Ratings based on 979 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Cannot beat the location

Posted Feb 11, 2016
We had a great time. It was a small room and They are still under construction. Like other reviewers state. If you can handle that and realize there are activities outside the hotel in town. You will like it!! Really awesome location. Staff is friendly and enthusiatic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is very nice

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Location is five star quality. Hotel needs some updating. staff is very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Baltimore Maryland

lovely trip to isla mujeres mexico

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: The views of the room and the genuie staff such as the bartenders who were very accomodating !!
Cons: The food was just ok if it wasnt for the fajitas at lunch which were delicious i probably wouldve been dissapointed!!
Location: The location is right close to the town as i said i highly reccomend renting a golf cart and cruising around the island!!
we recently traveled to Isla Mujeres Mexico where we just loved it !! We decided to rent a golf cart our first day there and we loved the town s much that we kept the cart every day!! If you enjoy culture and people this is the part of mexico you want to visit !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chaska, MN

Wonderful Hotel and Staff

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Everything. Staff, cleanliness, cocktails, food. It was all wonderful.
Location: Town is close, nice walk. We rented golf carts for a 24 hour period and drove the whole island and stopped at some fun watering holes.
I read so many bad reviews before we went there that I was not expecting a lot from this trip. We were very pleasantly surprised to find the hotel was wonderful, we stayed in the villas and they were redone and very nice. The bed was awesome, so much so that my husband wanted to know what kind of mattress it was so we could buy one when we got home. Every thing in our room was clean and in working order. The food was wonderful, there were a lot to pick from every day and we never got sick of any of it. The drinks were good and strong, not watered down as at some all Inclusive's. We walked to town every day, some times we shopped and some times we had a meal and drinks, it was the perfect distant to be able to do both if some of us wanted to stay or go to town. The pool was cool but not cold and after a hot day in the sun, it was refreshing to be in. I don't understand why so many have complaints about this hotel. Yes they are working to update the hotel and grounds, but we barley noticed it and was not inconvenienced by it at all. If you want 5 star, stay at a 5 star. If you want to spend less and have a great experience, stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, disappointing facilities

Posted Feb 8, 2016
PROS: Mia Reef has the most breath-taking location on the island. Water is very clear and calm. Also, the buffet was better than expected with amazing service. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Jaime always had a smile on his face and made sure we were hydrated (drinking alcohol) at all times. Our room was clean compared to other places I have stayed at and nothing went missing. CONS: This hotel has NO Wi-Fi in the rooms! Only in the lobby, and it is very slow. I have gone to motels with better wifi than this place. Our room was very small (especially our bathroom) and you could only flush the toilet every 20 minutes or so. I expected a jacuzzi or a bath tub at least, but the bathroom was so small only one person can go in at a time. Also, our room had no view at all. I guess all the all-inclusive package rooms are given these rooms. I asked for a room with a ocean view and they wanted an extra $50 for the night. There was no other activities or game rooms at this hotel. With no wifi or other amenities to offer, there isn't much to do on a rainy day at this resort. Also, I'm not sure if it was the ice in the cocktails or the food, but my girlfriend got the stomach virus and was not feeling good on our last night here. Overall, if you are looking to stay at a resort to relax, find peace, and avoid using the internet this is the place for you. If you are looking for amenities and more fun than relaxing, then I prefer staying in Cancun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good for all

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Great place for snorkeling and swimming in the ocean. The hotel has amazing views. A bit small and one restaurant but renovations are happening and should be much better when done. A very clean simple all inclusive resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis MN

Nice hotel, beautiful beach/ocean views.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Very relaxing areas to enjoy.
Cons: A dresser or suitcase stand would've been nice, but we know they are remodeling too. They do have hair dryers. Just ask if not in the room.
Location: The town is in walking distance or rent a golf cart to see the entire island. Lots of different restaurants to eat at. Beaches are very nice.
Loved this hotel. Very low key atmosphere. Villa was very clean and quite. Food was very good and always had on hand. Staff was very nice and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Incredible Location

