Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel for short stays

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Location, great staff, very clean, great air conditioning, coffee maker and fridge in room, large balcony. Bed was firm but we liked it.
Cons: Improved WiFi; art/plants in the niches in the lobby; more loungers around pool; room security (only the door handle locked - was flimsy).
Location: Tour sales people everywhere down 5th Ave. 3D museum and Aquarium were great - about 10 block walk away. Great restaurants everywhere.
Location is excellent. One block from Cozumel ferry. 1/2 block from 5th Avenue. 1/2 block to the beach. Staff are absolutely great. Only problem was the noise surrounding the hotel in the evenings if you want to sit out on your balcony - but out of the hotel's control. The WahWah bar is 1/2 block away - played until 11:00 or midnight most nights - a couple of times until 1:30 a.m. The Mayan drummers and dancers in the square across the street begin late afternoon and play until about 10:00. The Voladores (flyers from top of pole) in square begin in the afternoon until late evening - flute and drum are heard constantly. Combine all three noises together and you get sensory overload. Would recommend hotel to friends for a 3 or 4 day stay only - we were there 3 weeks +.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

My wife and I spent 5 days at Melissa.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Staff was very friendly and we loved the location.
Cons: Kleenex could be provided in the rooms.
It has a super location- 30 steps from the beach and less than a block to 5th Ave. the location also causes a problem - street and party noise. Most of this calms down by 9:00 at night, but families with smaller children should be aware of this noise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great place if you want to be in the middle of all the action. Once inside its nice and peaceful but Grand Central on the streets... This is a positive for 95% of people going to Playa. Rooms and staff are def above average for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good location but a few concerns

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Overall, the location is the main attraction of this hotel because it is really close to the beach.
Cons: We paid 150 mexican pesos per day for a parking spot far away from the hotel. We had to ask the staff for more shampoo and towels three times.
Location: Like I said before the location is the only good thing about this hotel.
I traveled with my friend and stayed for seven days in this hotel. We believe that Casa Melissa should work to improve on its costumer service and the maintenance of the building. When you are a paying a considerable amount of money for a hotel your expectations are high. Sadly, this hotel needs to pay attention on important details for the costumers. Poor costumer service from front desk staff. We complained because the sliding door by the balcony was broken and it wasn't fixed. Also, there wasn't enough water to take a shower most of the time we had to wait up to 15 minutes to had enough water for a simple shower.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean and convenient

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed there during our visit to playa del Carmen. Location is great. Super close to ADO but terminal and Cozumel ferry. Just next to the famous 5th avenue we're all the restaurant and night life happens.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, convenient and clean hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
We booked his hotel because it is close to the ADO bus station and the ferry to Cozumel. The room was nice & clean, the bed was big (king size) and comfy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We already had the chance to come back and spend there another night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, United States of America

Our 2nd time staying here!

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Water from bathroom too weak!! No Parking space
Location: Really nice location everything close by
Needs more cleaness! They have tine more detail in the bathroom!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Robbery at hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Security from theft
Location: Close to ferry terminal
Originally in room 352 which had a safe in it. We then moved to room 351 because of an unresolved toilet flushing problem. Room 351 did NOT have a safe in it so I transferred my money to Andrew Stepien's room ( Room of a dive friend of mine) He was in room 353. I kept a tabulation of the American and Canadian dollar bills and upon counting the total on Saturday September 24 2016 I discovered that I was down $264.00 USD and $70.00 CDN. Andrew Stepien was down $260 USD. I complained to the gentleman at the reception desk that night and requested to use the phone. He stated that the procedure was to contact his boss first and would not let me use the phone. I left the hotel, found two police officers in a police vehicle and they instructed me to issue the complaint at a justice department. I got back in contact with my other two friends (Andrew Stepien in 353 and my room mate in 351 and we took a cab and filed a robbery claim with the police. The claim I have at home in Toronto. I work in Moose Factory Ontario. I will be back in Toronto on Oct., 7 2016. Andrew Stepien has a copy of the police report. Also the zipper of my backpack in 351 was broken on Friday September 23. Upon seeing it I thought that I must have done something to it, but on the day I noticed that I was down money, I noticed my second upper zipper was broken also. Glen Rodgers
5 out of 5
by Veronica

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Excellent location & friendly staff

Posted May 18, 2016
I was surprised to have found a nice, quiet, and conveniently located hotel. It was very close to the beach and restaurants on 5th avenue. The room was comfortable and with a view of the park where the locals had public shows and entertainment for everyone. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. We had a great experience here.