Ratings based on 1,169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Haymarket, VA

Fantastic hotel and great location

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Everything:))))
Cons: The beds are a bit hard for me but i'm used to soft mattresses.
Location: Snorkeling, swim with whale sharks ( a must do), take the ferry to Cancun (20 min),deep sea fishing, jet skiing, stand up paddling
Just cam home last night after a great week at this hotel. Super friendly and service minded staff with good food for being an all inclusive. There was something to eat for everybody. This hotel has a lot to offer, beach,rocks, pool, beautiful pier with a "gazebo", bikes and kayaks to borrow, entertainment and views to die for. Gym, water gymnastics and activities for everyone that want them. Shallow and deep waters, snorkeling on the beach and a very safe environment. The little town is very neat as well, lots of pricey and cheap restaurants and I would feel safe as a parent to let my 13 year old walk there alone during the day. A couple of dancing places and lots of tourist shopping, if you like nick knacks. Another great thing is that one can rent a golf cart and "cruise" the island (an hour to get around)....no car needed at all. I would go back any time:))))
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The security of the location is very comfortable, its access is controlled very well.
Cons: Turn the music down in the dining hall
Location: snorkel, scuba, shop, whale watch, fish
very comfortable and secure, staff is very nice and try hard to attend to your needs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Location, Location, Location!

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Its location.
Cons: ad to go outside to get from hotel to dining/bar areas. Handicap accessibility could be improved.
Location: Downtown Isla Mujeres was busy and the island has some spectacular views!
Spectacular Sunrises/Sunsets! Clear Blue Caribbean Water! Gracious and accommodating staff. Excellent food and drinks! We'd go back in a heartbeat!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

book at your own risk

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Out of a group of 7people, 5 of us ended up with food poisoning. 2 of us from the restaurant, the others from food at the buffet on 2 separate days. A man fell into a lounge chair and was bleeding profusely into the pool and they didn't get anyone out of the water nor did they retreat the pool water with chemicals to make it safe. The grounds and beach smelled of sewer the entire stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Needed rest...Got sick!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Ok, let's start with the little good... The location was amazing! Beach was gorgeous white sand, clean, and unbelievable crystal clear water. The rooms were clean and comfortable. That is it for the good... Now for the bad! My group was seven strong and I am a youth pastor who had just led this group to a mission trip in TIZIMIN which we had been at for 8days. This was supposed to be our time of relaxation and refreshment... Got there 07/23/16 at about noon, hit the beach while our room got ready, then ate at the reservation restraunt at 6pm that night. The food was average, the service was terrible, as the waiter consistently gave plates of food to the wrong people, and the manager hovered over our table off and on the whole meal making us a bit weirded out. All three who got the fish got food poisoning.... That night they puked and had the poops! So bad I had to take my adult leader to the emergency room via taxi at 1am because of severe dehydration... One full bag of fluids and a shot and three hrs at a Mexican hospital... Ugh. She and the other two spent the next day 07/24/16 recovering and couldn't eat anything. Then two more from our group got poisoning from another meal (we think it was the fish off the buffet) and I had to make a midnight taxi run to the pharmacy for medication and gatorades. HORRIBLE SICKNESS! the. We had to leave the morning of the 25th... I got a total of 6hrs of sleep both nights combined because of taking care of the sick... Horrible
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Views and staff.
The staff is very friendly and professional. The views are amazing. The all inclusive is very convenient. There are a lot of options for food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Williamsville, IL

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The location is incredible. Easy access to water activities with the hotel providing a list of things to do.
Cons: Restaurant services including food and drink. Reef conservation is poor.
Location: We did a Whale Shark adventure that was incredible. The marine is close where other excursions can be booked. Rent a golf cart and explore the island.
After reading previous reviews, we were not sure what we were getting into and looked into switching to another hotel. We decided to keep our reservation at Mia Reef and were glad we did. We arrived earlier than the check in time and the staff was very kind. They provided a spot for our luggage, let us obtain a wristband that gave us access to the all-inclusive benefits. We lounged by the beach and walked the Mia Reef grounds until our room was ready. The room was of average size and had a queen bed and a balcony. The downside to the room is no luggage rack, only a table. and one plastic chair. With all the beauty around, little time was spent in the room. The restaurant and bar area is comfortable. The seating is upholstery and hard to keep clean with beachwear worn during meals. The food is good but not outstanding with breakfast being the best. We would have liked to seen more local flavors available. The background music would have been better if it were island music instead of Air Supply and the Bee Gees. The drinks could be colder. They are served in a plastic cup so they warm quickly. Long pants are required for men dining in the specialty restaurant (Thurs.-Sun. only), however, women in thong bikinis were ok in the main dining areas.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Stunning view - best staff

Posted Jul 23, 2016
I first got a room with no view but after I voiced my dissatisfaction the hotel manager upgraded me and my friend, free of charge, to a room with an stunning view of the Caribbean Sea. The staff was the most attentive I have ever seen. The hotel is kept spotless. I had a wonderful and relaxing vacation. Thank you all at MIA.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Best location on Isla Mujeres!!!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
This location is unparalleled!!! The room could have been higher quality, but you're never in the room anyway. The seafood hut had excellent tuna and ceviche, as well as the hotel restaurant. The buffet was what was to be expected of an all-inclusive. Margaritas left something to be desired - very artificial. Overall excellent!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northwest Indiana

Amazing views and water. Top notch service.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The service was outstanding. Everything was easy to find and employees were very helpful.
Cons: The buffet food could use more flavor. More snorkel gear needs to be provided since it is emphasized as a major attraction to the hotel.
Location: Cab fare from the ferry was $4 USD. We also walked into town, an easy 10 minute walk to the main shopping area.
The water surrounding the hotel was amazing. The natural zero depth beach area allowed families and adults to enjoy the water. There was little to no current in the tidal pools but there were plenty of fish to see. We saw tour boats pull up to the reef to allow paying snorkel tours at an area that surrounds the Mia Reef and is free for guests to enjoy. The service was outstanding, we never passed an employee who failed to greet us. The seafood hut was fantastic for a quick snack. Although there were signs of age and wear, which appeared in the process of being fixed, we will return to the Mia Reef for more vacations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit to MIA REEF ISLA MUJERES, CANCUN. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the suite the amazing REEF and the food. I will be sharing your comments with the team as we continue on our mission to deliver memorable service consistently. We would to love to see you again at MIA REEF ISLA MUJERES, CANCUN and have the pleasure to serve you again. Best Regards, Horacio Aguilera General Manager