Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

Amazing resort

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The resort is amazing, staff does wonderful job, the rooms need a little renovation, although we were barely in a room ever, it's just so much to do and enjoy!!! Love it and recommend it to everybody, unforgettable vacation!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Awesome beach.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Room was a little small but the resort was excellent. No extra excursions necessary. plenty to do in resort. Beautiful beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

The beach was close to hotel and it was nice.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The staff throughout hotel works very hard and are very nice.
Cons: Food and snacks throughout hotel and keeping the times open later at night for families that get back from excursions after 10p like the xcaret park.
Location: Very convenient to go to xcaret, xel-ha, and tulum.
The food offered at hotel buffet was not good. Most of the time it was cold. The different buffets throughout hotel served same disgusting food. The nicer restaurants throughout hotel very limited reservations and hard to get a reservation!! The strikers "bowling alley" food horrible! The hotel needs to remember that excursions out of hotel take the whole day and when your back there is no where to eat because buffets by pool close early and the buffets throughout hotel also close at 10p. Very disappointing to stay at at all inclusive hotel and no food to eat but at a bowling alley which really has no food!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from d.m

Very disappointing

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Very disappointed. Rooms are old and need renovation. I wont recommend this resort to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel avec de belles piscines, à côté de la plage

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Restaurants, installations sportives, mer toute proche, piscines....
Cons: Les interlocuteurs expedia dans cet hotel ne sont pas professionnels. Ils devaient s occuper de notre transfert retour mais n ont rien gère.
Location: X caret - cenotes - temples maya ( coba - tulum). - playa del carmen
Restaurants plutôt bons, un personnel aux petits soins.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Beautiful hotel! Would visit again

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: We booked several excursions right from the hotel, an ATV ride to a cenote' and snorkeling/catamaran tour. Both were quite nice experiences.
Cons: The 7-7:30 restaurant times book up way too quickly. Make sure you book immediately upon arrival or you will be eating at 5pm every night!
Location: Playa is only an inexpensive cab ride away and a great way to spend the day!
This hotel was wonderful! The newly updated rooms were so beautiful and comfortable. The pools, beaches and facilities were very clean, and the hotel staff was accommodating and friendly. We will definitely revisit this hotel. One thing, if you make reservations at the Caribe, your room may end up at the Beach. It's really not a big deal, the rooms are the same(make sure to ask), but if you want to be closer to the center of the combined resort towers, you need to make for sure you are booked in the Caribe, as the Beach is the farthest tower on the property. The Expedia booking does not explain this possibility at all. Also, this hotel is in the Playa area. When we booked a shuttle, we were told by Expedia it was in a different hotel zone. When our ride arrived, he wasn't prepared to go to the Playa area which is really where the hotel is, and we had to pay an upcharge to get on another shuttle to that area. I called Expedia before booking the shuttle to make sure I was booking the right zone, and their information about hotel zones was inaccurate. Make sure you book the right hotel zone!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Wonderful family friendly hotel.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Grounds, pool, beach, plenty to do for the kids. In my research no other resort in Riviera Maya has this much for children to do.
Cons: Food- buffets were alright. I'm not from Latin America/Mexico so it seemed it catered more towards that traditional cuisine.
Location: Plenty of excursions to do. They have on-site dolphin swimming. It was excellent you can purchase pictures and a video of your experience.
Absolutely beautiful grounds, pools and hotel! The beach especially by the Caribe and Beach section of the hotel chain (where we stayed) was rock free and perfect for swimming. Near the other hotels the Tropical and Colonial- swimming was harder because there were lots of rocks. The pools were extremely clean. Palm trees provided plenty of shade and were beautiful. By the pool there is plenty of shade as well. Room- We were on the second floor. It was a bit noisy. People above could be clearly heard. Not sure if hotel can do anything about that. Request a room on the third floor near the stairs. Room was clean and house keeping did a super job. Everyone at the resort was extremely friendly and nice. Most guests at this hotel are Spanish Speaking- I'd say about 30-40 percent American, We loved it though-was a great experience for our kids to see another country and learn a bit of another language. Only people who were drunk by the pools were the Americans! All staff does speak English. Some better than others though. Spa was top notch. Ask for Coral for a massage. On site photographer as well. For 150.00 you can get 10 photos. Ask for Yamin he was great. Breakfast was awesome. Omlette bars, crepes, fruit-you name it. Lunch was alright. Same food at each buffet. My only complaint was the breakfast food. Dinner at buffets was different theme every night. The A la Carte restaurants were o.k except for the two Japanese- Kyoto and Tokyo were top notch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Exceptional minus the food and watered down drinks
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, beautiful beach/pools, excellent food

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We had a very nice vacay in Mexico. The staff made us feel good. Beautiful hotel, good food and nice people. The staff were polite, respectful and honest. I highly recommend Barcelo Maya Hotel. We really enjoyed our tours to Xcaret and Chichen Itza. We had a wonderful experience with the dolphin at Delphinus Trek. Nice staff in all 3.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Great place overall. My only complaint if I had to think of one was the walls in my room were a little thin and you could hear too much banging/noise from above and in walkways. Resort is properly rated at between 4-5 stars.