Ratings based on 596 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Cracking price for a majestic, if a little tired, building. Had all the mod cons, just with personality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport

Friendly reception, let down by breakfast service.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Really friendly welcome from reception ' lovely superior rooms. All that spoiled our stay was terrible service at breakfast. Had to chase getting served coffee several times.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona, USA

Shuttle

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: The wonderful staff. We were from out of the country and staff was really great about answering our questions and helping us plan how to get around.
Cons: The water pressure could be a little better in the shower and as I stated before, they need to answer their phones in a more reliable matter.
Location: We took the train in and out of London to do our sightseeing. It was very easy to commute from the hotel to London.
Our stay at the hotel was wonderful! The staff are all very nice and helpful. Our only issue is they do not answer their phone. So, if you need to have their shuttle pick you up at the train station, etc. you need to schedule it in advance. The grounds and the hotel are beautiful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

South Croydon stay with style

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Style, location and ambiance
Cons: In dire need of some tlc in the rooms,some of the decor and furnishings are beyond boot sale, but I guess it would cost millions for a refurb.
Have been using this hotel for years, but its getting really tatty behind the scenes, the public rooms still have a splendour about them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel with gorgeous grounds

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Our 3rd time staying overnight for a work event. This time we stayed on the ground floor in a smaller room with a really small bathroom but it was clean and okay for an overnight stay. We have stayed in bigger suites before and those with great. Hotel needs updating on the inside as the dark carpets don't do well in the narrow corridors. Staff were amazing so can't really fault anything besides the decor! Would definitely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the rooms are being freshened up.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: plenty of parking on site.
Cons: the hotel shows its age.
small restaurant menu but quality excellent, gravadlax and tuna nicoise, more tuna than salad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Hotel close enough to the Airport

Posted Aug 23, 2017
A decent night's sleep with a good breakfast. The hotel is reasonably close to Biggin Hill airport and is therefore of use to me for my job.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever !

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Very tired decoration Boiling hot room and rust bath Slimy breakfast Don't stay here it's not worth the money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Dated rooms which needs updating

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: The grounds are lovely and well kept and an ideal setting for a wedding.
Cons: The room and furnishing could do with updating.
I was attending a wedding which was being held at the hotel so I booked in for two nights along with other family members. There were quite a few mix up with the bookings with family members receiving notices thanking them for their stay even though they still had another night to go. Some family members had to ask for room changes as the ones initially allocated were unacceptable, the curtains in some of the rooms were torn and the carpet in my room was damaged. The bathroom however was very clean and appeared more up to date than the bedroom.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 26, 2017
The only thing great about this hotel is the stunning grounds Old and extremely tired Very poor cleanliness throughout the hotel Food poor Service poor Was extremely disappointed from the moment we arrived at this hotel Would never stay there again