Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal relaxation.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
We had a perfect experience even though we had high expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tropical Paradise Resort

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The location, the island, the staff, the hotel, the food, everything
We spent 7 beautiful nights at L'Escapade Ilot Maitre. It truly is a tropical paradise resort built on its own private island. The resort takes advantage of the beautiful island and the surrounding lagoon, boasting beautiful and spacious bungalows situated in the tropical gardens or over the crystal blue water. Relax around the beautiful pool with its own bar or enjoy many water activities. We did snorkelling, aqua cycle and canoeing. The food exceeded our wildest expectations - breakfast included different pastries baked on the island daily as well as all the other wonderful things you could envisage for a continental breakfast buffet. As for the dinner, expect to see fresh oysters, crabs, mussels, prawn, king fish, tuna, pippies, salmon...or if you feel like meat or freshly cooked seafood, they will cook it to order on the grill right in front of you..not to mention the French cheeses and charcuterie. The dessert bar would need a full section to describe it - a huge selection of beautiful freshly made desserts. It's hard to describe how much like family the staff make you feel - and we can't end this review without mentioning the gifted and very entertaining pianist (Richard) who made the island ambience wonderful with his music - and the lovely hotel manager (Sebastian) who looked after us every night and is a wine connoisseur of sorts. We will be going back to get married there!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NOUMEA

Cadre magnifique

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Le cadre, le calme, l'accueil, le personnel au top
Cons: Donner plus d'informations (sur la navette gratuite durant le séjour, sur les tricots rayés et les pufins, l'utilisationd de la piscine: serviettes)
Un cadre magnifique proche de Nouméa et à la fois on se sent si loin. L'endroit idéal pour décompresser le temps d'un WE sans aller loin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NZ

Great island getaway

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: garden bungalows and the snack bar - overpriced and average food.
Location: great location, plenty of things to do like kite surfing, snorkelling, jetskiing, kayaking.
We spent one night in a garden bungalow which was nice, a little bit dated but decent size and had everything we needed. We then spent another night in an overwater bungalow which was fantastic and would definitely stay in one again. Staff were expecting us when we arrived and had drinks to welcome us and all the paperwork for our booking ready. Boat transfers were also well organised. Great location, we were lucky enough to snorkel with turtles twice in the water just under the bungalows and went jetskiing on two of the days just off the island. Were given a 50% off dinner voucher which was great and food was good and plentiful - loads of seafood and a grill where they cook meats at your request. Breakfast buffet was included in both our room bookings and was a great way to start the day with omelettes or pancakes made to order and a wide range of other stuff. Great to be able to get a island getaway so close to Noumea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Spent a few nights here, which is just about the right amount of time for us. Location is great and you can't beat snorkeling off your own balcony in the overwater bungalows. It's a bit of walk down to the rooms/bungalows at the end of the property -- we had a problem with our room key -- which caused us a few trips back and forth to the lobby. But otherwise, the place was great. Buffet/Restaurant is pricey (everything in New Caledonia is though) -- but a snack shack is on the island offering simpler and cheaper options for lunch. I'm not a fan of snakes though -- and saw a whole lot of them while out on this island. I don't believe they are dangerous, but just an FYI.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Overwater bungalows are stunning

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Amazing experience waking in the morning and snorkeling with the turtles before breakfast. The colours of the tropical fish were amazing. Wonderful, helpful, courteous staff in the buffet restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Helenfrom Sydney

An amazing view, service and place.

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I arrived, I was greeted by the friendly staff and a complimentary glass of cocktail/juice. The level of their customer service was outstanding and genuine too. I couldn't afford the overwater bungalows so I stayed in the sea view room and it was just as good. I went to sleep to the sound of the waves and woke up with sunshine, the view of the bungalows and the clear water. The location was perfect but I just wish there were more transfer boats to the island and back but besides that it was a trip to remember!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NZ

Careful now

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Island
Cons: Food. Hot spa. Don't cover construction work with loosely piled plywood.
Location: Noumea is interesting...we wish we spent more time there
A lovely island. A hotel starting to get run down. Food awful AND expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom Melbourne

Escapade Ilot Maitre - room over the sea

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Its remoteness, the friendliness of the staff, the comfort of the room we were in
Cons: Food was reasonably priced but wine was expensive - like for like quality comparison, it is 3 x more expensive at the resort than Australia
Location: The secluded location makes it a quiet retreat for a get-away.
We enjoyed a wonderful long week-end and the staff was simply charming. The seafood buffet was delicious. Franck, the bar/restaurant manager was great and he makes great cocktails. He is a great entertainer as we found out on Friday night after dinner when we decided to sit at the bar and enjoy a few cocktails.The room over the sea was comfortable and had great ventilation by letting the windows. In summary, we give a big thumbs-up to this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carolfrom Auckland

Beautiful location, expensive buffet dinner

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: The rooms need refurbishing and a good clean. The glass doors require maintenance, very hard to open. A la carte option in the restaurant.
Location: Great snorkeling, just 7 minutes from Anse Vatu bay with water taxi
The location is excellent, very beautiful but unfortunately the rooms are run down and need a good clean. The pillows were hard, but on request we were supplied softer ones. The breakfast buffet was good and the evening buffet was very expensive, we would have preferred a la carte. Tip - take fruit and drinks with you for in between meals. The sun loungers were not outside the room, but a walk on the beach and we found some with our room number on. We enjoyed our stay but definitely room for improvement. Our room with ocean view was not very private, other guests constantly walking past, would have preferred one further away. The massage was excellent. Saw a turtle, nice snorkeling.