Ratings based on 996 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelente opcion

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: su servicio
Cons: lo lejs que esta de todo
Location: de todo, escelente servicio
Ubicacion muy lejos de todo, esta en playa del carmen a 50 minutos de cnacun y de todos los parques y paseos
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

We'll never stay at Reef Coco Beach again

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The pool was nice. The room was fairly clean. Nightly entertainment was good for the most part
Cons: The food was mediocre at best. Breakfast was best, but still not good. Lunch and dinner at the buffet were virtually the same every day. There are 3 a la carte restaurants, The Mexican restaurant charges $6 USD per person to eat there(and this is an all inclusive resort?), the Japanese restaurant is $25 USD per person, and the Italian restaurant is free. The hotel is obviously older and could stand a lot of renovation, repair and a coat of paint. The beach is very small and has a drop anchor marina immediately in front of it with 20-30 boats there at all times blocking the view. The clientel is probably 90% hispanic, so English is not spoken well by most of the staff. One of our 2 rooms had no hot water for 6 days and the a/c didn't work well. The other room stayed cool, but the a/c was very loud. Needed to make a COLLECT call to the US but the concierge wanted to charge me $3 USD per minute to make that call. $30 for a 10 minute collect call is robbery in my opinion.
Location: Close to Playa del Carmen's 5th Avenue shopping area. Tulum Mayan ruins 45 minutes, Chichen Itza ruins 2.5 hours away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Overall nice stay!!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Location wise....kind of sketchy getting to because it's close to the shopping area....didn't leave the resort to check any party life out....
Overall, nice hotel....staff was SOOOO great!! Super nice, helpful and very accommodating! Prob the best part about staying there! Room wise....it was just ok...rooms and double beds are smaller....nothing special but manageable! Food was decent. Japanese steak house was delicious, very fun!!! Italian restaurant not so much! Lil different than our American Italian! Poolside bar had the best burgers!!! Pizza was good as well....and overall the buffet was decent. Quite a variety. LOTS of fishing boats docked at the beach....kind of an eye sore! My friends and I did a quick 4 night stay and this place met the expectations! Would recommend anyone doing a small, quick getaway!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bad smell and bad room cleaning

Posted Oct 23, 2016
The room 2435 smells awful, we take our complaint to everyone at front desk a no one helps us. Bad cleaning at room, birds excrement at balcony. Ask for the manager and they never get us to him.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

1st trip to Mexico, it was awesome!

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: the closeness to the beach, the plentiful bars and most of the staff.
Cons: The jacuzzi wasn't hot just barely warm, and the fact I must have had some spiders in my bed and/or bed linens.
Location: Very close to 5th avenue and shopping
The hotel was a little bit older, but quaint in it's own right. 95% of the staff we encountered were not only friendly, but warm and helpful. The bellman Miguel..........security guard/bellman Gustavo...........front desk clerk Daniela........bartender Rogerio were the people that stood out the most of all we encountered. These four people went above and beyond as far as helpfulness, courtesy and friendliness. They were truly the "stars" of the property and we totally enjoyed our trip because of people like them. The food is good, most of the waiters/waitress' are very efficient. There were only 2 drawbacks that I can think of, and they were 1) the jacuzzi wasn't hot it was just barely warm, and there must have been some sort of insect like a spider in my bed or bed linens because I kept getting bit every night, I would wake in the morning with some serious bites on my face or arms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Great hotel for the price

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The pool was amazing although the jacuzzi wasn't warm. Great location right on the beach and next to 5th ave which is amazing for shopping and dining. The staff was really nice and the hotel offered a lot of activities. Getting a cab was easy and cheaper through the hotel.
Cons: The service in the buffet wasn't the best, and there could have been more food options
Location: It's right on the beach which is nice and close to 5th ave.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx


Posted Oct 20, 2016
Up to par! The grounds are well maintained. There is multiple activities for those who rather stay at the resort and not go out. I went out everyday of my stay and explored. I give this place a 4.5! The other 0.5 from keeping it from earning a 5 was because it did not have gold plated water faucets. The premises are well guarded by security personnel. Hope this was helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Better than expected

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Staff was nice, food was better than expected in the buffet/restaurants and room was very clean.
Cons: Shower was crappy, water did not extend far out over the shower head. Snack bar by the pool was a little below average and lacked entertainment.
Location: 5th ave is about 2 blocks away, very easy to walk to. There is a free open cenote about 15 minute walk down the beach (left of the hotel beach).
Based on the reviews I was a little hesitant about this hotel but was satisfied with our stay. If you are looking for a hotel at a cheap price to relax at and have a few drinks I would recommend it, but wouldn't if you are expecting/used to a 4 star experience. The view from the buffet restaurant over the water is beautiful and the boats on the beach didn't bother us at all since there is a marked area from the shoreline where the boats cannot park and guests can swim. There is also open beach with no boats to the left of the dock, still on resort property where you can swim. As a young couple we like to drink and relax, and could do both at this resort. There was not much entertainment so I wouldn't suggest bringing young kids unless they will be occupied by the pool all day, however it is definitely not a spring break/party resort either. Most people drank/relaxed by the pool or beach all day and traveled into the town at night if they wanted more of a bar/club area. We are a young couple and weren't looking to spend a lot of money so this resort provided everything we were expecting. We really enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from el paso

Viajes University

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: es muy bonito y la variedad de sus shows
Cons: esta lejisimos de cancun, en playa del carmen no hay mucho que hacer
Location: tesclente, bien muchas gracias por todo
todo bien, lleno de amabilidad,, los precios muy elevados comparado con otros hoteles , me refiero a laa ecuacion precio-calidad. el persona siempre se efuerza por atender bien..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bartlettt, tn

great pool, great location, so much to do

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: pool, location easy to get to 5th ave and not but a 45 minute drive to airport which was interesting.
Cons: scratchy sheets probable from sand?
Location: see above
pool is huge warm, close to bar not as attentive there as the other bars, food, activities, has a great sitting ledge. food choices: buffet, Mexican $, Italian free, Japanese steakhouse sushi $ but was one time free. beach with plenty of chairs and clean sand, pretty waters with boats breaking the waves. you can see Cozumel and the reef from the beach, plenty of shoreline to walk on, sit on, piers to walk out on, swim, fish, scuba dive, snorkel, jetski, parasail all within reach. rooms clean with soda in fridge, lotion, shampoo conditioner in bathroom, no problem sleeping there, sheets a little scratchy with cute little patio, stuff doesn't dry out there. nightly activities and pool activities available if you want. 4blks to 5th avenue shopping district with food, entertainment, shopping, massages, tours, tattoo shops