Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Perfect location close to the Cozumel ferry

Posted May 4, 2017
I chose this hotel because it was close to the ferry to Cozumel. It was also close to free local entertainment, shopping, the bus depot, so all of this was a bonus. I rode the bus to the airport and it was less than half a block away. there are nightly shows of Mayan dancing in the adjacent square. The partial ocean view looked over a trashy vacant lot, but that's Mexico! For the price it was perfect for me but I didn't spend much time there other than sleeping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location!

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Quiet for sleeping. Perfect location. Good value.
Cons: A bit dated. Pool is pretty small but beach is literally half block away.
Location: Town square is across the street. Beach is half block. ADO bus station and 5th Ave is half block with shopping, restaurants, and bars.
Literally steps from 5th Ave and the beach. Walked off the ADO bus and half block to hotel. A good basic room - clean, comfortable, air conditioned and quiet for sleeping. I was worried there could be noisy bars and restaurants but it was amazingly quiet at night. Drums from performers in the town square were loud during the day but ended in the evening. Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, Arkansas

price is reasonable

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Cons: offer wash cloths. Do more often maintenance on showheads for build up. Our shower was more of a drip.
Location: Close to ocean and port to Cozumel. Some of the higher end shopping is on this side of town.
My only gripes are. No wash cloths. yes that's right they don't issue wash cloths, 2 large towels 1 hand towel. The reservations were a challenge to get corrected. In the end my brother and his wife ended up on 2nd floor 2 double beds, when they reserved 3rd floor ocean view. he was not happy. Beds are hard ,so if that's your thing you're good. I don't and killed my back. Pillows were lumpy king size. Had to swap with my sister in law so we resolved that ourselves. Staff were very nice and friendly. The price was very reasonable and they are a block walk to the ocean. They do at least have an elevator, so no lugging luggage up 3 flights of stairs. All and all our stay was ok , nothing special just a room with a bed, fridge and low water pressure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Close to all the activities in Playa del Carmen. The hotel could use a few minor upgrades, but overall we felt it was a great location and great value. Staff were wonderful and room was spotless everyday, so for us, it was perfect
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Perfect location for walking

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Better Internet service. Phones so you can make restaurant reservations. Bigger water heater so everyone can get a warm shower.
Location: Close to shops and dining.
As so many people have stated, you cannot beat the location. I do not walk too well, so being surrounded by all the bars, restaurants and shops was perfect for us. It is also right next door to my favorite beach club Wha Wha. We did book a king room months in advance, but when we checked in we had two double beds in our room. The rooms have no phones which was an inconvenience as our cell phones did not work in Mexico. I purchased Skype phone minutes, but the internet is really bad at the hotel also and most of the time the calls were dropped. Or the person I was calling just could not hear me. If internet is important to you, then this is definitely not the hotel for you. It is basic, clean and the staff are friendly, but it is obviously a budget hotel. By 9am there is no hot water so unless you like cold showers you better be up and about by 8am. Also we had to keep the bathroom window open because the drains did not smell too pleasant. As we were only in town for a week this time, the hotel was fine for our needs. We were out most of the time and just needed a place to crash. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone visiting Playa for the first time. But if you have been to Playa many times it is OK for a quick stop over. If you are a light sleeper then you will not sleep well with the live band playing weekends at Wha Wha. You had better have ear plugs or just sit on your balcony and enjoy the music like we did!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel for short stays

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Location, great staff, very clean, great air conditioning, coffee maker and fridge in room, large balcony. Bed was firm but we liked it.
Cons: Improved WiFi; art/plants in the niches in the lobby; more loungers around pool; room security (only the door handle locked - was flimsy).
Location: Tour sales people everywhere down 5th Ave. 3D museum and Aquarium were great - about 10 block walk away. Great restaurants everywhere.
Location is excellent. One block from Cozumel ferry. 1/2 block from 5th Avenue. 1/2 block to the beach. Staff are absolutely great. Only problem was the noise surrounding the hotel in the evenings if you want to sit out on your balcony - but out of the hotel's control. The WahWah bar is 1/2 block away - played until 11:00 or midnight most nights - a couple of times until 1:30 a.m. The Mayan drummers and dancers in the square across the street begin late afternoon and play until about 10:00. The Voladores (flyers from top of pole) in square begin in the afternoon until late evening - flute and drum are heard constantly. Combine all three noises together and you get sensory overload. Would recommend hotel to friends for a 3 or 4 day stay only - we were there 3 weeks +.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only thing this hotel has going for it, is being c

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Orbitz
If you threw a Sleeping bag on a concrete floor, would be as comfortable as the bed, no keys for the lock boxes, so just leave your important documents somewhere in your luggage, and take a chance on that! And don't plan on taking a hot shower cause that probably won't happen either! If you happen to get a room facing the ocean you'll probably be awake till 3:00 am till the live band plays its last set for the night!! Never again!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night in playa

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself is very nice and has some unique features and look. Location is great and it was easy to find. It seems they could easily take this to the next level with a few modifications. The pillows aren't very comfortable, there was very little water pressure, no information in the room about check out time or the wifi. Very few towels or towel hooks. Also, there.was no deadbolt on our door which was strange. We had a good night's rest and left early so overall it was fine, but not luxurious.
4 out of 5
by Jon

All about location, and affordable! Must stay!

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Casa Melissa was a last minute booking for us and was chosen mainly for the price and location. It does not have any amenities specifically, but we didn't care because of the amazing location. The room turned out to exceed our expectations! It was clean, had a comfortable bed, and had a great view. We had an A/C issue the last night there which made it a little warm, but I know they would have fixed immediately if we had stayed longer. I read some of the reviews before we stayed that talked a bit about the noise, but we never heard a thing once we slept, and had the door closed and A/C on. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michgan

EXCELLENT location!!! VERY safe!!!

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: Turn refrigerator on before guests arrival, more chairs on terraces, Hot water for showers, quieter air conditioner, second mirror in room, phone.
Location: 1 block from the beach, two blocks to ferry to Cozumel, two blocks to Senor frogs, two blocks to 5th Ave, two blocks to Taxi stand with rates posted.
Loved our stay at Casa Melissa. Within walking distance to so many places and on the quieter end of PDC. Taxi station, Ferry and ADO two blocks from hotel to take you on day trips. Must have dinner at Senor Frogs and dance in the ocean under the moonlight :)