Ratings based on 1,041 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, superb location.
Cons: rooms are a bit musty, and slightly aging. Fresh drinking water should be somewhere in the hotel. Coffee is not great.
Location: Restaurants, spa, farmer market, walking
Location and hotel staff are the best features. The front desk was very responsive helping me sort out an issue with shuttle bus. Rooms need to be renovated/refreshed but good enough. Thank you for a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Staff make the stay perfect!
Cons: The initial Concierge was very unhelpful; however, I returned to the front desk after he was off duty and received help above and beyond expectations
Location: Close to beach, close to restaurants, close to main street with local vendors.
All the staff were great, food in the restaurant was wonderful and reasonably priced. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Only 3 block walk to beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Staff very helpful

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Had wonderful relaxing week! Such a lively place in a wonderful boutique hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very beautiful Oasis on Mexico.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: It was everything and more. Loved every bit.
Cons: It was all great.
Aventura Mexicana was a great place to stay in Playa Del Carmen. The staff was excellent and was very friendly. I will definitely recommend this place again in the future. The Mayan Bistro was excellent too eat and have drinks. Gabby was a very nice and friendly at the Bistro. It was a very beautiful place too stay and was beyond our expectations. Thank you too everyone else they were very helpful with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Carlos, CA

Great bang for your buck

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: I liked everything but I was most impressed with how beautiful the grounds were. Very well kept; obviously lots of pride in how it looks.
Cons: The yoga classes are great but I'd like to see them offer more per day because they are pretty crowded
Location: Avenida Quinta is the main drag and it is the heart of Playa. That area is just 1/2 block from the hotel
I typically stay at higher end, luxury hotels but I was traveling without the girlfriend and was going to be on excursions all day every day. Given that, I decided to stay here since it looked pretty nice on Expedia and other places. I was very comfortable and happy there. One thing that struck me is it is a mini jungle or terrarium without being over done. The grounds are just full of beautiful plants, flowers, and trees everywhere and they surround the 2 pools on site. The hotel is 1/2 block from the main drag yet not that noisy which was a surprise. I was very happy with the price I paid. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Awesome location and a/c. Good pool. Enjoyed the breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Intimate, family experience

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Cons: The rooms could use an update but my only real complaint is that the lights in the bathroom area are florescent and cast a greenish glow, which is unp
Location: great location, close to the nicest beaches. They had an arrangement for discounts at Kool Beach Club, and we went twice during our stay.
Nice, older hotel with lots of character. This is the Playa I remember from years ago. The hotel pools are lovely and a great break from the heat of the day. The kids were in and out of them throughout the day and it felt like our own private courtyard garden. Staff were wonderful and helpful. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are simple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Spring vacation with family

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Super comfy beds, quiet rooms especially so close to 5th. Nice having breaky every morning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Canada

Right choice for us

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Right in the heart of playa. Great accomodation. Pools available for children, excellent wifi,free parking, complimentary breakfast and few steps to dining, night life, gym anf few beach clubs to choose from. It is very safe to walk to 5th avenida in the night. We throroughly enjoyed our 12 days . We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

lovely hotel close to everything

Posted Mar 28, 2017
The grounds are so peaceful and pretty, we loved the pool. The rooms are spacious and clean but could use some repairs. Bring your allergy medicine of you have issues witn cats. There are many on the property.