Ratings based on 1,049 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Duluth,MN

Exactly what we were looking for

Posted Feb 24, 2017
We wanted a hotel that wasn't too big but had options. That is exactly what we got. Excellent location, just enough restaurants and bars, and large enough pool. There were always places to sit beachfront and by the pool. We were pleasantly surprised by the food!! We would come back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Boats

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Overall it was a great trip!!! I didn't understand why there were so many boats right off our view to the beach from the resort. In five days of staying there I did not see one boat in use. There could of been more live entertainment on the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Right on the beach, and we had beautiful views.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Hotel had an intimate feel. Everyone made you feel like you were at home. If you needed anything someone was always quick to help. We truly enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is OK-better for young families not adults

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Location-in town, shopping, dive shops. Snorkeling is about 30 feet out on a short boat ride. Accommodated us in rooms next to ea other.
Cons: Security, beds, room, food, choices in liquor, service on the beach, & front desk staff. Charge everything upfront not wait until the end of your stay
Location: My daughter did a bull shark dive at Phantom Divers which to her was AMAZING and her pictures/video do show that.
Pros-Hotel is on the beach and love the view of the ocean. Good for families who want to get away for a few days. Cons-Front desk staff! After 20 min of being there our key did not work, had to go to front desk & they stated they forgot to charge us for our upgrade so we needed to pay-hello our money is in the room! So that's how they get your attention? Why not leave a note, message or call? We were staying for 3 more days. The very next morning at 8:30 a.m. we received a call from the front desk to see if we need a ride to the airport when checking out-I'm on vacation and we are not checking out for 2 more days! Again, leave a note, message, but not a call at 8:30 am. The hotel charges extra for quality wine and at Japanese restaurant it cost you extra to add seafood even when you upgrade, so always make sure when you go to the restaurants ask if its not a additional charge before you order. There is NO service on the beach, food is o.k., no room service, the liquor is not premium liquor, the pool bar closes at 6:30 p.m.and rooms overall need to be upgraded. Not really good for a girls trip as we didn't feel that secure as security was scarce. We did have a encounter with some "guy/dad" over stepping his boundaries at the sports bar but our bartender helped us out which was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Buffet and room cleaness were not good

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Buffet was not good. Room cleaness either. Animation group very basic. ..........................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN, USA

Quiet and relaxing

Posted Feb 10, 2017
We have stayed there multiple times. Love it! The new Japanese restaurant is awesome. Have to knock the room down a bit on rating because ac leaked and I slipped and fell..on a knee I had recent replacement..and it took 3 calls to get it fixed. But the room was clean and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: quiet nice staff great food location!
Cons: bathrooms are dated free wifi
Location: Fabulous -easy quick walk (5 min) to 5th Ave.
we loved loved it- spending time at other sister hotel in Playacar makes it all worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Time, Great location

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Service, food
Cons: HOT TUB SHOULD WORK. WE WERE VERRRRY DISAPPOINTED IT DIDN'T WORK.
Location: Great location! Beach right outside the resort.
Food and entertainment were great. The pool girls who were the catalyst for the daytime activities were sweet and vibrant. The food was in between good and great. We would recommend the Japanese and Italian restaurants, as the food was absolutely delicious AND included within the all-inclusive (although we were told by a certain staff member that the "Samurai" restaurant was $25 a person and the Italian was $6 a person). When we went to make the reservation for the Japanese (as these are required due to the chef cooking the courses right in front of you on a hibachi grill), the girl checking the reservations said the first time dining there is free. Also a great location, just a few blocks away from 5th avenue, which is the happening street with a bunch of cool stands to buy stuff from. Lastly, be sure to check out the artists that were painting on the resorts grounds at night. ABSOLUTELY breathtaking work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
The hotel is beautiful conveniently located close to 5th Avenue. Staff is great, Rogelio from the sport bars is awesome, we ask him about places to go and he knew great spots. Food was okay, selection is minimal and could be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Very nice operations, Buffet food average,

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Clean and up to date
Cons: No ATM, no way to get cash if needed. Premium liquor maybe water down.
Very nice, rooms and grounds very clean. Staff was very helpful.