not one single time apologized for anything. If you aren't "Privileged" then you only get bottom shelf drinks. The food was great. If you order room service they tended to decide what or how much they wanted to bring you. Restaurants were easy to get into. The grounds are beautiful. My son was stung by a sting ray the first day. Don't trust Best Day to always be there to help with your transportation. They aren't always there all day. We almost got in a bind with them. WARNING: If you take small kids-we witnessed them serving beer and non virgin drinks to elementary age kids. Oh and the "adult only pool" looks like a day care. Our adult kids have never been to a resort before. They loved it. But for us it was a down grade. Unimpressed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel, better than expected

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Staff!
Cons: Entertainment
We stayed here July 9-16 for our annual family vacation-18 total. I was a bit nervous after reading previous reviews but our stay was great. The entertainment was not what we have experienced in the past at larger hotel chains (iberostar)but the staff did their best. The staff also helped plan both an engagement and birthday dinner during our stay and both turned out wonderful! Our 2016 family vacation was a complete success! Thanks Ocean Coral & Turquesa!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Amazing and Fun!!!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Service, cleanliness, entertainment
Cons: They need to provide transportation from the airport FREE especially since we up grated to premier.
Location: Everything was on the resort. Playa Del Carmen was only 30 minutes away.
We had an awesome experience here. My girls' first visit to Mexico and we can not explain enough all the fun that was had. Our room was one of the best I have stayed in with 3 balconies, very clean, lots of storage and counter space. The food was amazing!!! The people went above and beyond making things fun. Hats off to Sergio, Julian, and Ricky who continuously entertained us! Always something to do both day and night for all ages!!!! We would definitely stay here again! Best thing was the foam pool party!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great value but definitely not top notch

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: entertainment staff, especially Cathy who did the aqua aerobics class
Cons: Remodel the rooms and keep track of customer reports of problems in the room and follow up that problem has been dealt with in a timely manner
Location: The snorkeling at Puerto Morales National Park was excellent - we saw a sea turtle, a reef shark, a lobster, stingray and plenty of colorful fish
Generally speaking, this all-inclusive resort was a great value. We did have a great time. The pool staff, especially Cathy who led the best aqua-aerobics class. However, the rooms needed to be updated and I would not go back due to the multiple problems we experienced. The toilet leaked (into the bathroom floor) and the soap dish in the shower was broken. Service was not ideal because I called about the leaky toilet, each time they said they would send someone right away, but nobody ever came...no fun to get your feet wet from toilet water in the middle of the night. 1. STINKY. There was a terrible musty odor coming from the sink drain, shower drain, and the bathtub drains - it created an unpleasant odor throughout the room. 2. WIFI BAD. The wifi was so spotty and bad that I couldn't get e-mails for three days. I gave up ever trying to search for anything on the internet. 4. POOR SERVICE. Housekeeping came and left, leaving only two bath towels. The room slept 6 people and there were three beds made. When we called, it took so long for the towels to arrive that we had to use old towels to get out to dinner. The TV was broken also for two days, and took three calls over two separate evenings to get someone up to fix it. Two of the nights the upstairs guests decided at 2am to move furniture around, discuss things at the top of their lungs, etc. Calls to the front did not appear to resolve anything - they never called to tell me that they did anything. 5. NO AC in Common
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baja california

Hotel hermoso, al lado de,la playa, maravilloso

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Comodidad, hermoso lugar, habitaciones limpias y super comodas, personal de recepcion y cuartos muy amable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Great Vacation spot

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: This resort wasn't too far from the Cancun airport so travel time to it was relatively short. The proximity to the beach/water was great.
Cons: The room was a little aged, some of the finishes in the bathroom needed repair/replacement, and the couch needed cleaned.
Location: The resort was not close to any large town so we didn't really have anything close to walk to. Cabs are required to go anywhere.
Very impressed with this resort from the first step into the lobby. The resort was maintained well, staff always busy keeping cleaning and making our stay a pleasant one. Probably the best food choices and options of any previous 3-4 Star all-inclusive we've been to, we were not disappointed at all with the food quality either. The resort is very close to the beach and the building arrangements provides easy access to the water. Several pools to choose from depending on the activities you like, from quiet to rowdy. Drinks at the pool bar and everywhere else were mixed to personal taste...sometimes too strong but hard to complain about that! The Foam Party was such a blast, glad we did not miss that. Never used the spa...it was very pricy for a message. The beach was pretty good, the workers stayed busy keeping it as clear of seaweed as possible...no real complaints with the beach or how it was maintained. Our room was an ocean view, 3rd floor and very nice view. Upgrade to the ocean view was not very much so glad we did it. We did not upgrade to the Privilege package which offers one additional restaurant and some other perks, we only talked to one other couple that were Privilege and they didn't seem to feel it was worth the price. Overall we'd definitely stay here again.