Ratings based on 692 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Poor Service, Bad Food, Strong Sewer Smell

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Beach was great.
Cons: The service, night club, food and drinks were all poor. The night club played nothing Mexican techno-disco way to load.
Location: The town is nice, and is a real Mexican town (unlike Playa Del Carmen).
I have enjoyed other Secrets Resorts in the past, so I thought this one would also be a good choice. The beach was nice & had great, clear water. This part was great! The first room we checked in to was in the VIP section of the resort, and had good views of the beach. The first night, we noticed a little septic smell from the restroom, but decided not to worry about it too much. The next day the smell had become VERY strong and was like being inside a sewer. It was horrible! My wife reported the smell to someone at the front desk, but she was only interested in trying to sell us on a BS timeshare presentation and didn't even report it. I went to our concierge to find out what they planned to do about it that evening, and he informed me it was too late to move us that day, and to go to the front desk in the morning. We were offered to look at a couple of other rooms, but they were in the same part of the resort with this well known problem (only one staff member ever acknowledged they know about the issue, while everyone else pretended it was somehow that we were overly sensitive or something). I finally got moved to a different building without the problem. The other Secrets resorts I have stayed at (Capri & Maroma) always had great service, great drinks & the food was between ok and good. This resort was lacking in overall service. Bartenders would give you a drink that was not what you wanted, and just walk off without caring. The food was BAD! Will not go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallaa

Awful

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Room was dirty and smelly. Air conditioning did not work. Sink was leaking massive amounts of water at all times. Room was in a state of disrepair and linens were stained and low quality. Wifi barely worked. Food was terrible. Horrible experience- left early because we couldn't take it anymore.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So disappointing. . . .

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: it has a beach and a dock so the scuba boats can pick you up
Cons: Food, customer Service, friendliness of staff
This was the second year in a row for me to stay at Secret Cozumel. The food was ok. . .I haven't found one place in Cozumel where the food is awesome. The A/C in the room was broken. And when it was time to check out, the concierge lied to us several times about our taxi to the airport and when it would be arriving. We waited 45 minutes for a taxi, and we arrived to the airport 30 minutes before the plane was boarding. I am not sure if I will stay here again. You would think they would have treated us better as this was the second year in a row that we went for my birthday trip. Oh and get this. . . .they stated they would do something special for my birthday and since it was the second year in a row we stayed there. They gave me a cake when I am gluten free and they knew that. They put a birthday sign on the room next to us. All around fail.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful ocean view

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Very quiet. Immediate access to pool and ocean. Staff extremely friendly, and attentive, upon request. Property is clean and well maintained. Felt secure. A variety of meal options, but some of the temperature could improve, hot foods hot, cold foods cold. Would love to have more vegetarian options available. Too much sales pressure to purchase other amenities - excursions, timeshares, transportation options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful seaside rooms.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Snorkeling was just a few steps from our room. Foods were plenty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely fantastic.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The staff are the best: Antonio, Brandon, and Rosy (entertainment staff) are GREAT. At El Patio, Luis and Roger are AMAZING.
Cons: Nothing could be improved - it is the BEST.
Location: Fantastic beach, plenty of restaurants.
This an absolutely fantastic and incredible resort. There is nothing at all that needs to be improved. The room, the staff, the food, and the location are all amazing. I would recommend this resort time and time again. A MUST STAY, with nothing at all to improve. Perfection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Awesome Vacation experience!!

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: We liked that you can snorkel right from the resort and saw a good variety of fish.
Cons: The bathrooms were a terrible design. There is only a half shower door and all the water goes right on to the floor. You end up using all your towels.
Location: We ventured to town once. For us, it was not worth it. We really should have stayed on the resort
This was a great trip for my husband and I. Adults only, good food and the accommodation were awesome. As with every resort there were a few negatives but overall experience was very good... We had the best room (swim up room with ocean access) which I think was the only room with that combination (room 1415). I think the room accommodation could be a make it or break it experience. I heard some grumbling from other guests but our experience was fabulous. Nice choice of restaurants, you also have use of the sister resort SunScape which opens up the variety. I would definitely recommend this hotel but with the suggestion of getting the swim up room with ocean view (1415) if you can get it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and great service

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: The service was amazing. Top shelf liquor and great food.
Cons: A preferred bar closer to the preferred area. The preferred bar that was open until 11 am was a good distance from the preferred rooms
Location: Great location and close to anything you would want to do.
We stay in the ocean front full beach front preferred room and it was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hartland WI

Great Beach Hotel!

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Adults only no kids, all kinds of things to do, a lot of different restaurants to choose from! Friendly staff and very accommodating!
Cons: Not sure they can! What every we wanted they had!
Location: Perfect location if you don't want to be downtown but a short taxi ride into town. What ever you wanted to do they made it happen.
This was my first time to Cozumel I had a great time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

As always everything was good.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Only thing they need to improve on is communication. Otherwise perfect