Ratings based on 842 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Las instalaciones requieren mucho mantenimiento

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: El personal
Cons: La calidad de las instalaciones y mobiliario
Location: Está muy lejos de la ciudad
El personal es muy amable y eficiente. Los alimentos son bastante buenos y variados.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montana

Beautiful Ocean Views

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Proximity to beach.
Cons: The bed was awful. I slept on the couch, it was more comfortable than that rock hard mattress. The AC kept cutting out, TOO hot.
Location: Absolutely LOVED the deep sea fishing!
The hotel is truly lovely with breath taking views and polite staff. Housekeeping is fantastic, attentive, and considerate. Our room was pretty however, the AC kept cutting out and the heat was unbearable and made us miserable. I didn't get a single good night's sleep the entire time I was there. I tried to take a cold shower before going to bed but the water wouldn't even get cold (seriously!!). I had to get up in the middle of the night to take a cold shower just to be able to cool down. FINALLY on the last night we were there they fixed the AC. In addition, the bed was so firm, too firm, that the floor was more comfortable and cooler. It was the worst mattress I've ever encountered. The staff was very kind, helpful, and pleasant. Every where we went, they were gracious and wonderful to deal with. While relaxing in the hammock, a staff member brought me an ice cold bottle of water out of the blue! When we first arrived, we were presented with cool, wet wash clothes and a flute of champagne. What a great welcome!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Beautiful

Posted May 3, 2016
We had a great stay, the resort far exceeded our expectations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great resort on the beach!

Posted Apr 30, 2016
We enjoyed the preferred section with the swim-up bar and wonderful ocean views. The amenities were great, including the nice assortment of restaurants. We loved yoga on the beach, and the bike tour was fun.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Facility is nice, food is TERRIBLE.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: The facility and building were nice and well-kept. Housekeeping was great and everything was very clean.
Cons: The food is simply terrible. It's really unfortunate to be looking forward to leaving your honeymoon just because the food is so bad. Disappointed!
I wanted to love this hotel. I really did. But there is just no way I could recommend it to anyone I care about.The hotel itself is really nice. Our room was newly renovated - nice fixtures, big swanky bathroom, updated thermostat. Pleased with the facility overall. The staff is just okay. For the most part, they were friendly & everyone offers a cheerful "Hola!" at every pass. There were a few guys who gave us poor service, but that's not unexpected at any business. They say their staff is bilingual, but really they just know key phrases in English. If you want to ask them a question ("Where is the pool?") or get information on anything ("What time does this restaurant open?"), they just smile & nod because they can't converse in English. This makes interacting hard for people who don't speak passable Spanish. And they say gratuity is included, but good luck getting anything done without giving every person a $5. The absolute WORST part about this place is the food! It doesn't matter if it's room service, one of the restaurants, the cafe, the coffee shop - nearly every single thing we ate was awful. We tried every restaurant more than once and chose different things. We are normal people with good taste but reasonable expectations...but when you serve me microwaved fish, that crosses the line. There were at least 5 things we ordered throughout the week that were simply inedible. And countless other that left us wondering what respectable business would serve this food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

pretty good

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: the bathrooms and rooms..the staff for sure
Cons: food and drinks...you could serve one good alcoholic drink and save money on all the fruit juice poured into those terrible drinks...stick to a beer
great people(staff), great room and great bathrooms..water pressure was great and so was the lighting..activities and beach were great, as well as, pool...only downside was food and drinks...i rarely drink and i couldn't even feel a burn or get a taste of alcohol in a Mai Tai or long Island ice tea,,, i chose those for a strong drink and the alcohol didn't exist...i sent my girlfriend to the bar to flirt so I could get a descent drink and it worked... other than that time, they were all fruit and sugar... and also the food... i am from Los Angeles and maybe a food snob...who knows, But i can tell when something is fresh and it really was no good... the french restaurant was pretty good,,,small servings...in line with french I guess...but the new Sushi spot was horrible,,, the buffet never changes and isn't too good either..if your staying more than a few days, the food can be tough unless your cool with a lot of fried potatoes and hamburgers...I"m not...over all...a good place to spend some time..the people are great and the place was calming
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean enough but Tired room and mediocre food.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Our room was very tired, beat up. When we arrived the tv, ac and fridge didnt work. They were all eventually fixed but not a great way to start our stay. The sushi restaurant was the only one with consistently good food. Pretty beaches tho.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: very clean and comfortable, nice beach area, food was great, hotel staff were excellent and no kids running all over the place! The only con about this place was our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3pm
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2016
The resort was beautiful and the staff was very nice. Our room was a preferred room and was very clean and maintained. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. However we met some friends who complained that their rooms had mold, broken hair conditioners, and broken water heaters. This was from two different rooms. When they complained the maintenance service was very slow and the staff didn't take it very seriously until they complained and complained and finally got moved. The food was also not the greatest. I have had lot better all inclusive food. Otherwise our stay was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2016 by Management area, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product. We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed such as the room, staff and location however, we are very concerned to know that the experience did not live up to our usual level of service offered at Secrets Aura Cozumel We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you and friends with the service you deserve.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
The staff was ok. When you arrive there will be other hotel represintives at the airport to try to sell you some stuff and listen to their 90min spill. As well as at the resort itself. If you just deny them it's for the better. Don't waste your time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2016 by Management area, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies it is certainly not our intention to disappoint our guests, we had taken notes of this and we are going to be sharing it with our head department to take the necessary actions