Ratings based on 1,198 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lenexa Kansas

Wonderful location

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Had a great time. The staff was perfect and the room was great. The location on the island worked out perfectly for diving and other activities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Highlands Ranch, CO

This is not a luxury resort, but it gets you by

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Location, beach, drinks, immediate walk-in snorkeling, great for little kids and first time swimmers. Great lobby, amenities, staff is fantastic.
Cons: Staff needs to clean entire table at each restaurant w/ cleansers & set out clean dishes/utensils every time without exception for every guest.
Location: Good location, though further south so cab rides are pricier. It's a tiny island so just about everything is 20 mins or less away.
Suncape Sabor is not luxurious, needs serious TLC, & better cleanliness. The lobby is beautiful, the staff is fantastic, & the amenities are perfect. But the hotel room & the food really make this hotel sub-par. All rooms are small but workable, but the restaurants (all of them) serve food that is barely above fast food quality & some sport serious health standard issues. To begin, we had one of the best located rooms on the property; 2nd story, ocean front, directly by 2 restaurants, a pool, & a bar. The shower was unacceptable. The drain was so gross I couldn't look at it. It took 9 mins to get hot water & the pressure was non-existent - like showering in a drizzle. The shower curtain was stained & staff cleaned the shower once in our 5 day stay. There are multiple restaurants to choose from but the buffet is one of the more popular ones. Each day there were visibly dirty dishes on the tables in multiple place settings. Twice we were sat at a table with recently soiled place mats; like coffee & drips from plates of food. "Clean" plates were set down upon all that. The creamer & ketchup is visibly watered down. 2% milk was set out for hours un-iced. The buffet was covered in spilled syrup, food, & much of the food wasn't iced or heated properly and was spilling onto the floors - every single day. The beach is huge & pretty, lots of walk-in snorkeling, great swimming & fish for little ones to see who are 1st timers; even toddlers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Placida, Fl

Hotel rooms

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Pros: That is was on the beach.
Cons: Rooms
Location: Location was fine. A lot of same reefs nearby.
Rooms need lots of upgrades. Sliding doors do not lock properly, bathroom and air condition need major upgrades. Food at buffet is always cold and the menus could be changed once and awhile. Serve the same food all week. The hotel itself is very nice, and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The grounds are kept neat and clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheridan

Very good hotel, well managed!

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Familiarity
Cons: Didn't care for the hotel charging to use the dock!
Have been there a number of times, have a number of friends who work at S Sabor, Will definitely return!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheridan, WY

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Close to beach. Diving was excellent. Very nice employees.
Location: Close to beach, parasailing, diving, touring Mayan ruins, shopping
Employees were very nice and helpful. Food was excellent. Loved the entertainment! Would definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room on beach

Posted Dec 10, 2017
We were upgraded to an Ocean view JR Suite, which was quite and had a great view. Pro’s A lot of sea creatures to see snorkeling off beach Great staff Great sunsets Enjoyed use of honor cat Good was good Con’s Music too loud at MainPool Between all the wedding activities and boat and ski doo traffic in front of resort- feels congested
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

This hotel should be completely shut down

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The food. The staff.
Cons: The whole hotel needs to be upgraded
Location: Location was good.
When we went into our room I was in complete disbelief. The tub had been painted and it was gross. I would not take a shower in there. The whole hotel was run down. We asked to get transferred and for a nominal fee of $100 they put us in another room. But it took some effort. I kept telling them to come see our tub. It was absolutely disgusting. The beach was not great... very rocky. Positives: The food was great and the staff was amazing. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Horribly dissapointed

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The grounds, the food and the service. The staff were excellent and very accommodating.
Cons: As I said above the only improvement is to shut down the property and renovate it completely. They need to spend a lot of money to renovate this Hotel
Location: Location is away from everything as are most of the nicer hotels away from town. You could easily get into town by taxi. Locations was fine.
Hotel grounds were beautiful, Staff was extremely friendly and professional, Food was excellent. The Hotel is old!! The rooms are run down and one of their towers in the 2000 numbers are horrible! The hotel is in need of a complete and major renovation. The rooms they checked us in to were old and not a room to give anyone. The ceiling plaster was falling off, the refrigerator had rust in inside and outside, it was old as can be, the floor tile around the refrigerator was all rusted, it was simply disgusting!! My friends checked into another room where the bathtub was so old and dingy that no one would even dare step in it to take a shower much less a bath. Both rooms should have been put our of order. The furniture was beat up and old, simply disgusting. When we complained they gave us a Suite with ocean front view for $100 more for the entire stay, they originally wanted $300 but after complaining and after we agreed to take the tour for the vacation club they gave it to us for $100. The Suite was much nicer but still not your standard Suite. The furniture was old and not very well furnished. I would never recommend this Hotel to anyone and Expedia should not be selling this property with their packages. It's simply not acceptable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central FL

Outside town & on the water

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Food was wonderful; staff very friendly & most spoke english
Cons: Music played all day was too loud & of the disco variety- not very relaxing...tub s could be resealed as they were peeling;
Location: relax & snorkel; There is a park a few km away where you can swim with dolphins, see other sea life etc...
All-Inclusive: Food was served in several locations & was VERY good; Staff very helpful & friendly; non-suite rooms quite small with wear/tear showing; Better cable selection than some US hotels & nice pillows-though mattress was quite hard & often uncomfortable; Music could get loud at poolside rooms at all hours but rooms were somewhat soundproof- if you had an open patio, the disco music played all day could get on your nerves; you could snorkel right off the property & they had friendly iguana you could hand feed...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great family resort

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Location to beach, water and views. Also excellent staff.
Cons: technology. Internet was bad. TV outdated and didn't function well.
Fun week stay. Staff was friendly and professional. Looked to be a good family resort. I didn't take my children.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Management area, Hotel Management
Hello Mrs. Cris, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your words about the location, beach, ocean, our wonderful views, and staff. We have taken notes of the opportunity areas and share the comments about the internet with the company in charge. We hope you can give us an opportunity to host you again and offer you the service you deserve. I remain at your service. Eduardo Betancourt