Ratings based on 1,012 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wyo

nice beach, no buffets, order from menu every rest

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: adults only
Cons: food was good, nightly entertainment was good , nada
Location: dive
waiters are great , premium drinks everywhere, close to dive sites
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Québec

Would not recommend

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Secrets Aura does not live up to the Secrets Brand. Not to be compared with Silversand or Vallarta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Beautiful facilities and beach!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Staff was very nice and accommodating, going out of their way to assist in any way they can. The facilities are wonderful including the beach.
We loved trying all the restaurants and bars. They have almost an endless supply of fun activities to entertain you. We watched shows, listened to a band, participated in water activities, and lounged by the beach. It was heaven. I am a scuba diver and went a few days. They have a on scuba representative & a dock, making it easy for pick up. The only problem I had, it went by too fast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
My wife and I returned on 4/17/17 from our honeymoon. Had an excellent time while we were there and would go back again. We didn't leave the resort to do any excursions but there is plenty to do there if you desire, snorkeling, scuba, exploring, atv's, etc. We just wanted a relaxing time and they delivered. Now it was our honeymoon, and they surprised us almost everyday with something in our room. We stayed in the preferred beach front ground floor and it was awesome. 50 ft from the buffet, 50 ft from the ocean, and 50 ft from the preferred pool, we had the perfect room location. My wife hardly ever sat in the room as she loved the view from our terrace and could have even slept out there, nice. The preferred pool was our hangout, as the bartenders were great and had happy attitudes the whole time, even thought the amount of people hanging out and drinking was crazy from time to time, they never disappointed us. No complaints about the food and there was plenty to choose from, although we didn't get to try every restaurant we were fine with the choices. The rooms seemed a little older and could use some new furniture but overall was fine. Our air conditioner wasn't working quite right one day as daily cleaning was being done, so they called and had maintenance fix it before we got back. Not a great beach to swim because of the corral but you can snorkel just off shore if that's your thing. Lots of snorkeling happens about 100 yds off shore with boats dropping people in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Our room
Cons: Entertainment & liven up activities.
Location: Sky Reef, great place to hangout, eat, drink, swim, snorkel.
Loved our room, Preferred Tropical view. This place is great for an older more relaxed crowd. The Preferred swim up pool was rather boring, music not too "Fun". Food & beverages not that great. I wonder if alcohol is watered down. Entertainment was ok, after our last stay at Secrets Capri Riviera (EXCELLENT!!) we were hoping for something similar but it was not as Great. Snorkeling right off shore but a lot of boat traffic. Staff were Excellent. Beach is nice but forget getting a chair with an umbrella for shade, even by the pool, the same people "save" them Everyday! They get out there at the crack of dawn and go back to bed or something. Hours later they arrive to sit in "Their" chairs. Despite the resorts printed policy that any items left for more than 30 minutes will be taken to lost and found. We saw several people "save" chairs for hours up to a half day and no staff removed the items.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Stay!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Better monitoring of Preferred Pool (noise, smoking, verification of guests); update room furniture (fine but could be improved); provide smoking area
Location: Snorkeling and diving
Lovely location adjacent to good snorkeling. Exceptional staff (Sylvia in Housekeeping; Andrea at Oceana; Viridiana at Preferred Pool; and Francisco in Bell Services). Good food for an all-inclusive!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: people and location
Cons: check in could be smoother and as rooms are available instead of the hard 3 pm
Location: snorkel right off the beach - close to reefs
Just back from Secrets Aura - Loved Cozumel, did not love the trip there (from SFO and back) - it’s a long haul. The resort - Cons first (since there are so few): This was a Westin and you can tell- three oceanview buildings (with rooms that need some updating), pool view bldgs and preferred section - preferred is NOT worth the price. Your $ is better spent on an oceanfront upgrade in pool view section. Preferred is right next to the sister resort with families and kids galore, and other than the front rooms they are all pool view rooms; the “special” reception room was not stocked with hot/cold snacks, or any worthwhile special amenities, the rooms were more updated but not larger or that much nicer than the older buildings. The pool view rooms are a pass (you could be anywhere.) and the ocean view (or ocean front) are best - 3 buildings - Room 1026 may be the best room in the house and the “1000” building is best, next would be the “1400” building with Room 1435 a nice regular oceanview room. The rooms are large with wonderful amenities and two living spaces. All in all, I’d say a typical caribbean resort, but not a typical “Secrets” resort. The restaurant choices could be better. The “stinky” bar/restaurant (Windows) is ironically the best bar (freely give you top shelf liquor) and a subpar dinner place. (It smells awful.) There should be more of a variety and even though you have “rights” at the neighboring resort (see swarming kids’ comment), some of them were closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Snorkeling and food was awesome

Posted Apr 15, 2017
The snorkeling was great, right off the beach there is beautiful clear warm water! Food was great , staff was fun and friendly. Loved all of it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Great time. 4th trip there and eager to book the 5th.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Nice and Relaxing

Posted Apr 11, 2017
This was nice and quiet resort is was perfect for me and my wife to reconnect. If you're looking for the party seen go to Cabo, But if you're looking for a nice place to relax with you're wife this is the place.