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Location and staff were incredible.
Cons: The quality of the food, the price is a little high for all inclusive for what you get/ star rating.
Location: Out of this world location! Short 5 min walk to the market street that offers such a lovely variety of bars, restaurants, shopping, Playa Norte.
The hotel is located ideally close to the downtown area of Playa Norte, so a short walk to wonderful restaurants that offer fresh seafood at a very reasonable price. The hotel is undergoing some improvements at the moment which is going to be great for future travellers once they are done. The food was the most disappointing aspect of our stay for the price we paid to be there. Only the buffet was operating as they were working on the one a la carte restaurant, and the quality of the food was not consistent during our stay. We went into town to eat several times and were never disappointed with that experience. The staff was amazing. Several of them - Luis at the bar in particular- went out of their way to ensure our stay made us feel like VIP guests. There was never a problem getting a beach chair, the snorkling was incredible in the bay, the sea views were stunning. The hotel charges a premium for it's location but overall impressions are almost worth it. We will definitely return to Isla Mujeres to stay but will likely look for a cheaper option since the all inclusive meals/drinks is not good value for money at this particular resort with their limited menu($1800 PP). Rent your golf cart downtown - $350 pesos less from the delivery to the hotel option.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qro., Mex.

hotel sobrevaluado en isla mujeres

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Vista al mar.
Cons: Creo que ya fue explicado en párrafos anteriores.
Location: No hay grandes opciones, un parque acuático (garrafón), lo demás nada espectacular.
Lo que no es discutible es la vista del hotel, de ahí en fuera deja que desear el "todo incluido", y pese a haber obtenido un "descuento", el pagar mas de $4 500 por noche no lo vale. El primer día llegamos tarde, para esto ya había cerrado el restaurante, en teoría está la posibilidad de servicio a la habitación, y al llamar nos piden que esperemos 30 min mas, que todavía no tienen el menú; tras 30 min nos asombra el menú, una deliciosa hamburguesa con un refresco, sin más opciones, eso realmente fue decepcionante. Al día siguiente intentamos "reservar" al restaurante, que ya no había cupo. En el resto de opciones para comer la comida nada espectacular. Lo comparo con ME cancún, un costo similar y una diferencia muy grande en la atención, calidad de alimentos y no se diga instalaciones. Por último, solicité mi factura y es increíble que el hotel no quiera emitirla, que debo de pedirla a expidia (la vía en que hice mi reservación), y expidia me dice que ellos no emiten facturas por ser empresa estadounidense. En fin, veamos cuanto tiempo dejan este mensaje visible. SUERTE!...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: They are obviously in the process of remodeling, my hope is that things will improve once this has been completed.
Location: Definitely rent a golf cart for the day! It was fun to explore the South part of the island. Recommend Mango Café for breakfast & or lunch!
I had read the reviews on staying at the Mia Reef, so I was aware of some of the issues people were experiencing prior to going. Here was my experience.... Pro's: Location, being able to snorkel right off the hotel site (recommend bringing your own snorkel gear), walking distance to town. Con's: NO hot water ~ very cold showers!, scratchy sheets, difficult to get washcloths replaced (seemed strange and we were not the only ones), food ~ with the exception of the omelettes at breakfast, Wi Fi only available in the lobby, Every time we wanted to play pool, we had to track down the balls which were guarded by the "entertainment" person who seemed annoyed that we were asking for them.We kayaked once, and again she seemed annoyed that we were asking. What I wish I had known prior to going is that the safes in the rooms are not safe at all. I was missing over $100 out of the safe. I noticed it about three days in when I went to exchange American money for Pesos. I asked at the front desk who had access to the safe, and was told only the security guard did. I had no way to prove the money was stolen, so I did not pursue it, but it was a major bummer. I will never leave money in a safe while traveling ever again :( I'm not sure if I will ever go back to the Mia Reef, if I do, I would not do the all inclusive again as the restaurants in town are so good.