Ratings based on 2,515 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kenilworth, NJ

Beautiful

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The resort was beautiful, room was nice and clean and most of all--staff was wonderful and very helpful.
Cons: Please see above "about your experience."
Location: We never left the resort as we just wanted to relax on this trip.
The Valentin is absolutely beautiful, however, a little to Fufu for us. We like vacation time to be a little more laid back. The only breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet (dinner was not an actual buffet) was The Mar Restaurant, which is open air--no air conditioning at all. This was the only restaurant were gentlemen could wear shorts. Being it's outside--it was way to hot to dine there even wearing shorts and there were a lot of mosquitos. They should make La Marche Restaurant the buffet for all three seatings and still have gentlemen be able to wear shorts. While on vacation, everyone doesn't always want to "dress" for dinner. My only other issue was that they supply a coffee maker and coffee, but do not supply any type of milk or cremora or sugar. You need to drink it black. As I said before, the resort is absolutely beautiful and we had a good time--drinks were great--but I will look for something a little more laid back next trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

WOW! PARADISE!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: EVERYTHING! The wildlife: birds, (saw 1 snake), koatis, iguanas, crabs, barracudas in the water! The snorkel trip w/ Barrakuda was great!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: We didn't leave the resort and didn't have to! Boat picked us up in the water to snorkel. Top notch hotel! We used USA-Travels for our transportation.
Everything was amazing! We weren't told no by any staff person and enjoyed everything about this place! Beautiful beaches, wonderful food at ALL restaurants. Wish we would've gone to the Thai food place more! Really enjoyed meeting the GO staff and all of the activities: Dora, Hector, Angel, Leonardo you made our stay so much fun! Miriam in Don Miguel was the nicest and most accommodating! What a blast!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Couldn't be happier

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Stayed for 6 days with my boyfriend, my closest friend and her boyfriend. We all had an amazing experience. Every single staff member you come across is friendly and helpful. The restaurants were yummy, the entertainment was fun, the room was great, and you couldn't get a more beautiful ocean view anywhere! Will definitely come back next year!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fifth Year Stay

Posted Aug 27, 2016
This was our 5th year and as the 4 yrs before, it was really enjoyable. The food, the Staff great, the value. We will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Outstanding rooms, restaurants and pools!

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The room service for breakfast was outstanding.
The resort was nothing less than spectacular and we had an awesome time. The staff were very friendly and we never wanted for anything very long. We had a golden room that was large and very well taken care of and it exceeded our expectations. We hung out at the quiet pool most days and never had to struggle for a seat and it was total rest and relaxation. We had good experiences at all the restaurants and found the food to be very good for an all inclusive. The drinks weren't too strong in the frozen drinks but I had many Crown and Sevens that were really full of alcohol. Top shelf, no problem, just ask. Order room service for breakfast, you wont be disappointed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, LA

Amazing Resort

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The staff was great. Also the amount of things to do.
Cons: Keep the pool bar and the beach bar open a little later. We like to hangout on the beach watch the sunset but the bars closed at 5-6.
Location: We did the Mayan ruins at Tulum, ATV tour & zip line into a cave that we snorkeled which was amazing & we snorkeled the coral reef. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
This place was amazing. It is really clean and feels like home. Everyone was super friendly and the staff did all they could to accommodate to your needs and help make everything amazing. There is so much to do around the resort. The food is all incredible. Highly recommend doing the excursions. We will definitely be back in the future to enjoy another vacation, we did not want to go home. We stayed in building 6 too which was perfect location by the pool, beach and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Amazing hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Wonderful hotel, friendly and efficient staff, right on the beach, lots of great food options, huge pool with multiple swim up bars, daily activities at the pool and throughout the hotel, very comfortable bed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE

Great hotel, super nice staff, and nice beach

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Our stay here was great! The staff is extremely friendly. The beach is beautiful and clean! The restaurants were amazing! They offer a wide array of ativities to do throughout the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Customer service Dpt, Hotel Management
Dear Mark from Katelyn, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is always so lovely to hear from our guest how much there enjoyed the hotel and service we provide. Thanks again and all the best!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taylors, SC

6th time repeat customer but problems this time

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: What's NOT to like - the resort is beautiful! Staff is great and the food/drink are wonderful. Gilberto and Melina are the best waiter/waitress ever!
Cons: Pay attention to guests needs and we will keep coming back.
Location: We never leave the resort - we've done all the excursions, seen the ruins, Isla Mujeres and Play Del Carmen so we are content to just relax and enjoy.
We LOVE the VIM! Over the years we have made many friends with the staff. The beach area is just gorgeous and the water is 10 different shades of blue - so pretty! The restaurants are great and the grounds are really well kept and beautiful. From the time we arrived in our room though, we knew the a/c was not working properly. So we spent the week contacting the front desk, the concierge and (anyone who would listen to us), trying to get some relief from the heat. It was extremely hard to get ready for dinner each night in a HOT room, not to mention trying to sleep at night. Thank goodness for the fan which we ran constantly. Finally after we had been there 5 days and they had made small attempts to fix the a/c each time we complained, they offered to move us to another room. We chose not to since we were leaving in a day and a half and our stuff was everywhere - it would have taken a couple of hours to pack it up and then unpack it! We did have several folks on the staff that were genuinely concerned and tried to help though - Andreas and Armando were unbelievable and the nicest guys ever! We still love this resort and plan to come back, but if something like this happens again - we may demand to be moved immediatly instead of riding it out and sweating to death all week! The resort is a wonderful place to relax and the food and drink and scenery are amazing so that is what we keep coming back for each time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Customer service Dpt , Hotel Management
Dear returning VIM Guest, Thank you for your loyalty and 5 stars feedback. We genuinely love to look after our guests and we are happy to read your positive lines regarding our high level of services. Regarding your not so positive comments, we have taken not of those as to share with the correspondent departments; be reassured that all comments are taken into consideration and are used to improve the guest experience, if needed be. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Mexico. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Recommend this resort to anyone who enjoys adults only resorts