Ratings based on 902 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Easy access to the balloon ride outfit we were on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Font Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you. We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel was a great location for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salt lake city. utah

Disappointed

Posted Aug 9, 2016
The room was nothing like what we expected. Pictures show a complete different room. Its run down. Old! It needs updating big time! The grounds were un kept. Cigarette butts everywhere. And there was 3 adults staying in the room...when we arrived there were not enough towels in the room, so we went to the lobby and asked for some at 9pm. And we were told they had no clean towels. The next morning we had to call again For towels. The lobby guy brought us towels but no wash rags. I wouldn't recommend this motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear, Disappointed Guest, I am sorry we failed you during your stay with us. I am not sure what happened and why there were no clean towels for you at check in. I will be sharing your review with my staff and we will do our best to make sure this doesn't happen again. Thank you for your review
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Check in was a little slow but overall it was a great stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by FOM, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durango

Great price

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Extremely friendly staff, affordable
Cons: The bed and bathroom fixtures, shower head in particular
Location: Airport
We picked this hotel because we just needed something quick for a one-night stay so we could catch a flight out of Albuquerque International Sunport early the next morning. We knew not to get our hopes up when you're only paying $53 a night. At check-in, the receptionist was extremely courteous and helpful, and made us feel welcome. We did have an issue with our room keys, but she was quick to assist and fix the problem. It was a very could first impression. Our room was very clean, but outdated. The bed was rather flat and hard, and the bathroom fixtures were old with visible wear and tear. The shower head could use some updating as it took me longer than usual to complete my shower because it let out a small amount of water. Despite all of this, we still do not regret booking here. It met our needs--we got some much needed rest and weren't stinky on the airplane.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear Broosky, Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed our front desk staff, we work hard to make sure all of our guests have a comfortable stay. I see you have mentioned a few issues with your room, please know we are working on updating these issues. Thank you again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
The lobby was very nice I was very pleased. However the rooms did not meet up to the expectations set. Our room was joined by a door leading to another hotel room that was occupied by a group who was clearly there to party. They were up all night going in and out which kept my family awake. I could hear every word they spoke and every time the door opened and closed. I have never experienced noise levels like that in any hotel I have ever stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am sorry to learn your stay was not to your satisfaction. Please know our front desk staff always does their best to help ensure you have a comfortable stay and would and could have helped you with this issue by asking your neighbors to please settle down or move you to a more quit room. Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pagosa Springs, CO

You get what you pay for

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The lobby
Cons: General cleanliness of the grounds
Location: Good central location
The staff was wonderful, cheerful and accomodating. It goes downhill from there. I booked the room because we just wanted a place to lay our head and have a soak in a hot tub after driving a long distance. The pool and hot tub were out of commission, so, no soak or ability to cool off in the pool in the 100 degree heat. The grounds were a bit grimy but the room was clean and cool. The phone was constantly flashing and when I called the desk they told me to put something over the flashing light if it bothered us. I believe that these people do not have a budget big enough even for small repairs.The bathroom was acceptable but seemed tired. I only paid $47.00 for this one night so, I am not complaining so much as stating facts. It is not a usual Wyndham property but, I am grateful for the low price on this occasion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, So glad to know our front desk staff took care of you. They all do work hard to accommodate all of our guests request to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. I will be sure to share your review with my staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Only one set of towels for 2 people and vending machines are all out of service
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest. I would like to apologize your stay with us did not meet your satisfaction. Thank you for your review
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Datil, New Mexico

High LOCATION, LAYOUT & FEATURES Low AESTHETICS

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Pool, courtyard, parking, food, staff.
Cons: Hot tub, pool, cleanliness, aesthetics.
Location: Many public pools, parks, dog parks, ball parks, skate parks, doctors, amusement parks, restaurants, shopping choices. ~30-45 minutes to the Sunport.
Great LOCATION Awesome LAYOUT & FEATURES Mediocre AESTHETICS. We love staying here as we are in Albuquerque/Rio Rancho several times per month. The pool is terrific and warm even in early summer. Abundant parking. Courtyard is nice with trees that provide great shade, cool grass and many birds including a breeding pair of hawks and ultra cute tame rabbits and lizards. Good food at the Toro Burger Bar. Friendly STAFF all around.Exceptionally ANIMAL FRIENDLY:) If it weren't for the things below, this place would get a 5+ stars! They have tried to renovate, but the process is slow, so the majority of buildings/rooms, pool and hot tub and grounds are quite neglected. The renovated rooms and conference areas are pretty nice. Non renovated rooms are NOT clean. Cockroaches, rotten wood, plugged up drains with trash and human debris, soap scummy tubs, ridiculously saggy beds. Keyed doors can be difficult to use. Vending machines empty or do not accept money. Hot tub NOT working and the staff says that it may not be repaired. The brown pool deck EXTREMELY HOT and will burn your feet. Pool water line tiles are GREASY (need to be scrubbed), but water is clean and treated well. Trashy GROUNDS. Cigarette butts/refuse throughout property and parking lots. Landscaping in dire need of upgrade as many of the trees are dead, dying and sickly. Struggling or overgrown plants. Sprinkler system inadequate, watering during the day and in need of adjustment as many plants and trees need water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear Hafey, We value all of our guests reviews and thank you for sharing. We shall take your experience and use it as a tool to improve our property for all of our future guests. Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to north/south football game

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: was close to where we needed to be and price was ok.
was close to where we were going to be, tv didn't work but wasn't a major issue for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OKC

One night stay

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: Overall appearance. Air conditioning.
Location: Location good. Nice places to eat. Close to stores.
Disappointed in hotel overall. Air conditioning did not keep room cool. It was rundown. Appeared not to have been updated in many years. Electrical plugs hanging out of wall. Breakfast was good. Staff pleasant. * Many customers complaining about AC not working.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cecelia, Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay with us here at the Howard Johnson Inn Rio Rancho. I would like to let you know we are working on the issues you have mentioned. Thank you again for sharing