Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever !

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Very tired decoration Boiling hot room and rust bath Slimy breakfast Don't stay here it's not worth the money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Dated rooms which needs updating

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: The grounds are lovely and well kept and an ideal setting for a wedding.
Cons: The room and furnishing could do with updating.
I was attending a wedding which was being held at the hotel so I booked in for two nights along with other family members. There were quite a few mix up with the bookings with family members receiving notices thanking them for their stay even though they still had another night to go. Some family members had to ask for room changes as the ones initially allocated were unacceptable, the curtains in some of the rooms were torn and the carpet in my room was damaged. The bathroom however was very clean and appeared more up to date than the bedroom.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 26, 2017
The only thing great about this hotel is the stunning grounds Old and extremely tired Very poor cleanliness throughout the hotel Food poor Service poor Was extremely disappointed from the moment we arrived at this hotel Would never stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Restful Stay

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Spacious, beautiful views and gardens. Staff friendly at no efficient. Large bed.large bathroom.
Cons: Yes. Hot food at breakfast
Location: Plenty to do in hotel, golf, walk in the vast gardens. Shopping in Croydon.
We stayed at the Devere Selsdon hotel for one night only, as we were attending a wedding reception. Sadly we did not have enough time to fully use all of the hotel facilities. The grounds were beautiful. One would not be aware how close we were to a large busy town Croydon. The hotel environment was quiet and efficient. Even though a large wedding was taking place this did not interfere with other hotel guests. Our room was large, tidy, and comfortable. This is not a criticism when I remark on the location of our room in the lower ground floor. We did not complain. Lovely view fro room window of the grounds. Bed very large, & comfortable. Even though their was a large wedding party staying at hotel, the tables at breakfast were well spread out, lots of food available and of good quality and selection, but my bacon, sausage and beans were cold. I did not complain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Lovely hotel on the outskirts of London good choice for breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bolton

One night stay

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Stayed one night with my son Hotel is an old character building so there are signs of wear and tear but it is a beautiful setting Bar menu and breakfast were both good Interesting place to stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: The views are lovely the staff very good
Cons: The state of the rooms toilet rol holder broken radiator valves broken
Room very hot only one small opening window extremely noisy all night from a motor room or generator
3 out of 5
by Thomas

Very welcoming

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Very impressed when we drive up to the hotel the staff were very polite and helpful at reception, very slow lift, once we got into the main part of the house one could see the decor was very tiered and really did need a refit. Breakfast was very good and a good selection .
5 out of 5
by ronald

Stay at selsdon park - 9th May 2017

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Overall very good service, nice view out of bedroom. Reception were very friendly.
5 out of 5
by Michael

marvellous

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Magmificanr Neo Jacobean pile,greAT LITTLE POOL AND SAUNA ETC a bargain for he price