Ratings based on 979 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Nice hotel close to shopping and eating places

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Cons: To have a heated pool.
My family and I (7 people in total), had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The location is perfect. It is walking distance to the beach, shops, eating and also close to a street where taxis are accesible. Our room was facing the street and we had no issues with loud noises at night or during the day. The front desk staff was very helpful. They provided us towels for the beach and also allowed us to print our boarding passess! The breakfast is wonderful and very complete. They offer several options to choose from on the menu. All breakfasts included toast, coffee or juice. The burrito was excellent! They also complement your plate with fruit. The restaurant staff was wonderful. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to visit Playa del Carmen. I usually don't post reviews, but I believe it would help others decide where to stay, as it helped us make the decision not knowing what to expect. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aventura Mexicana

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Close to 5th and beach
Location: Very close to everything.
Just returned from there and had a wonderful time. Often times the pictures look much better than what the place really looks like. Their pics are accurate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent/Amazing Hotel - except Wifi

Posted Nov 27, 2016
If you are looking for a hotel to stay at Playa del Carmen that is close to the main street (5th Avenue) and with excellent staff service, food, amenities, and reasonable priced, then Avendura Mexico is the place to stay. The staff was extremely helpful, rooms very clean (bed was extremely comfortable) and the complementary food every morning was so delicious. The hotel is located so close to 5th avenue that it was near enough to enjoy yet far enough that the load restaurants and bars didn't effect our sleep. The only complaint is that the Wifi service (as read with other customers) didn't get service in the rooms, yet there was service in the common areas. For those that need Wifi in the rooms, i can see if that is a problem. The staff did try to help but unfortunately no difference. So fantastic hotel, would want to go again, and would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in Playa del Carmen
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Outstanding place to stay for service, location

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, quiet, excellent price, breakfasts, employee service
Cons: Our room had a sliding door to enter which meant you need to use the key to lock yourself in. We had them install a deadbolt to our room
Location: Only a few seconds away from fifth avenue where all the action is. Yet, no noise in the hotel grounds.
My family just got back today from spending eight days at Aventura Mexicana. Outstanding hotel for many reasons. The place has a jungle-like atmosphere even though you are in the heart of Playa del Carmen. You are just a twenty second walk to the famous fifth avenue activities. Yet, with all the noise on that street, you don't hear a thing. The staff was amazing. They could not stop asking if we needed anything. The place is also spotless. They have so many employees cleaning the place all day and into the evening. Over and over they keep the place spotless. The double queen bed rooms we had were much larger than we expected. The beds were also very comfortable. The rooms had a good size refrigerator but no microwave. With fifth avenue next door, you would not need a microwave. Our rooms had 1 sliding door to enter.Others had 2. Suggest the rooms with 2 entries The hotel includes a free breakfast which you pick from eight choices off the menu. All breakfasts are made to order and they serve it to your table. Excellent quality and portions. The grounds were very tropical and then they were being attended to every day for several hours. They certainly take pride in their work. There are two extra bathrooms that are located outside of the rooms. They are maintained nearly every hour of the day. One of the great benefits of this hotel is how close it is to fifth avenue. Somehow, you don't hear any noise from that busy street. Overall, we would surely come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Very nice hotel close to everything

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Had a fabulous stay. Loacation was perfect, 1/2 block to 5th Ave's food, fun and shops. Zenzi beach club is very nice as is Patio 8 and Oasis just to name a few. The hotel staff was wonderfull, all of the front desk personnel were so helpful, cheerful and polite. There were always staff cleaning, painting etc. special shout to Lupita room attendant. Extra special shout to Mayeli, Rodimiro, Dora and Sara the breakfast crew and those in kitchen. First meal of day (outside patio) was always good with service friendly, courteous and prompt. Room 1205 was roomy and comfortable. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but problem finding good beaches

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Town was big and smell bad in many areas smell bad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

It was a good stay.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Clean and good location.
Cons: Treated poorly by the front desk and owner/manager because be booked through an online travel agency such as Expedia.
Location: Beach and 5th Avenue.
It was a good stay, sadly the front desk and even the owner treat people that come from Expedia poorly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Andy - Ownership Group, Hotel Management
Hola Escartin, I apologize that you had a problem. I can assure you since we are one of Expedia's most popular hotels in Playa Del Carmen, we treat Expedia guests like all our other guests, like part of our family! The owners of hotel live in the US but we do follow up on any comments posted on social media. I tried to find your contact via Expedia but they had no record of your name having booked a reservation so that made it impossible to contact you directly to address your concerns.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Solo buena ubicacion

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: La ubicacion es lo unico rescatable del hotel, a metros de la 5ta avenida.
Solo es buena su ubicacion. La atencion del personal mala, solamente un recepcionista fue muy amable. La limpieza mala, usamos tazas de cafe y té y durante 3 dias la dejamos para ver si eran capaces de limpiarlas y no hubo caso. El baño lo limpiaban mal. estabamos en el segundo piso y no hay ascensor. El desayuno es a la carta, para comer algo rapido y sencillo, pobre para nuestro gusto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The Staff is extremely friendly and very attentive

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The restaurant was excellent and the staff outstanding.
Location: Avenue 5th has everything you need and more. The hotel is within a few blocks from the beach.
The hotel has a very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. The grounds are well kept and there is something unique in every view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Aventura Mexicana - great location, good value

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very clean, the on-site restaurant is good, the staff are friendly and you can not beat the location.
Cons: Our room was on the third level and the stairs were steep. I will request the ground level when I return.
Location: Very convenient to 5th Avenue shopping and great restaurants.
I stayed at the Aventura Mexicana last week and will go back when I visit Playa in the future. The location was great since it is half a block from 5th Avenue and walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Last year I stayed in an all-inclusive resort but felt I overpaid since most tours/excursions include meals. This year I felt more confident about the location and wanted to try local restaurants. I spent much less this year and did not miss any of the all-inclusive resort amenities. Aventura is very clean and is actually a combination of two hotels so they try to separate families from adults only. I'm so glad that I tried this and I will return!