Ratings based on 1,433 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Very nice for a middle of the road resort!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Great for families and teenagers. The food and drinks are typical middle of the road resort food, not terrible not great. Rooms are very cool and comfortable. The only negative was the longer your there the worse the service gets in the restaurants. Overall we pretty much got exactly what we paid for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Our room opened onto the beach.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: We liked the overall ambiance, certainly the hard-working and friendly staff, and the facilities themselves. We definitely hope to be back.
Cons: It took about five-ten minutes for the hot water to make it down to our room, so we learned to let the water run while preparing to shower.
Location: There are a couple of other hotels but no other real shopping, etc., but the hotel offers many things to do and a number of them were free.
Maybe our best trip ever; the room was a good size, the ocean temperature was quite comfortable and gentle for unsure swimmers like myself. We ate mostly at the Portofino buffet and enjoyed their selections. Their dinner buffet was buffet for salad and dessert only, and the waiter would bring your selection hot from the kitchen. The restaurant staff all were very friendly and helpful in making small selections to the menus. The free wifi service is only in the hotel lobby itself, however, so it is up to another visitor whether they want it for $45/week or not. I did not find it necessary as I could check my phone at night in the lobby and enjoy the day without being bothered. There is the usual outfit promoting not timeshares but hotel options. We didn't buy, got our promised money, and our Expedia agent at the hotel honored our "funny money" for a tour. We greatly appreciated that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
We love this place. It's been our 45th stay and will recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great hotel close to beach

Posted May 19, 2017
Our overall experience at this hotel....excellent!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, ca

Not the Barcelo resort, but actually better!

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere, landscape, beach, food, and STAFF :)
Cons: Room furniture
Location: Directly on beautiful beach!
Recently stayed and the Barcelo Maya Caribe MEGA (luxury) resort, which was fantastic. Huge property (2500) rooms, etc. Sunscape Sabor Cozumel is the opposite, only 219 rooms. The room furnishings were only 3 stars. However, the facilities, staff, and beautiful grounds were 5 star.!!! Authentic feel, complete relaxation, and great food, although only a few restaurants/buffets to choose from. I have reserved the Barcelo return trip in December but am going to cancel and return to the Sunscape Cozumel in stead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful quaint resort.

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The grounds, location.
Cons: The rooms need remodeling, especially the bathrooms.
Location: The location is on the beach a 15 min cab ride to town.
A beautiful family resort located on the beach. The grounds are beautiful, and has 2 nice pools. It is an older hotel and the rooms needs some renovation. The porch posts on our balcony broke and our bathroom could use some remodeling. Our ocean view suite was very large and our view was perfect. The restaurants were ok, but the El Patio mexican restaurant was superb. Realizing this is not a five-star and knowing my expectations, I would definitely come back to Sunscape.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Location to beach.
Cons: Food quality and options. Why do you not have chicken nuggets for snacks ?
Poor food choices. BBQ was awful. Pork was hard as rock. Not good value for food portion of stay. Mattress in room was uncomfortably hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Texas

Loved our oceanfront room!

Posted May 14, 2017
I do think the Sunscape Sabor could use a little sprucing up in the rooms. Old drapes, mushy mattress and old duvet. Just a little work and the room would be lovely. The staff was just great, always friendly and helpful. We took the tour of Secrets next door and it may not be a timeshare they are selling, but it's just like one. Semantics! We were grabbed and agreed before we ever got to our room. Juan Carlos was so nice we agreed and I did enjoy seeing the "other side" of the resort. Just not something we were interested in. Talked to another guest and they negotiated a much lower price than we were offered. All in all, a fantastic trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Great Value

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Mostly the friendly staff they tried to make it feel like home. Good food. Great Value
Cons: Beds just a little softer. They were good, but my preference.
Location: Directly ocean front with nicely maintained villas. Plenty of diving opportunities, with dive boats picking you up at the resort
Arrived at the Resort and was greeted instantly. Check in was relatively smooth. I believe we had the best room in the entire resort. But most ocean view and front rooms were within 25-30 yards of the Caribbean. Very friendly staff always with a smile and warm greetings from the yard men, maids, hotel management. For the money a great value. Food was very good most of the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Awesome Service

Posted Apr 30, 2017
This was our second time to Sabor and it was as wonderful as the first time! We had beautiful views of the Ocean and a awesome suite! The food was good and service was great we had no complaints and would recommend this place to anyone!!