Ratings based on 1,479 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WNY

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Bar staff, Beach, and the gorgeous sunsets.
Cons: More American food options. General updating of rooms.
Location: Onsite has snorkeling, kayaks, hobie sailboat. Can book many tours nearby, shopping is just a short taxi away.
I met family from several US states at Sunscape Sabor. I had a room by the beach. The room was in need of being updated. There were holes in the curtains, bathroom sink was cracked. My biggest issue was the tiny bugs in the bathroom and the difficulty maintaining a comfortable shower water temperature, most days were quick showers with just the hot water turned on. Adding any cold water resulted in freezing cold water. Hotel staff were quiet and respectful, but we found that it was necessary to tip daily or our room refrigerators were not restocked. The beach was lovely and there were plenty of chairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temple, Texas

Beautiful beaches, good entertainment!

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: The ocean view room we were given was awesome!!
Cons: Not having pushy vendors/sales people in lobby.
Location: Jet skiing rate 4 Pirate ship rate 10 Cielo snorkeling tour rate 10 Rent Jeep or mopeds to see all west side of island beaches, beautiful!!
Beaches were clean and beautiful, pools were clean with plenty of clean towels, staff were friendly and helpful, entertainment was great!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Decent hotel with mediocre food

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Accomodating staff, beach front resort without having to cross a street to get to the beach
Cons: Quality and variety of the food, treat rooms for the tiny ants
Location: 15 minute ride into town, taxis are easy to take, cars available for rent from the lobby, scuba diving on site, small island- everything is close
The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the hotel itself was nice. This was a scuba trip with my Dad and we had two rooms right next to each other. I was initially in a room next to a family with two kids who screamed constantly. I went to the front desk to see if they could move me to the other side of my Dad. The room on the other side was an upgrade from my room and they allowed me to move free of charge to the quieter room. The employees were friendly and helpful any time we interacted. All three rooms I saw had tiny little ants (no-see-ums) on the bathroom countertops (seems to be common in the islands... I've had this on several trips) We did our scuba diving with Dive Palancar and booked right in the lobby the day we arrived. Originally I had reserved afternoon dives with Dive House because their morning dives were booked, but Dive Palancar had morning availability and we were able to switch with no problem. They kept our gear for us between dives which was convenient. Two days were cancelled because of wind, but we were able to book a Wild Tours ATV excursion through the expedia employee they had on site and rent a car from the lobby to go golfing and explore the island. The food was mediocre. It was mostly the same every day with very little variety.(La Mission and Casa Mission are both really great Mexican restaurants if you're interested in eating off site). Overall a great trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Ok hotel, best part was right on beach

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Cons: The food def needs some work
The hotel was nice enough for the price but there were a few disappointing things. The food was not that great. The best part was definitely breakfast for the omelette you could have made to order. All the rest the meals were mediocre. Half the time the food came out cold and it took a while to even get the food. Most the food was pretty bland. The beach was great though! The people at the dive shop were great and the dive masters were awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice hotel, Right on the water.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Right on the water. Loved the entertainment staff. Very friendly staff.
Cons: Coffee and dessert bar would be a good addition. Also a switch in menu every other night. Same menu every evening.
Location: Never left the resort.
Had a very nice time. Good food, Friendly staff. Could use a sitting area for when it rains or coffee and dessert bar. Definitely runs on " Island Time". Nice vacation spot. Very clear water for snorkeling. Saw a lot of fish near the beach. Very rocky but rocks were not sharp and was able to walk on them in bare feet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice resort with a nice beach

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Nice location.
Cons: Renovate the room bathrooms.
Location: Close to the downtown area which has a very nice shopping square.
The hotel is is very nice and the staff very friendly. It was nice to have a usable beach and to be able to play in the water. There are so many resorts that don't have a usable beach. The rooms were very clean, we had upgraded to an ocean view. we tried all the restaurants and they all served very good food. The only negative I would have to say is that the room bathrooms are overdue for renovation. They were clean, but outdated. Overall a very good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Nice great staff good food fun pools great grounds
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northwest

Gone down hill

Posted Oct 9, 2017
First room broken bathroom window had to go through rain gutter pouring just to get in out of room. Second room air conditioner was broke. Third room ocean front. Tv missing in main room, hot tub flooded floors, no water eight separate times. Definate differences from one year ago. Younger lady at check in was extremely rude. Grounds were terrible. Will not go back. Very disappointed. Wasted vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Staff was great, see Gusto, he will take good care of you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Management area, Hotel Management
Hello Mr. Frank, Thank you for finding the words to share part of your experience for the community. We are so grateful that you selected Secrets Aura Cozumel for your vacations and it is very satisfying to read that you have such wonderful memories to treasure forever. We are going to be glad to see you again. I remain at your service Eduardo Betancourt
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Family hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2017
I was there for a week on our honeymoon, I wish I was next door at the Secrets. But, we can't complain. .. the food was ok, not many choices, El Patio is you really good option the food was nice and a wonderful service from Jorge Vivas. Nice pool, clean hotel, the service was excellent. The have activities for kids, fun music at the pool all the time. I just wish the had more food options, we didn't care for the food at the grill, they have a Italian Restaurant, we had lunch almost every day there, and pizza was good. Dinner that we wish was more choices, we just enjoy El Patio because of Jorge Vivas, his service is outstanding! !
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Management area , Hotel Management
Hello Mrs. Claudia We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team. We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort. I remain at your service Eduardo Betancourt