Ratings based on 882 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Cons: The drinks appeared to be somewhat watered down.
The spa services were amazing, by far the most enjoyable massage and facial I have had. The staff were all friendly and very accommodating. Wonderful food with great selections. We would love to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from argentina

En líneas generales buena

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: El personal
Cons: En la conexión a internet, muy cara
Location: Excelente
Al llegar me dieron una habitación que tenía pérdidas en el aire acondicionado, pedí un cambio y me dieron otra habitación
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great Pool, Good Food & Drink.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Pool and beach access. Drinks are good--we loved the mojitos.
Cons: Entrees at lunch and supper were OK but a bit bland.
Location: At the north end of Playa Del Carmen but an easy walk to the famous 5th Avenue which we did most days. Also great beaches going the other direction.
Beautiful pool located in the center of the property and right next to the ocean beach so pick your favorite tanning spot. The pool has a swim up bar which we saw used sporadically and they seemed to enjoy. The bar staff at the pool bar are great and work hard from 11 AM to 6:30 PM to keep everyone happy. The food at the buffet (where we ate 90% of the time) was great in the mornings (Custom omelets and great fresh fruit selection); lunch had great fruits again and decent salad bar; Evenings had more good salad choices but the entrees were just ok in our opinions. They have 3 specialty restaurants for supper and we would recommend all of them: Japanese grill is free first-time and $25 PP after; Mexican restaurant is $6 PP; Italian restaurant is free but crowds quickly. When you arrive they give you a glass of champagne and immediately try to steer you towards a 90 minute "presentation" about the property. Is it a "Time-Share" you ask? Oh, no, no you are told. They offer a coupon worth $200+ USD to be used at the spa so we agreed to go. Guess what--they call it a "Membership Program" but it requires an up front large dollar amount and annual maintenance fees for 30 years so I would have to call it a "Time-Share". Don't waste the 90 minutes which quickly turns into 150 minutes as you go from salesman 1 to closer 2 to closer 3. Not super high pressure but why waste the time for the spa treatments which are WAY overpriced--just run down to the beach and get a massage!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hayden, ID, USA

Hotel right on the Beach and close to 5th Ave

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and bartenders (enjoyed our evening drinks and conversation with Milton in the main lobby bar).
Cons: Some updating/remodeling of the bathrooms is in order
Location: Beach access was fantastic. A short walk or bike ride to all the activities on 5th Ave was perfect.
We had a group of 5 on our family vacation and we enjoyed our stay at this hotel, we would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit MI

All inclusive near beach and 5th ave

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Near the beach and the city.
Cons: The activities around the beach and pool area were minimal at best.
Location: The location is on the beach. It is within walking distance of 5th ave. There are numerous shops and restaurants from high end to local cart sales
The hotel is small and right near the 5th ave district. The food was on par with other all inclusive places we have stayed at. The restaurants overlooked the ocean which was pleasing. To dine at the Mexican restaurant you had to pay an additional fee. The staff was friendly and helpful.Though the activities near the pool and beach were not all that good. Very few activities to get the guests involved.The rooms were comfortable other than the small beds that were hard. The pool was clean and well maintained. The workout facility was not much at all. A couple of dumbbells and a machine that was in poor condition. The night time shows were good, but not as good as other places I have stayed at. You will pay extra for Wifi and to use the in room safe. As soon as I arrived at the hotel there was someone attempting to get me to sit through a Time Share presentation. They originally gave us the room right next to the lobby. It was way too loud to get any sleep at all. So we requested to get another room the next day, and were able with a bit of extra effort.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Please don't stay here don't ruin your vacation

Posted Jan 15, 2016
This was a vacation from hell all this stuff care is to sell you the timeshare is a horrible customer service and quality of the rooms are below zero. The water was coming down from the ceiling understaffed he didn't even care Just please don't to stay with them And don't ruin your vacation. Just look at the video.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Closeness to beach, restaurants
Did not like the fact that they try to sell holiday programs to you. Not free wifi - seems VERY unmodern...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate it. We are pleased to know that you liked our location and the food. We are sorry to read that you experienced some inconveniences with the Leading Vacation Club and the wifi. Nowadays of you book through our website all the packages include free wifi. Once agian thank you for your comments, we will consider them to improve our services. We would be very happy to welcome you here again Kind Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vermont

Average foid, small beach

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Hotel next to all night disco. Do OOT go to this hotel if you want a restful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muy buena ubicacion

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: La ubicación y el acceso a la playa
Cons: Actividades nocturnas para adultos
Location: Esta muy cerca a la quinta avenida que es donde están todos los lugares como cafés, restaurantes y tiendas para caminar
Bien ubicado, limpio, buena la comida, buen acceso a la playa
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2016 by Director General, Hotel Management
Estimado/a, Queremos agradecerle por escribir sus comentarios acerca de su experiencia en nuestro hotel. Nos alegra mucho saber que ha disfrutado de su estancia con nosotros. Muchas gracias por sus comentarios positivos acerca de la ubicación, nuestro acceso a la playa, la comida y la limpieza. Esperamos poder recibirlo muy pronto nuevamente. Saludos Cordiales
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Decent Resort Close to the Beach

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: The modern facilities and location
Cons: Service and beach area
Location: Great location close to 5th Avenue.
The facilities of this resort were great and modern. The room could use a little upgrading but overall decent. The location is great and my only complaint is the beach area. The beach is fairly small and the swim area even smaller. There are also a bunch of boats anchored right outside the swim area. If you love the beach I would recommend going to the beach closer to 5th Avenue. The buffet food was decent but the Mexican restaurant was tremendous. The lobby bar made the best drinks and the best way to get service at the buffet is by being assertive. Overall this resort meet our needs and is only a 7 minute walk to 5th Avenue.