Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Rustic hotel experience

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: The food and service in the restaurant were great. The complimentary breakfast and happy hour provide most of what you need to eat. Location.
Cons: The doors and windows or not well sealed so it is fairly noisy with road traffic and dive tanks clanging.
Location: good location to walk to town to shop or eat. Rides bikes along the shore road. Shore snorkel.
It is hard to rate this hotel. It is like camping vs staying in a polished condo. We stayed here our first 4 nights on the island and loved it. It is small with rustic charm and is more cosy and comfortable than a larger resort. The service and food are good with complimentary breakfast and daily happy hour with $5 appetizers. Most of the guests are divers with a dive and stay package. We just snorkeled and used Blue Angel as our base while we explored the island. Good music in the restaurant in the evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Find!!! Excellent Restaurant and Staff!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Everything! Free snorkel rentals were included if you stay at the place. Staff was so friendly & accommodating. A/C worked great. View was incredible!
Cons: insulation in the walls to keep the loud traffic noise down.
Location: Snorkeling right off the premises. And diving too!
loved this little place. Room was fine, beds excellent. Beach access right there, great lobby. Rented bikes too! The only issue is that it's right on the busy street & isn't well insulated so we heard loud traffic, motorcycles, etc. every morning. If that doesn't bug you then it's fine. Beautifully kept up. Food was wonderful & so beautifully presented. Service excellent! Breakfast was included in our package and we were never disappointed. If you don't mind hearing noise in the mornings, then it's perfect! Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lubbock, Texas

Great Place for Divers

Posted Nov 21, 2016
My first time at Blue Angel. I was very pleased with the resort. The street noise is something you have to get used to. I took a small fan with me and that helped with sleep. I can't sleep with ear plugs. I was given a room on the fourth floor, which has the best view. If you don't mind getting a little exercise, I recommend staying on the third or fourth floor for this reason. The restaurant is great for drinks and food. Everything is very clean and all the staff are really friendly and makes tipping them a joy! The dive shop is very accommodating to when you want to dive, even taking you out with just a few on the boat. The boat captains and dive guides are very friendly and helpful. The walk to town is about a mile and a half, and taxis are costly unless you are splitting the fair with someone. So you will not want to make trips everyday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room overlooked the Ocean.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
The room overlooked the ocean. It had a. Balcony to sit on. Pool was very delightful and clean. The staff were Marvelous. Friendly and fun. Food very good in restaurant. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will Return

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Location of Dive shop, in hotel
Cons: the bathroom shower, and number of outlets in room, scooter outside are noisy due to cheap bathroom windows
Location: a little off the beaten path
Good hotel stay, pleasantly surprised, I'll be back. Diamond in the rough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwalk, CA (Los Angelesa Area)

A divers haven right on the ocean.

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Nice hotel with beautiful ocean view and friendly staff. Restaurant has excellent food, breakfast included. I will definitely stay here again.
Cons: Provide above bed netting for mosquitos.
Location: Diving, rent a car a drive the island. Shopping, good food - fresh seafood.
If you are an experienced diver or wanting to learn by taking a resort course the Blue Angel Resort is the place to be. PADI dive location on site with experienced staff. I took my 3rd resort course, first time with Blue Angel. It was the best training and best 2 dives of my life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Excellent stay for relaxing and/or diving!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Location is great, staff is friendly, food is great, diving is wonderful!
Cons: Nothing that I can think of to improve upon. Everything was great, we really enjoyed our stay!
Location: Rent a car for the week so you can explore the island. We really liked going to Cocunuts on the East side and the El Cedral Tequilla Tour!
This was our 2nd trip to the Blue Angel in two years. We met a few others at the hotel that have made frequent trips back and that really speaks volumes about the great job Eva and her staff do. It is right on the ocean and all you need to do is walk 50 yards to the pier to catch a boat to the dive sites. The restaurant has great food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! There seemed to always be live music and their happy hour specials were always a great deal. Do yourself a favor and book a night dive, we saw octopus, king crab, eels, etc. Also, don't miss the El Cielo cruise! This was one of my favorite days on vacation. There were about 15 of us all from the Blue Angel that went and it is a great way to meet the folks at the resort that week. What else can I say, we love the Blue Angel and will be back as soon as we can!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Beautiful and charming

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: I really cannot say enough good things about Blue Angel. Everything was great. I especially enjoyed the hotel staff.
The Blue Angel Resort made our first trip to Cozumel wonderful! The hotel was delightful, quaint and not over crowded. The food delish and the staff absolutely fantastic. We will definitely stay at Blue Angel again. The hotel staff were so helpful and friendly. We felt totally at home!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elgin, Texas

Beachfront hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Angel. Staff was very accomodating and friendly. Good location and waterfront, however no sandy beach on site. Our purpose was diving and it was perfect for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great diving!

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: The closeness of everything. Felt like home. Diving from the beach right from the hotel was amazing.
Cons: The rooms need some improvement. Otherwise everything else if fine as is.
Location: Close to town - great shopping - great resaurants.
Stayed from Nov 15-22. Staff were unbelievably pleasant and friendly and helpful, from reception to diving to restaurant. Excellent food at the restaurant. Lalo was also very friendly!