Ratings based on 1,358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Beach location, friendly to kids, outstanding services
Cons: The room bathrooms are dated and ready for some renovation.
Location: The beach location is perfect but it is quite distant from the town. Free snorkel gear, kayaks and small catamaran sailing. Parasailing is extra.
My room was changed to the upscale, adjoining Secrets because of Ironman trathelon my daughter participated. Because Concierge Ramón took charge, I was placed after the event in the room on the beach I reserved. The staff at both places are outstanding as well as the activities for kids. The food all the restaurants was above average. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful stay on the Beach

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Everything!! Love the staff. The spa was so nice. They have updated it since we were there in February 2015.
Cons: . The bar could use more bartenders, little slow when it gets busy.
Location: The location is a little further from town, but we enjoy the resort. There is snorkeling , kayaking, stand up paddle boarding, sailing.
We have stayed at Sunscape twice now and we love it. The staff is great, from check in to check out. Juan at the front is excellent. He helped us with several request. We only went to Portofino buffet this trip, but it never disappoints. They have a little of everything. There are plenty of lounge chairs for the beach and the pool. We love that you can take out paddle boards, kayaks and hobie cats.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016
When we arrived our room was not ready and we soon found out the upgraded suite we requested was not available. They then upgraded us and we did have a nice stay. Both the Sunscape resort and Secrets were great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Wonderful hotel close to the beach!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, great location!
Cons: This year for the first time they would not allow the 13 year old and 8 year old granddaughter in the spa. We all walked(5 people) out.$500 loss SS!!
Location: Beautiful, dreamy location and wonderful staff with so many things to do!
Great staff and hotel! They overbooked so they put me in the Secrets hotel next door. The only thing was I was by myself and the grandkids could not be with me at Secrets due to it's policy of no children. Besides this, it was a great experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from delaware

Fabulous getaway

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Great location. Close enough to everything in town.Excellent beach and water activities right at your feet. Grounds were very nice and well kept.
Cons: Minor things. Room was a little dated but still charming. Sliding glass door wouldn't close all the way. No big deal. We just kept it open.
Location: We had a rental car so we drove around the entire island. Eastern side was wide open and uninhabited for the most part. Chankanaab park was great too.
My wife and I just returned from celebrating our anniversary at sunscape. We couldn't have asked for a better destination. Beach was beautiful. Excellent snorkeling right off the property as well. Weather was fantastic the entire trip. Resort was full during the weekend but seemed less crowded during the week which was fine with us. We had a deluxe ocean view king suite.Fantastic views from our 3rd floor balcony. Food was excellent especially at the il patio restaurant. Market cafe next door @ secrets was great for breakfast and lunch. Dining right on the beach. Typical alcohol for an all inclusive. Plenty of it and the drinks were better once they got to know you. Tipping the staff goes a long way as well. Wine list was nice at the restaurants. It was an extra charge though.Had champagne delivered to our room a couple of nights. Again there was a charge but well worth it to us.. All things considered we would definitely return and recommend it to anyone who likes to relax and not have to sweat the details while vacationing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

We had a wonderful 4 night stay!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: several employees were professional and cared very much about our stay. We enjoyed the Mexican restaurant the most...the food is exceptional and the service was too.
Cons: The rooms could use some updating, but the room was always clean and the price is right.
Location: We love being at the resort and spending our time at beach. There are plenty of water activities to choose from, but we just relax
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Paradise for a week

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: Highly recommend Tulum... snorkeling, go to coconuts... so much to do
If you want to feel like you are in Mexico, this is the hotel for you, we have stayed here 3 different times and really enjoy it. The staff cannot do enough to help you, the bars are awesome, the food is good you have plenty of choices, the pools are great and the beach is amazing, we had a junior suite ocean view ... highly recommended... for me the only thing that could be better was the bed ... a little firm for me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Needs updated

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Staff was great
Cons: Comfort Food could be better
Location: Great location
Room decor is the same as when I was there 10 years ago Mattress was terrible
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hoffman Estates, IL

Not the Ritz

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: Out of the way place with boat pickup for Diving, Snorkeling or Fishing
Not the Ritz but clean and comfy. Food was excellent for a mid price resort. My only rub is that the fixtures in room need upgrading. They were working on some rooms closed off to customers so maybe they have started the upgrade process. Staff as always very pleasant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder, United States of America

great hotel.eve Great hotel.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
every thing was great, food, beach, pool room. water view was great, we could see the sunset from our room.