Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel for honeymooners , paradise feel.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: room,private pool,beach, pool , service. Very special hotel
Cons: pricing for restaurants and tours.
Location: nothing to do nearby .15mn away from Playa del Carmen which was fine.
Luxury hotel , a real paradise feel . Restaurant extremely expensive. 15mn away by taxi from Playa del Carmen. Will come back. Loved it !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Great staff a little pricey but lives up to the viceroy name
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Amazing stay, everything about this place was perfect
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

NO KIDS!

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was amazing, staff was excellent. The palapa's are private, good small hotel for couples with no kids.
Cons: The restaurant experience was disappointing. The dining left a lot to be desired was over priced lacking somehow. A simple massage at the spa was $170
Location: This hotel is very isolated. It's a $40 taxi ride round trip to Playa Del Carmen for dinner so most people stay on site and dine.
The palapa has your own private pool, outdoor shower, hammock and lounge area. Yet only a short walk to the pool and ocean. Unfortunately, an 800 room hotel has been built next to the resort in the past few years. The nights that I stayed here there was music blasting from the hotel next door from noon until midnight. It ruined a nice quiet dinner and I had trouble falling asleep.The palapa's have palm leave roofs so you hear everything outside. I mentioned this to the administration office and their reply was that there is nothing they could do about it. However, when someone is paying top dollar for peace and quite it was a disappoint.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Tranquil Oasis

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Beautiful hotel, small and quiet. Perfect for a romantic getaway. Staff is lovely. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and relaxed. The individual suites/villas provide an extra level of comfort and privacy. Very clean and well kept. The hotel is nestled between several larger resorts but we found it was not an issue (minor noise). The cabanas and lounge chairs on the beach are so relaxing. You can spend all day there. The hotel is also very helpful with arranging tours to the ruins or other adventure activities (we went scuba diving and also visited Chichen Itza - both booked through the Viceroy). Trips into Playa del Carmen for shopping and dining were easy and enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Kay from Louisville

When can we go back?

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous ~ the service over the top. Every employee was a delight! Spa was first class. Food very good - ambiance amazing. Probably not the hotel for everyone but those who appreciate boutique style & an out of the box experience it was simply perfect. Only caveat is that all meals, beverages, massages etc have a 16% hotel tax & 15% service fee added on top but I suspect the service fee is what allows them to employ the best people. Top notch!
5 out of 5
by Gregory

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the private spaces: large rooms that open up to private courtyard with covered balcony, hammock, and plunge pool. Also loved the outdoor shower! The service was outstanding and the grounds were incredible!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Supremes ( but ) without DIANA ROSS

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Service
Cons: Internet on the beach
Location: No need to leave the resort !!!!! It is HEAVEN.
Really a Supreme experience. Beautiful, elegant property. The service was amazing on every level, paying special attention to the details that enhance the romantic experience. The food was wonderful and the Cheif was more than willing to prepare whatever your heart desired. I want to mention the clientele...as we met wonderful, successful people, charming people. Now .... The "Diana Ross" element that was missing for us refers to the sparkle of those details such as internet on the entire beach. We struggled with connectivity on the beach. The service on the beach boarders on annoying in their eagerness to serve and please the guest. Finally there was a slight musty smell in the room upon arrival. YES .... Trivial .... But it's the difference between the Supremes ... And DIANA ROSS with the Supremes. Get it ? In short .... The Supremes are wonderful .... But to garner the spice and sparkel of Diana Ross and the Supremes ... We need Internet on the beach, a pleasant smell in the room and a more subtle service on the beach! Being their was over all like saying " I Hear a Symphony". Beautiful. We booked again for December !!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1st Class all the way

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Pros: The service and food were both excellent.
Cons: Only improvement I would suggest is wifi in the villas. The connection was spotty. It didn't bother us but for some who want to remain "connected".
Location: We did not leave the resort.
If you are looking for a private and relaxing vacation, this is your place. We were celebrating our 10 year anniversary. We have two small kids at home, so this vacation spot was exactly what the Dr. ordered. Could not be happier with this spot. We will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Queit Resort

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Viceroy offers exceptional service. The resort is quiet and peaceful you feel as though u are in a different planet.... Birds chirping, water falls..... The ONLY downside to this resort is that the beach is horrible! No way of Going in there... It's Stoney and dirty!!!