Ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The room we got was lovely

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Its very big and does not seem crowded. The pools are really nice. And the staff are nice too.
Cons: The over all food quality would be good to improved......
The room we got was clean bright and new........ However we did see the other rooms our friends and family got and they were dark and unclean... They all ended up in our room as there air conditioners we not that good and ours was excellent. We loved our room but we do realize that there are a lot that are not like this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville,TN

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Everything was okay friendly stuff nice hotel nice location,only ting i didn't like is timeshare people trying to sell you something,put all that pressure on you following you and your family on the resort in order to get you on the program.All me and my family looking for is nice and quite vacation not business deals!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Posted Jul 10, 2017
A lot of walking. Golf carts would leave u stating for long periods of time and or pass u up if you aren't VIP members. We were told we would have al la carte meals the whole time and they only provided 2 the whole week. My mother ordered pictures from when did the dolphin experience and she never got her photo book she ordered. They never refunded her the 40 dollars she paid for it either. Seems like everyday it was always something going wrong or we were being given the run around. Will never go back to this resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

So disappointed!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Foul- sewage smell and food
Location: Ride a collective to Akumal beach to snorkel... beautiful!
Where to start...we had never traveled out of the country before nor been to an all inclusive resort and we were very excited about this vacation. After putting in many hours of research on where to stay we choose this resort because it was family friendly (we brought our 2 sons with us 16 and 18 years old) and supposedly had great snorkeling right at the resort and supposedly 4 stars. From the moment we drove in we were disappointed by the run down look of the resort: mildew/mold on the exterior walls, paint peeling off walls, wooden steps that have lost their stain, etc. As we toured this massive compound we could not get over the sewage smell that was hit and miss all over the resort! The smell would hit us at the beach bar, at the walk way behind the theater, walking to the restaurants, etc. The foul smell completely ruined our appetite not to mention the quality of the food and beverages! Oh my goodness, worst food we have ever had. There was absolutely no flavor in any of the hot dishes and they had to have been pumped with preservatives because they were all frozen/pre made. I have had many margaritas and pina coladas over the years to know what a quality one should taste like and they were not even close to decent at this resort. As for the snorkeling, forget it... there was a red flag the whole time we stayed because of the wind that is constantly being sucked in to the "bay" and the beach was so rocky with bleached out coral and a very SMALL area of sand.
5 out of 5
by Benedicto

Mexico best destination

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Mexico is always best location. People is great and service is amazing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Just Okay

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Lazy river was best part about this hotel
Cons: most of everything
Location: Lots to do nearby. We rented a car and enjoyed many activities in the Riviera Maya
Unfortunately, I can say I have stayed at better. We went for our honeymoon! I should of spent the money for a nicer resort. The first room we got smelled like mildew. It was also very loud since it was on the first floor. We changed to a different room the next day. It was on the third floor. It was still loud but did not smell. The food was mediocre. The buffet was better than the Ala carte restaurants that we tried. Best meal of the day was by far breakfast. We also chose not to eat at the resort three times as we felt it would be better to eat elsewhere. The shuttle service was lacking. so always had long walks everywhere. We tried to get information from Expedia as to if we were to check out of the hotel if we would be refunded for the unused part of the trip so we could rebook into another hotel but they were not helpful We were supposed to be contacted by a operate department but never were. I learned two thing. I will not be staying at this resort again and I will not be booking through Expedia anymore.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Scam artists

Posted Jun 1, 2017
First off you pay to stay at the Riveria Maya side but they put you up in the Mayan Beach side-which is much less expensive and part of the same resort complex. The reception staff is rude and charge you for upgraded rooms which isn't an upgrade at all because they put you on the cheaper side of the resort anyways but then they knew full well you didn't know the layout and that side seemed closer to the beach..but it wasn't. The bartenders are extremely rude!!! I showed up to the bar which was empty and they just carry on talking amongst each other, a man then shows up and they rush to help him. There are small ants in the room, if you put your iPad down it becomes infested. You need water shoes! The beach is very rocky. The food is absolutely disgusting..every day the same terrible food. Even the supposed specialty restaurants have the buffet food served w a new sauce on a fancy plate-but same thing! You don't get bottled water unless you're a Member, instead you get a gallon jug in your mini fridge that they refill!!!! Wear comfortable shoes because everything is a 15min walk and good luck getting picked up by a golf cart because those guys fly around the resort almost hitting children and basically anyone in their way. The waitstaff on beach n buffet work very hard and are pleasant. Believe the bad reviews and Do Not Stay Here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large Resort

Posted May 19, 2017
Large resort with lots of options, nature walking/biking trials are beautiful, bring your walking shoes alot of walking! And it will take a couple days to figure out the best routes to beach, pools, buffets. Staff are attentive and friendly, good food. We are planning on visiting other locations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapolis, mn

Pros: Amazing beach. Cons: see below

Posted May 7, 2017
This is my fith time in Mexico. I will be not returning to this resort. Beautiful beach with coral reefs (snorkeling gear available if weather permits) and a lazy river were great. Food was not good and I'm not a picky eater at all. Buffet was understaffed. Coffee shop was good. You need to make restaurant reservations right away. We waited for three days and were able get in to only two restaurants with our 8 nights stay here (restaurant food was ok). I actually lost weight while in Mexico which never ever happens 😀. Facilities are huge, be prepared for a lot of walking. Hotel is about an hour drive from airport which felt like a waist of paradise time. I hope this helps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, big, peacefull , good atmósfera,

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Great time peaceful, big, great food snack babecue, service excellent, and only little discrimination for a stupid lady of the service but this no is a responsability of the hotel she was fair