Ratings based on 716 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great Resort

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Lots of great places to be by the pools and on the beach. Shade or Sun, plenty of space, beauty all around. The statues and fountains are beautiful!
Cons: Wrist bands! UGH! Sharp, uncomfortable.
Location: Close to all the sight seeing/snorkeling venues.
The resort was beautiful and had an old world elegance with every modern amenity possible. We truly enjoyed the live nightly shows in the theatre and the mall on property. Check-in was slow, and 3:00 p.m. check-in means not a moment before that, but more like at least an hour after. The wrist bands do need a change as they are sharp where they are cut and the plastic is uncomfortable. The people who work the property are great! They work hard and always have a smile. I have to mention the one manager CINTHIA CRUZ. She asked if everything was going well and if she could help in any way. Our light was not working and it was fixed in an instant!! When you call the front desk to ask for towels or any problem, they are extremely quick in taking care of any issues. We received a champagne and fruit gift from the property which was a nice surprise. Overall, our experience was very good!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel location great, food... ehh

Posted Aug 13, 2017
My wife and I enjoyed our honeymoon at barcelo but we got moved to the Caribe hotel when I booked the Colonial hotel because they evidently overbooked. From what I saw, this was a downgrade. The food closest to our hotel was definitely not as good although the location next to the mall was nice, it was way louder Bruce of the live music throughout the evening. We expected a little more from Barcelo because of other reviews but we were a little disappointed overall unfortunately. The food was lukewarm at 7am, the chips were almost always stale, and the selection at the buffet was oddly limited. I must say that the resort was absolutely beautiful in every way so we thoroughly enjoyed the beach, the pool, and the walks throughout the resort - we just expected a little more from the food for the amount we paid to stay for the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Wonderful for families and couples

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: The service in all of the food areas was exceptional. Everyone was so very friendly and welcoming everywhere we went!!
Cons: We had to call the desk twice to get our refrigerator replenished one day and called for towels on check out day and never did get them.
Location: The location was great - a lot of nearby excursions to choose from. Almost too many!!
Wonderful experience at Barcelo Maya Colonial. Check in and out was fast and courteous. Our room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean but no washclothes; I guess they don't use them in Mexico? Buffet was OK, breakfast was the best. The service in all of the buffet areas, grills and specialty restaurants were exceptional!! The specialty restaurants were good. We didn't have any trouble getting reservations (except for the Steakhouse,) however, we did meet a lot of people who did complain about not being able to get reservations. I didn't meet anyone who had been able to get reservations at the Steakhouse. Now.....Lets get to the point. My husband and I traveled with our 13 year old daughter and our main goal was outside activities. The beaches were great and never had trouble getting lounge chairs but beware, there are large limestone rocks on the ocean floor and if you're not careful, you will trip or fall on them. When the water is clear, you can see them but we had a storm and the water was more turbulent and cloudy which made it hard to see them for a day or two. The pools were very big and clean. Never too crowded. We spent 75% of our time in the pool or ocean and at the pool bar. With the exception of one, the bartenders were very friendly and attentive. We will definitely be going back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pompano beach

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Nice hotel , nice staff ,beach are beautiful , All very clean, good food, all organized
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york ny

Nice hotel depending on room

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Depending on the room you get you may either experience a leaky ceiling by shower head and/or AC that may not run as intended ; meaning it will not be as cold as you would like during hot days which causes dampness all over the room - from the bedroom sheets to the floor. Other than that the hotel is great. Food is so so seems like they serve the same items during lunch and dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of food

Posted Aug 7, 2017
My son and I got very sick from eating the food. It got so bad that my son had to be transported to the emergency room which cost me a lot of money and of course the hotel was not willing to pay for it even though their food was contaminated. I would never go back here. The staff is stupid and dont care about you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017
It was wonderful. Just would like the hotel rooms to be a bit cooler and more outlets in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davenport,Iowa

Amazing

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Everything about this resort was fantastic. I would go back again and again. All of the staff were very helpful and nice. The resort has so much to do even for the little ones. Thank you Barcelo Maya for such a great vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by La Gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear bradley First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Maya hotel for your visit to Riviera Maya and for recommending us to the travel community of Expedia, this is undoubtedly the best reward for us all. Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. We are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure all guests joining into the daily activities are having a memorable moment among us and we will certainly not fail to share your congratulations with the entire team. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LOS ANGELES

amazing

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: don't even know where to start,,,,,ill make it easy....EVERYTHING!
Cons: N/A
Location: LOTS TO SEE,,,,PLAYA DEL CARMEN WAS GOOD...I STOPPED AT A SMALL PLACE FOR A FEW BEERS,.,,WAS ONLY 15.00 TULUM ALSO WAS GREAT!!!!
friendly staff always made you feel welcome....cant complain about the food either,, cant wait to go back...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by La gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear FREDILLAC First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Maya hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Riviera Maya . We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel, not so nice beach.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The hotel was fantastic, beer could've been colder and the beach wasn't that great. Hotel staff was amazing and the facilities are excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by La Gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear Yosmar Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success Moreover, we thank you for your kind words towards our staff, we are glad to hear that they all contributed to your wellbeing whilst staying among us, from the housekeeping team, doing their utmost to guarantee spotless accommodations and installations at all times, our entertainment team with their enthusiasm and energy, inviting our guests to take part into the lively sports and leisure activities throughout the day and our Mini Club team, with their kindness and professionalism taking care of our little guests and ensuring that they have a nice time and bring back home good memories of their holidays among us. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Best Regards