Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Cried when saying goodbye to staff

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The staff. The staff. The staff.
Cons: Food is very good, but with 15% tip and 16% tax, the $8 beer is a bit over the top.
Location: All things above and below waterline. Playa Del Carmen close by. Great spot.
Have no idea why. But for some unknown reason, leaving the staff at Viceroy felt worse than when I left my boys at college for the first time. It really is impossible to overstate how kind, compassionate and considerate the staff is at this facility. If the rooms sucked. If the food was horrible. If the beach was eroded. I would still go back to this hotel just to be taken care of by their exceptional people. Fortunately, the rooms are magnificent (we stayed in the lowest grade and it could not have been better). The food is outstanding (though honestly the price is painful). The beach is well maintained, as are the grounds throughout. Used the gym every day. As long as you are just looking for your daily cardio and a bit of free weight work its adequate. Have I mentioned the staff? A shout out to young Victor, Marcos and Mr. Pepe, and frankly I've lost some names that really deserve to be singled out for being exceptional. Man, I loved this place and would heartily recommend it to anyone who needs a bit of pampering in the most private, personalized manner possible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de México

Hotel excepcional, atención inmejorable

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Ubicación, tranquilidad, servicio, amabilidad de todo el personal.
Cons: El servicio de check out. Pedimos salir una hora más tarde del horario de salida y nos lo negaron. Considero que uno paga lo que paga por algo
Realmente el hotel es fantástico en servicio, atención y calidad. Lugar ideal para parejas y/o luna de miel, privacidad absoluta en las villas El personal atiende de mil maneras todo el día.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Great time. Drinks and food expensive. All else great. Peppe beach waiter and Karen the front desk hostess were exceptional as we're all the staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

On the beach, excellent service.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
On the beach, excellent food and service. Note all food, drink, etc. are paid in USD and not Mexican peso.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from huntington beach

Great resort.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Service, rooms, food
Resort is beatiful.. Service is best ever! Will for sure return
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Very attentive and personal service from the staff. Great beach - not too many loungers ( as not too many guest rooms) Excellent food
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: Very nice location, close to Playa del Carmen and other attractions (Cenotes, Tulum Ruins and beach)
Can highly recommend this place if you want luxury, great food, attentive service and privacy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Private oasis on the beach

Posted Aug 7, 2016
While the Viceroy is an amazing oasis of calm and relaxation, it's truly the people that make the place. Each member of the staff is kind, welcoming, attentive, and professional. To say they go above and beyond expectations would be an understatement. Would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a relaxing and quite home base from which to springboard their Riviera Maya adventures (which the hotel is able to set up for you).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Awsome private getaway!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Definitely going back! This is a great quiet getaway. The staff is the best!
5 out of 5
by mark from st louis

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing Place. Service was fantastic. I am kind of a Foodie; Breakfast was very good, and the lunch offerings were good as well. Dinner there are two options, the casual option by the beach is good. The higher end dining option was just OK at best. We went over to Rosewood and had dinner one night at the Sushi Bar. That was was good. Drinks were good not great as well. All and All my wife and I had a really good stay and would go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel for honeymooners , paradise feel.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: room,private pool,beach, pool , service. Very special hotel
Cons: pricing for restaurants and tours.
Location: nothing to do nearby .15mn away from Playa del Carmen which was fine.
Luxury hotel , a real paradise feel . Restaurant extremely expensive. 15mn away by taxi from Playa del Carmen. Will come back. Loved it !